DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
However, Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application, nor the application filing date, to overcome any rejection herein because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-12 are rejected because these claims appear require the plating layer to additionally comprise Al and Mg, however, note that claims 1-4 from which these claims depend already require the plating layer to contain <3%Fe with the balance (i.e. the rest of the 3-100%) being Zn and impurities (see last line of claim 1). As such, are the Al and Mg recited in claims 5-12 part of the impurities previously recited or are Applicants attempting to recite these as additional components. The scope is simply not clear and the language “instead of part of the Zn” does not clarify any scope.
For examination, given that claims 1-4 require the balance of the plating layer to be only Zn and impurities, the Al and Mg of claims 5-12 are considered to be making up the impurities and not an additional component (s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022149505 (rejection based on corresponding English document USPub20240058888).
Regarding claims 1-12: ‘888 teaches a plated steel sheet comprising a base steel sheet and a plating layer containing Zn on the surface (see abstract, 0039). The plating layer can include 0% Fe (0042) with the balance being Zn and impurities (note the discussed additional components of Al can be 0% or 0-30% or even 3-30% (MPEP 2144.05), Mg can be 0% or 0-10% or even 0.01-10% (MPEP 2144.05), Si can be 0%, with all additional components being optional in par 0040, 0041, 0043, 0044)
The plated steel sheets have a tensile strength of 780MPa or more (abstract).
The chemical composition of the base steel sheet comprising by mass% have a composition comprising that below (0036) allowing for overlap with that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
While ‘888 may not explicitly teach a depth with C concentration as claimed, a roughness of the interface of the plating and base sheet as claimed or the layer thickness of a layer with an area ratio of a ferrite phase of 90% or more in a depth direction from the base sheet starting from the interface of the plating and the base sheet being that required by the claim, note the following.
Initially, as discussed above, ‘888 teaches a plated steel sheet with the same general structure claimed including the same plating layer, sheet tensile strength and sheet composition.
Further, ‘888 teaches their steel sheets being made by substantially the same process as that disclosed by Applicants (see 0076-0087 compared to Applicants’ 0078-0082 in specification as filed) including a pretreatment step and annealing step under conditions also substantially similar to Applicants’ (see 0081-0085 compared to Applicants’ 0083-0089 in specification as filed). ‘888’s plating layer is also deposited on each sheet substantially similar to Applicant (see 0088 and 0096 compared to Applicants’ 0090 in specification). Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same resulting features to occur (MPEP 2112).
2. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022149511 (rejection based on corresponding English document USPub20240084833).
Regarding claims 1-8: ‘833 teaches plated steel sheets comprising a base steel sheet and a plating layer containing Zn on the surface (see abstract, 0035). The plating layer can include 0% Fe (0038) with the balance being Zn and impurities (note the discussed additional components of Al can be 0% or 0-30% or even 3-30% (MPEP 2144.05), Mg can be 0% or 0-10% or even 3% or more (MPEP 2144.05), Si can be 0%, with all additional components being optional in par 0036-0037, 0039, 0040)
The plated steel sheets have a tensile strength of 780MPa or more (0032).
The chemical composition of the base steel sheet comprising by mass% have a composition comprising that below (0033) overlapping that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
While ‘833 may not explicitly teach a depth with C concentration as claimed, a roughness of the interface of the plating and base sheet as claimed or the layer thickness of a layer with an area ratio of a ferrite phase of 90% or more in a depth direction from the base sheet starting from the interface of the plating and the base sheet being that required by the claim, note the following.
Initially, as discussed above, ‘833 teaches a plated steel sheet meeting the general structure claimed including the same plating layer, sheet tensile strength and sheet composition.
Further, ‘883 teaches their steel sheets being made by substantially the same process as that disclosed by Applicants (see 0066-0071 compared to Applicants’ 0078-0082 in specification as filed) including a pretreatment step and annealing step under conditions also substantially similar to Applicants’ (see 0072-0076 compared to Applicants’ 0083-0089 in specification as filed). ‘833’s plating layer is also deposited on each sheet substantially similar to Applicant (see 0079 and 0087 compared to Applicants’ 0090 in specification). Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same resulting features to occur (MPEP 2112).
3. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022149507 (rejection based on corresponding English document USPub20240093708).
Regarding claims 1-8: ‘708 teaches a plated steel sheets comprising a base steel sheet and a plating layer containing Zn on the surface (see abstract, 0030). The plating layer can include 0% Fe (0033) with the balance being Zn and impurities (note the discussed additional components of Al can be 0% or 0-30% or even 3-30% (MPEP 2144.05), Mg can be 0% or 0-10% or even 6% or more (MPEP 2144.05), Si can be 0%, with all additional components being optional in par 0031, 0032, 0034, 0035)
The steel sheets have a tensile strength of 780MPa or more (0027).
The chemical composition of the base steel sheet comprising by mass% have a composition comprising that below (0028) overlapping that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
While ‘708 may not explicitly teach a depth with C concentration as claimed, a roughness of the interface of the plating and base sheet as claimed or the layer thickness of a layer with an area ratio of a ferrite phase of 90% or more in a depth direction from the base sheet starting from the interface of the plating and the base sheet being that required by the claim, note the following.
Initially, as discussed above, ‘708 teaches a plated steel sheet meeting the general structure claimed including the same plating layer, sheet tensile strength and sheet composition.
Further, ‘708 teaches their steel sheets being made by substantially the same process as that disclosed by Applicants (see 0057-0061 compared to Applicants’ 0078-0082 in specification as filed) including a pretreatment step and annealing step under conditions also substantially similar to Applicants’ (see 0062-0066 compared to Applicants’ 0083-0089 in specification as filed). ‘708’s plating layer is also deposited on each sheet substantially similar to Applicant (see 0069 and 0077 compared to Applicants’ 0090 in specification). Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same resulting features to occur (MPEP 2112).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/109019 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap with that of the copending claims and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art applied above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784