DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15, line 5 discloses the phrase “stack-shaped” and it is unclear what shape it is. Stack-shaped doesn’t have a commonly known meaning and there was no special definition within the original disclosure to provide the skilled artisan any direction as to what was actually meant. For purposes of prosecution it is simply being read that the claim layers are in a stacked configuration, this interpretation is support by the figures.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a passivation layer" in lines two. As a passivation layer is already disclosed in claim 15, it is unclear if this is the same layer or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boretius et al. US Publication 2019/0351214 (hereinafter Boretius) in view of Kiele et al. “Thin Film Metallization Stacks Serve as Reliable Conductors on Ceramic-Based Substrates for Active Implants” Nov 2020 (hereinafter Kiele) and in further view of Lamont et al. “Silicone encapsulation of thin-film SiOx, SiOxNy and SiC for modern electronic medical implants: a comparative long-term ageing study”. April 2021.
Regarding claims 15 and 27-28, Boretius discloses an implantable electrical contact arrangement (abstract) which has at least one electrode element arrangement enclosed entirely by biocompatible, electrically insulating material (element 9, [0009][0022] and claim 15), with at least one electrode surface that is directly or indirectly enclosed by the biocompatible, electrically insulating material (element 12, [0021]-[0022], as per Figure 1a), the at least one electrode element arrangement having a layer composite which is stack-shaped and has a metallization layer at least on a ceramic substrate over an adhesion promoter layer (composite includes elements 11-16), wherein the layer composite is bonded to a passivation layer (passivation layer 11’) such that covalent bonds are formed ([0016][0017][0036] and claim 15), and is otherwise completely encased by said passivation layer, except for at least one surface area of the metallization layer facing away from the layer composite (Figure 1a, claim 15),
Though Boretius discloses many of the same layers/materials as part of the stacked arrangement, some of the order regarding the adhesion promotor are not explicitly detailed. Kiele teaches an electrical connection for medical implants that includes a stack-shaped layer composite which has a metallization layer at least on a ceramic substrate over an adhesion promoter layer (Figure 1A, Section III-B: "The thin film metallization consisted of a layer stack made of sputtered tungsten-titanium forming an adhesion layer and platinum ... on a sintered alumina (Al2O3, 96 %) substrate." This is a ceramic substrate (Al2O3)/adhesion promoter layer (WTi)/metallization layer (Pt) stack, deposited by PVD sputtering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to construct the layer composite as taught by Kiele of alumina/WTi(adhesion promoter)/Pt(metallization) stack) in lieu of Boretius’s SiC-substrate/Au/Pt(or Ti)/Ir stack as predictable results would have ensued (substitution of one known ceramic/adhesion-promoter/metallization architecture for another to achieve the predictable result of a mechanically and chemically robust, covalently-bondable base for a passivation/encapsulation scheme). Kiele additionally expressly teaches this substitution improves long-term covalent bonding and adhesive strength at the ceramic–metal interface for implantable contacts (Kiele Sections III-A and IV-A).
Boretius further is silent regarding the manufacturing process. Lamont teaches an implantable connection that includes similar architecture with a passivation layer that is deposited on the layer composite by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, physical vapor deposition or wet chemical coating (abstract, Section 2.1.1 which details the use of PECVD on a similar family of silicon oxides on a similar type of device). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to deposit the resulting passivation layer (of the Boretius/Kiele composite, above) by PECVD, and to select its material from the SiOx/SiOxNy/SiC family, as expressly taught by Lamont for the identical purpose (Sections 3.2.2 and 5). Substituting Lamont's explicit, validated PECVD process for Boretius's generic SiC-deposition step is a combination of known prior-art elements yielding the predictable result of a reliable, moisture-resistant, covalently-adherent passivation.
Regarding claim 16, Boretius discloses that the at least one surface area of the metallization layer not covered by the passivation layer equates to at least one electrode surface area (electrode surface area 6, metallization layer 19, exposed via the recess at 18) on which an electrical lead or an electrical supply and discharge lead is contacted ([0040]-[0041] as well as claims 16-17). Kiele additionally discloses this under Section III-B/C, under the solder joints).
Regarding claim 17, Boretius discloses that the electrical contacting of the electrical lead or the electrical supply and discharge lead is implemented based on a soldered, bonded or adhesive connection ([0007] at element 8).
Regarding claim 18, Boretius discloses that the metallization layer is a platinum or gold layer ([0035] which details gold). Kiele additionally teaches that the metallization layer can be platinum (Section III-B).
Regarding claim 19, Boretius discloses that the adhesion promoter layer is a tungsten-titanium or titanium layer ([0039]). Kiele additionally discloses the adhesion promotor of tungsten-titanium (abstract, Section III-A/B).
Regarding claim 20, Boretius discloses that the passivation layer is a silicon oxide, silicon carbide, silicon nitrite or silicon oxinitrite layer ([0016], claim 16 which details silicon carbide).
Regarding claims 21-22, Boretius discloses that the biocompatible, electrically insulating material is a polymer made from one of: silicones, polyimide, liquid crystal polymer, and parylene ([0022]).
