DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 3/5/2025 & 7/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and 2106.05(a) thru (d) for explanations.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a machine management system (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets]) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A machine management system that manages a machine
having a powertrain system constituted by a plurality of components including an engine, the machine management system comprising:
a processing apparatus that computes input/output energy of one component among the plurality of components on a basis of information concerning the machine sensed by a sensor provided to the machine,
wherein the processing apparatus is configured to set, as a stable travelling zone, a travelling zone where the input/output energy is stabilized among travelling zones of the machine, [mental process/step]
tally values of the input/output energy in the stable travelling zone, and [mental process/step]
detect deterioration of the one component on a basis of the values of the input/output energy tallied in the stable travelling zone. [mental process/step]
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “set…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data regarding travelling zones and forming a simple judgement as to which would be stable for evaluating data. Further, “tally…” in the context of the claim encompasses a mathematical evaluation of data collected, which is a mental process under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Finally, “detect…” in the context of the claim encompasses evaluating input/output energy tallies to determine component deterioration, which is a mental evaluation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets], while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”.):
A machine management system that manages a machine [generic linking to technical field, 2106.05(h), Apply it, 2106.05(f)]
having a powertrain system constituted by a plurality of components including an engine, the machine management system comprising: [generic linking to technical field, 2106.05(h), applying the abstract idea using generic components, Apply it 2106.05(f)]
a processing apparatus that [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module, Apply it 2106.05(f)] computes input/output energy of one component among the plurality of components on a basis of information concerning the machine sensed by a sensor provided to the machine, [pre-solution activity (data gathering), 2106.05(g) using generic sensors, generic link to technical field, 2106.05(h)]
wherein the processing apparatus is configured to [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module, Apply it 2106.05(f)] set, as a stable travelling zone, a travelling zone where the input/output energy is stabilized among travelling zones of the machine, [mental process/step]
tally values of the input/output energy in the stable travelling zone, and [mental process/step]
detect deterioration of the one component on a basis of the values of the input/output energy tallied in the stable travelling zone. [mental process/step]
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “a processing apparatus…,” “wherein the processing apparatus…,” “having a powertrain system…,” and “computes…,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (vehicle controller) to perform the process. In particular, the “computes…” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering sensor data for use in the deterioration detection), and amounts to mere data gathering using generic sensors well-known in the art, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “having a powertrain system…” limitations further recite the mere application of the deterioration detection in a generalized vehicle environment, and amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “a processing apparatus…” and “wherein the processing apparatus…” limitations are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of evaluating data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the computational steps amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “having a powertrain system…,” and “computes…,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Dependent claim(s) 2 – 14 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Specifically:
Claim 2 recites wherein the stable travelling zone is one in which the power generation by the main electric power generator is stopped, which merely constrains the data collected to a specific timeframe, which is a mental evaluation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 3 recites wherein the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone with a downward slope where the machine travels in an unloaded state, which merely constrains the data collected to a specific condition, which is a mental evaluation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 4 recites wherein the downward slope is detected using data collected by a sensor, which is the insignificant extra-solution activity of collecting data using generic sensors under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 5 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the engine on a basis of fuel energy input to the engine, the fuel energy being tallied in the stable travelling zone, which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 6 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the motor or the inverter on a basis of regenerative power of the motor tallied in the stable travelling zone, which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 7 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the main electric power generator on a basis of efficiency of the powertrain system tallied at time of travelling with no load, when deterioration of none of the engine, the motor, and the inverter is detected, which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 8 recites wherein a notification is issued for maintenance regarding a vehicle component when a measured