DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action responsive to application 19109070 filed 3/5/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “227” has been used to designate both bearing assembly and drum windings (Fig. 2).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at p. 8, ll. 23-30 and p. 9, ll. 1-6, the reference numeral 227 is used to describe both the bearing assembly and drum windings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7, 9, & 11-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Dependent Claims 2-7 & 11-20:
The recitations “A turbomachine” are believed to be in error for - - The turbomachine - -.
Regarding Dependent Claim 9:
The recitation “An electric turbomachine” is believed to be in error for - - The electric turbomachine - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita 20170328269.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Yamashita teaches a turbomachine (Fig. 2) comprising:
- a first stage comprising a first radial impeller (4), a first channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller (inlet to impeller 4 has axial fluid transfer connection with 4), and a second channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the first radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 4, second channel – i.e. the outlet from 4 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 4),
- a second stage comprising a second radial impeller (5), a third channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (portion of 17 immediately adjacent to 29 has an axial fluid transfer connection to 5 at the inlet to 5), and a fourth channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the second radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 5, fourth channel – i.e. the outlet from 5 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 5),
- a connection channel configured to form a fluid transfer connection between the second channel and the third channel (remainder of 17 not including portion discussed above for third channel),
- a shaft (6) on which the first and second radial impellers are attached, and
- a bearing assembly axially between the first and second radial impellers and configured to support the shaft (left-side bearing assembly 29 at 4),
wherein a back surface of the first radial impeller faces towards the bearing assembly (back surface of 4 faces 29) and a back surface of the second radial impeller faces away from the bearing assembly (back surface of 5 faces away from 29), and the third channel has an annular portion constituting the axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (third channel discussed above has an annular portion which constitutes the axial fluid transfer connection with 5 at the inlet to 5), and a frame portion surrounding and mechanically supporting the bearing assembly (frame portion 12/13) constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel (downstream portion of frame portion 12/13 constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion discussed above), and an inner diameter of the annular portion of the third channel that surrounds the bearing assembly is an inner diameter of a vane area of the second radial impeller (inner diameter of annular portion of the third channel that surrounds 29 is an inner diameter of a vane area of 5 at the downstream-most end of 12/13).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Yamashita further teaches the frame portion constituting the inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel has a pressure balancing channel (28)
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Yamashita further teaches a front surface of the second radial impeller has an annular collar portion concentric with the shaft and protruding axially towards the first radial impeller (annular projecting portion of 5 that extends into 13 axially towards 4 and is concentric with 6), the annular collar portion having a radially facing side surface configured to face radially towards a radially facing surface of the frame portion (radially facing side surface of annular collar portion discussed above faces radially towards radially facing surface of portion 13 of 12/13).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Yamashita further teaches the connection channel
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Yamashita teaches an electrical turbomachine (Fig. 2) comprising:
- a compressor stage (discussed in detail below),
- an electric machine (11) having a stator (21) and a rotor (22), and
- a turbine stage having a turbine impeller (3),
wherein the rotor of the electric machine is mechanically connected to rotating parts of the compressor stage and the turbine impeller is mechanically connected to the rotor of the electric machine (shaft 6 mechanically connects 3/4/5 and 22), and the compressor stage is a turbomachine (as follows) comprising:
- a first stage comprising a first radial impeller (4), a first channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller (inlet to impeller 4 has axial fluid transfer connection with 4), and a second channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the first radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 4, second channel – i.e. the outlet from 4 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 4),
- a second stage comprising a second radial impeller (5), a third channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (portion of 17 immediately adjacent to 29 has an axial fluid transfer connection to 5 at the inlet to 5), and a fourth channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the second radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 5, fourth channel – i.e. the outlet from 5 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 5),
- a connection channel configured to form a fluid transfer connection between the second channel and the third channel (remainder of 17 not including portion discussed above for third channel),
- a shaft (6) on which the first and second radial impellers are attached, and
- a bearing assembly axially between the first and second radial impellers and configured to support the shaft (left-side bearing assembly 29 at 4),
wherein a back surface of the first radial impeller faces towards the bearing assembly (back surface of 4 faces 29) and a back surface of the second radial impeller faces away from the bearing assembly (back surface of 5 faces away from 29), and the third channel has an annular portion constituting the axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (third channel discussed above has an annular portion which constitutes the axial fluid transfer connection with 5 at the inlet to 5), and a frame portion surrounding and mechanically supporting the bearing assembly (frame portion 12/13) constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel (downstream portion of frame portion 12/13 constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion discussed above), and an inner diameter of the annular portion of the third channel that surrounds the bearing assembly is an inner diameter of a vane area of the second radial impeller (inner diameter of annular portion of the third channel that surrounds 29 is an inner diameter of a vane area of 5 at the downstream-most end of 12/13).
