DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-21 are pending and hereby under examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 3, line 13, there should be separation between “Fig. 2” and “Illustration”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims should only refer to a preceding claim. Claim 12 depends on claim 21, and claim 21 is not a preceding claim of claim 12. For examination purposes, claim 12 will still be interpreted to be dependent on claim 21. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18, line 2 has a redundant “by” that should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12, 15-16, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the claim states that the inner shaft “comprises or consists of” a first and a second tubular element. It is unclear if the Applicant is claiming an inclusive, open-ended term that does not exclude additional, unrecited elements (i.e., comprises), or a closed term that excludes any element not specified in the claim (i.e., consists of). For compact prosecution, the claim will be interpreted as open-ended using the term “comprises”; however, the Applicant should clarify the transitional term for the inner shaft. Claims 12, 15-16, and 21 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 11.
Regarding claims 15-16, the “inner cylindrical element” and the “outer cylindrical element” lack antecedent basis. Further, it is unclear if these claims are to be dependent on claim 11 where the first and second tubular elements are first recited, dependent on claim 5 where the inner and outer cylindrical elements are first recited, or if claim 11 should depend on claim 5 for proper antecedent basis of all terms. For examination purposes, claims 15-16 will continue to be interpreted as dependent on claim 11. However, Applicant should clarify which claims 15-16 are dependent on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Wesselmann teaches a catheter (Abstract), comprising:
an outer shaft (Fig. 1, outer shaft 9),
an inner shaft (Fig. 1, inner shaft 3),
a rolling membrane (Fig. 1, rolling membrane 13) and
an inflatable element comprising an inflatable volume (Fig. 1, expandable inner balloon 7),
wherein the inner shaft comprises an inner shaft lumen and the inner shaft is at least partially arranged within the outer shaft (Fig. 1, inner shaft 3 partially arranged within the outer shaft 3), and
wherein the rolling membrane is connected to the outer shaft (Fig. 1, rolling membrane installed on the distal end of outer shaft 9), and
wherein the inflatable element comprises at least two proximal ends connected to the inner shaft (See Fig. 1 reproduced below) and at least one distal end connected to the rolling membrane (Paragraph 0005, “A rolling membrane 13 is installed on the distal end of outer shaft 9, and is also fixedly connected to the distal end of the inner balloon at a connection point 13a”).
[AltContent: textbox (Balloon 7 connected at two proximal ends connected to the inner shaft 3)]
Regarding claim 14, Wesselmann discloses the catheter of claim 1. Wesselmann further discloses wherein the proximal ends of the inflatable element are connected to the distal end of the inner shaft (Fig. 1 reproduced below).
[AltContent: textbox (Balloon 7 with proximal ends connected to the distal end of inner shaft 3)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanisch (US 20160067460).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Wesselmann teaches the catheter of claim 1. While Wesselman discloses the inflatable element as described above, Wesselmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inflatable element, at least when inflated, extends along a longitudinal axis of the catheter by 20 to 40 cm, or by 26 to 35 cm.
Wesselmann and Hanisch are in the same field of catheter systems. Hanisch teaches a balloon catheter for use in elongated peripheral arteries, wherein the length of the inflated balloons can be 2 to 40 cm or more, and particularly preferably between 20 to 30 cm (Paragraph 0045). As Wesselmann is concerned with using a catheter device for expanding stenoses in the branching region of body vessels, Hanisch specifically defines the length of the balloon on the catheter for particular use in elongated peripheral arteries. Wesselmann would benefit from such a balloon length for particular use in the elongated peripheral arteries. Additionally, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon of Wesselmann with the specific extended length of the balloon as taught by Hanisch, the benefit in using the catheter in the elongated peripheral arteries.
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayman (US 20030060756).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Wesselmann teaches the catheter of claim 1. While Wesselman discloses the inflatable element as described above, Wesselmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inflatable element is configured such as to provide a wall thickness, when inflated, of about 0.02 to 0.5 mm, or by 0.1 to 0.2 mm.
