DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al. (US 6285091).
With respect to claim1, Chan et al. (US 6285091) discloses an electric power source switching apparatus comprising: a first semiconductor switch (306) that is disposed between a load device (at 310) and a first power supply source (320 first voltage source line) configured to supply electric power to the load device; a second semiconductor switch (308) that is disposed between the load device (at 310) and a second power supply source (second voltage source line 330) configured to supply electric power to the load device; and a switch control apparatus (302 and 304) that controls drive voltages of the first (306) and second semiconductor (308) switches; wherein, when switching from one of the first and second power supply sources (320 and 330) to the other, the switch control apparatus provides an intermediate state (see col. 6 lines 9-15, “ More particularly, the first and second switch signals 340 and 350 operate to activate (i.e., turn-on) one of the first and second switches 306 and 308 and deactivates (i.e., turn-off) the other of the first and seconds switches 306 and 308. In one implementation, the first and second switches 306 and 308 are n-type FETs and the second switch signal 350 is an inverted version (i.e., complement) of the first switch signal 340. “) in which the semiconductor switch connected to the power supply source configured to supply electric power after switching is held in an unsaturated state (off/ charge pump changes the holding time) , and changes a holding time of the intermediate state (i.e. output of charge pump) in accordance with a voltage difference(at output 312 is the difference between 320 and 330) between the voltages outputted from the first and second power supply sources .
With respect to claim 2, Chan et al. discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the switch control apparatus (302 and 304) changes the holding time (time to get the charge pump up to adjusted level) to be longer than a reference time (intermediate time between charge pump time to be at full high level and charge pump time to be at low level) when the voltage difference is greater than a predetermined value (based on the comparator control “High”), and changes the holding time to be shorter than the reference time when the voltage difference is equal to or smaller than the predetermined value (based on comparator control “low”) (see col. 6 “The comparator 302 compares the voltage levels on the first and second voltage source lines 320 and 330 and outputs a control signal 312. In one implementation, the control signal is "HIGH" when the voltage on the first voltage source line 320 exceeds the voltage on the second voltage source line 330, and the control signal is "LOW" when the voltage on the second voltage source line 330 exceeds the voltage on the first voltage source line 320.”).
With respect to claim 3 Chan et al. discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the switch control (302 and 304) apparatus changes the holding time (either high loading time wherein the charge pump produces a high voltage or low holding time) of the intermediate state (intermediate state interpreted as state before turning 306 and 308 on or off) in accordance with the voltage difference ( from comparison of 309 and 311) and with information representing electrical characteristics of the load device (info from load device downstream from 310 is connected to 320 and 330 through switches).
With respect to claim 4, Chan et. al discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 3, wherein an output terminal of the first semiconductor switch (at 306) and an output terminal of the second semiconductor switch ( at 308) are electrically connected (at 310), and a plurality of the load devices are connected to the output terminals (downstream 310, i.e. from abstract peripheral circuit or internal circuitry).
With respect to claim 5, Chan et al. discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the switch control apparatus (302 and 304) changes the holding time of the intermediate state (i.e. output of charge pump) in accordance with the information representing the electrical characteristics of an energized one of the plurality of the load devices (based on downstream load devices whether which voltage is active or inactive (See abstract “voltage source switching circuit having switches capable of switching between different voltage sources with reduced voltage drop levels is disclosed. A selected one of the different voltage levels is output to a peripheral circuit or supplied to internal circuitry.)).
With respect to claim 6, Chan et. al discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 5 wherein, before switching from one power supply source to the other, the switch control apparatus (302 and 304) stops the power supply to one of the plurality of the load devices (i.e. based on which switch is active switching. (See abstract “voltage source switching circuit having switches capable of switching between different voltage sources with reduced voltage drop levels is disclosed. A selected one of the different voltage levels is output to a peripheral circuit or supplied to internal circuitry.)). and; wherein the switch control apparatus changes the holding time of the intermediate state (intermediate state interpreted as state before turning 306 and 308 on or off) in accordance with the information representing the electrical characteristics of an energized one of the plurality of the load devices (depending on load device the correct switch would be activated).
