DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 8-9 recite the limitation “the sensor media” should read “the sensor medium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogdanovic et al. (US 2022/0228998).
Regarding claim 1, Bogdanovic teaches a device for detecting magnetic signals generated by a beating heart (M), comprising (fig. 10, paras. 0121 and 0126; a magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., device 700) is attached to a chest of a person 1002. In some implementations, the magnetometer can be used in applications such as magnetocardiography to detect magnetic fields from the heart.):
at least two nitrogen-vacancy center ("NV") magnetometer units arranged in a geometric configuration with respect to one another and connected to a signal processing unit,
wherein the device is designed configured (paras. 0031-0032 and 0121; An NV defect is just one example of a type of spin defect that may be used to perform electron spin defect based magnetometry using electron spin defect bodies. an array of individual magnetometer pixels is used to spatially map a sensed magnetic field according to the physical principles described above. A processor of the magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., processor 712) or another processor receives light measurement signals from the one or more photodetectors of the device 1000, the light measurement signals indicative of photoluminescence emitted by the electron spin defect bodies of the magnetometer pixels of the device 1000.):
to detect a magnetic field strength and field direction using each of the at least two NV magnetometer units (para. 0121; a magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., device 700) is attached to a chest of a person 1002. A processor of the magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., processor 712) or another processor receives light measurement signals from the one or more photodetectors of the device 1000, the light measurement signals indicative of photoluminescence emitted by the electron spin defect bodies of the magnetometer pixels of the device 1000. Based on these light measurement signals and based on positions of each of the magnetometer pixels, the processor determines magnetic field characteristics of each of those positions, e.g., the processor may determine magnetic field strength and/or magnetic field orientation at each of those positions.), and
to determine using the signal processing unit at least one field vector comprising an effective magnetic field strength and an effective field direction from the magnetic field strengths and field directions detected by means of the at least two NV magnetometer units (paras. 0121-0122; a magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., device 700) is attached to a chest of a person 1002. A processor of the magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., processor 712) or another processor receives light measurement signals from the one or more photodetectors of the device 1000, the light measurement signals indicative of photoluminescence emitted by the electron spin defect bodies of the magnetometer pixels of the device 1000. Based on these light measurement signals and based on positions of each of the magnetometer pixels, the processor determines magnetic field characteristics of each of those positions, e.g., the processor may determine magnetic field strength and/or magnetic field orientation at each of those positions. the processor is configured to reconstruct a maximum-likelihood estimate for the magnetic field in three spatial dimensions and as a function of time. Inputs on which the maximum-likelihood estimate can be based may include one or more of: measured photoluminescence from multiple magnetometer pixels, system calibration information, known noise sources, an expected source of the magnetic field, or other data. Based on the maximum-likelihood estimate, the overall magnetic field is determined. The examiner notes that the processor is configured to determine the magnetic field strength and direction of each magnetometer unit and provide the overall magnetic field which includes the overall strength and direction of the field).
Regarding claim 2, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the geometric arrangement is a two-dimensional arrangement in which the at least two NV magnetometer units are arranged in a plane (paras. 0086-0088; an example magnetometry device 700. The device 700 includes a substrate 702 on which an array of magnetometer pixels (e.g., magnetometer pixels 704a, 704b) are disposed. In some implementations, the magnetometer pixels are arranged in an array, e.g., a regular arrangement of equally-spaced rows and columns. In some implementations, the array includes at least three rows and at least three columns. In some implementations, the magnetometer pixels of the array lie in a single plane extending across the substrate 604.).
Regarding claim 3, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein:
the at least two NV magnetometer units comprise at least four NV magnetometer units, and wherein the geometric arrangement is a three-dimensional arrangement in which at least one of the at least four NV magnetometer units is not arranged in a plane in which at least three others of the at least four NV magnetometer units are arranged (paras. 0086-0088; magnetometry device 700. The device 700 includes a substrate 702 on which an array of magnetometer pixels (e.g., magnetometer pixels 704a, 704b) are disposed. In some implementations, the magnetometer pixels are arranged in an array, e.g., a regular arrangement of equally-spaced rows and columns. In some implementations, the array includes at least three rows and at least three columns. In some implementations, a total size of the array is about 10×10 cm. In various implementations, the array may include between 3 and 300 pixels.).
Regarding claim 4, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein:
each of the at least two NV magnetometer units has, as a sensor medium, a diamond crystal or a section of a diamond crystal with nitrogen-vacancy centers (paras. 0025-0030; nitrogen vacancy (NV) magnetometry, though the techniques and devices disclosed herein may be applicable to other materials, including other types of electron spin defects, as well. An NV center is a defect in a diamond lattice (defect body) that contains a substitutional nitrogen atom in place of carbon, adjacent to a vacancy in the diamond lattice.), and
wherein the device is configured designed to detect the magnetic field strength and the field direction by reading a magnetic resonance dependent on the magnetic field strength in the sensor medium (para. 0121; Based on these light measurement signals and based on positions of each of the magnetometer pixels, the processor determines magnetic field characteristics of each of those positions, e.g., the processor may determine magnetic field strength and/or magnetic field orientation at each of those positions.).