Regarding claim 23, Boretius discloses an electrical component that is connected to the metallization layer by at least one electrical connection, the electrical component being covered with the passivation layer ([0025][0040] and claim 27, the gold connecting line 17 is "integrally connected on one side with the gold layer 12" and "is completely encapsulated with an SiC layer 11/11' and is hermetically sealed from the polymer housing 9).
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Boretius discloses the desire to have covalent boding along the diffusion layer ([0017][0023] "the remaining bonding forces are based, for example, on covalent ... bonds" at its analogous SiC/polymer interface), but not specifically in reference to the polymer. Lamont Section 1 (Introduction, paragraph 2) discloses that the suitable silicones "(i) form chemical bonds to the surface that are hydrolysed slowly or not at all", covalent bonding to the underlying passivation, materially unlike physisorption/van der Waals attachment, which would hydrolyze readily. This is reinforced by Lamont's plasma-activation step immediately preceding encapsulation (Section 2.1.2, p. 5–6), a known technique for generating reactive silanol sites for Si–O–Si condensation bonding at the passivation/silicone interface.
Lamont further teaches forming bonds "hydrolysed slowly or not at all" would, through routine optimization of surface preparation (solvent with plasma cleaning per Section 4.4, shown to be "a primary factor affecting encapsulant adhesion") arrive at exclusively covalent bonding. Lamont is combinable for the rationale mentioned above (see contents of rejected claim 15). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to utilize the bonding as taught by Lamont with the materials/layers of Boretius as predictable results would have ensued (utilizing known processes to bond elements; for the exclusive covalent bonding, see the Claim Interpretation section below).
Regarding claim 25, Boretius discloses that there are covalent bonds between the composite layers ([0017] describes "at least 70%, preferably at least 80%, ... at least 90%" cohesive bonding force with the remainder "covalent or adhesive”. Boretius suggests covalent or adhesive bonding elsewhere but provides no further detail. Kiele teaches covalent bonding between the claimed layers (Section III-A where "titanium can form a covalent bond with the oxygen atom of the ceramic substrate ... Mechanical interlocking and physisorption can be considered to only play minor roles in this case due to their smaller strengths”. Therefore, the skilled artisan before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to utilize Kiele's Al–O–Ti interface chemistry (which the reference itself characterizes as dominated by covalent bonding, with only "minor" non-covalent contribution) with the bonding being listed as desirable by Boretius as predictable results would have ensued (affording a stronger bond, see also the Claim Interpretation section below regarding the exclusive covalent bonding).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Construction — "covalent bond(s)" (claims 15, 24, 25, 26)
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, "covalent bond" as used in the instant application is construed to mean chemisorptive (chemical) bonding - bonding arising from interaction, sharing, or transfer of outer-shell (valence) electrons between the contacting materials - as distinguished from purely mechanical interlocking or physisorptive (van der Waals) attachment. This construction does not require the total absence of ionic bond character.
Support in the Specification:
1. [0009] is the operative definitional passage, and it treats "covalent" and "chemical" as coextensive, not as a subset requiring exclusion of ionic character: "As result of the covalent or chemical bonds forming ... as a result of the interaction of the outer electrons between atoms and/or molecules respectively, the penetration of moisture or water ... is at least almost ruled out." The phrase "interaction of the outer electrons" describes the general mechanism of valence-electron bonding — the mechanism common to both covalent sharing and ionic transfer — without distinguishing between them. Nowhere does the specification define "covalent" with reference to electron-sharing symmetry, bond polarity, or percentage ionic character.
2. The definition is outcome-driven, not mechanism-specific. [0009] ties "covalent or chemical" bonding to a functional result — ruling out moisture penetration and interfacial delamination — rather than to any particular quantum-mechanical bond classification. Under Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2005) and MPEP 2111, claim terms are given the meaning a person having ordinary skill in the art would derive from the specification as a whole; where the specification itself defines a term functionally.
3. The specification never uses or contrasts against "ionic," "physisorption," "van der Waals," or "hydrogen bond."
4. [0004] recites Kiele's teaching in detail, including that sputtered Ti forms "good results ... through metallization with sputtered aluminium on an adhesive layer of tungsten-titanium." [0015] then states: "The stack-shaped layer composite is preferably produced in accordance with the design described in the publication cited in the introduction by Kiele et al.", the Applicant's preferred embodiment is expressly built to Kiele's own adhesion mechanism. Kiele Section II defines chemisorption as encompassing "chemical bonds such as covalent, ionic and hydrogen bonds" collectively, in contradistinction to physisorption/van der Waals attraction, and Kiele's Results (Section III-A) then calls the Al–O–Ti interface "covalent" using that same undifferentiated, chemisorption-level sense — notwithstanding that Al–O and Ti–O bonds are conventionally treated as majority-ionic in materials science. Because the Applicant adopted Kiele's design as the preferred embodiment for the very interface at issue in claim 25, the Applicant is being held to Kiele's usage of "covalent" as a term of art meaning chemisorptive bonding generally, not a rigorously covalent-only bond.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M ANTISKAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794