DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responses to the Application filed on 03/03/2025.
Priority
1. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0115079, filed on 09/13/2022.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 3/11/2013 in which claims 14 has been canceled and entered of record.
Claims 1-13 are pending for examination.
Requirement for Information
Examiner requests under 37 CFR 1.105 the Applicant submit with the response to this Office Action (1) the legal status of any co-pending or related foreign patent application filed by the assignee or inventor(s) of this instant case and that is relevant to the prosecution of this case, and (2) the international search report, if any, of the copending or related foreign patent application. This request is necessary for the Examiner to consider possible foreign or non-patent literature that may be germane to patentability of the claimed invention.
Applicant is reminded replies to requirements for information must be complete and filed within the time period set including any extension. Failure to reply within the time period set will result in the abandonment of the application. MPEP § 704.12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, the claim drafting is lack of clarity. Under 37 CFR 1.75 (i), a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See MPEP § 608.01. The independent claims do not have further indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. For examination purpose, the rejections are based on best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al., (WO2020153586), hereinafter PARK. (US 20220085667 A1 is used for mapping purpose)
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a method for performing (Fig. 1-20), by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 2, 100), wireless charging in a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 2, 100), the method comprising:
receiving a Configuration (CFG) packet from a wireless power receiver in a configuration phase [0277]- [0279];
entering a negotiation phase [0279] with the wireless power receiver based on the CFG packet [0277]- [0279];
wherein in the negotiation phase,
receiving an address (ADD) packet including a random address from the wireless power receiver [0028] [0029];
transmitting an ACK [0330] [0331] [0367] for the ADD packet [0367] to the wireless power receiver [0367] and performing an advertisement based on the random address [0367]; and
forming a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection with the wireless power receiver [0360] [0366].
PARK discloses receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver with in-band communication before wireless power transfer; and hand over out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer [0028] [0029].
PARK does not explicitly disclose receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver in the negotiation phase. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PARK and adding ADD packet during negotiation phase. Doing so would ensure the correct wireless power receiver from a plurality of wireless power receivers during the negotiation phase.
Regarding claim 2, PARK discloses the method of claim 1 above, PARK also discloses the random address is set to 6 bytes [0403] and is received through In-band [0367],
wherein the BLE connection is formed only between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver based on the random address [0371].
Regarding claim 4, PARK discloses the method of claim 1 above, PARK discloses in-band communication before wireless power transfer; and hand over out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer [0028] [0029]. PARK does not explicitly disclose receiving SRQ/comm from the wireless power receiver;
transmitting an ACK for the SRQ/comm to the wireless power receiver;
receiving SRQ/en from the wireless power receiver; and
transmitting an ACK for the SRQ/en to the wireless power receiver,
wherein the SRQ/comm includes a request message for BLE communication via Out-Of-Band (OOB), and
after transmitting the ACK for the SRQ/en, further comprising:
performing the BLE communication through the OOB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PARK and provide receiving SRQ/comm from the wireless power receiver;
transmitting an ACK for the SRQ/comm to the wireless power receiver;
receiving SRQ/en from the wireless power receiver; and
transmitting an ACK for the SRQ/en to the wireless power receiver,
wherein the SRQ/comm includes a request message for BLE communication via Out-Of-Band (OOB), and
after transmitting the ACK for the SRQ/en, further comprising:
performing the BLE communication through the OOB. Doing so would allow in order to hand over in-band communication to out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer.
Regarding claim 5, PARK discloses the method of claim 4 above, PARK also discloses the method further comprising:
entering a power transfer phase after the negotiation phase (Fig. 11, 1130 to 1140),
wherein the BLE communication through the OOB is performed in the power transfer phase [0376].
Regarding claim 6, PARK discloses the method of claim 1 above, PARK also discloses the wireless power transmitter is a BLE central device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power transmitter 100 is a central device), and
wherein the wireless power receiver is a BLE peripheral device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power receivers are peripheral device).
Regarding claim 7, PARK discloses a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 2, 100) in a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1-20), the wireless power transmitter comprising:
a converter (Fig. 6, power conversion unit in 110) associated with transmitting (Fig. 6, 100) or receiving wireless power; and
a communication/controller (Fig. 6, 120) associated with controlling the transmitting (Fig. 6, 100) or receiving of the wireless power, wherein the communication/controller is configured to:
receive a Configuration (CFG) packet from a wireless power receiver (Fig. 2, 200) in a configuration phase [0277]- [0279];
enter a negotiation phase [0279] with the wireless power receiver based on the CFG packet [0277]- [0279];
wherein in the negotiation phase,
receive an address (ADD) packet including a random address from the wireless power receiver [0028] [0029];
transmit an ACK [0330] [0331] [0367] for the ADD packet [0367] to the wireless power receiver [0367] and perform an advertisement based on the random address [0367]; and
form a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection with the wireless power receiver [0360] [0366].
