DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Power of Attorney filed 3/13/25 has not been accepted as indicated in the notice dated 12/18/25 because the power of attorney does not comply with the power of attorney rules that became effective on 6/25/2004. A New Power of Attorney should be filed in order to overcome this deficiency.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words and because it includes legal phraseology (i.e. “comprising”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 3 extends across two drawing sheets when it should be contained all on one sheet or be divided up into multiple figures which are each provided with an individual label such as figure 3A, figure 3B, figure 3C and figure 3D. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities which require appropriate correction:
In claims 1 and 4-6 the abbreviation “TRP” should be spelled out (i.e. recite “tongue right positioner”) for improved clarity.
In claim 1 line 7: “the patient’s tongue” should be amended to recite “the tongue of the patient”.
In claim 1 line 7: “the patient’s tongue pressure” should be amended to recite “the tongue pressure”.
In claim 1 line 12: “and the patient’s dysphagia is thereby treated” should be amended to recite “and that the dysphagia is thereby treated”.
In claim 1 lines 17-18: “attach the TRP device teeth” should be amended to recite “attach the tongue right positioner device to teeth”.
In claim 6 line 1: a comma “,” should be added between the words “adjustable” and “the”.
In claim 8, the abbreviation “TP” should be spelled out (i.e. recite “tongue pressure”) for improved clarity.
In claim 10 line 1: “claim 8” should be amended to recite “claim 9”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation reciting the step of wearing the device at about bedtime and during sleep “preferably for at least 8 hours” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires this specific length of time for use or if it is optional.
Claims 2-13 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and, therefore, contain the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauclaire (WO 2018008002) in view of Gribb et al (US 9474483).
With respect to claim 1, Mauclaire discloses a method for treating dysphagia (FIGS. 18A-D show an exemplary treatment plan for treating a tongue condition associated with persistent atypical swallowing; see pgs 47-48; atypical swallowing is interpreted as including difficulty swallowing or dysphagia), comprising: fitting a patient afflicted with dysphagia with a TRP oral retainer-based device (the attachment mechanism that attaches the appliance onto the top dental arcade – see pg 21—29) for wearing at night starting at about bedtime and during sleep (duration of treatment includes wearing for several hours during the day and then during sleep; pgs 47-48); providing instructions to the patient to wear the device nightly for a wearing period that is a period of time from about 2 to about 18 months or longer (3-10 months which is within the claimed range of 2-18 months); monitoring the patient's tongue pressure at one or
more time points during the wearing period (pg 5 lines 24-25); and wherein the TRP device is for limiting movement of a posterior or anterior zone of the tongue and stimulating the tongue, while allowing respectively an anterior or posterior zone and lateral edges of the tongue to perform movements necessary for speech and swallowing (pg 3 lines 13-16) and comprises:
an attachment mechanism adapted to releasably attach the TRP device teeth of the patient (pg 3 lines 20-29, pgs 7-9; pgs 21-29) the attachment mechanism comprising a first surface adapted to be positioned on a vestibular side of upper teeth of the dental arcade of the patient and a pair of second surfaces, comprising a left second surface and a right second surface, each second surface in opposition to the first surface and adapted to be seated along at least one and up to four posterior teeth of the wearer on the lingual side of the posterior
teeth (pg 7 line 28 – pg 8 line 6) and
a connector for joining a left end of the first surface with the left second surface and a connector for joining a right end of the first surface with the right second surface (pg 8 lines 7 and 31; the connector joins or connects the first surface and the second surface at the rearmost tooth on each side of the top dental arcade – pg 24 line 25-27);
a tongue-constraining mechanism having a first and second end wherein each end of the constraining mechanism is optionally removably secured to a corresponding
second surface of the attachment mechanism (pg 8 lines 7-8; forward-oriented constraining mechanisms described on pages 31-36) and
a component transverse to and spanning between the first and second surfaces and having a forward or rearward orientation (pg 8 lines 9-10), the component being configured to sit at the occlusal plane of the patient or at an angle thereto (pg 8 lines 10-11) the angle being within the range from + 0 to - 30 degrees lower than the occlusal plane (being seated at “approximately an occlusal plane” as described in page 8 lines 10-11 is interpreted to be a position that is 0 degrees lower than the occlusal plane) and to limit movement of the corresponding zone of the tongue thereby confining the range of motion of the tongue to a more limited three-dimensional space within the mouth of the patient than in the
absence of the device (pg 8 lines 12-14).
Mauclaire does not, however, explicitly disclose wearing the device preferably for at least 8 hours. However, Mauclaire does teach that the duration of treatment includes wearing for several hours during the day and then during sleep (pgs 47-48). The average sleep time for adults is 7-9 hours, which overlaps with the claimed range of 8 or more hours. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to wear the device of Mauclaire for at least 8 hours during sleep in order to maximize wear time while the patient is at rest and not aware of or impacted by use of the device, and, because, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Mauclaire also does not disclose that the wearing period is indicated based
on strength of the patient's tongue or that an increase in tongue strength compared to baseline, or compared to a prior monitoring time point during the wearing period, indicates that the patient receives a benefit from wearing the device or continues to receive a benefit from wearing the device and the patient's dysphagia is thereby treated.
