DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 21 September 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-12 and 14-16 in the reply filed on 21 September 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office restriction itself establishes unity between Groups I and II, because it acknowledges that both groups require a technical feature (Remarks, p. 5). This is not found persuasive because the argument misunderstands restriction practice under Unity of Invention. A common technical feature is not sufficient to establish Unity of Invention; instead, a common technical feature must also be a special technical feature. A “special technical feature” means “those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art” (emphasis added). Unity of Invention is broken by a showing that a common technical feature is not special, that is, that it does not define a contribution, considered as a whole, over the prior art. Ahn et al. (US’623) was cited to show that the common technical feature is not special for the reasons given.
In response to Applicant’s argument that US’623 does not break Unity of Invention because Ahn teaches a different use of the taught composition (Remarks, p. 5, last paragraph), the issue is whether the composition of Group I is a special technical feature, not whether US’623 teaches a particular intended use, which does not carry significant patentable weight for the composition of Group I. Moreover, that US’623 teaches components as optional does not diminish the obviousness of including any optional components in the composition. Also, while US’623 is considered sufficient to show that the groups of invention do not share a special technical feature, examination of the elected claims identified prior art, now considered closer to Applicant’s claimed composition than US’623, and is cited in the current rejections.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning serious burden (Remarks, p. 6), serious burden is not generally considered separately in restrictions under 35 USC 371. However, there would be a serious burden for the reasons suggested by Applicant’s argument (e.g. field of search, separate classification) and additional considerations, since the composition is distinct over the claimed method and could be practiced by a materially different method. That the inventions are distinct suggests a burden of repeated searches for different intended uses of the claimed composition and diverging subject matter, concerning details about a sprayer, rather than about the claimed composition itself over the course of examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “enhances the ability of the aqueous emulsion to spread.” The limitation is indefinite as vague, because it is not clear what the word requires. Examiner considers the broadest reasonable interpretation to include “modifies the ability of the aqueous emulsion to spread.”
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the composition is packaged in a trigger-actuated spray bottle.” The limitation is indefinite as ambiguous, because it is not clear what the claim requires. Although Claim 16 purports to be drawn to the composition of Claim 1, it also recites the limitation “the composition is packaged in a trigger-actuated spray bottle.” Because the recited spray bottle is not a part of the claimed composition, but rather a container for the claimed composition, it is not considered to add significant patentable weight to the claimed composition and is treated as an aspect of intended use.
Claims 2-12 and 14-16 are rejected as depending from another rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serobian et al. (US 2010/0305260) in view of Tanetani (JP 2002241705A) (“ACUSOL RHEOLOGY MODIFIERS” is provided as evidence of the structure of ACUSOL products, including ACUSOL 820).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 5-8, Serobian et al. (US’260) teach a sprayable water-based composition, the composition being in the form of an aqueous emulsion (Claim 1; [0003]) comprising: at least 50 wt. % water (e.g. 65-95%) (Claim 1), that provides a continuous aqueous phase of the aqueous emulsion (definition of aqueous emulsion) [0085]; from 5.0 to 15 wt. % of a hydrophobic, silicone-based material (e.g. preferably polydimethylsiloxane) (Claim 1; [0085,0088]) that is in the form of parcels that provide a discontinuous phase of the aqueous emulsion (i.e. polydimethylsiloxane dispersed in water to form an aqueous emulsion) [0085]; surfactant in a range of 0.01-20%, or from 0.1-10%, or from 0.10 to 5.0 wt. % that serves both as an emulsifier that kinetically stabilizes the aqueous emulsion [0003,0099-0100] and as a wetting agent (reduces interfacial tension between a liquid and a solid) that enhances the ability of the aqueous emulsion to spread on a hydrophobic surface; wherein the aqueous emulsion further comprises from 0.0001-15%, or 0.001%-10%, or 0.01%-5%, or 0.05-0.3 % by weight of a water-soluble thickener (rheology modifier) (Claim 1; [0031,0060-0061,0083,0101]). US’260 fails to teach the precise ranges of concentration for surfactant or for the thickener; however, the ranges substantially and obviously overlap the ranges taught. Note, also, that in Claim 1, when the percentage of water is at its upper range of around 95%, the highest percentage of polyorganosiloxane is around 5%, which leaves a relatively very low percentage of surfactant and thickener (less than 1% for both surfactant and thickener). In addition, US’260 provides evidence that the concentration of thickener is a result-effective variable, known to affect viscosity of an emulsion and to affect its ability to be sprayable [0101]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the composition of US’260 with a concentration of thickener within the recited range through routine optimization. Moreover, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical.
