DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 14-20 are new. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2011/0116158 A1), hereafter referred to as “Yamaguchi,” in view of Itano et al. (US 2020/0347283 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano,” and Kuroki et al. (US 2015/0211773 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kuroki.”
Regarding Claim 1: Yamaguchi teaches a method for manufacturing a heat source unit constituting a refrigeration cycle apparatus (title), the method comprising: a first step of refrigerant recovered and recycled from an existing facility (via 51 and 52) and refrigerant generating a mixed refrigerant (via 51 and 52); and a second step of filling the heat source unit (within 3) with the mixed refrigerant (see Figure 1, refrigerant to 3).
Yamaguchi fails to teach the method comprising: a first step of mixing R32 recovered and recycled from an existing facility and R1234yf and generating a mixed refrigerant including at least R32 and R1234yf; and a second step of filling the heat source unit with the mixed refrigerant.
Itano teaches a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus including a heat source unit (2), a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8), connecting the heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (3, see Figure 1), and use of a mixture R32 and R1234yf (paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first step of mixing R32 recovered and recycled from an existing facility and R1234yf and generating a mixed refrigerant including at least R32 and R1234yf; and a second step of filling the heat source unit with the mixed refrigerant to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by
Itano in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Itano, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Kuroki teaches a refrigerant mixture of R32 and R1234yf transferred to a refrigeration apparatus (paragraph [0167] and [0175]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first step of mixing R32 recovered and recycled from an existing facility and R1234yf and generating a mixed refrigerant including at least R32 and R1234yf; and a second step of filling the heat source unit with the mixed refrigerant to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Kuroki in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Kuroki, paragraphs [0005] and [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the first step includes a recycling step of recycling the R32 recovered from the existing facility, and a mixing step of mixing at least the recycled R32 and R1234yf, and the recycling step includes a step of reducing at least one of water, acid, or oil included in the recovered R32.
Kuroki teaches a mixing step of mixing at least R32 and R1234yf (abstract, paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first step includes a recycling step of recycling the R32 recovered from the existing facility, and a mixing step of mixing at least the recycled R32 and R1234yf to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Kuroki in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Kuroki, paragraphs [0005] and [0008]).
Itano teaches a recycling step includes a step of reducing at least one of water, acid, or oil included in R32 (paragraphs [0383] and [0485]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first step includes a recycling step of recycling the R32 recovered from the existing facility, and a mixing step of mixing at least the recycled R32 and R1234yf, and the recycling step includes a step of reducing at least one of water, acid, or oil included in the recovered R32 to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide additives to improve the refrigerating oils/composition for use in a refrigeration apparatus (see Itano, paragraphs [0006] and [0383]).
Regarding Claim 3: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the mixing step includes a step of further mixing an acid scavenger.
Itano teaches a mixing step includes a step of further mixing an acid scavenger (paragraph [0432]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the mixing step includes a step of further mixing an acid scavenger to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide additives to improve the refrigerating oils/composition for use in a refrigeration apparatus (see Itano, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 4: Yamaguchi modified supra teaches wherein the first step further includes an examining step of examining a composition of the mixed refrigerant (via 13, step S4 of Yamaguchi) generated in the mixing step (abstract of Kuroki).
Regarding Claim 5: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf in order to achieve efficient operation of the system. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and 2144.05 I, II A and B.
Regarding Claim 7: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 1, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 1.
Itano teaches a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8) connecting a heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (see Figure 1), a connection pipe (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 1, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 1 to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Itano, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a second heat source unit.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to provide a duplication of parts to the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second heat source unit to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra in order to advantageously provide additional air conditioning units. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, duplication of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Regarding Claim 9: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the recovering step recovers, from the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus using R410A or R32 as a working refrigerant, the working refrigerant, and the fourth step connects the second heat source unit in which R454B has been sealed to the connection pipe.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to change the refrigerants used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the claimed refrigerants in order to advantageously provide used of known materials for intended purposes (See MPEP 2143 and 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 14: Yamaguchi modified supra teaches wherein the first step further includes an examining step of examining a composition (via 13, step S4 of Yamaguchi) of the mixed refrigerant generated in the mixing step (abstract of Kuroki).
Regarding Claim 15: Yamaguchi modified supra wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf in order to achieve efficient operation of the system. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and 2144.05 I, II A and B.
Regarding Claim 16: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf in order to achieve efficient operation of the system. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and 2144.05 I, II A and B.
Regarding Claim 17: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the first step generates the mixed refrigerant including 65 mass % or more of R1234yf in order to achieve efficient operation of the system. Furthermore, the ratios and ranges is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and 2144.05 I, II A and B.
Regarding Claim 18: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 2, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 2.
Itano teaches a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8) connecting a heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (see Figure 1), a connection pipe (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 2, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 2 to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Itano, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a second heat source unit.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to provide a duplication of parts to the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second heat source unit to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra in order to advantageously provide additional air conditioning units. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, duplication of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Regarding Claim 19: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 3, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 3.
Itano teaches a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8) connecting a heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (see Figure 1), a connection pipe (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 3, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 3 to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Itano, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a second heat source unit.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to provide a duplication of parts to the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second heat source unit to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra in order to advantageously provide additional air conditioning units. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, duplication of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Regarding Claim 20: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 4, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 4.