value of the vehicle falls outside a threshold value, which is the insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting the results of the mental process under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 9 recites wherein a display terminal apparatus outputs time series changes of the fuel energy or regenerative power, which is the insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting the results of the mental process under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 10 recites wherein a display terminal apparatus outputs a result of tallying average fuel or regenerative energy, which is the insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting the results of the mental process under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 11 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a cylinder ring or a gasket of the engine on a basis of blow-by pressure of the engine in the stable travelling zone which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 12 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of an accumulator that accumulates pressure of fuel to be supplied to the engine, on a basis of a peak interval of fuel energy to be supplied to the engine in the stable travelling zone which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 13 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a grid fan for cooling a grid resistor that converts the regenerative power into heat, on a basis of temperature of the grid resistor in the stable travelling zone which merely constrains the data collected and used in the mental evaluation to a specific embodiment under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 14 recites wherein the processing apparatus is configured to exclude a particular period from a tallying period of the fuel energy or the regenerative power when the regenerative power of a plurality of the machines lowers simultaneously in the particular period, which merely constrains the data collected to a specific condition, which is a mental evaluation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Therefore, dependent claims 2 – 14 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of Independent Claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1 – 14 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jiang discloses: A machine management system that manages (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0032 & 0049 an apparatus [i.e. a system] for acquiring information regarding a vehicle’s operation in order to detect the condition of vehicle components [i.e. a machine management system])
a machine having a powertrain system constituted by a plurality of components including an engine, the machine management system comprising: (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0067, 0077, & 0080 wherein the apparatus may be implemented in a vehicle system, which may include an electric motor and powertrain [i.e. a machine having a powertrain system constituted by a plurality of components including an engine] which may be monitored for input and output power to detect a condition of vehicle components)
a processing apparatus that (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0038 & 0041 wherein the apparatus may include a processor and associated memory storing instructions for implementing the functions of the apparatus that detects a condition of a vehicle component)
computes input/output energy of one component among the plurality of components on a basis of information concerning the machine sensed by a sensor provided to the machine, (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0047, 0064 & 0065 wherein a plurality of sensors may be provided to monitor, measure, or detect information on vehicle components, performance, and energy usage, said sensors including power meters, volt meters, and current sensors, as well as accelerometers, from which changes in kinetic energy [i.e. output power] from input power to the system through voltage and current provided from a power source to an electric motor may be computed [i.e. compute input/output energy of one component among the plurality of components on a basis of information concerning the machine sensed by a sensor provided to the machine])
tally values of the input/output energy in the stable travelling zone, and (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0064 – 0065 & 0068 – 0069 wherein vehicle energy usage may be analyzed in order to determine the vehicle health, including determining the estimated and expected input and output energy for a vehicle for a plurality of operation modes [i.e. tally values of the input/output energy in the stable travelling zone], the estimated and expected energy input & output being compared to one another in order to determine the condition of a vehicle component)
detect deterioration of the one component on a basis of the values of the input/output energy tallied in the stable travelling zone. (Jiang discloses in at least Paragraph 0070 wherein based on a difference between calculated expected average power and total energy and estimated average power and total energy, the vehicle health is diagnosed, being adjusted if the difference is greater than a predetermined threshold, with at least Paragraphs 0057, 0074, & 0076 of Jiang disclosing wherein in response to the diagnosis of vehicle health falling below a threshold, fault isolation on a component may take place [i.e. detect deterioration of the one component on a basis of the values of the input/output energy tallied in the stable travelling zone]. At least Figure 4B of Jiang, below, depicts the above steps performed by the system)
Jiang however appears to be silent regarding:
wherein the processing apparatus is configured to set, as a stable travelling zone, a travelling zone where the input/output energy is stabilized among travelling zones of the machine,
However Murakami teaches wherein areas along a travel route may be specified in which the operating state of the engine becomes stable for use in collecting data to diagnose vehicle abnormalities.
