DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geng (US 2014/0246968).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Geng discloses a luggage compartment for an aircraft (1), comprising: a luggage compartment housing (2), a bucket (3) for accommodating a piece of luggage, a hinge (4) between the luggage compartment housing and the bucket, wherein the bucket can be lowered from a closed position to an open position by pivoting about the hinge, and a device (5) for self-opening of the bucket both in an unloaded state and in a state loaded with the piece of luggage, wherein the device for self-opening of the bucket comprises a spring device having a spring element (10) that pushes the bucket toward the open position (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Geng discloses that a compression spring (10) is provided as the spring element, which is more strongly tensioned in the closed position of the bucket than in the open position of the bucket (inherent in Geng since spring 10 if compressed while in the closed position).
Regarding claim 3, Geng discloses that the spring device comprises a support element (19, 33, 34) that passes through the spring element from one longitudinal end of the spring element to the other (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Geng discloses that the support element comprises a cylinder (19) and a piston (33), wherein the piston is extended to different lengths out of the cylinder depending on the tension of the spring element (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Geng discloses that the support element comprises two pistons (33 and 34), each of which is extended out of the cylinder (19) in opposite directions depending on the tension of the spring element (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Geng discloses a damping device (claim 7 of Geng) is provided between the luggage compartment housing and the bucket, which damps the pivoting of the bucket from the closed position to the open position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng in view of Schörkhuber (US 2018/0319501).
Regarding claim 7, Geng fails to teach a first bracket is provided on the luggage compartment housing and a second bracket is provided on the bucket, wherein first longitudinal ends of each of the spring device and the damping device are mounted on the first bracket, and second longitudinal ends of each of the spring device and the damping device are mounted on
the second bracket.
However, Schörkhuber discloses an overhead luggage compartment for an aircraft having a damping device (10) mounted on a first bracket provided on the luggage compartment (2) and a second bracket provided on the bucket (3) – shown in the labeled figure above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success to include the brackets of Schörkhuber in the luggage compartment of Geng since doing so would allow the damping device to be mounted to the corresponding portions of the luggage compartment securely.
Conclusion
/VALENTINA XAVIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642