DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 was filed on the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/18/2026 was filed after the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation of “the component” (claim 3, line 2) is believed to be --the components--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“single support member” → a bottom plate portion 15 which is a substantially rectangular plate-like member, and a substantially rectangular frame portion 16 which is formed integrally with the bottom plate portion 15 and is provided perpendicularly to the bottom plate portion 15 on one end side of the bottom plate portion 15 is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
“decompression device” → expansion valves 71, 72 are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation of “a single support member that collectively supports a component of the refrigerant circuit” (claim 1, line 2) is unclear. The recitation renders the claim indefinite because the term “collectively” refers to a group, therefore more than one component. For examination purposes, the recitation has been examined as --a single support member that collectively supports components of the refrigerant circuit--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "plurality of the second heat exchangers" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the second heat exchangers” in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been considered as --plurality of second heat exchangers--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other one" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, lines 7-8 of the claim has been examined as --…a heat exchange rate of one of the plurality of second heat exchangers is higher than a heat exchange rate of another one of the plurality of second heat exchangers--.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the other side" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been considered as --another side--.
The recitation of “…and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed on another side with respect to the support member” (claim 3, line 4-5) is unclear. The recitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the second heat exchanger from the recitation above refers to at least one of the plurality of the second heat exchangers, or all of the second heat exchangers. For examination purposes, the recitation has been examined as --…and the first heat exchanger and at least one of the plurality of second heat exchangers are disposed on another side with respect to the support member--.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other one" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Based on the rejection of parent claim 1 above and to provide proper antecedent basis, the limitation has been examined as --another one--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westendarp (US 2020/0148028).
Regarding claim 1, Westendarp discloses a refrigerant unit comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (refer to fig.8) and a single support member (single housing 16 including shroud 24 and base 26) that collectively supports components of the refrigerant circuit,
wherein the refrigerant circuit includes a first heat exchanger (50) and a second heat exchanger (44, 144) having different functions (first heat exchanger 50 functions as an evaporator, and the second heat exchanger 44, 144 functions as a condenser),
the first heat exchanger (50) is disposed between a plurality of second heat exchangers (44, 144), and
a heat exchange rate of one of the plurality of second heat exchangers is higher than a heat exchange rate of another one of the plurality of second heat exchangers (refer to par.59, wherein heat exchangers 44 and 144 differ in capacity, therefore, different heat exchange rates).
Regarding claim 3, Westendarp meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Westendarp discloses wherein in the support member (single housing 16 including shroud 24 and base 26), a compressor (40) and a gas-liquid separator (46) which are the components of the refrigerant circuit, are disposed on one side with respect to the support member (refer to fig.8), and the first heat exchanger (50) and at least one of the plurality of second heat exchangers (44, 144) are disposed on another side with respect to the support member (refer to fig.8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendarp (US 2020/0148028) in view of Akaiwa (US 2019/0195539).
Regarding claim 2, Westendarp meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Westendarp discloses a decompression device (expansion valve 48) of the refrigerant circuit, but fails to explicitly disclose a decompression device provided in each of a plurality of refrigerant channels connecting the one first heat exchanger and the plurality of second heat exchangers to each other.
However, Akaiwa teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus (refer to figs.1 and 10), comprising a decompression device (4a, 4b) provided in each of a plurality of refrigerant channels (205, 255) connecting one first heat exchanger (7a) and a plurality of second heat exchangers (3a, 3b) to each other, in order to provide a refrigeration cycle apparatus operable in a heating operation state and a cooling operation state (refer to par.44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Westendarp by providing a decompression device in each of a plurality of refrigerant channels connecting the one first heat exchanger and the plurality of second heat exchangers to each other in view of the teachings by Akaiwa, in order to provide a refrigeration cycle apparatus operable in a heating operation state and a cooling operation state.
Regarding claim 4, Westendarp meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Westendarp discloses wherein the support member (single housing 16 including shroud 24 and base 26) has a width necessary and sufficient for disposing the compressor and the gas-liquid separator, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the width allows a width of one of the plurality of second heat exchangers to be greater than a width of another one of the plurality of second heat exchangers.
However, Akaiwa teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus (refer to fig.10), including a width of one of a plurality of second heat exchangers (3a) to be greater than a width of another one of the plurality of second heat exchangers (3b), in order to adopt a distribution device configuration for efficiently activating a heating operation (refer to par.90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Westendarp such that the width allows a width of one of the plurality of second heat exchangers to be greater than a width of another one of the plurality of second heat exchangers in view of the teachings by Akaiwa, in order to adopt a distribution device configuration for efficiently activating a heating operation.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763