With respect to claim 11, Chan et. al discloses the electric power source switching apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the information representing the electrical characteristics of the load device includes at least an equivalent electrical resistance and an equivalent capacitance. (Here, equivalent capacitance and resistance are inherent in any load circuit such as the ones described in the abstract as peripheral circuit or internal circuitry)
With respect to claim 13, Chan et. al discloses an electric power source switching method adopted by an electric power source switching apparatus including a first semiconductor switch (306), a second semiconductor switch (308), and a switch control apparatus (302 and 304), the first semiconductor switch being disposed between a load device (per abstract downstream 310 peripheral circuit or internal circuitry) and a first power supply source (The first voltage source line, 320, and the second voltage source line, 330, are respectively connected to first and second source voltages, Column 5 Lines: 33-35) configured to supply electric power to the load device, the second semiconductor switch (308) being disposed between the load device and a second power supply source (The first voltage source line, 320, and the second voltage source line, 330, are respectively connected to first and second source voltages, Column 5 Lines: 33-35) configured to supply electric power to the load device, the switch control apparatus controlling drive voltages of the first and second semiconductor switches (306 and 308), the electric power source switching method comprising the steps of: at the time of switching from one of the first and second power supply sources to the other, causing the switch control apparatus to provide an intermediate state (intermediate state interpreted as state before turning 306 and 308 on or off) in which the semiconductor switch connected to the power supply source configured to supply electric power after switching is held in an unsaturated state (off/ charge pump changes the holding time), and detects the voltage difference between the voltages outputted from the first and second power supply sources; and changing a holding time of the intermediate state in accordance with the voltage difference (i.e. high intermediate state takes longer to charge to turn on and low intermediate state is shorter charge when off) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US 6285091).
With respect to claim 12, Chan et. al discloses a vehicle control apparatus (vehicle control is seen as intended use and is not given patentable weight in that it is used in the preamble) comprising: a controller (302) that controls a vehicle (intended use as the device can be operated to control a vehicle); and an electric power source switching apparatus (304, 306 and 308), wherein the electric power source switching apparatus includes a first semiconductor switch (306), a second semiconductor switch (308), and a switch control apparatus (soft switch system), the first semiconductor switch (306) being disposed between a load device (downstream from 310 as per abstract as peripheral circuit or internal circuitry) and a first power supply source (at 320) configured to supply electric power to the load device, the second semiconductor switch (308) being disposed between the load device (downstream from 310 as per abstract as peripheral circuit or internal circuitry) and a second power supply source (at 330) configured to supply electric power to the load device, the switch control apparatus controlling drive voltages of the first and second semiconductor switches (306 and 308); and wherein, when switching from one of the first and second power supply sources to the other, the switch control apparatus provides an intermediate state (from charge pump) in which the semiconductor switch connected to the power supply source configured to supply electric power after switching is held in an unsaturated state (i.e. low) , and changes a holding time of the intermediate state (intermediate state interpreted as state before turning 306 and 308 on or off) in accordance with a voltage difference between the voltages outputted from the first (at 320) and second power supply sources (at 330) but fails to disclose a vehicle control apparatus and the first semiconductor switch being disposed between a load device disposed in the vehicle and a first power supply source.
The use of the device of Chan in a vehicle is interpreted as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It would have been obvious would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the device in Chan in a vehicle for the purpose of switching between voltage sources with reduced voltage drop levels in the system, tolerance levels of peripheral circuitry are not compromised by the reduced voltage drops across switching elements and cost effective and not overly complicated implementation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to suggest or disclose a plurality of field-effect transistors are connected in series so as to position body diodes in opposite directions; and wherein, when switching from one power supply source to the other, the switch control apparatus provides an intermediate state in which the field-effect transistor whose body diode is in a direction opposite to a direction of power supply is held in the unsaturated state, and changes the holding time of the intermediate state in accordance with the voltage difference between the voltages outputted from the first and second power supply sources.
Claims 8-10 are objected based on their dependence on claim 7.
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836