Regarding Dependent Claim 17, Yamashita further teaches a front surface of the second radial impeller has an annular collar portion concentric with the shaft and protruding axially towards the first radial impeller (annular projecting portion of 5 that extends into 13 axially towards 4 and is concentric with 6), the annular collar portion having a radially facing side surface configured to face radially towards a radially facing surface of the frame portion (radially facing side surface of annular collar portion discussed above faces radially towards radially facing surface of portion 13 of 12/13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, as discussed for claim 1 above.
Regarding Dependent Claims 2-3, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Yamashita further teaches a ratio of the inner diameter of the annular portion of the third channel to an outer diameter of the second radial impeller is in a range (this ratio of diameters is defined in Yamashita but is not specified – i.e. the ratio exists but Yamashita does not disclose the value).
Yamashita fails to teach the range is from 0.6 to 0.8 for claim 2 (or 0.7 to 0.8 for claim 3).
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of relative dimensions (in this case the only difference is the recitation relative dimensions of the inner diameter of the annular portion and the outer diameter of the second radial impeller expressed as a ratio) and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device (a turbomachine having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art), the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.04 IV(A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the range is from 0.6 to 0.8 or 0.7 to 0.8 as a matter of design choice in setting the dimensions of the turbomachine. Applicant’s specification provides no indication that these ranges provide any advantage over the prior art and, in fact, suggests values outside the claimed ranges can be used without negative impacts to function (Applicant’s specification at p. 7, ll. 4-17).
Regarding Dependent Claim 13, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and Yamashita further teaches the frame portion constituting the inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel has a pressure balancing channel (28)
Regarding Dependent Claim 14, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 3, Yamashita further teaches the frame portion constituting the inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel has a pressure balancing channel (28)axially facing front surface of the second radial impeller (space between portion 13 of 12/13 and front face of 5 at 19).
Regarding Dependent Claim 15, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and Yamashita further teaches a front surface of the second radial impeller has an annular collar portion concentric with the shaft and protruding axially towards the first radial impeller (annular projecting portion of 5 that extends into 13 axially towards 4 and is concentric with 6), the annular collar portion having a radially facing side surface configured to face radially towards a radially facing surface of the frame portion (radially facing side surface of annular collar portion discussed above faces radially towards radially facing surface of portion 13 of 12/13).
Regarding Dependent Claim 16, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 3, Yamashita further teaches a front surface of the second radial impeller has an annular collar portion concentric with the shaft and protruding axially towards the first radial impeller (annular projecting portion of 5 that extends into 13 axially towards 4 and is concentric with 6), the annular collar portion having a radially facing side surface configured to face radially towards a radially facing surface of the frame portion (radially facing side surface of annular collar portion discussed above faces radially towards radially facing surface of portion 13 of 12/13).
Claims 6 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, as applied to claims 1-3 above, respectively, and further in view of Homeyer 20140096533.
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, but Yamashita fails to expressly teach the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly.
Homeyer teaches a turbomachine (para. [0004]) with a bearing assembly (Fig. 1, bearings 2) and a frame (housing 10), the frame having an inlet oil channel (4) and an outlet oil channel (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly, as taught by Homeyer, in order to supply oil to lubricate and cool the bearing elements and then permit the oil to leave the bearing assembly once used (Homeyer; para. [0025]). While Homeyer’s frame is a bearing housing, the proposed modification of Yamashita would result in the claimed inlet and outlet channels being provided in the frame portion which is shown as the housing (and even if not serving as an actual bearing housing, such channels would necessarily have to be provided in the frame in order to provide the oil for supply to such a bearing housing).
Regarding Dependent Claim 18, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, but Yamashita fails to expressly teach the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly.
Homeyer teaches a turbomachine (para. [0004]) with a bearing assembly (Fig. 1, bearings 2) and a frame (housing 10), the frame having an inlet oil channel (4) and an outlet oil channel (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly, as taught by Homeyer, in order to supply oil to lubricate and cool the bearing elements and then permit the oil to leave the bearing assembly once used (Homeyer; para. [0025]). While Homeyer’s frame is a bearing housing, the proposed modification of Yamashita would result in the claimed inlet and outlet channels being provided in the frame portion which is shown as the housing (and even if not serving as an actual bearing housing, such channels would necessarily have to be provided in the frame in order to provide the oil for supply to such a bearing housing).