Wesselmann and Hayman are in the same field of catheter systems. Hayman teaches a catheter 10 with balloon material 26 (Fig. 2), wherein the balloon wall thickness is in the range of 0.004 to 0.006 inches (about 0.1 to 0.15 mm) (Paragraph 0059). The characteristics of the balloon are selected such that the balloon, when inflated, readily takes the path of least resistance within the blood vessel (Paragraph 0060). As Wesselmann is concerned with using a catheter device for expanding stenoses in the branching region of body vessels, Hayman specifically defines the balloon wall thickness for taking the path of least resistance within the blood vessel. Wesselmann would benefit from such a balloon wall thickness for ease of use in the blood vessels. Additionally, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon of Wesselmann with the specific balloon thickness as taught by Hayman, the benefit in using the catheter in the elongated peripheral arteries.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Wesselmann teaches the catheter of claim 1. Wesselmann further discloses another embodiment of the catheter of Fig. 1 that is “doubled” (Paragraph 0020), wherein the inflatable element and/or the rolling membrane can at least partially be rolled out in a distal direction (D) of the catheter (Figs. 2A-B, rolling membranes 23a/b with the balloons 27a/b are extended from the proximal portion in Fig. 2A and out distally in Fig. 2B). Rolling out the inflatable element and/or rolling membrane allows the guide wire to advance through the stenosis (Paragraph 0026) and to expand the stenosis (Paragraphs 0030-0032; Figs. 2C-D). As the catheter of Fig. 1 taught by Wesselmann includes the elements of the catheter embodiment shown in Figs. 2A-D, the combination with the doubled catheter embodiment yields the predictable result of rolling out the inflatable element and/or rolling membrane to expand the stenosis. This therapeutic result would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of Fig. 1 disclosed by Wesselmann with the doubled catheter embodiment of Fig. 2 taught by Wesselmann, and the combination would yield the predictable result of rolling out the inflatable element and/or the rolling membrane to expand the stenosis to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 5-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sogard (US 5447497).
Regarding claim 5, Wesselmann teaches the catheter of claim 1. While Wesselmann discloses the balloon of the catheter, Wesselmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inflatable element comprises an outer cylindrical element and an inner cylindrical element, wherein the inner cylindrical element is at least in part arranged within the outer cylindrical element such that the inflatable volume is defined as a hollow cylinder volume therebetween.
Wesselmann and Sogard in the same field of catheters. Sogard teaches a balloon catheter (Fig. 3), wherein the inflatable element (Fig. 3, dual-layered balloon) comprises an outer cylindrical element and an inner cylindrical element (Fig. 3, outer balloon 26 and inner balloon 28), wherein the inner cylindrical element is at least in part arranged within the outer cylindrical element such that the inflatable volume is defined as a hollow cylinder volume therebetween (Fig. 3, outer balloon 26 arranged around inner balloon 28 defining a space therebetween). Sogard suggests that a dual balloon with both compliant and non-compliant balloons will give the physician more flexibility in matching the balloon to the artery size for controlled dilation. As Wesselmann is concerned with navigating the arteries with a balloon catheter, Sogard improves the balloon catheter with a dual-balloon which provides a benefit in flexibility for the physician to control dilation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon catheter of Wesselmann with the dual-balloon catheter as taught by Sogard, the benefit being flexibility for the physician to control dilation.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wesselmann and Sogard disclose the catheter of claim 5. Wesselmann is silent as to the inner and outer cylindrical elements comprising distal ends that are connect to each other.
Sogard further discloses wherein each of the inner cylindrical element and the outer cylindrical element comprises a distal end, and wherein the distal ends are connected to each other (See Fig. 3 below, wherein the inner balloon 28 and outer balloon 26 are attached at a distal end 31 denoted by the arrow). As Wesselmann is concerned with navigating the arteries with a balloon catheter, Sogard improves the balloon catheter with a dual-balloon, wherein the distal ends of the cylindrical elements are connected to each other, which provides a benefit in flexibility for the physician to control dilation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon catheter of Wesselmann with the dual-balloon catheter as taught by Sogard, the benefit being flexibility for the physician to control dilation.
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wesselmann and Sogard disclose the catheter of claim 5. Wesselmann is silent as to the inner and outer cylindrical elements connected to each other proximal to the at least one distal end of the inflatable element.
Sogard further discloses wherein the inner cylindrical element and the outer cylindrical element are connected to each other proximal to the at least one distal end of the inflatable element (See Fig. 3 below, wherein the inner balloon 28 and outer ballon 26 are bonded to each other at a proximal end 22 denoted by the arrow). As Wesselmann is concerned with navigating the arteries with a balloon catheter, Sogard improves the balloon catheter with a dual-balloon, wherein the cylindrical elements are connected to each other proximal to the distal end of the inflatable element, which provides a benefit in flexibility for the physician to control dilation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon catheter of Wesselmann with the dual-balloon catheter as taught by Sogard, the benefit being flexibility for the physician to control dilation.
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wesselmann and Sogard disclose the catheter of claim 5. Wesselmann is silent as to the inner and outer cylindrical elements connected to each at at least two fixation points.