wherein the processing apparatus is configured to set, as a stable travelling zone, a travelling zone where the input/output energy is stabilized among travelling zones of the machine, (However Murakami teaches in at least Column 3 Lines 32 – 53 & Column 7 Lines 23 – 42 wherein areas along a travel route may be specified in which the operating state of the engine becomes stable, such as a flat or uphill road at which the engine reached a fixed operating condition [i.e. set, as a stable travelling zone, a travelling zone where the input/output energy is stabilized among travelling zones of the machine]. Based on the vehicle being determined to be located in the specified area, operating parameters of the vehicle may be acquired and an abnormality of the vehicle may be diagnosed based on the acquired operating parameters)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the assessment of vehicle faults during a period of time when the vehicle is travelling through a stable operation zone as taught by Murakami.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Murakami in at least Column 7 Lines 35 – 42 & Column 9 Lines 16 – 20, collection of accurate data may take place through the vehicle being in a stable operating state or having a fixed operating condition, improving the collection of data for diagnosing vehicle component faults.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pence (US 2014/0211344 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
The machine management system according to claim 1, wherein the powertrain system has a main electric power generator driven by the engine, a motor that drives the machine, and an inverter that supplies power from the main electric power generator to the motor, and the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone where power generation by the main electric power generator is stopped.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the powertrain system has a main electric power generator driven by the engine, a motor that drives the machine, and an inverter that supplies power from the main electric power generator to the motor, and the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone where power generation by the main electric power generator is stopped.
However Pence teaches in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0020 wherein a vehicle system may include an inverter, generator and motor [i.e. the powertrain system has a main electric power generator driven by the engine, a motor that drives the machine, and an inverter that supplies power from the main electric power generator to the motor]. At least Paragraphs 0029 – 0032 of Pence further teach wherein fault management logic is configured to disable the generator loads, following which fault management logic measures a plurality of vehicle system values, such as DC bus voltage values, to determine the presence or absence of system faults [i.e. the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone where power generation by the main electric power generator is stopped].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the disabling of the generator in order to determine the presence or absence of faults in a vehicle system as taught by Pence.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pence in at least Paragraphs 0029 – 0032, Expected voltage levels at components with generator inputs may be determined under non-generating conditions, improving the assessment of system faults.
Claim(s) 3 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1) and Pence (US 2014/0211344 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mayer (US 2011/0130916 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
The machine management system according to claim 2 wherein the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone with a downward slope where the machine travels in an unloaded state.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone with a downward slope where the machine travels in an unloaded state.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0175, 0176, & 0179 wherein a troubleshooter investigating a failure on a specific vehicle component may request data from specific geographic portions of a vehicle route, including a downhill portion of a route corresponding to regenerative braking [i.e. the stable travelling zone is a travelling zone with a downward slope where the machine travels in an unloaded state].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the acquisition of data from a downhill slope portion of a route to troubleshoot failures on specific vehicle components as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraph 0179, diagnosing failures in specific components may take place under conditions in which the relevant components would be being used, improving the assessment of vehicle faults by extracting relevant data to diagnose them.
Regarding Claim 4:
The machine management system according to claim 3, wherein the sensor includes a pitch angle sensor or a GPS sensor, and the processing apparatus is configured to detect the downward slope on a basis of a pitch angle of the machine sensed by the pitch angle sensor or altitude information sensed by the GPS sensor.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a pitch angle sensor or a GPS sensor is configured to detect the downward slope on a basis of a pitch angle of the machine sensed by the pitch angle sensor or altitude information sensed by the GPS sensor.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0179 – 0181 wherein a downhill section of the vehicle’s route may be determined based on specialized maps that include terrain topography, with a vehicle being determined to be travelling on such segments based on GPS readings within a geographical selection range [i.e. the sensor includes a GPS sensor, and the processing apparatus is configured to detect the downward slope on a basis of altitude information sensed by the GPS sensor].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the determination of a downhill section via GPS readings as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0179 – 0181, diagnosing failures in specific components may take place under conditions in which the relevant components would be being used by recognizing said locations along a travel route of the vehicle, improving the assessment of vehicle faults by extracting relevant data to diagnose them.
