DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are examined and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11, 13, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karampatsis et al.( WO 2022069063 A1, hereinafter “Karampatsis”).
As to claims 1, 9 , 16 and 20,Karampatsis discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (para.[0052]; NWDAF), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a first signaling indicating a request for first data or analytics (para. [0052]; discloses receiving a NF request from the consumer NF wherein the NF request can either be a subscription to analytics ); and
transmit a second signaling indicating the first data or analytics based at least in part on both internal data of a wireless communications system and external data the apparatus has access to (para.[0053]; discloses the NWDAF derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs regarding different metrics and perform data processing to derive analytic information and providing this information to the consumer NF) .
As to claim 2, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: select one or more data sources of second data to use to satisfy the request; transmit, to each of the one or more data sources, a third signaling indicating a request for the second data from the data source; and receive, from each of the one or more data sources, a fourth signaling indicating the second data (para. [0053]; discloses the NWDAF 205 derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs. The NWDAF identifies the NFs to collect the data based on the Analytic ID requested by the Consumer NF. For example, if UE mobility analytics are requested, then the NWDAF 205 derives statistics or predictions for UE location by subscribing from the AMF to retrieve location changes events of a specific UE.).
As to claim 3, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more data sources include at least one of a network data analytics function (NWDAF), a management data analytics management services (MDAS), an operations and management (OAM) entity, a data source internal to the wireless communication system (para. [0053]; discloses NWDAF derives analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs), a data source external to the wireless communication system, a network slice instance, a network slice subnet instance, a network function (NF), a virtualization system, a data source belonging to legal entities separated from a mobile network operator.
As to claim 5, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is collocated with a network data analytics function (NWDAF), a management data analytics management services (MDAS), an operations and management (OAM) entity, or another network function (NF) in the wireless communications system (Figure 2B & para. [0057]; discloses the Split-Architecture NWDAF 205 includes multiple logical network functions, including the Analytics Generation Function (“A GF”) NWDAF and a plurality of ML Model Training Functions (“MMTF”) NWDAFs).
As to claim 6, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to receive the first signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first signaling from a requesting device that is external to the wireless communications system, and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to generate the first data or analytics by combining the internal data and the external data (para.[0053]; discloses the NWDAF derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs regarding different metrics and perform data processing to derive analytic information and providing this information to the consumer NF) .
As to claim 8, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus further comprises an application that configures the processor to cause the apparatus to receive the first signaling and transmit the second signaling (para. [0053]; discloses NWDAF receiving or collecting the relevant data from NFs and provides analytic information to the consumer NF).
As to claim 10, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first data or analytics is based on data gathered by the device from multiple data sources (para. [0053]; discloses the NWDAF 205 derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs. The NWDAF identifies the NFs to collect the data based on the Analytic ID requested by the Consumer NF.).
As to claim 11, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the multiple data sources include at least one of a network data analytics function (NWDAF), a management data analytics management services (MDAS), an operations and management (OAM) entity, a data source internal to the wireless communication system (para. [0053]; discloses NWDAF derives analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs), a data source external to the wireless communication system , a network slice instance, a network slice subnet instance, a network function (NF), a virtualization system, one or more data sources belonging to legal entities separated from a mobile network operator.
As to claim 13, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the device is collocated with a network data analytics function (NWDAF), a management data analytics management services (MDAS), an operations and management (OAM) entity, or another network function (NF) in the wireless communications system (Figure 2B & para. [0057]; discloses the Split-Architecture NWDAF 205 includes multiple logical network functions, including the Analytics Generation Function (“A GF”) NWDAF and a plurality of ML Model Training Functions (“MMTF”) NWDAFs).
As to claim 14, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the apparatus is external to the wireless communications system and the first data or analytics are a combination of the internal data and the external data (para. [0053]; discloses the NWDAF 205 derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs. The NWDAF identifies the NFs to collect the data based on the Analytic ID requested by the Consumer NF. For example, if UE mobility analytics are requested, then the NWDAF 205 derives statistics or predictions for UE location by subscribing from the AMF to retrieve location changes events of a specific UE.).