US’260 teaches a silicone polyether surfactant/wetting agent among surfactants [0092], and silicone polyether surfactants are conventional. Still, US’260 fails to provide a specific reason to use a silicone polyether surfactant/wetting agent from among surfactants. Tanetani (JP’705) is analogous art in the field of aqueous emulsions containing dimethylsiloxane [0001] and suggests that silicone polyether surfactants are particularly preferred in combination with an organopolysiloxane to provide good miscibility, rapid release and deployment of the organopolysiloxane upon application [0030,0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the composition of US’260 with the recited concentration of silicone polyether surfactant either in addition to or as a substitute for surfactants listed in US’260, because JP’705 suggests that silicone polyether surfactants are preferred surfactants in analogous compositions, including aqueous emulsions, because they provide good miscibility, rapid release and deployment of the organopolysiloxane upon application.
Further regarding Claim 2, the claimed composition is a liquid (aqueous emulsion). Precursors of the claimed composition are not given significant patentable weight to the claimed composition, because precursors relate to a method of making, which is not given patentable weight for a claimed product.
Regarding Claim 3, US’260 teaches at least some hydroxy-terminated polydimethylsiloxane polymers (dimethiconol) [0087,0089].
Regarding Claim 4, US’260 teaches aminofunctional organopolysiloxanes in the background prior art [0008] and teaches aminofunctional polydimethylsiloxanes (dimethicone) [0085] for the invention and amino-modified silicones, in general [0089]. JP’705 also suggests amino-functional dimethylpolysiloxane to enhance protection and gloss [0020].
Regarding Claim 9, US’260 teaches a water-soluble thickener [0061], including monomers, comprising quaternary ammonium salts of substituted acrylate [0064] and thickeners, comprising linear acrylic acid monomer units (e.g. acrylic acid, ethacrylic acid, methacrylic acid) [0061,0067] and teaches water soluble polyacrylic acid copolymers available under the trademark CARBOPOL, including CARBOPOL EZ-3 [0101], which is a crosslinked acrylic polymer. Additionally, US’260 teaches acrylic polymer emulsions, sold under the trademark ACUSOL. US’260 fails to expressly teach a linear, uncrosslinked polymer comprising acrylic acid monomer units. JP’705 teaches thickeners, including specific thickeners sold as ACUSOL 820,880,882 [0034,0037]; neither US’260 nor JP’705 teaches the chemical structures of these thickeners. The product sheet “ACUSOL: RHEOLOGY MODIFIERS” (“ARM”) is provided evidence of their chemical structure and mechanism for thickening. In particular, ARM shows that ACUSOL 820 is a Hydrophobically-modified Alkali Soluble Emulsion (HASE) polymer (p. 5), comprising a linear chain of acrylic acid/acrylate monomers and are not cross-linked, since they thicken by chain expansion and association of extended hydrophobe groups (p. 6). A chart shows that the HASE thickeners have excellent ease of formulation as well as other excellent properties (e.g. shear thinning, solvent compatibility, anionic and nonionic compatibility) (pp. 7-8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the composition of US’260 with a water-soluble thickener, comprising a linear, uncrosslinked polymer comprising acrylic acid monomer units, because US’260 suggests a HASE thickener, including those sold under the name ACUSOL and JP’705 specifically teaches ACUSOL 820, which the evidence of the “ACUSOL: RHEOLOGY MODIFIERS,” shows is linear, uncrosslinked polymer, comprising acrylic acid monomer units, with beneficial properties.