Regarding Claim 5:
The machine management system according to claim 2, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the engine on a basis of fuel energy input to the engine, the fuel energy being tallied in the stable travelling zone.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0064 – 0065 & 0068 – 0069 wherein vehicle energy usage may be analyzed in order to determine the vehicle health, including determining the estimated and expected input and output energy for a vehicle for a plurality of operation modes, however appears to only anticipate the use of energy from a battery in the evaluation as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0040.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0075, 0092, & 0149 wherein fuel usage may be recorded by a remote diagnostic unit to determine if a vehicle component, such as an engine, is not performing at the expected level [i.e. , wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the engine on a basis of fuel energy input to the engine] which may be computed in a specific geographic region as taught in at least Paragraph 0179 of Mayer [i.e. the fuel energy being tallied in the stable travelling zone].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the acquisition of fuel energy used for vehicle diagnostic purposes as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0075, 0092, & 0149, a vehicle using a greater degree of fuel than normal may be indicative of a problem with the engine, improving the assessment of faults in the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 6:
The machine management system according to claim 5, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the motor or the inverter on a basis of regenerative power of the motor tallied in the stable travelling zone.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0040, Jiang however does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the motor or the inverter on a basis of regenerative power of the motor tallied in the stable travelling zone.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0052, 0053, & 0179 wherein energy may be acquired from regenerative braking operations, and provided as status data to a remote diagnostic unit as taught in at least Paragraph 0074, with a failure of a drive motor inverter being investigated by collecting and evaluating data regarding vehicle braking as the vehicle travels downhill [i.e. detect deterioration of the inverter on a basis of regenerative power of the motor tallied in the stable travelling zone].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the determination of the failure of a vehicle inverter based on recorded data from regenerative braking operations as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0052, 0053, & 0179, the failure of specifically the vehicle inverter may be determined based on collected data, improving the isolation of a fault for the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 7:
The machine management system according to claim 6, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the main electric power generator on a basis of efficiency of the powertrain system tallied at time of travelling with no load, when deterioration of none of the engine, the motor, and the inverter is detected.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0065 & 0069 wherein the condition of a vehicle component may be assessed based on energy efficiency computed based on input and output power [i.e. on a basis of efficiency of the powertrain system tallied at time of travelling with no load]. Jiang however does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect deterioration of the main electric power generator.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0071, 0074, & 0076 wherein vehicle propulsion system components reporting data from which faults may be diagnosed may include generators, the faults of which may be diagnosed based on collected data from a plurality of systems processed at a remote diagnostic unit, such as when the vehicle is travelling downhill as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0179 [i.e. detect deterioration of the main electric power generator on a basis of efficiency of the powertrain system tallied at time of travelling with no load].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the diagnosis of faults in vehicle generators as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0052, 0053, 0071, & 0179, the failure of specifically the vehicle generator component may be determined based on collected data, improving the isolation of a fault for the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 8:
The machine management system according to claim 7, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to issue a notification as to, as a maintenance target machine, the machine whose fuel energy in a predetermined period is greater than a predetermined threshold, the machine whose regenerative power in the predetermined period is smaller than a predetermined threshold, or the machine whose efficiency of the powertrain system in the predetermined period is lower than a predetermined threshold.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0044 & 0045 wherein an output device, including a display, may output a notification, including providing a warning about the health of a vehicle or vehicle component, or scheduling maintenance for the vehicle [i.e. issue a notification as to a maintenance target machine], which may take place, as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0069 & 0070, based on the difference between calculated expected average power and total energy and estimated average power and total energy, computed in turn based on efficiency, being greater than a predetermined threshold [i.e. the machine whose fuel energy in a predetermined period is greater than a predetermined threshold, or the efficiency of the powertrain system in the predetermined period is lower than a predetermined threshold].
Regarding Claim 9:
The machine management system according to claim 6, comprising: a display terminal apparatus that displays time series changes of the fuel energy or the regenerative power.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0044 & 0045 wherein a vehicle may include a display for providing information on the condition of vehicle components, however appears to be silent regarding displaying time series changes of the fuel energy or the regenerative power.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0131 – 0135 & 0172 – 0174 wherein a user device may include a display configured to display multiple vehicle locations, as well as associated drive system data as full or partial data logs, each with a plurality of associated time stamps, which may include data such as fuel usage as taught in at least Paragraph 0075 [i.e. a display terminal apparatus that displays time series changes of the fuel energy].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the display of time series of fuel use at a display apparatus as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0172 – 0174 & 0177, the troubleshooter may extract specific data for use in the determination of faults, improving the assessment of faults under specific conditions.