Sogard further discloses wherein the inner cylindrical element is connected to the outer cylindrical element at at least two fixation points (See Fig. 3 below, wherein the inner balloon 28 and outer balloon 26 are attached at a distal end 31 denoted by the arrow and wherein the inner balloon 28 and outer ballon 26 are bonded to each other at a proximal end 22 denoted by the arrow). As Wesselmann is concerned with navigating the arteries with a balloon catheter, Sogard improves the balloon catheter with a dual-balloon, wherein the cylindrical elements are connected to each other at at least two fixation points, which provides a benefit in flexibility for the physician to control dilation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon catheter of Wesselmann with the dual-balloon catheter as taught by Sogard, the benefit being flexibility for the physician to control dilation.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wesselmann and Sogard disclose the catheter of claim 5. Wesselmann is silent as to the inner and outer cylindrical elements connected by at least one fixation seam arranged at least in part along a longitudinal axis of the catheter.
Sogard further discloses wherein the inner cylindrical element is connected to the outer cylindrical element by at least one fixation seam arranged at least in part along a longitudinal axis (L) of the catheter (See Fig. 3 below, wherein the inner balloon 28 and outer ballon 26 are bonded to each other at a proximal end 22 denoted by the arrow; Examiner interprets the connection at proximal end 22 as a seam). As Wesselmann is concerned with navigating the arteries with a balloon catheter, Sogard improves the balloon catheter with a dual-balloon, wherein the cylindrical elements are connected by at least one fixation seam, which provides a benefit in flexibility for the physician to control dilation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon catheter of Wesselmann with the dual-balloon catheter as taught by Sogard, the benefit being flexibility for the physician to control dilation.
[AltContent: arrow]
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) and Sogard (US 5447497) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hayman (US 20030060756).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wesselmann and Sogard disclose the catheter of claim 8. The combination fails to disclose wherein the at least two fixation points are separated from each other by 2 to 5 mm.
Wesselmann, Sogard, and Hayman are in the same field of catheter systems. Hayman teaches a balloon catheter wherein the balloon has a length of 2-5 mm (Paragraph 0063, the ballon length range of about 4 to 30 mm). As Wesselmann and Sogard are concerned with using a catheter device for expanding stenoses in the branching region of body vessels with a balloon containing two fixation points, Hayman specifically defines the length of the balloon on the catheter for effectively occluding/impeding blood flow without needing to rely on forming a tight seal so as to exert minimal stress against the blood vessel (Paragraph 0063). In combination, the two fixation points at the proximal and distal end as disclosed by Wesselmann and Sogard would necessarily be separated from each other by 2 to 5 mm. As applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range and since it has been held that “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon of Wesselmann and Sogard with the specific extended length of the balloon as taught by Hayman, the benefit in using the catheter in the that will effectively occlude/impede blood flow without needing to rely on forming a tight seal so as to exert minimal stress against the blood vessel.
Claims 11-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wesselmann (US 20110270296 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Wesselmann ‘296.
Regarding claim 11, Wesselmann teaches the catheter of claim 1. Wesselmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner shaft comprises a first tubular element arranged within a second tubular element.
Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 are in the same field of catheter systems. Wesselmann ‘296 teaches a rolling membrane balloon catheter (Fig. 1), wherein the inner shaft comprises of a first tubular element and a second tubular element (Fig. 1, inner shaft 4 and intermediate shaft 7), wherein the first tubular element arranged within the second tubular element (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036, an inner shaft 4 is arranged within the intermediate shaft 7). This arrangement of the intermediate shaft and inner shaft defines an annular space that provides a pressurized fluid line connected to a balloon pressure joint (Paragraph 0014) to act on the balloon 14 and inflate the rolling membrane (Paragraph 0041). As Wesselmann discloses the catheter with an inner shaft, rolling membrane, and balloon, Wesselmann ‘296 further defines an annular space between an intermediate shaft and the inner shaft for inflating and advancing the rolling membrane via the pressurized fluid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner shaft of Wesselmann with the inner shaft and intermediate shaft combination as taught by Wesselmann ‘296, the benefit in inflating the rolling membrane and advancing it forwards.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 disclose the catheter of claim 11. Wesselmann is silent regarding the first and second tubular elements concentrically arranged to define an annular lumen.
Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 are in the same field of catheter systems. Wesselmann ‘296 teaches a rolling membrane balloon catheter (Fig. 1), wherein the inner shaft comprises of a first tubular element and a second tubular element (Fig. 1, inner shaft 4 and intermediate shaft 7), wherein the first tubular element arranged within the second tubular element (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036, an inner shaft 4 is arranged within the intermediate shaft 7). This arrangement of the intermediate shaft and inner shaft defines an annular space that provides a pressurized fluid line connected to a balloon pressure joint (Paragraph 0014) to act on the balloon 14 and inflate the rolling membrane (Paragraph 0041). As Wesselmann discloses the catheter with an inner shaft, rolling membrane, and balloon, Wesselmann ‘296 further defines an annular space between an intermediate shaft and the inner shaft for inflating and advancing the rolling membrane via the pressurized fluid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner shaft of Wesselmann with the inner shaft and intermediate shaft combination as taught by Wesselmann ‘296, the benefit in inflating the rolling membrane and advancing it forwards.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 disclose the catheter of claim 21. Wesselmann is silent as to the inflatable volume of the inflatable element being in fluid communication with the annular lumen.