Gribb, however, teaches a method for assessing and altering swallowing (col 1 lines 12-17) using an intraoral component (col 2 lines 17-20) wherein therapeutic protocols instruct a subject to use the intraoral device over a period of time (col 16 lines 11-16) to improve functions such as strength (col 16 lines 36-45) and the specific protocol selected for the subject may be based on an initial screening or diagnostic test and performance over time is monitored (col 16 lines 11-45). Gribb further teaches monitoring of lingual strength to treat dysphagia (col 18 lines 43-47) and that typical therapy for dysphagia involves strengthening therapy to increase muscle tone and augment oropharyngeal swallow (col 1 lines 49-53). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method of Mauclaire so that that the wearing period is indicated based on strength of the patient's tongue and an increase in tongue strength compared to baseline, or compared to a prior monitoring time point during the wearing period, indicates that the patient receives a benefit from wearing the device or continues to receive a benefit from wearing the device and the patient's dysphagia is thereby treated, as taught by Gribb, in order to custom tailor the treatment protocol to the specific needs of the patient and ensure that the treatment is progressing in a manner which provides a positive therapeutic benefit to the patient.
With respect to claim 2, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the dysphagia is oropharyngeal dysphagia (the device is used for treating tongue conditions associated with atypical swallowing and, specifically, with respect to oropharyngeal disorders – pg 20 lines 14-15).
With respect to claim 3, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that tongue strength is assessed by measuring tongue pressure (TP) (the method includes measurement of tongue pressure – pg 5 lines 24-25).
With respect to claim 4, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the TRP is forward-oriented (pg 6 lines 13-14).
With respect to claim 5, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the TRP device is adjustable and the method further comprises adjusting the TRP during the wearing period by removing the constraining mechanism and replacing the constraining mechanism by a second constraining mechanism having different geometry and/or orientation than the first constraining mechanism, to enhance the effect of the TRP device on tongue strength and
thereby enhance the treatment of dysphagia (series of different constraining mechanisms used for treatment - pg 29 lines 16-24; pg 48 lines 16-19).
With respect to claim 6, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the TRP device is not adjustable and the method further comprises replacing the entire TRP device with one having a
constraining mechanism with a different orientation and/or geometry, to enhance the effect of the TRP on tongue strength and thereby enhance the treatment of dysphagia (series of different constraining mechanisms used for treatment - pg 29 lines 16-24; pg 48 lines 16-19).
With respect to claim 7, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but Mauclaire does not explicitly disclose that the wearing period extends from 6 to 18 months. Mauclaire does, however, teach that the duration of treatment is typically between 3-10 months (pg 48 lines 6-7) which overlaps with the claimed range of 6-18 months. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the device of Mauclaire for, specifically, 6-18 months since discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 9, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the component is an arch (as shown in fig 18A).
With respect to claim 10, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) and Mauclaire further discloses that the arch has an apex (fig 18C shows positioning of the apex of the component – see pg 47 lines 22-25).
With respect to claim 11, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) but Mauclaire does not disclose that the embodiment of figs 18A-D includes an arch with a central bead. Mauclaire does, however, teach other embodiments wherein elements are encased in a “bead” or coating of resinous material for added comfort (pg 33 lines 12-15; figs 6A-C). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method of Mauclaire in view of Gribb so that the arch on the device of figures 18A-D includes a central bead, as taught in the embodiment of figs 6A-C of Mauclaire, in order to provide added comfort to the central part of the arch.
With respect to claim 12, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the attachment mechanism is a circumferential retainer band (see abstract).
With respect to claim 13, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Mauclaire further discloses that the connector is integrated to the first and second surfaces (the connector can be an extension of the first surface and integrating with the second surface – pg 18 lines 13-15).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauclaire (WO 2018008002) in view of Gribb et al (US 9474483) and further in view of Lin (US 20200352765).
With respect to claim 8, Mauclaire in view of Gribb discloses the method substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but Mauclaire does not disclose that the wearing period continues until TP reaches and maintains a normal value of at least 30 and up to 55kPa.
Lin, however, teaches an oral appliance used for treating dysphagia (para [0026]) wherein after a period of time of training, the maximum tongue pressure is measured to determine if the pressure is larger than 30 kPa without wearing the oral appliance as an auxiliary device, and to evaluate whether or not the patient no longer needs to wear the auxiliary device and is able to swallow by themselves (para [0006]). Lin further teaches that people with ideal swallowing function can achieve a maximum tongue pressure of 30 kPa to 90 kPa or higher (para [0003]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method of Mauclaire in view of Gribb so that the wearing period continues until TP reaches and maintains a normal value of at least 30 and up to 55kPa as taught by Lin in order to ensure that the patient has achieved ideal swallowing function, no longer needs to wear the appliance, and can swallow by themselves.
Conclusion
/CAITLIN A CARREIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786