As to claim 17, Karampatis discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: selecting one or more data sources of second data to use to satisfy the request; transmitting, to each of the one or more data sources, a third signaling indicating a request for the second data from the data source; and receiving, from each of the one or more data sources, a fourth signaling indicating the second data (para. [0053]; discloses the NWDAF 205 derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs. The NWDAF identifies the NFs to collect the data based on the Analytic ID requested by the Consumer NF. For example, if UE mobility analytics are requested, then the NWDAF 205 derives statistics or predictions for UE location by subscribing from the AMF to retrieve location changes events of a specific UE.).
As to claim 18, Karampatis discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more data sources include at least one of a network data analytics function (NWDAF), a management data analytics management services (MDAS), an operations and management (OAM) entity, a data source internal to the wireless communication system (para. [0053]; discloses NWDAF derives analytics by collecting relevant data from NFs), a data source external to the wireless communication system, a network slice instance, a network slice subnet instance, a network function (NF), a virtualization system, a data source belonging to a legal entity separate from a mobile network operator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 12, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis in view of Rahman et al. (U.S. 2019/0394655 A1, hereinafter “Rahman”).
As to claim 4, Karampatsis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: identify, based at least in part on the first data or analytics, a service that can be provided; and transmit, to the requesting device, a third signaling indicating that the service is available for consumption.
In an analogous art, Rahman disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: identify, based at least in part on the first data or analytics, a service that can be provided (para. [0255]; discloses evaluation includes determining whether or not the requested DAM service can be provided); and
transmit, to the requesting device, a third signaling indicating that the service is available for consumption (para. [0255]; discloses a response indicative of a service that is available) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karampatsis by incorporating transmission of availability and pricing of a service availability as taught by Rahman in order to provide data analytics service provisioning based on certain parameters to provide flexibility and scalable services. (Rahman, para. [0005])
As to claim 7, Karampatis-Rahman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine, based at least in part on the first data as well as a type of data access used to obtain the first data, a charge for the first data or analytics; and transmit, to the requesting device, an indication of the charge for the first data or analytics (Rahman, para. [0258]; discloses evaluation may further include evaluation of other aspects, such as but not necessarily limited to: Pricing considerations such as a price-for service and a determination of whether the price is acceptable, Computational power considerations such as demand and availability, and an openness and exposure level.).
As to claim 12, Karampatsis-Rahman discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the device, a third signaling indicating that a service is available for consumption based at least in part on the first data or analytics; and transmit, to the device, a fourth signaling invoking the service (Rahman, para. [0146]; discloses the CM informs the InfM regarding the available data analytics services and the corresponding request message format… the centralized DAM also may inform the InfM regarding the available data analytics services and the corresponding request message format.).
As to claim 15, Karampatis-Rahman discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the device, an indication of a charge for the first data or analytics based at least in part on the first data as well as a type of data access used to obtain the first data (Rahman, para. [0258]; discloses evaluation may further include evaluation of other aspects, such as but not necessarily limited to: Pricing considerations such as a price-for service and a determination of whether the price is acceptable, Computational power considerations such as demand and availability, and an openness and exposure level.).
As to claim 19, Karampatis-Rahman discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the first data or analytics, a service that can be provided; and transmitting, to the requesting device, a third signaling indicating that the service is available for consumption (Rahman, para. [0255]; discloses a response indicative of a service that is available).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Filsfils et al. (U.S. 12,647,337) discloses a method herein comprises: determining a given time during which a computer network is unstable in response to a topology event within the computer network; causing, in response to the computer network being unstable, a measurement analysis process to perform network performance analysis on the computer network based on the computer network being unstable during the given time; and causing, in response to determining that the computer network is otherwise in a stable state, the measurement analysis process to perform network performance analysis on the computer network based on the computer network being stable.
/JOE CHACKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457