DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the claim recites the limitation “subjecting the gel to crystallization” without offering any process steps to what “subjecting” includes. This should be amended to include an active process step.
Claim 3 is indefinite because the claim recites the “alkali source” as both “MOH” and “M2O”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al., Chinese Publication No. CN112551539 (hereinafter referred to as Gong) in view of Huan et al., Chinese Publication No. CN105439166A (hereinafter referred to as Huan).
Regarding claims 1-19, Gong discloses a method for preparing a single-layer MWW molecular sieve comprising the steps of (1) formulating a single-layer MWW zeolite gel by mixing a source of silicon, such as, silica sol, a source of aluminum, such as, aluminum sulfate, a source of alkali, such as, sodium hydroxide, a first templating agent (R1), and a second templating agent (R2), and deionized water at molar ratios of SiO2/Al203 = 3-150, OH "/Si02 = 0.01-1, H2O/Si02 = 10-100, R1/Si02 = 0.01-1, R2/Si02 = 0.01-1 to obtain a single-layer MWW zeolite gel; (2) Gel crystallization - the monolayer MWW zeolite gel obtained in step (1) is first aged and then subjected to dynamic hydrothermal crystallization; (3) Calcination - the product obtained from the dynamic hydrothermal crystallization of step (2) is subjected to a calcination treatment to obtain the single-layer MWW molecular sieve.
Wherein step (1) comprises mixing a source of silicon, a source of aluminum, R source of alkali, a templating agent RI, a templating agent R2, deionized water, and seed crystals to give a single-layer MWW zeolite gel. Templating agent RI is cyclohexylamine; templating agent R2 is a halide or hydroxide of a simple quaternary ammonium salt having a side chain length of C1-5 alkyl. The single-layer MWW molecular sieve described herein can be subjected to a liquid phase alkylation reaction as a catalyst to produce ethylbenzene at a benzene to ethylene molar ratio of 2 to 3, a reaction temperature of 190°C to 250°C and a reaction pressure of 3 to 4 MPa. By employing a dual templating agent approach, single-layer MWW molecular sieves can be stably synthesized under cyclohexylamine systems, enriching the crystalline phase that can be synthesized by cyclohexylamine systems, replacing the traditional highly toxic, expensive hexamethyleneimine with cheap and low toxic cyclohexylamine, reducing the cost of the synthesis, and making the synthesis process more green and safe (see Abstract and see Example 1).
Gong discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose the specific second templating agent recited in claim 1.
Huan discloses a process for synthesizing a MWW-structured molecular sieve comprising the steps of: a) mixing a source of silicon, a source of aluminum, a source of “OH"-containing alkali, a templating agent R and water to obtain a reaction mixture; b) stirring, drying, grinding the reaction mixture into a dry adhesive powder; c) crystallizing the dry adhesive powder after mixing with water; the crystallized product is water-washed, oven-dried, and calcined to give the MWW-structured molecular sieve.
The templating agent R is selected from at least one of cyclohexylamine, bexamethylenediamine, hexamethyleneimine, heptamethyleneimine, pyridine, piperidine, ethylenediamine, isopropylamine, ethyltrimethylammonium hydroxide, diethyldimethylammonium hydroxide, or triethylmethylammoniam hydroxide (Para. [0008]-[0018]). Huan discloses that at least one of the reagents including cyclohexylamine, bexamethylamine, ethylenediamine, isopropylamine, ethyltrimethylammonium hydroxide and the like can be employed as a templating agent for the synthesis of MWW molecular sieves. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date is motivated to select templating agents, such as, hexamethylenediamine, ethylenediamine, isopropylamine from which to use in combination with the RI template cyclohexylamine in it is readily available to employ other fatty amine templating agents such as disopropylamine, di-n-butylamine, disobutylamine and the like in claim I and to adjust the amount ratio of each templating agent. In addition, ammonium exchange and calcination of the molecular sieve from which the templating agent is removed to form the H-form molecular sieve is further compounded with a binder (inorganic oxide), a peptizing agent (inorganic acid solution), and the like, and dry calcination to form the finished catalyst is also a conventional technique.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18/857,283. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '283 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771