Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the collected stool” in line 2 should be amended to read –the recovered stool--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the collected stool” in line 2 should be amended to read –the recovered stool--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitation “conveyance mechanism” in claim 1, the claim does not recite enough structure to perform the claimed function “for placing”. However, the specification discloses a rack (par.0023) that can be interpreted as the structure that corresponds to the claimed “conveyance mechanism”.
Limitation “dryer” in claim 4, the claim does not recite enough structure to perform the claimed function “drying the collected stool”. However, the specification discloses (freeze-dryer may be configured to include, for example, a main body (trap portion) that traps the sublimated water, a dry chamber in which the sample is loaded, a pressure reducing device (vacuum pump) that reduces the pressure inside the system to promote sublimation, par.0027) that can be interpreted as the structure that corresponds to the claimed “dryer”.
Limitation “crusher” in claim 4, the claim does not recite enough structure to perform the claimed function “for crushing the dried stool”. However, the specification discloses (mechanical crusher, but may be a sonic crusher or the like, par.0029) that can be interpreted as the structure that corresponds to the claimed “crusher”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the stool" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the container" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 does not depend on any claim and does not seem to be an independent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Examiner respectfully notes, for purpose of examination claim 4 will be interpreted as it depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2021/0369251).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a stool collection system (system 110/200, in fig.1-5, abstract) characterized by comprising:
a toilet bowl (main body 20/22, par.29, fig.3) having a toilet seat (seat 21, par.29, fig.3);
a conveyance mechanism (bag supply machine 30 and transfer machine 25, par.29, par.34-39, par.43 and par.61, fig.3) for placing a stool collection member (plastic bag, par.29, par.34-39, fig.2-3) at a predetermined position below the toilet seat, and conveying the stool collection member on which the stool is loaded out of the toilet bowl (bag supply machine 30 to supply the plastic bag into the inner space 23, par.29, par.34-39, par.40-43 and par.60-61, fig.2-3);
a preparation chamber (sealing chamber 41 that receives the plastic bag loaded with stool, par.37 and par.42-47, fig.3) for recovering the conveyed stool; and
a packaging machine (sealer 43 that seas the upper end of the plastic bag, par.42-44 and par.64) for packaging the recovered stool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim et al (US 2021/0369251), in view of Qiang et al (CN205280394, foreign reference No.2 in IDS mailed on 03/04/2025, an English translated version is relied on herein).
As to claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, wherein the stool collection member is plastic bag but failed to explicitly teach the stool collection member includes a water-soluble sheet and/or a container.
However, Qiang teaches an analogous stool collection system (abstract, par.4, 8-0031), wherein the stool collection member includes a water-soluble sheet (stool sampling device 100 includes soluble paper, par.0052, par.0054, fig.1) and/or a container (sampling box 20, par.31, fig.1).
Since water-soluble sheet and/or a container are well-known in the art for collecting stool samples, so it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the stool plastic bag collector taught by Kim’s invention, with water-soluble sheet and/or a container, as taught by Qiang’s invention, for the same purpose of collecting and conveying stool samples.
Conclusion
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791