DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the simulating" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuesslburner U.S. Patent No. 11,807,470.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 1, Schuesslburner teaches a method for automatically controlling at least two drivable belts 101,102 in a system 100, wherein the belts 101,102 are each configured to transport containers 130 in a first direction 173 or a second direction 175, wherein the system 100 comprises a machine 316 that is upstream of the belts 101,102 and/or a machine 122 that is downstream of the belts 101,102 Fig. 3, wherein the method comprises: detecting via 317 a first operating state of the upstream machine 316 and/or detecting via 327 a second operating state of the downstream machine 122, determining a speed to be selected for each of the belts 101,102 based on the first operating state via 317 and/or the second operating state via 327, controlling the belts 101,102 according to the speed to be selected in each case C7 L15-30; C11 L64-67; C12 L1-40.
Claim 2, Schuesslburner teaches the first operating state via 317 comprises a first transport speed and/or a first power (from the control unit), and wherein the second operating state via 327 comprises a second transport speed and/or a second power (from the control unit) C12 L1-10.
Claim 3, Schuesslburner teaches simulating via 317,327 a position of the containers 130 in the system 100.
Claim 5, Schuesslburner teaches the determination of the speed to be selected is further carried out based on a predetermined belt occupancy of each of the belts 101,102 C12 L1-10.
Claim 6, Schuesslburner teaches the determination of the speed to be selected is further carried out based on a predetermined number of containers 130 which are to be delivered by the belts 101,102 in each case C5 L10-25.
Claim 7, Schuesslburner teaches the at least two drivable belts 101,102 are two consecutive belts Fig. 3.
Claim 8, Schuesslburner teaches the at least two drivable belts 101,102 are arranged in parallel Fig. 3.
Claim 12, Schuesslburner teaches the containers 130 are arranged on the belts 101,102 as container rows Fig. 3.
Claim 13, Schuesslburner teaches an apparatus 100 for automatically controlling at least two drivable belts 101,102 in a system 100, wherein the belts 101,102 are each configured to transport containers 130 in a first direction 173 or a second direction 175, wherein the system 100 comprises a machine 316 that is upstream of the belts 101,102 and/or a machine 122 that is downstream of the belts 101,102, wherein the apparatus is configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 Fig. 3.
Claim 14, Schuesslburner teaches the at least two drivable belts 101,102 are two consecutive belts, or wherein the at least two drivable belts are arranged in parallel Fig. 3.
Claim 15, Schuesslburner teaches a time delay member (control unit) C10 L45-60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuesslburner U.S. Patent No. 11,807,470 in view of Seger U.S. Patent No. 7,942,255.
Claim 4, Schuesslburner teaches the simulating via 317,327, further comprises: evaluating sensor data 317,327 from a sensor included in the system 100, using a default value from the downstream machine 122, but does not teach as Seger teaches the sensor data via 32-35 comprises data from a light barrier included in the system 1 C4 L30-45. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Schuesslburner with the monitoring system taught in Seger with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuesslburner U.S. Patent No. 11,807,470 in view of Gehin U.S. Patent No. 11,511,946.
Claim 9, Schuesslburner does not teach as Gehin teaches the determination of the speed to be selected is further based on a first path of 10 to be covered by a container 1 on a first of the belts 3 to a position downstream of the belts 6 and on a path to be covered by a container on the other belts 10,2,10 to the position in each case C2 L60-67; C3 L1-2 Fig. 7. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Schuesslburner with the monitoring system taught in Gehin with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 10, Schuesslburner does not teach as Gehin teaches a predetermined total output rate of the belts 5,10,2,10,6 is based on an output rate of the belts in each case, wherein the output rates are different C9 L15-35. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Schuesslburner with the monitoring system taught in Gehin with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 11, Schuesslburner teaches communication with a secondary buffer included in the system, which is arranged downstream of the belts 101,102, for closed-loop control of the belts 101,102 according to the speed to be selected C11 L20-40.
Conclusion
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS