DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5: It is unclear what it means that the guide portions are “guided along a guide rail”. Is this a method step present within an apparatus claim? It is assumed it should mean the guide portions are configured to be moved along a guide rail and will be examined accordingly.
Additional claims rejected under 35 USC 112 but not addressed are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and failing to further remedy the issue(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Itoki (JP 2012-012816).
Referring to claim 1: Itoki teaches a partition, comprising: a pair of guide portions (item 3) that are guided along a guide rail (item 4) in an upper end portion of the partition (item 1); and a wheel (item 2) configured for running on a floor surface in a center part of a lower end portion of the partition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoki in view of Naka (JPH05340158).
Referring to claim 2: Itoki teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. They do not teach the wheel has a double wheel structure in which two single wheels are attached to an axle shaft. However, Naka teaches the wheel has a double wheel structure in which two single wheels are attached to an axle shaft (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Itoki with the double wheel structure in order to widen the footprint of the supporting wheels and distribute the weight over a larger area.
Referring to claim 3: Itoki and Naka teach all the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Additionally, Itoki teaches a frame member (item 48), wherein the double wheels are provided in a center part of a lower frame portion of the frame member (figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record being Itoki and Naka do not teach the distance between the two single wheels is slightly larger than the thickness of the frame member, and the location of the axle shaft on the upper side of the lower frame portion. While it may be obvious to further modify the combination with Sprague (US PGPub No 2013/0097935) to teach the wheel spacing in order to allow for larger wheels, none of the references teach the mounting location of the axle shaft.
Conclusion
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635