DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "40" and "38" have both been used to designate “base” on Page 7, lines 6 and 14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of its improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burkhart (United States Patent US 6,454,083 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Burkhart teaches An impact bed comprising:a central impact section and a first and second side impact sections(Figure 1: Center portion 32 and inclined edge portions 34, 36) pivotably supported relative to opposite sides of the central impact section such that an angle of each side impact section relative to the central impact section is adjustable;(Figures 3-6: Shows how the inclination of the sides adjust)at least a first and second adjustable support mechanism associated with the first and second side impact sections respectively, each adjustable support mechanism configured for adjusting the angle of the respective side impact section and operatively to retain said side impact section at a predetermined angle.(Figure 2: Adjustment brackets 90A and 90B).
Regarding Claim 2, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 1, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each adjustable support mechanism comprises a support arm pivotably fixed to a base and an adjustment mechanism received between the support arm and the base.(Figure 3: Support member 60B (arm), bracket 90B (base) and adjustment member 104B)
Regarding Claim 3, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 2, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each side impact section is fixed relative to the support arm of the respective adjustable support mechanism associated with it.(Figure 3: Support member 60B (arm), bracket 90B (base) and adjustment member 104B interconnected to one another)
Regarding Claim 8, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 1, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Regarding Claim 9, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 2, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches comprising a main support frame, wherein the central impact section is fixed to and/or supported by the main support frame, and wherein the base of each adjustable support mechanism is fixed relative to the main support frame.(Figure 21: Support members 42)
Regarding Claim 10, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 1, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each side impact section is associated with two adjustable support mechanisms.(Figure 1: Plurality of adjustment brackets 90A/B on each side)
Regarding Claim 11, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 1, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches configured as a loading bed, wherein the central impact section is configured as a central loading section and the side impact sections are configured as side loading sections.(Figure 1: Center portion 32 and inclined edge portions 34, 36)
Regarding Claim 15, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 2, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Regarding Claim 16, Burkhart teaches the impact bed according to claim 3, as seen above. Burkhart further teaches wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 12-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart (United States Patent US 6,454,083 B2) in view of Swinderman (United States Patent Application US 2014/0083822A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Burkhart discloses the impact bed according to claim 2, as seen above.
However, Burkhart does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a pivotably interconnected upper and lower support strut configured as a scissor link, opposite end portions of which are pivotably linked to the support arm and base respectively, and an adjustment rod extending between the scissor link and one of the support arm and base.
Swinderman discloses a similar impact bed wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a pivotably interconnected upper and lower support strut configured as a scissor link, opposite end portions of which are pivotably linked to the support arm and base respectively, and an adjustment rod extending between the scissor link and one of the support arm and base.(Figure 3: Adjustable braces 22 and threaded rod 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkhart to include the support structure as taught by Swinderman. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for effective sealing of the assemblies, minimize belt sag, allow for easier installation and decrease friction and belt wear (Paragraphs 0007-0010).
Regarding Claim 5, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 4, as seen above. Swinderman further discloses wherein the adjustment rod comprises a threaded rod, lockable and/or adjustable relative to the scissor link by way of a nut.(Paragraph 0025: "The support structure 12 comprises a base 18, a pair of support arms 20, a pair of adjustable braces 22, a pair of spring biased movable carriages 24, and a hydraulic actuator 26. The support structure 12 (excluding the hydraulic actuator 26) is formed primarily of laser cut pieces of steel that are interlocked with each other and that are thereafter welded together. Each of the support arms 20 comprises a proximal portion 28 that is pivotally attached to the base 18 near the center of the base. In normal operation, the support arms 20 extend upward and outward from the base 18 and are held in that upright configuration by the adjustable braces 22. Each of the adjustable braces 22 is attached to the base 18 and to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20. Each carriage 24 is slideably attached to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20 in a manner such that the carriage is able to translate along an axis relative to the distal portion, but is otherwise constrained by the support arm. Those axes are defined by railing components 32 that secure the carriages 24 to the support arms 20. The distal portion 30 of each support arm 30 also comprises a threaded rod 34, a compression spring 36, and an adjustable spring stop 38 (see FIG. 4). The threaded rod 34 acts as an adjustment screw that repositions the spring stop 38 along the axis of the rod. The compression spring 36 is sandwiched between the spring stop 38 and the carriage 24 in a manner such that movement of the carriage 24 toward the center of the idler assembly 10 relative to the distal portion 30 of the respective support arm 20 is resisted by the spring. Preferably, each compression spring 36 has a stiffness of 2200 lbs/inch and allows for a maximum compression of only one inch. Thus, in normal operation (as is further described below), the carriage 24 is able to move linearly relative to the support arm 20, but only by a relatively small amount.")
