Status of Claims
Claims 5-11 are pending and examined below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 9/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "deposited at a speed of 0.1 nm/s" in line 2. As claim 9 is dependent on claim 5, which does not specify a deposition method (nor does any other claim), there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what speed is being referenced. Claim 11 is rejected as claim 11 is dependent on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 103346176) in view of Tabernig et al. (Optically Resonant Bulk Heterojunction PbS Quantum Dot Solar Cell), alternatively in view of Oh et al. (KR 2021-0026476).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses a method for preparing a quantum dot tandem solar cell (see abstract), comprising:
step Sl, applying a first oxide semiconductor material, and a first quantum dot, in sequence onto an upper surface of a conductive substrate to obtain a front cell (see para [0013]-[0019];
step S2, applying a transparent conductive middle layer material onto the front cell obtained in step Si to obtain a front cell covered with a transparent conductive middle layer (see para [0020]);
step S3, applying a second oxide semiconductor material (see para [0020]) and a second quantum dot in sequence onto a surface of the transparent conductive middle layer obtained in step S2 to obtain a front cell-transparent conductive middle layer-rear cell complex (see para [0020]-[0023]); and
step S4, depositing a metal electrode on a surface of a rear cell in the front cell-transparent conductive middle layer-rear cell complex to obtain the quantum dot tandem solar cell (see para [0024]).
Li does not disclose the layer of first quantum dots and the layer of second quantum dots are sequentially followed by a first lead halide layer and a second lead halide layer.
Tabernig is analogous art to Li as Tabernig is directed to a PbS quantum dot solar cell (see abstract). Tabernig discloses the PbS quantum dots to be capped with PbI (i.e. lead halide) (see Results and Discussion, page 13751). Tabernig discloses that PbS quantum dots capped with PbI show stronger absorption than PbS quantum dots not capped with PbI (see Optical optimization, discussion of figure 2, page 13752).
Therefore it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the quantum dot first layer of PbS and the quantum dot second layer of PbS by capping with PbI as the modification improves absorption. (also see Oh para [0001]-[0077]).
As for the method of PbS quantum dots and PbI as a cap in sequence, two methods are available, i.e., form PbS quantum dot solution with PbI cap in solution (see Tabernig page 13757) prior to dropping onto substrate (see Li para [0013]-[0019]) or alternate between PbS and PbI layer to cap, both known in the art (see MPEP § 2144.03). It is the examiner’s position that either method reads on step one of the claim.
Alternatively, the court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select performing process steps in any order as selection is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results; select any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959); In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See also MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 6, modified Li discloses a method according to claim 5.
Li discloses wherein the first oxide semiconductor material and the second oxide semiconductor material independently are TiO (see Li para [0015]);
the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot independently are a PbS quantum dot (see para [0017]-[0023]);;
the first lead halide and the second lead halide independently are lead iodide (see Li modified by Tabernig, see discussion of claim 1, and Tabernig page 13751); and
the transparent conductive middle layer material is ITO (see Li para [0020]).
Li does not disclose the first and second oxide materials are ZnO nanoparticles.
Tabernig discloses utilizing ZnO nanoparticles as the mesoporous layer for PbS quantum dot active layer (see page 13751). (Also see Oh para [0001]-[0077]).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material (i.e., ZnO nanoparticles), which is based upon its suitability for the intended use (mesoporous layer for PbS quantum dot active layer), is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li discloses a method according to claim 5, wherein in step S1, step S2, and step S3, the applying is conducted by spin-coating (see para [0013]-[0023]).
Li does not disclose the spin-coating RPM and seconds to be at a rotational speed of 2,000 rpm/min for 120 seconds. Li discloses the oxide semiconductor at 1500 RPM and the PBS and subsequent ITO at 2000 RPM (which reads on a portion of the limitation). Tabernig discloses the spin coating at 2000 RPM for the layers (see Tabernig page 13757-13758). As RPM of spin coating and length of time are variable impacting layer uniformity, recited variables are result effective variables.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, modified Li discloses a method according to claim 5, wherein in step S2, the applying the transparent conductive middle layer material is conducted in an Ar gas environment (see para [0020]) under a 10-3 Pa (see para [0020], value from non-translated page, specifically, para [0020] is used as the cite, the original and translation do not correlate), which overlaps the recited pressure of under a 1.5 mTorr (millitorr) pressure.
The court has held where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, modified Li discloses a method according to claim 5, wherein in step S4, the metal electrode is deposited at a rate or at a speed of 0.1 nm/s. The rate or speed at which a metal is deposited impacts uniformity, the rate is a result effective variable.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, modified Li discloses a method according to claims 5 and 9, respectively, wherein in step S4, the metal electrode is a gold electrode with a thickness of 100 nm (see para [0012]). Specifically, Li discloses a gold thickness of 100 to 200 nm.
The court has held where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Walker et al. (KR 1 02 012 228 B1) (PbS mfg method).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721