Regarding Claim 10:
The machine management system according to claim 9, comprising: a display terminal apparatus that displays a result of tallying average fuel energy or average regenerative power of each machine in the stable travelling zone.
Jiang discloses in at least Paragraphs 0044 & 0045 wherein a vehicle may include a display for providing information on the condition of vehicle components, however appears to be silent regarding displaying average fuel energy or the regenerative power.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0131 – 0135 & 0172 – 0174 wherein a user device may include a display configured to display multiple vehicle locations, as well as associated drive system data as full or partial data logs, each with a plurality of associated time stamps, which may include data such as average fuel economy as taught in at least Paragraphs 0075 & 0092 [i.e. a result of tallying average fuel energy or average regenerative power of each machine in the stable travelling zone].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the display of average fuel use at a display apparatus as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0172 – 0174 & 0177, the troubleshooter may extract specific data for use in the determination of faults, improving the assessment of faults under specific conditions.
Regarding Claim 11:
The machine management system according to claim 5, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a cylinder ring or a gasket of the engine on a basis of blow-by pressure of the engine in the stable travelling zone when deterioration of the engine is detected.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose detecting an anomaly of a cylinder ring or a gasket of the engine on a basis of blow-by pressure of the engine.
However Murakami teaches in at least Column 4 Line 44 – Column 5 Line 33 wherein engine blow-by pressure may be evaluated as a vehicle travels a specified stable travel area, with a vehicle engine abnormality being diagnosed based on the blow-by pressure overshoot quantities measured. At least Column 13 Lines 10 – 33 of Murakami further teaches wherein based on the blow-by pressure, wear of the piston rings/cylinder liners may be determined [i.e. the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a cylinder ring or a gasket of the engine on a basis of blow-by pressure of the engine in the stable travelling zone when deterioration of the engine is detected].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have incorporated the determination of wear in vehicle piston rings or cylinder liners based on blow-by pressure as taught by Murakami.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Murakami in at least Column 13 Lines 10 – 33, it may be determined if an engine has reached its use limit, improving the determination of vehicle faults.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1), Pence (US 2014/0211344 A1), and Mayer (US 2011/0130916 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Williams (US 2008/0009987 A1).
Regarding Claim 12:
The machine management system according to claim 5, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of an accumulator that accumulates pressure of fuel to be supplied to the engine, on a basis of a peak interval of fuel energy to be supplied to the engine in the stable travelling zone, when deterioration of the engine is detected.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of an accumulator that accumulates pressure of fuel to be supplied to the engine, on a basis of a peak interval of fuel energy to be supplied to the engine in the stable travelling zone.
However Williams teaches in at least Paragraphs 0014, 0021, & 0028 wherein a fault or failure may be determined to be present in components of a fuel system, said fuel system including an accumulator and associated pumps for providing high pressure fuel to an engine of a vehicle, by evaluating the frequency of detected filling pumps. At least Paragraphs 0017, 0018, & 0095 – 0099 of Williams further teach wherein based on comparing the filling pulse signal to an expected profile, a failure in the pump system for the accumulator may be determined to be present [i.e. detect an anomaly of an accumulator that accumulates pressure of fuel to be supplied to the engine, on a basis of a peak interval of fuel energy to be supplied to the engine in the stable travelling zone].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the detection of an anomaly of an accumulator, on a basis of an interval of fuel supplied to the engine as taught by Williams.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Williams in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018, a failure in a pump system of an accumulator may be reliably detected, improving the fault isolation system for a vehicle.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1), Pence (US 2014/0211344 A1), and Mayer (US 2011/0130916 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ino (US 5,612,672 A).