Regarding claim 5, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 4, further comprising:
at least one excitation light source configured to radiate light into the sensor medium (para. 0095; The device 700 may also include an optical source 708 that is configured to emit input light to one or more of the magnetometer pixels.);
at least one microwave source configured to generate a resonant field in the sensor medium (para. 0093; The microwave field control circuit 706 may be coupled, e.g., electrically connected, to the microwave field transmitters of one or more of the magnetometer pixels by the coupling elements 703. In some implementations, each magnetometer pixel corresponds to a respective microwave field control circuit 706. The microwave field control circuit 706 is configured to provide a microwave source signal to the microwave field transmitters so that the microwave field transmitters emits microwave fields toward the respective electron spin defect bodies of their magnetometer pixel); and
at least one photodetector configured to detect resonance-dependent fluorescent light from the sensor medium (para. 0099; the device 700 includes a processor 712. The processor 712 is coupled to one or more of the photodetectors (e.g., a photodetector for each magnetometer pixel or a photodetector receiving photoluminescence from multiple magnetometer pixels) to receive respective light measurement signals from each of the photodetectors.).
Regarding claim 6, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 5, wherein a same excitation light source and/or a same microwave source are associated with at least two NV magnetometer units (fig. 7, paras. 0093 and 0095; The device 700 may also include an optical source 708 that is configured to emit input light to one or more of the magnetometer pixels. The microwave field control circuit 706 may be coupled, e.g., electrically connected, to the microwave field transmitters of one or more of the magnetometer pixels by the coupling elements 703).
Regarding claim 7, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein the sensor medium of the at least two NV magnetometer units each has a section of a same diamond crystal (paras. 0028 and 0033; Specifically, if the electron spin began in the m.sub.s=+/−1 states, there is approximately a 30% chance for the spin to decay non-radiatively through the secondary path 114, down to the m.sub.s=0 state. The population of the spin sublevels can be manipulated by the application of a resonant microwave field to the diamond. The magnetometer pixel 400 includes an electron spin defect body 402 which is disposed on a substrate 404. The electron spin defect body 402 includes multiple lattice point defects, such as NV defects formed in diamond, as described herein. ).
Regarding claim 8, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein a distance between the sensor media of the at least two NV magnetometer units is from 1 and to 30 millimeters (para. 0088; In some implementations, each magnetometer pixel has lateral dimensions (e.g., width and/or length) between about 2 mm and about 10 mm. In some implementations, each magnetometer pixel has lateral dimensions less than about 10 mm. In some implementations, a total size of the array is about 10×10 cm. In various implementations, the array may include between 3 and 300 pixels.).
Regarding claim 9, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 4, further comprising:
at least one magnetic field device configured to generate means for generating a substantially homogeneous bias magnetic field at a location of the sensor media of the at least two NV magnetometer units (paras. 0066-0067; In some implementations (e.g., some scalar magnetometry implementations), the magnet 424 is arranged such that the bias magnetic field generated by the magnet 428 aligns with spin axes of the NV defects, e.g., projects equally onto multiple axes of the four possible orientation axes of the NV defects. For example, in a sample in which spin axes point along 0°-180° and 90°-270°, the magnet 424 might be arranged to apply a magnetic field in the 45°-225° direction, such that applied magnetic field strengths along the spin axes are equal and time-varying magnetic field strength along both axes is measured together.), wherein the bias magnetic fields of different NV magnetometer units are different (para. 0067; he magnet 424 is arranged so as to split PL intensity lines from the NV defects into four individual lines, representing the four possible orientation axes, by causing each spin axis to be exposed to a different magnetic field. For example, in the example given above, the magnet 424 (in some implementations, more than one magnet) would be arranged to apply different magnetic field strengths in the 0°-180° direction and the 90°-270°, such that time-varying magnetic field strengths along the axes may be measured independently.).
Regarding claim 10, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a band-elimination filter or notch filter having a filter frequency at a the frequency of an AC power supply or a harmonic thereof, and/or a low-pass filter and/or a high-pass filter for filtering a the detected signal (paras. 0053-0056; The example magnetometer pixel 400 includes an optical filter 420. The optical filter 420 is configured to pass photoluminescence emitted by the electron spin defects while blocking another wavelength. For example, the electron spin defects may be excited by input light of a first wavelength, the photoluminescence may be substantially of a second wavelength, and the optical filter 420 may be configured to pass the second wavelength and block the first wavelength. Blocking the input light may be desirable, because otherwise some of the input light may be collected and contribute to measured photoluminescence magnitude, even though the input light is not photoluminescence. Various types of filters may be included. For example, the optical filter 420 may be a bandpass filter where the second wavelength is in the passband and the first wavelength is outside the passband, or the optical filter 420 may be a high-pass filter where the second wavelength is greater than the cutoff wavelength and the first wavelength is less than the cutoff wavelength. In some implementations, the optical filter 420 is a notch filter configured to block light of the first wavelength and pass light of other wavelengths above and below the first wavelength. In some implementations, multiple filters are included in each pixel magnetometer pixel 400.).
Regarding claim 11, Bogdanovic teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the signal processing unit is configured designed to calculate a plurality of field vectors, each comprising a magnetic field strength and a field direction, from the magnetic field data detected using the at least two NV magnetometer units (paras. 0067 and 0121; In some implementations (e.g., some multi-vector magnetometry implementations), the magnet 424 is arranged so as to split PL intensity lines from the NV defects into four individual lines, representing the four possible orientation axes, by causing each spin axis to be exposed to a different magnetic field. For example, in the example given above, the magnet 424 (in some implementations, more than one magnet) would be arranged to apply different magnetic field strengths in the 0°-180° direction and the 90°-270°, such that time-varying magnetic field strengths along the axes may be measured independently. A processor of the magnetometry device 1000 (e.g., processor 712) or another processor receives light measurement signals from the one or more photodetectors of the device 1000, the light measurement signals indicative of photoluminescence emitted by the electron spin defect bodies of the magnetometer pixels of the device 1000. Based on these light measurement signals and based on positions of each of the magnetometer pixels, the processor determines magnetic field characteristics of each of those positions, e.g., the processor may determine magnetic field strength and/or magnetic field orientation at each of those positions.).
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797