Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “elevated” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elevated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no established baseline for thermal stability. It is unclear what the claimed stability is “elevated” in comparison to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaoka (JP2006104438A), citations from attached translation.
Inaoka teaches a liquid detergent composition comprising water and an anionic surfactant of Formula 5 (page 1, 1st paragraph). Inaoka teaches compound of Formula 5 include Secondary sodium dodecyl ether sulfate: carbon number: 12, EO / n = 1, Secondary sodium tetradecyl ether sulfate: carbon number: 14, EO / n = 1 and Secondary sodium hexadecyl ether sulfate: carbon number: 16, EO / n = 1 (page 14). Inaoka teaches these compounds in the composition at concentrations of 3-9% (Table III-8 and III-9). Inaoka further teaches a composition containing 3% lauryldimethylamine oxide, 2% ethanol and 56% water (Table IV, Example 30). Inaoka teaches the composition can be used to clean cloths and kitchen ware and then rinsed off after application (pages 11-12)
Inaoka does not teach a single embodiment with all claimed components. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated combine all the components in order to create highly safe, less irritating, excellent in hard water resistance, and excellent in a well-balanced performance in terms of both cleaning performance against oil stains and rinsing performance after cleaning (see page 4). One having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the composition to clean Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaoka as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-10 above, and further in view of Falk (US 5,719,117).
The teachings of Inaoka are discussed above. The reference does not teach the composition further comprising a hydrotrope.
In analogous art, Falk teaches a detergent composition (se abstract). Falk teaches the use of zwitterionic and anionic surfactants (col 8, ln 5-15). Falk also teaches the incorporation of hydrotropes and that Hydrotropes also allow a change in the proportions of different types of Surfactants, namely anionic, nonionic, cationic and Zwitterionic, without encountering the problem of phase separation (see col 8, ln 55-60).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the hydroptrope to the detergent composition of Inaoka in order to create a composition that has enhances stability. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761