PARK discloses receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver with in-band communication before wireless power transfer; and hand over out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer [0028] [0029].
PARK does not explicitly disclose receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver in the negotiation phase. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PARK and adding ADD packet during negotiation phase. Doing so would ensure the correct wireless power receiver from a plurality of wireless power receivers during the negotiation phase.
Regarding claim 8, PARK discloses a method for performing (Fig. 1-20), by a wireless power receiver (Fig. 2, 200), wireless charging in a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1-20), the method comprising:
transmitting a Configuration (CFG) packet to a wireless power transmitter in a configuration phase [0277]- [0279];
entering a negotiation phase [0279] with the wireless power transmitter (Fig. 2, 200) based on the CFG packet [0277]- [0279];
wherein in the negotiation phase,
transmitting an address (ADD) packet including a random address to the wireless power transmitter [0028] [0029];
receiving an ACK for the ADD packet from the wireless power transmitter [0330] [0331] [0367] and performing an advertisement based on the random address [0367]; and
forming a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection with the wireless power transmitter [0360] [0366].
PARK discloses receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver with in-band communication before wireless power transfer; and hand over out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer [0028] [0029].
PARK does not explicitly disclose receiving the ADD packet from the wireless power receiver in the negotiation phase. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PARK and adding ADD packet during negotiation phase. Doing so would ensure the correct wireless power receiver from a plurality of wireless power receivers during the negotiation phase.
Regarding claim 9, PARK discloses the method of claim 8, PARK also discloses the random address is set to 6 bytes [0403] and is received through In-band [0367],
wherein the BLE connection is formed only between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver based on the random address [0371].
Regarding claim 11, PARK discloses the method of claim 8, PARK also discloses in-band communication before wireless power transfer; and hand over out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer [0028] [0029]. PARK does not explicitly disclose transmitting SRQ/comm to the wireless power transmitter;
receiving an ACK for the SRQ/comm from the wireless power transmitter;
transmitting SRQ/en to the wireless power transmitter; and
receiving an ACK for the SRQ/en from the wireless power transmitter,
wherein the SRQ/comm includes a request message for BLE communication via Out-Of-Band (OOB), and
after receiving the ACK for the SRQ/en, further comprising:
performing the BLE communication through the OOB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified PARK and provide transmitting SRQ/comm to the wireless power transmitter;
receiving an ACK for the SRQ/comm from the wireless power transmitter;
transmitting SRQ/en to the wireless power transmitter; and
receiving an ACK for the SRQ/en from the wireless power transmitter,
wherein the SRQ/comm includes a request message for BLE communication via Out-Of-Band (OOB), and
after receiving the ACK for the SRQ/en, further comprising:
performing the BLE communication through the OOB. Doing so would allow in order to hand over in-band communication to out-of-band communication during wireless power transfer.
Regarding claim 12, PARK discloses the method of claim 11, PARK also discloses the method further comprising:
entering a power transfer phase after the negotiation phase (Fig. 11, 1130 to 1140),
wherein the BLE communication through the OOB is performed in the power transfer phase [0376].
Regarding claim 13, PARK discloses the method of claim 11, PARK also discloses the wireless power transmitter is a BLE central device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power transmitter 100 is a central device), and
wherein the wireless power receiver is a BLE peripheral device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power receivers are peripheral device).
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless power transmitter is a BLE central device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power transmitter 100 is a central device), and
wherein the wireless power receiver is a BLE peripheral device (Fig. 2 shows wireless power transmitter 100 communicates to multiple wireless power receivers 200, thus wireless power receivers are peripheral device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the closest found prior art PARK et al., (US 20220085667 A1) using in-band communication during configuration phase and negotiation phase; and handing over the in-band communication to out-of-band communication during power transfer phase. PARK does not discloses performing service discovery based on a preset Handle value and a Universal Unique Identifier (UUID) [0167] [0169],
wherein other service discoveries are omitted due to the preset Handle value and the UUID, and the BLE connection is formed,
wherein the permission, value, and value length for the service discovery are determined based on the preset Handle value and the UUID.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836