Regarding Claim 6, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 4, as seen above. Swinderman further discloses wherein the adjustment rod extends through a bush pivotably supported by the scissor link.(Figure 4: Part of the housing 24 surrounds rod 34 )
Regarding Claim 7, Burkhart discloses the impact bed according to claim 2, as seen above.
However, Burkhart does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment rod extending between the support arm and the base which is lockable and/or adjustable by way of a nut.
Swinderman discloses a similar impact bed wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment rod extending between the support arm and the base which is lockable and/or adjustable by way of a nut.(Paragraph 0025: "The support structure 12 comprises a base 18, a pair of support arms 20, a pair of adjustable braces 22, a pair of spring biased movable carriages 24, and a hydraulic actuator 26. The support structure 12 (excluding the hydraulic actuator 26) is formed primarily of laser cut pieces of steel that are interlocked with each other and that are thereafter welded together. Each of the support arms 20 comprises a proximal portion 28 that is pivotally attached to the base 18 near the center of the base. In normal operation, the support arms 20 extend upward and outward from the base 18 and are held in that upright configuration by the adjustable braces 22. Each of the adjustable braces 22 is attached to the base 18 and to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20. Each carriage 24 is slideably attached to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20 in a manner such that the carriage is able to translate along an axis relative to the distal portion, but is otherwise constrained by the support arm. Those axes are defined by railing components 32 that secure the carriages 24 to the support arms 20. The distal portion 30 of each support arm 30 also comprises a threaded rod 34, a compression spring 36, and an adjustable spring stop 38 (see FIG. 4). The threaded rod 34 acts as an adjustment screw that repositions the spring stop 38 along the axis of the rod. The compression spring 36 is sandwiched between the spring stop 38 and the carriage 24 in a manner such that movement of the carriage 24 toward the center of the idler assembly 10 relative to the distal portion 30 of the respective support arm 20 is resisted by the spring. Preferably, each compression spring 36 has a stiffness of 2200 lbs/inch and allows for a maximum compression of only one inch. Thus, in normal operation (as is further described below), the carriage 24 is able to move linearly relative to the support arm 20, but only by a relatively small amount.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkhart to include the adjustment mechanism as taught by Swinderman. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for effective sealing of the assemblies, minimize belt sag, allow for easier installation and decrease friction and belt wear (Paragraphs 0007-0010).
Regarding Claim 12, Burkhart discloses the impact bed according to claim 3, as seen above.
However, Burkhart does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a pivotably interconnected upper and lower support strut configured as a scissor link, opposite end portions of which are pivotably linked to the support arm and base respectively, and an adjustment rod extending between the scissor link and one of the support arm and base.
Swinderman discloses a similar impact bed wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a pivotably interconnected upper and lower support strut configured as a scissor link, opposite end portions of which are pivotably linked to the support arm and base respectively, and an adjustment rod extending between the scissor link and one of the support arm and base.(Figure 3: Adjustable braces 22 and threaded rod 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkhart to include the adjustment mechanism as taught by Swinderman. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for effective sealing of the assemblies, minimize belt sag, allow for easier installation and decrease friction and belt wear (Paragraphs 0007-0010).
Regarding Claim 13, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 5, as seen above. Swinderman further discloses wherein the adjustment rod extends through a bush pivotably supported by the scissor link.(Figure 4: Part of the housing 24 surrounds rod 34 )
Regarding Claim 14, Burkhart discloses the impact bed according to claim 3, as seen above.
