DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s primary argument is that Shimano does not disclose a “semi-tubular convex surface”, as it is “box shaped one with a u-shaped cross section”, and therefore must have “sharp corners”. The Examiner does not agree with this assertion. Simply put, a U-shape does not imply “sharp corners”, but rather a shape like the letter “U”, as it is typed here. Furthermore, the Applicant’s assertions regarding air flow have no effect upon claim interpretations, as these limitations do not appear in the claim, and therefore have no effect on the claim limitations.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the subject matter of the claim is not provided with any device within the specification or drawings that would perform this function, merely that it exists as a possibility. The Examiner must ask the question of the applicant - does the size of the holes and the adjustment thereof pertain to the manufacturing process, or is this a feature of the actual product, such as using louvres, or gates in order to alter the size and flow accordingly? As seen in the rejection below, this claim will be interpreted as a product by process of production claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuno, WO 2022176907.
Regarding claim 1, Shibuno discloses: A paperboard (Page 9 of attached translation indicates the container is made of paper, “paper dust is generated from the upper end surface of the container (C1) …“) container filling machine (Title, “Filling and Packaging Machine”) comprising an aseptic (Page 1, “The present invention relates to a filling and packaging machine, and more particularly to a filling and packaging machine used for filling and packaging contents such as beverages and foods into containers in an aseptic state.”) chamber (Fig. 1, chamber 2) the aseptic chamber comprising:
an upper air distribution chamber (see Fig. 9b)
a lower processing chamber (Fig. 1, filling section 8) housing processing equipment configured for interacting with paperboard containers passing through the processing chamber;
a throughflow plate (Fig. 8, UC1, UC2) separating the air distribution chamber and the processing chamber;
a paperboard container transport sub-system (Fig. 1, transfer conveyor 4) configured for transporting the paperboard containers through the processing chamber along a container transport path (Fig. 5, transport path “R”) from an inlet opening (Fig. 1, carton blank inlet 201) to an outlet opening (Fig. 1, filling container outlet 202) of the processing chamber; and
an elongated air distribution duct (Fig. 5 –8, the air flows in from outlets AB1 and AB2 and out through inlets first rectifying cover CC1) configured for receiving air from an air supply channel (Fig. 1, air supply line P1) and comprising a plurality of throughflow holes configured for distributing the air in the air distribution chamber (Page 8, “The two front and rear first clean air outlets (AB1) are each covered with a first rectifying cover (CC1). The first rectifying cover (CC1) is a box-shaped one with a U-shaped cross section and an upward opening attached to the lower surface of the top wall (21) of the chamber (2) so as to surround the first clean air outlet (AB1). For example, it is made of a perforated plate in which a large number of holes are made in a metal plate material such as stainless steel. Also, the first rectifying cover (CC1) may be made of a perforated plastic plate or a mesh material. Due to the rectifying (diffusing) action of these first rectifying covers (CC1), clean air flows into the space between the first clean air outlet (AB1) and the first upper rectifying member (UC1) in the chamber (2). Since the clean air is diffused and supplied evenly, the clean air can be stably distributed throughout the filling section (8) as a downward flow.”).
wherein the air distribution duct (Fig. 5 –8, the air flows in from outlets AB1 and AB2 and out through inlets first rectifying cover CC1) comprises a semi- tubular convex surface facing the throughflow plate (Page 8, “The two front and rear first clean air outlets (AB1) are each covered with a first rectifying cover (CC1). The first rectifying cover (CC1) is a box-shaped one with a U-shaped cross section and an upward opening attached to the lower surface of the top wall (21) of the chamber (2) so as to surround the first clean air outlet (AB1). For example, it is made of a perforated plate in which a large number of holes are made in a metal plate material such as stainless steel. Also, the first rectifying cover (CC1) may be made of a perforated plastic plate or a mesh material. Due to the rectifying (diffusing) action of these first rectifying covers (CC1), clean air flows into the space between the first clean air outlet (AB1) and the first upper rectifying member (UC1) in the chamber (2). Since the clean air is diffused and supplied evenly, the clean air can be stably distributed throughout the filling section (8) as a downward flow.”) and a rectilinear duct axis extending orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the container transport path (see Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 2, Shibuno further discloses: the throughflow holes (17) are circular (Page 8, “As shown in FIG. 8, the first upper rectifying member (UC1) is formed with large circular holes (UC10) at locations corresponding to the two left and right CIP units (83)”).
Regarding claim 3, Shibuno discloses: A method of establishing an airflow in an aseptic (Page 1, “The present invention relates to a filling and packaging machine, and more particularly to a filling and packaging machine used for filling and packaging contents such as beverages and foods into containers in an aseptic state.”) chamber (Fig. 1, chamber 2) of a paperboard container filling machine (Page 9), the aseptic chamber comprising:
an upper air distribution chamber (see Fig. 9b);
a lower processing chamber (Fig. 1, filling section 8) housing processing equipment configured for interacting with paperboard containers passing through the processing chamber;
a throughflow plate (Fig. 8, UC1, UC2) separating the air distribution chamber and the processing chamber; and
a paperboard container transport sub-system (Fig. 1, transfer conveyor 4) configured for transporting the paperboard containers through the processing chamber along a container transport path (Fig. 5, transport path “R”) from an inlet opening (Fig. 1, carton blank inlet 201) to an outlet opening (Fig. 1, filling container outlet 202) of the processing chamber;
the method comprising the step of distributing air in the air distribution chamber by bringing the air from an air supply channel to the air distribution chamber through an air distribution duct comprising a plurality of throughflow holes configured for distributing the air in the air distribution chamber , the air distribution duct displaying a semi-tubular convex surface facing the throughflow plate and comprising a rectilinear duct axis extending orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the container transport path (Page 8, “The two front and rear first clean air outlets (AB1) are each covered with a first rectifying cover (CC1). The first rectifying cover (CC1) is a box-shaped one with a U-shaped cross section and an upward opening attached to the lower surface of the top wall (21) of the chamber (2) so as to surround the first clean air outlet (AB1). For example, it is made of a perforated plate in which a large number of holes are made in a metal plate material such as stainless steel. Also, the first rectifying cover (CC1) may be made of a perforated plastic plate or a mesh material. Due to the rectifying (diffusing) action of these first rectifying covers (CC1), clean air flows into the space between the first clean air outlet (AB1) and the first upper rectifying member (UC1) in the chamber (2). Since the clean air is diffused and supplied evenly, the clean air can be stably distributed throughout the filling section (8) as a downward flow.”).
Regarding claim 4, this claim represents a Product by Process Claim. According to MPEP 2113 “Product-by-Process Claims [R-08.2017]”, III. THE USE OF 35 U.S.C. 102/103 REJECTIONS FOR PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE COURTS
; "[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731