Regarding Claim 13:
The machine management system according to claim 6, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a grid fan for cooling a grid resistor that converts the regenerative power into heat, on a basis of temperature of the grid resistor in the stable travelling zone, when deterioration of none of the engine, the motor, and the inverter is detected.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the processing apparatus is configured to detect an anomaly of a grid fan for cooling a grid resistor that converts the regenerative power into heat, on a basis of temperature of the grid resistor in the stable travelling zone.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraph 0053 wherein a resistive braking resistor may be used to dissipate excess energy from a regenerative braking system as heat, the dissipation taking place through the same cooling system as the vehicle engine [i.e. a grid resistor that converts the regenerative power into heat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the use of a resistor to dissipate excess energy from a regenerative braking system as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraph 0053, excess energy may be dissipated from a vehicle braking system when the energy storage is full, improving the electricity management of the vehicle system.
However Ina teaches in at least Column 1 Line 61 – Column 2 Line 3 wherein a radiator fan may be determined to have a fault when the engine temperature the fan is intended to cool exceeds a threshold, as further taught in at least Column 3 Lines 48 – 67. As the grid resistors taught by Mayer are cooled by the same system as the engine, the fan of Ina which cools the engine maps to cooling the resistors of Mayer, and thus a fan fault could be diagnosed in a similar manner [i.e. detect an anomaly of a grid fan for cooling a grid resistor that converts the regenerative power into heat, on a basis of temperature of the grid resistor in the stable travelling zone].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the determination of a fault in a cooling fan based on temperature as taught by Ina.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ina in at least Column 1 Line 61 – Column 2 Line 3 & Column 4 Lines 42 – 47, the potential hazard of a malfunctioning cooling system may be avoided by alerting an operator to a detected malfunctioning cooling fan, improving the alerting of faulty vehicle components.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2020/0043258 A1) in view of Murakami (US 6,435,018 B1), Pence (US 2014/0211344 A1), and Mayer (US 2011/0130916 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Suganuma (US 2014/0095016 A1).
Regarding Claim 14:
The machine management system according to claim 6, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to exclude a particular period from a tallying period of the fuel energy or the regenerative power when the regenerative power of a plurality of the machines lowers simultaneously in the particular period.
Jiang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the processing apparatus is configured to exclude a particular period from a tallying period of the fuel energy or the regenerative power when the regenerative power of a plurality of the machines lowers simultaneously in the particular period.
However Mayer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0052, 0053, & 0179 wherein energy may be acquired from regenerative braking operations, and provided as status data to a remote diagnostic unit as taught in at least Paragraph 0074, with a failure of a drive motor inverter being investigated by collecting and evaluating data regarding vehicle regenerative braking as the vehicle travels downhill [i.e. regenerative power is tallied for the fault detection operation].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the determination of the failure of a vehicle component based on recorded data from regenerative braking operations as taught by Mayer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Mayer in at least Paragraphs 0052, 0053, & 0179, the failure of components related to vehicle regenerative braking, such as the vehicle inverter, may be determined based on collected data, improving the isolation of a fault for the vehicle system.
However Suganuma teaches in at least Paragraphs 0022, 0068, & 0112 wherein data fluctuations may be determined by comparing a plurality of datasets, as depicted in Figure 10 of Suganuma, below, wherein the plurality of other data sets indicate a vehicle control operation in a normal state. Based on the identification of a data fluctuation, said data fluctuation is determined as the portion of target data subject to diagnosis [i.e. other data that raises or lowers simultaneously with the control data sets is excluded].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jiang by incorporating the exclusion of data that raises or lowers simultaneously with other control data as taught by Suganuma.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Suganuma in at least Paragraphs 0022, 0068, & 0112, data sets in which deviations are significant may be identified, improving the assessment of abnormalities and faults in vehicle operation.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Zhao (CN 106122065 B): Zhao recites a fault detection system for cooling fans, including the collection of temperature data, and voltage data applied to the fans. From the aforementioned data, fan faults may be determined and reported to a user.
Koons (US 10,055,903 B2): Koons recites a vehicle health evaluation system, including the comparison of sensor data to predetermined performance data, and the diagnosis of problem severity/source based on such data. If the problem reaches a sufficient threshold, the vehicle may be stopped.
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661