DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Connolly (US PgPub No. 2023/0009451).
Regarding claim 1, Connolly teaches a camera unit (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 - 11) including a camera taking an image of an occupant of a vehicle (paragraphs 0001 and 0005; internally aligned camera for a vehicle), comprising: a rigid flexible substrate made up of a plurality of substrates connected by a flexible cable (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; items 302, 304, and 305); and a holder as a single component directly fixing the rigid flexible substrate (figure 4 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 401) and an outermost component of the camera unit (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 301), wherein the plurality of substrates include:
an imaging substrate mounting a light-receiving element of the camera (figure 10 item 1001 attached to item 302); and a transmission substrate (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 305) mounting an external output connector for connecting the rigid flexible substrate to an outer part of the camera unit (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 305 including item 701 also figure 9 connector inside item 801), the holder fixes the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate to be directed to directions different from each other (figure 4 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 401 holding item items item 1001 attached to item 302, and also holding items 304 - 305), and the light-receiving element and the external output connector are exposed to directions different from each other from the holder while the rigid flexible substrate is fixed to the holder (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; the light-receiving element item 1001 and the external output connector item 305 including item 701 also figure 9 connector inside item 801 are exposed to directions different from each other from the holder while the rigid flexible substrate is fixed to the holder).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate are stacked to each other and fixed to the holder, and the light-receiving element and the external output connector are exposed to directions different from each other from the holder while the rigid flexible substrate is fixed to the holder (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11 item 1001 attached to item 302 also items 305, and 401; the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate are stacked to each other and fixed to the holder, and the light-receiving element and the external output connector are exposed to directions different from each other from the holder while the rigid flexible substrate is fixed to the holder).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the holder includes: a bottom surface part constituting a bottom surface of the holder and having a hole (figure 10 item 401 has bottom surface near item 306); and a plurality of side surface parts connected to the bottom surface part to constitute a side surface of the holder and form an inner space with the bottom surface part (figure 10 item 401 a plurality of side surface parts connected to the bottom surface part to constitute a side surface of the holder and form an inner space with the bottom surface part), the imaging substrate is fixed to the inner space so that the light-receiving element is exposed from the hole in the bottom surface part (Figure 10 item 1001), and the transmission substrate is mounted to an end surface of the plurality of side surface parts so that the external output connector is exposed from the holder (figure 10 item 305; the transmission substrate is mounted to an end surface of the plurality of side surface parts so that the external output connector is exposed from the holder).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate are fixed to the holder from a same direction (figure 10 item 1001 attached to item 302 and also item 305; wherein the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate are fixed to the holder from a same direction).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the transmission substrate has a larger area than the imaging substrate (figure 10 item 1001 attached to item 302 size compared to and also item 305 size).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the transmission substrate is fixed to the holder (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 305 fixed to the holder 401) so that an end surface of the transmission substrate is flush with the plurality of side surface parts (figure 10 item 401; a plurality of side surface parts connected to the bottom surface part; wherein transmission substrate is flush with the plurality of side surface parts).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate are disposed to have an L- like shape and fixed to the holder (figure 3 – 5, 7, 9, and 10 – 11; item 1001 attached to item 302 and item 305 make up a have an L- like shape and fixed to the holder).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Connolly teaches wherein the plurality of substrates include at least one additional substrate different from the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate, and the at least one additional substrate is sandwiched between the imaging substrate and the transmission substrate and fixed to the holder (figure 10 items in area between items 1001 and 305 i.e. 304 etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly (US PgPub No. 2023/0009451) in view of NAGAI (US PgPub No. 2017/0210357).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Connolly teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Connolly fails to teach wherein a light-receiving signal of the light-receiving element is used for monitoring the occupant regarding the occupant looking away, dozing, or losing his/her posture. NAGAI, on the other hand teaches wherein a light-receiving signal of the light-receiving element is used for monitoring the occupant regarding the occupant looking away, dozing, or losing his/her posture.
More specifically, NAGAI teaches wherein a light-receiving signal of the light-receiving element is used for monitoring the occupant regarding the occupant looking away, dozing, or losing his/her posture (abstract, paragraphs 0005, 0028 – 0029, 0045 – 0047, 0056 and figures 4A - 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of NAGAI with the teachings of Connolly to have a system for improved safety by monitoring driver activity and alerting driver and/or controlling the vehicle accordingly, thereby improving safety of NAGAI invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KOGA (US PgPub No. 20080218626) teaches a camera unit includes a soft substrate on which electrode regions and an image pickup device region are disposed, a driving electrode group disposed on one of the electrode regions, an image pickup device disposed on the image pickup device region, stationary unit frame attaching portions disposed at positions surrounding the image pickup device region, a stationary unit frame attached to the stationary unit frame attaching portions, and movable units disposed in the stationary unit frame.
Sauer (US PgPub No. 20130242099) teaches a camera assembly or module for a vehicle vision system includes a housing having a connector portion for connecting to a vehicle wiring. A circuit element is disposed within the housing and a plurality of electrical connector elements is disposed at the connector portion of the housing.
Wang (US PgPub No. 20150015713) teaches a vehicle vision system includes a bracket, a stray light shield and a camera module. The bracket is configured to attach at an in-cabin surface of a vehicle windshield.
SHIMIZU (US PgPub No. 20160142599) teaches that the invention provides an imaging module having second connecting portions capable of reliably performing probing and can maintain a small installation space, and an electronic apparatus including the imaging module.
Kunze (US PgPub No. 20180013935) teaches a camera has front and rear housing portions mated together to establish an inner cavity in a housing.
Byrne (US PgPub No. 20190121051) teaches a camera module for a vehicular vision system includes a camera housing having a rear camera housing portion, a front camera housing portion, and a lens barrel at the front camera housing portion.
TANG (US PgPub No. 20190311180) teaches a face sensing module for a computing device includes a frame, a depth sensor, and an RGB camera.
Rafalowski (US PgPub No. 20190384055) teaches an optical device comprises a printed circuit board comprising a rigid main portion and comprising at least one flexible portion arranged at the periphery of the rigid main portion, the rigid main portion including an electronic image-capture circuit.
Sesti (US PgPub No. 20200010024) teaches a vehicular camera configured to be disposed at a vehicle so as to have a field of view exterior of the vehicle includes a lens holder, an imager printed circuit board, a connector printed circuit board and a rear housing.
Park (US patent No. 11412115) teaches a camera module comprising: a housing; a lens assembly that is fixed to the housing and comprises at least one lens; a circuit board that is arranged inside the housing and comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board, on which image sensors arranged to face the lens are mounted, respectively; and a first shield can arranged inside the housing so as to support edges of the first and second circuit boards.
Kunze (US patent No. 10477080) teaches a camera for a vehicle vision system includes a housing having a front housing portion with a lens barrel and lens assembly, and a rear housing portion with a connector.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
08/31/2026