DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a decompression device” in claim 1.
After reviewing the specification, the decompression device appears to be drawn to an expansion valve or known equivalents (per paragraph [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim without the term “substantially.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cur (US 9,714,785) in view of Morimoto (US 2022/0194167 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Cur teaches a refrigerant unit (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit including a compressor (12, Fig. 1, see col. 5, lines 30-45), a first heat exchanger (24, Fig. 1, see col. 5, lines 30-45), a decompression device (20, Fig. 1, see col. 5, lines 30-45), and a second heat exchanger (24, Fig. 1, see col. 5, lines 30-45) as a component; and
a single support member that collectively supports the component of the refrigerant circuit (defined as the housing shown in at least Fig. 3),
wherein the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed with the decompression device interposed therebetween (see Fig. 1).
Cur does not teach:
a connection portion between a refrigerant channel connected to the decompression device and the first heat exchanger is disposed so as to be shifted in a vertical direction from a connection portion between a refrigerant channel connected to the decompression device and the second heat exchanger.
Morimoto teaches a connection module (Morimoto, Title) between a refrigerant channel connected to a decompression device (Morimoto, 14a, Fig. 3, paragraph [0047]) and a first heat exchanger (Morimoto, 12, Fig. 3, paragraph [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Cur with a connection portion between the decompression device and first heat exchanger, as taught by Morimoto, in order to help regulate temperature (Morimoto, Abstract).
Through the combination, Cur as modified teaches “disposed so as to be shifted in a vertical direction from a connection portion between a refrigerant channel connected to the decompression device and a second heat exchanger,” as Morimoto teaches a second heat exchanger 24 and the limitation regarding the vertical direction are a mere matter of configuration/intended use that the resultant structure is capable of meeting.
Regarding claim 2, Cur as modified teaches the refrigerant unit according to claim 1, wherein the decompression device has a refrigerant inlet and a refrigerant outlet disposed at different heights in a vertical direction (capable of being met by the combination as noted in the rejection of claim 1, see Fig. 3 which shows 20 oriented vertically), and
the connection portion between the refrigerant channel connected to the decompression device and the first heat exchanger is disposed so as to be shifted from the connection portion between the refrigerant channel connected to the decompression device and the second heat exchanger by a difference in height between the refrigerant inlet and the refrigerant outlet (see Cur, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Cur as modified teaches the refrigerant unit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a channel module including, as an integrated component, part of a refrigerant channel in the refrigerant circuit (defined as the channels within 80 shown in Fig. 3 of Morimoto),
wherein the channel module has a pair of connection portions each connected to a refrigerant inlet and a refrigerant outlet of the decompression device (see at least 83b and 83e in Fig. 3 of Morimoto which are connected to the inlet/outlet of 14a), and a first refrigerant channel connecting one of the pair of connection portions and the first heat exchanger is disposed substantially parallel with a second refrigerant channel connecting the other one of the pair of connection portions and the second heat exchanger (see Morimoto, 83a, 83e/d/f in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Cur as modified teaches the refrigerant unit according to claim 3, wherein the pair of connection portions, a connection portion between the first refrigerant channel and the first heat exchanger, and a connection portion between the second refrigerant channel and the second heat exchanger are disposed on the same plane in the channel module (see Fig. 3 of Morimoto, the plane being defined as one which translates horizontally through the cycle shown In Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Cur as modified teaches the refrigerant unit according to claim 1, wherein a fixing position at which the first heat exchanger is fixed to the support member is at a position different in a vertical direction from a fixing position at which the second heat exchanger is fixed to the support member (the positions of 24 in side by side in Fig. 1 of Cur and are sufficient as different vertical directions as an orthogonal plane that runs through each heat exchanger is at a different position).
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763