Itano teaches a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8) connecting a heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (see Figure 1), a connection pipe (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus, the refrigeration cycle apparatus including the heat source unit manufactured by the method according to claim 4, a utilization unit, and a connection pipe connecting the heat source unit and the utilization unit, wherein the first step includes a recovering step of recovering a refrigerant from an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: a third step of detaching a first heat source unit constituting the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus from the connection pipe; and a fourth step of connecting, to the connection pipe, a second heat source unit manufactured by the method for manufacturing a heat source unit according to claim 4 to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Itano in order to advantageously provide refrigerant mixtures to improve performance (see Itano, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach a second heat source unit.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to provide a duplication of parts to the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second heat source unit to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra in order to advantageously provide additional air conditioning units. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, duplication of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2011/0116158 A1), hereafter referred to as “Yamaguchi,” in view of Itano et al. (US 2020/0347283 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano,” and Kuroki et al. (US 2015/0211773 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kuroki,” as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Nakamura (WO 2019198175 A1).
Regarding Claim 6: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the first step generates R454C, R455A, or R454B as the mixed refrigerant.
Nakamura teaches generated mixed refrigerant is R454C, R455A, or R454B as the mixed refrigerant (page 5 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first step generates R454C, R455A, or R454B as the mixed refrigerant to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Nakamura in order to advantageously provide known variants of refrigerants for refrigeration effect (see Nakamura, page 5 of the machine translation).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2011/0116158 A1), hereafter referred to as Yamaguchi,” in view of Itano et al. (US 2020/0347283 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano,” and Kuroki et al. (US 2015/0211773 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kuroki,” as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Frantisek (US 2008/0022715 A1).
Regarding Claim 8: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach further comprising: a fifth step of washing at least one of oil or acid adhering to the connection pipe of the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the fifth step being performed prior to the fourth step.
Frantisek teaches a step of washing at least one of oil or acid adhering to a connection pipe of an existing refrigeration cycle apparatus (abstract, paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fifth step of washing at least one of oil or acid adhering to the connection pipe of the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus, the fifth step being performed prior to the fourth step to the structure of Yamaguchi modified supra as taught by Frantisek in order to advantageously provide washing of the pipes to remove impurities (see Frantisek, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 10: Yamaguchi modified supra fails to teach wherein the recovering step recovers, from the existing refrigeration cycle apparatus using R22, R404A, or R407C as a working refrigerant, the working refrigerant, and the fourth step connects the second heat source unit in which R454C or R455A has been sealed to the connection pipe.
However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to change the refrigerants used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the claimed refrigerants in order to advantageously provide used of known materials for intended purposes (See MPEP 2143 and 2144.07).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano et al. (US 2020/0347283 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano,” in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2011/0116158 A1), hereafter referred to as “Yamaguchi.”
Regarding Claim 11: Itano teaches a method for manufacturing a refrigeration cycle apparatus including a heat source unit (2), a utilization unit (3), and a connection pipe (8), connecting the heat source unit (2) and the utilization unit (3, see Figure 1), and use of a mixture R32 and R1234yf (paragraph [0011]).
Itano fails to teach the method comprising: a step of generating a refrigerant circuit by connecting the heat source unit in which a refrigerant including R1234yf has been sealed to the connection pipe connected to the utilization unit; and a step of sealing a mixed refrigerant including at least R32 and R1234yf by filling the refrigerant circuit with R32 recovered and recycled from an existing facility.
Yamaguchi teaches a step of generating a refrigerant circuit (into 3) by connecting a heat source unit (within 3) in which a refrigerant has been sealed to a connection pipe (piping in 3) connected to an utilization unit (in 3); and a step of sealing a mixed refrigerant by filling the refrigerant circuit with refrigerant recovered and recycled from an existing facility (via 52, see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a step of generating a refrigerant circuit by connecting the heat source unit in which a refrigerant including R1234yf has been sealed to the connection pipe connected to the utilization unit; and a step of sealing a mixed refrigerant including at least R32 and R1234yf by filling the refrigerant circuit with R32 recovered and recycled from an existing facility to the structure of Itano as taught by Yamaguchi in order to advantageously provide a management system to recycle refrigerant to enhance convenience to the user of the system (see Yamaguchi, paragraph [0018]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itano et al. (US 2020/0347283 A1), hereafter referred to as “Itano,” in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2011/0116158 A1), hereafter referred to as “Yamaguchi,” as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Nakamura (WO 2019198175 A1).
Regarding Claim 12: Itano modified supra fails to teach wherein the generating step uses the heat source unit in which an R1234yf single refrigerant has been sealed.
Nakamura teaches an R1234yf single refrigerant has been sealed (page 5 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the generating step uses the heat source unit in which an R1234yf single refrigerant has been sealed to the structure of Itano modified supra as taught by Nakamura in order to advantageously provide known variants of refrigerants for refrigeration effect (see Nakamura, page 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 13: Itano modified supra fails to teach wherein the generating step uses the heat source unit in which a refrigerant consisting of R1234yf and carbon dioxide has been sealed.
Nakamura teaches a refrigerant consisting of R1234yf and carbon dioxide has been sealed (page 5 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the generating step uses the heat source unit in which a refrigerant consisting of R1234yf and carbon dioxide has been sealed to the structure of Itano modified supra as taught by Nakamura in order to advantageously provide known variants of refrigerants for refrigeration effect (see Nakamura, page 5 of the machine translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Burke (US 6,546,747 B1).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763