DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘front-facing cutting head’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “wall rotates” to “wall is configured to rotate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “wall being stationary” to “wall is configured to be stationary”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeroni et al. (US 2015/0150590A1, “Zeroni”).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 18, Zeroni discloses an atherectomy device including an outer catheter body (5;Fig. 2), an inner catheter body (3; Fig. 3) extending through an outer catheter lumen of the outer cathe3ter body, a front-facing cutting head (4; [0035) having a portion rotatably connected to a distal end of the inner catheter body [0035], and a rotatable screw member (6; [0032, 0040]) is capable of carrying away material from the front-facing cutting head as the rotatable screw member rotates. A space between the outer catheter body and the inner catheter body defines a flushing lumen and the rotatable screw member having a guidewire lumen (Fig. 15; lumen through which GW extends) that extends coaxially with the outer catheter lumen and the inner catheter lumen. A driver (10; [0032]) is coupled to the front-facing cutting head to rotate the front-facing cutting head. The atherectomy device is advanced and the front-facing cutting head is rotated [0046].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Zeroni discloses that one of the outer catheter body and the inner catheter body is movable in an axial direction of the atherectomy device relative to the other between extended and retracted positions [0030-0031].
Regarding claim 6, Zeroni discloses that the inner catheter lumen defines an aspiration lumen (12) wherein material is carried away using the rotatable screw member [0033-0034, 0049].
Regarding claim 7, Zeroni discloses that the cutting head includes one or more blades in the form of a cutting edge [0035].
Regarding claim 8, Zeroni discloses that the front-facing cutting head includes a peripheral wall and that the one or more blades are coupled to the peripheral wall such that the peripheral wall is capable of rotating with the one or more blades [0035].
Regarding claim 12, Zeroni discloses that the guidewire lumen extends through the front-facing cutting head (Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeroni in view of Veca et al. (US 6,053,923, “Veca”).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 15-17, Zeroni discloses that the outer catheter is capable of extending and retracting with respect to the inner catheter. Zeroni does not disclose a lateral opening at a distal end portion of the inner catheter body in fluid communication with the inner catheter lumen.
In the same field of endeavor, tissue removal, Veca teaches an inner catheter (66) that includes lateral openings (96; Fig. 4) at a distal end portion, proximal of the cutter assembly. The suction ports are in fluid communication with the inner catheter lumen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the distal end portion of the inner catheter body of Zeroni with a lateral opening, as taught by Veca, to provide means for aspirating debris through the device. With this modification, the combination of Zeroni and Veca is capable of extending and retracting with respect to the inner catheter to cover and uncover the lateral opening.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeroni in view of Escudero et al. (US 2009/0018567A1, “Escudero”).
Regarding claim 10, Zeroni does not disclose that the one or more blades are serrated.
In the same field of endeavor, tissue removal, Escudera teaches a cutting surface (113) that includes a blade in the form of an edge that may be serrated [0165]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the blade of Zeroni to be serrated, as taught by Escudera, to provide the benefit of a more accurate and cleaner removal of tissue and minimal or reduced tissue trauma.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To et al. (US 2017/0014153A1) discloses an atherectomy device including a rotatable screw member within an inner catheter.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771