However, Burkhart does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment rod extending between the support arm and the base which is lockable and/or adjustable by way of a nut.
Swinderman discloses a similar impact bed wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment rod extending between the support arm and the base which is lockable and/or adjustable by way of a nut.(Paragraph 0025: "The support structure 12 comprises a base 18, a pair of support arms 20, a pair of adjustable braces 22, a pair of spring biased movable carriages 24, and a hydraulic actuator 26. The support structure 12 (excluding the hydraulic actuator 26) is formed primarily of laser cut pieces of steel that are interlocked with each other and that are thereafter welded together. Each of the support arms 20 comprises a proximal portion 28 that is pivotally attached to the base 18 near the center of the base. In normal operation, the support arms 20 extend upward and outward from the base 18 and are held in that upright configuration by the adjustable braces 22. Each of the adjustable braces 22 is attached to the base 18 and to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20. Each carriage 24 is slideably attached to the distal portion 30 of a respective one of the support arms 20 in a manner such that the carriage is able to translate along an axis relative to the distal portion, but is otherwise constrained by the support arm. Those axes are defined by railing components 32 that secure the carriages 24 to the support arms 20. The distal portion 30 of each support arm 30 also comprises a threaded rod 34, a compression spring 36, and an adjustable spring stop 38 (see FIG. 4). The threaded rod 34 acts as an adjustment screw that repositions the spring stop 38 along the axis of the rod. The compression spring 36 is sandwiched between the spring stop 38 and the carriage 24 in a manner such that movement of the carriage 24 toward the center of the idler assembly 10 relative to the distal portion 30 of the respective support arm 20 is resisted by the spring. Preferably, each compression spring 36 has a stiffness of 2200 lbs/inch and allows for a maximum compression of only one inch. Thus, in normal operation (as is further described below), the carriage 24 is able to move linearly relative to the support arm 20, but only by a relatively small amount.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkhart to include the adjustment mechanism as taught by Swinderman. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for effective sealing of the assemblies, minimize belt sag, allow for easier installation and decrease friction and belt wear (Paragraphs 0007-0010).
Regarding Claim 17, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 4, as seen above. Burkhart further discloses wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Regarding Claim 18, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 5, as seen above. Burkhart further discloses wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Regarding Claim 19, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 6, as seen above. Burkhart further discloses wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Regarding Claim 20, Burkhart in view of Swinderman discloses the impact bed according to claim 7, as seen above. Burkhart further discloses wherein each of the impact sections comprises one of: i) or more impact slat or pad; ii) one or more impact bar; iii) one or more impact roller or idler; and iv) one or more impact slider bar.(Column 4, lines 32-58: "The impact cradle 20 includes a central cushion member which is horizontally disposed and adapted to support a central portion of the conveyor belt and first and second wing cushion members disposed on either side of the central cushion member, each wing cushion member adapted to support a side portion of the conveyor belt. As best shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the impact cradle 20 includes one or more horizontal impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form a central cushion member and that are removably attached to the flange 46 of each support member 42 by fasteners 134. Each impact bar 130 includes a generally planar surface 136 which is adapted to engage the bottom surface 26 of the conveyor belt 22. These horizontal impact bars are located between the wing cushion support members 60A and B. One or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60A by fasteners 134 which extend through the apertures 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60A, and one or more impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 that form wing cushion members are removably attached to the flange 64 of each wing cushion support member 60B by fasteners 134 which extend through the aperture 72 in the flange 64 of the wing cushion support member 60B. Each impact bar 130 is preferably attached to two or more support structures 40 as shown in FIG. 1. The impact bars 130 and bar holders 132 are standard pieces of equipment available from Martin Engineering.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 6,543,607 B2 (Fischer, John): Fischer discloses a similar impact bed comprising a support rail, a first and second inclined rail assembly and adjustable linkage in order to change the inclination, as seen in Figure 3.
United States Patent Application US 2013/0277181 A1 (Kuiper, Daniel): Kuiper discloses a similar impact bed comprising a support bed assembly, slider bar assemblies, upper slide member, base member and fasteners, as seen in Figure 3.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651