DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 3/4/2025. The amendment has been placed of record in the file.
The Information Disclosure Statements
The prior art cited in the information disclosure statements filed on 3/4/2025 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-30 are objected to because of the following informalities: it appears stating the method of claim…in the preamble for these claims is typo and so treated in this office action. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 15-24, 27-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasgupta (US 20150308942 A1) in view of Berthold (US 6519041 B1).
As to claims 1-2, Dasgupta teaches a device for measuring a concentration of hydrogen in a gas sample, the device comprising: a multipass optical cavity (paragraphs 0015, 0018; Figs. 1, 3B) comprising optical elements, wherein the optical elements include mirrors (12, 14, Figs. (1, 3B) supporting a multipass optical pathway within an interior of the multipass optical cavity; a laser(20, Figs. 1, 3B) configured to generate a laser beam entering the multipass optical cavity and propagating along the multipass optical pathway within the interior of the multipass optical cavity such that the laser beam (paragraphs 0061, 0071 )reflects multiple times from the mirrors of the multipass optical cavity; a detector (22, Figs. 1, 3B; paragraphs 0015, 0034) configured to detect an intensity of the laser beam exiting the multipass optical cavity; and a signal processor (paragraph 0012). Note the limitation ‘to determine the concentration of hydrogen in the gas sample in the optical cavity from a measured intensity of the laser beam,’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Dasgupta is silent to: wherein the multipass optical cavity comprises surface layers containing Pd on the optical elements; whereby hydrogenation of the surface layers containing Pd by the hydrogen in
the gas sample alters optical properties of the surface layers containing Pd to allow optical detection of hydrogen. However, Berthold, teaches hydrogen sensor whose terminal end is coated with palladium (Pd) metal which acts as a reflector to return light to the input end (column 1, line 47 to column 2, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to coating terminal end (mirrors/reflectors) of multipass cavity with palladium (Pd) metal in order to enhance measurement of hydrogen concentration/levels (abstract).
As to claims 3, 17, 18, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition Dasgupta teaches wherein the laser beam reflects multiple times (Figs. 1, 3B) from the mirrors of the multipass optical cavity. Note limitation ‘at least 10 times,’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 4, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the optical elements include a transmissive window positioned between the mirrors to intersect the multipass optical pathway. However, examiner takes Official Notice that positioning transmissive window between the mirrors of multipass optical pathway is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide transmissive window between the mirrors of multipass optical pathway in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claim 5, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1. Dasgupta silent wherein the surface layers containing Pd are on at least one surface of the transmissive window. However, Berthold teaches hydrogen sensor with a palladium coating (column 1, line 47 to column 2, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to coating a transmissive mirror of multipass cavity with palladium (Pd) metal in order to enhance measurement of hydrogen concentration/levels (abstract).
As to claim 6, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the multipass optical cavity is contained in a cell having porous walls configured to facilitate diffusion-based sampling and reduce particulate entrainment. However, examiner takes Official Notice that containing multipass optical cavity in a cell with porous walls is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to containing multipass optical cavity in a cell with porous walls so that gas gets in, particle stays out.
As to claim 7, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the multipass optical cavity is contained in a sealed gas chamber. However, examiner takes Official Notice that containing a multipass cavity in a sealed chamber is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to containing multipass optical cavity in a sealed chamber so that turning the multipass cavity from an open-air path into a controlled spectrometer.
As to claim 8, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, the particulate filter. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of particulate filter in sample cavity/cell is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Dasgupta multipass apparatus with particulate filter in order to keep out dust/particles that is not in your sample out of your optics.
As to claims 9, 15, 22, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the surface layers containing Pd comprise a Pd alloy with Au, Co, Ta, Ti, or Hf. However, examiner takes Official Notice that alloying a Pd with said elements is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to alloy a Pd with said elements in order to prevent/minimize/fixes failures that makes pure Pd useless in optics.
As to claim 10, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the surface layers containing Pd comprise nanoparticles or polymer coatings. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of surface layers containing Pd comprising nanoparticles or polymer coatings is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use surface layers containing Pd comprising nanoparticles or polymer coatings in multipass cavity in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claim 11, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition Dasgupta teaches wherein the laser beam has a wavelength in the range 400 - 1000 nm (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 13, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition Dasgupta teaches wherein the laser beam has a wavelength in the range 1000 -8000 nm (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 16, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the transmissive window is a contrast enhancement slide. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of contrast enhancement slide is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a contrast enhancement slide to Dasgupta apparatus in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claims 19-21, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except the laser type and range. However, the laser type and range is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 23, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the transmissive window is a semi-transparent glass slide coated with a nanoparticle layer containing Pd or an alloy with Au, Ti, Co, Ta, Hf, or W. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of transmissive window with glass slide coated with nanoparticle layer containing Pd is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate transmissive window with glass slide coated with nanoparticle layer containing Pd to multipass cavity in order to shape/shape light as desired.
As to claim 24, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except the anti-reflective coating. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of anti-reflective coating is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate anti-reflective coating to optical apparats in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claim 27, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the transmissive window comprises nanoparticles or nanostructures with diameters in the range 50 nm - 1000 nm. However, examiner takes Official Notice that transmissive with said characteristics is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use transmissive with said characteristics in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claims 28-29, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except the use of the polymer coating. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use of polymer coating optical apparatus is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate polymer coating to transmissive window in order to make cheap glass behave like expensive glass.
As to claim 30, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the laser beam has a wavelength of 1300 nm or 1550 nm. However, the laser beam wavelength is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasgupta in view of Berthold, and further in view of Jin et al (US 20210102924 A1) [hereinafter Jin].
As to claims 12, 14, Dasgupta in view of Berthold teaches all as applied to claim 1. Dasgupta in view of Berthold is silent to wherein the surface layers containing Pd have thicknesses of 30 nm or 20 nm. However, Jin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches hydrogen sensor having hydrogen sensitive material nanofilm 120 that is palladium film having a thickness of 5 nm to 420 nm (paragraphs 0041, 0043, 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply/coat palladium film/coating of said thickness to Dasgupta mirrors in order to shape/condition light as desired.
As to claim 26, Dasgupta in view of Berthold and further in view of Jin teaches all as applied to claim 1, except wherein the transmissive window comprises a 2 nm thickness layer of Pd or its alloy. However, examiner takes Official Notice that use transmissive window with said characteristics is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use transmissive with said characteristics in order to shape/condition light as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 25, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method of claim 1 wherein the transmissive window comprises a PdxCo₁₀₀-x coating, where X is in the range 50-100, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Paul (US 20170139191 A1) teaches an optical multipass system is configured to include, in addition an end-mirror configuration of reflective surfaces, a multipass pattern folding assembly. The end-mirror configuration includes at least two reflective surfaces arranged to provide for establishing cell stability of an optical multipass cell comprising all or part of the optical multipass system, or further provide for directing and/or focusing light within the optical multipass cell, and can, in various embodiments, comprise a Herriott, White or other conventional or other cell type configuration. The multipass pattern folding assembly includes at least two inner reflective surfaces configured to provide for folding an optical pattern intra-cavity at least twice off one of the inner reflective surfaces of the multipass pattern folding assembly. In various embodiments, the multipass pattern folding assembly includes two substantially flat mirrors or other reflective surfaces disposed between the end reflective surfaces of the end-mirror configuration, and arranged substantially parallel to one another, so as to fold an optical path intra-cavity and in a zig-zag path between the end reflective surfaces of the end-mirror configuration (abstract).
/ABDULLAHI NUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886