Regarding Claim 10, because the claim is drawn to a composition, a step of making the composition (i.e. is incorporated into the aqueous emulsion or into a precursor thereof, as a premade aqueous emulsion of the water-soluble thickener) is not given significant patentable weight. Nevertheless, US’260 [0079] and ARM (p. 13) both provide evidence that a thickener can be added as a premade aqueous emulsion of a water-soluble thickener.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of US’260 in view of JP’705 fails to teach an appearance of the composition. ACUSOL 820 has a milky white appearance (p. 8). The aqueous emulsion (i.e. oil in water emulsion) is likely to have some turbidity. Therefore, because the claimed composition is obviously similar to that suggested by the combination of US’260 in view of JP’705, including an obvious ACUSOL 820 HASE thickener, also suggested by the combination of references, which the evidence of ARM suggests is milky in appearance and considering expected turbidity of an aqueous emulsion, the recited appearance as milky white is considered probable. Additionally, the claimed limitation rests on an assumption of an intended use (i.e. first sprayed onto a hydrophobic surface), which is not given significant patentable weight for the claimed composition. Therefore, any modifications of appearance because of a spraying technique or because of any interactions with a hydrophobic surface are also not given significant patentable weight for the claimed composition.
Regarding Claim 12, in US’260, the hydrophobic, silicone-based material is in a form of “parcels” (dispersed droplets, included in the definition of “aqueous emulsion”) and a mix of surfactants can be included in the composition (Claim 1). The limitations concerning whence a silicone-based material is derived, any raw materials, premade emulsions, or secondary surfactants, etc. are not give patentable weight for the claimed product; such limitations relate to a method of making, which is not required by the product, and are not given patentable weight. Nevertheless, US’260 suggests a premade silicone emulsion made “neat” with surfactants (“secondary surfactants”) [0099].
Regarding Claim 14, “consisting essentially of” is interpreted as “comprising.” MPEP 2111.03. See, rejection of Claim 1 above. Moreover, US’260 teaches a composition “consisting of” surfactant, polyorganosiloxane, thickener, and water (other additives are optional) (Claim 1); sodium benzoate and optional additives are obvious to omit (compare Claims 1, 10, and 18, two of which do not require additives, and one of which does not require sodium benzoate. Besides sodium benzoate is in low concentration (0.018%, Table 1; 0.028%, Table 2). Claim 20 includes polydimethylsiloxane.
Regarding Claim 15, US’260 teaches a viscosity of between 2000-20000 cps at 25 C [0130], including between 4000-6000 cps (Claim 1) or between 10-3000 cps (Table 3; [0133]). US’260 fails to teach the recited range of viscosity. JP’705 teaches a viscosity of between 100-300 cSt [0014,0048]. In addition, US’260 and JP’705 both provide evidence that viscosity is a result-effective variable, known in the prior art to affect sprayability, runniness (US’260, [0011,0126,0133]), gloss, durability, ease of handling, and fine dispersion stability (JP’705, [0018,0040-0041]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the composition of the combination of references through routine optimization to achieve a set of properties desirable for a given intended use, not given significant patentable weight for the claimed composition itself.
Regarding Claim 16, US’260 claims a composition “consisting of” surfactant, polyorganosiloxane, thickener, and water (other additives are optional) (Claim 1); sodium benzoate and optional additives are obvious to omit (compare Claims 1, 10, and 18, two of which do not require additives, and one of which does not require sodium benzoate. Besides sodium benzoate is in low concentration (0.018%, Table 1; 0.028%, Table 2). Claim 20 includes polydimethylsiloxane. In US’260, none of the compositional claims with the transitional phrase “consisting of” include a propellant. The recited limitation “packaged in a trigger-actuated spray bottle” is considered an intended use of the claimed composition, not the composition itself, and is not given patentable weight. Nevertheless, US’260 teaches the composition in a trigger sprayer [0018].
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breunig et al. (US 2010/0078104) (oil in water emulsion, including siloxane, including polydimethylsiloxane, thickener, surfactant, and water)
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712