Wesselmann ‘296 further discloses wherein the inflatable volume of the inflatable element is in fluid communication with the annular lumen (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036, an intermediate shaft 7 and an inner shaft 4; Paragraph 0036, “Via the annular space 18 which is formed between the inner shaft 4 and the intermediate shaft 7, the balloon 14 may be acted on by a pressurized fluid which may be introduced through a balloon pressure joint 19 at the proximal end 10 of the intermediate shaft 7”; Paragraph 0041, “The requirement is thus met that the balloon 14 may be acted on by pressure by introducing a pressurized fluid through the balloon pressure joint 19. The balloon dilates over its entire length, thus completely expanding the stenosis 28 in the radial direction, as clearly shown in FIGS. 11 through 13”). As Wesselmann discloses the catheter with an inner shaft, rolling membrane, and balloon, Wesselmann ‘296 further defines an annular space between an intermediate shaft and the inner shaft for inflating the balloon and expanding the stenosis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner shaft of Wesselmann with the inner shaft and intermediate shaft combination as taught by Wesselmann ‘296, the benefit in inflating the balloon and expanding the stenosis.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) and Wesselmann (US 20110270296 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Wesselmann ‘296, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sogard (US 5447497).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 disclose the catheter of claim 11. The combination discloses the first and second tubular elements as described above with respect to the claim 11 rejection. The combination fails to disclose wherein the inner cylindrical element is connected to the first tubular element and the outer cylindrical element is connected to a second tubular element.
Wesselmann, Wesselmann ‘296, and Sogard in the same field of catheters. Sogard teaches a balloon catheter (Fig. 3), wherein the inflatable element (Fig. 3, dual-layered balloon) comprises an outer cylindrical element and an inner cylindrical element (Fig. 3, outer balloon 26 and inner balloon 28) connected to the tube. In combination with Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296, the arrangement of the inner and outer cylindrical elements would be connected to the first and second tubular elements as they are all part of the same apparatus. As both elements are known and connected to each other, the Federal courts have held that a particular placement or rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 with the cylindrical elements of Sogard connected to the catheter, and the rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 disclose the catheter of claim 11. The combination discloses the first and second tubular elements as described above with respect to the claim 11 rejection. The combination fails to disclose wherein a proximal end of the inner cylindrical element is connected to a distal end of the first tubular element and a proximal end of the outer cylindrical element is connected to a distal end of the second tubular element.
Wesselmann, Wesselmann ‘296, and Sogard in the same field of catheters. Sogard teaches a balloon catheter (Fig. 3), wherein the inflatable element (Fig. 3, dual-layered balloon) comprises an outer cylindrical element and an inner cylindrical element (Fig. 3, outer balloon 26 and inner balloon 28) connected to the tube. In combination with Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296, the arrangement of the inner and outer cylindrical elements would be connected to the first and second tubular elements as they are all part of the same apparatus. As both elements are known and connected to each other, the Federal courts have held that a particular placement or rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter of Wesselmann and Wesselmann ‘296 with the cylindrical elements of Sogard connected to the catheter, and the rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesselmann (US 20120265236 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gupta (US 12350450).
Regarding claim 17, Wesselmann discloses the catheter of claim 1. Wesselmann discusses stent delivery for expanding stenoses (Paragraphs 0003-0006) but fails to explicitly disclose delivering a medical device or medical drug.
Wesselmann and Gupta are in the same field of catheter systems. Gupta teaches wherein the inner shaft lumen is configured to allow a delivery of a medical device and/or a medical drug (Col 10, lines 7-19; Gupta teaches an intravascular delivery system comprising a balloon catheter for deployment of a therapeutic device, such as a stent, to a target site in a blood vessel or a drug delivery catheter). As Wesselmann suggests that the catheter may be used for stent delivery, Gupta teaches an analogous balloon catheter system for delivering a stent in a blood vessel. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the stent delivery method taught by Gupta with the catheter disclosed by Wesselmann, and the result of delivering a stent would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter disclosed by Wesselmann with the stent delivery as taught by Gupta, and the result of delivering a stent would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/NOAH M HEALY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791