Regarding Dependent Claim 19, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 3, but Yamashita fails to expressly teach the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly.
Homeyer teaches a turbomachine (para. [0004]) with a bearing assembly (Fig. 1, bearings 2) and a frame (housing 10), the frame having an inlet oil channel (4) and an outlet oil channel (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly, as taught by Homeyer, in order to supply oil to lubricate and cool the bearing elements and then permit the oil to leave the bearing assembly once used (Homeyer; para. [0025]). While Homeyer’s frame is a bearing housing, the proposed modification of Yamashita would result in the claimed inlet and outlet channels being provided in the frame portion which is shown as the housing (and even if not serving as an actual bearing housing, such channels would necessarily have to be provided in the frame in order to provide the oil for supply to such a bearing housing).
Regarding Dependent Claim 20, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 4, but Yamashita fails to expressly teach the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly.
Homeyer teaches a turbomachine (para. [0004]) with a bearing assembly (Fig. 1, bearings 2) and a frame (housing 10), the frame having an inlet oil channel (4) and an outlet oil channel (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the frame portion comprises an inlet oil channel for supplying lubricant oil to the bearing assembly and an outlet oil channel for allowing the lubricant oil to flow out from the bearing assembly, as taught by Homeyer, in order to supply oil to lubricate and cool the bearing elements and then permit the oil to leave the bearing assembly once used (Homeyer; para. [0025]). While Homeyer’s frame is a bearing housing, the proposed modification of Yamashita would result in the claimed inlet and outlet channels being provided in the frame portion which is shown as the housing (and even if not serving as an actual bearing housing, such channels would necessarily have to be provided in the frame in order to provide the oil for supply to such a bearing housing).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Nashiki 20120235615.
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Yamashita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 8, and Yamashita teaches the stator of the electric machine comprises windings (para. [0036]).
Yamashita fails to expressly teach the windings are drum windings.
Nashiki teaches an electric machine with a stator having windings that may be of various types, including drum windings (para. [0122] last sentence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus such that the windings are drum windings, as taught by Nashiki, because a) the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components with other components (Yamashita’s unidentified type of stator windings versus the claimed drum windings taught by Nashiki), b) the substituted components and their functions were known in the art (both Yamashita’s windings and Nashiki’s drum windings were known windings useful in stators for electric machines), and c) one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (either Yamashita’s windings or Nishiki’s drum windings could have been used to predictably provide stator windings useful in an electric machine). It has been held that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., et al., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (citing United States v. Adams, 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)). See MPEP 2143 I(B).
Claims 10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Ethier 20150322857.
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Yamashita teaches
- an electrical turbomachine (Fig. 2) comprising a compressor stage (discussed below) configured to compress air, an electric machine (11), and a turbine stage (5) configured to drive the electric machine and the compressor stage (via shaft 6), and
- wherein the electrical turbomachine is an electrical turbomachine comprising:
- the compressor stage (as discussed above and in more detail below),
- the electric machine having a stator (21) and a rotor (22), and
- the turbine stage having a turbine impeller (5), wherein the rotor of the electric machine is mechanically connected to rotating parts of the compressor stage and the turbine impeller is mechanically connected to the rotor of the electric machine (compressors 4/5, turbine 3, and rotor 22 are all mechanically connected via shaft 6), and the compressor stage is a turbomachine (as follows) comprising:
- a first stage comprising a first radial impeller (4), a first channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller (inlet to impeller 4 has axial fluid transfer connection with 4), and a second channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the first radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the first radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 4, second channel – i.e. the outlet from 4 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 4),
- a second stage comprising a second radial impeller (5), a third channel having an axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (portion of 17 immediately adjacent to 29 has an axial fluid transfer connection to 5 at the inlet to 5), and a fourth channel having a radial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller at an outer perimeter of the second radial impeller (at outer perimeter of 5, fourth channel – i.e. the outlet from 5 – has a radial fluid transfer connection with 5),
- a connection channel configured to form a fluid transfer connection between the second channel and the third channel (remainder of 17 not including portion discussed above for third channel),
- a shaft (6) on which the first and second radial impellers are attached, and
- a bearing assembly axially between the first and second radial impellers and configured to support the shaft (left-side bearing assembly 29 at 4),
wherein a back surface of the first radial impeller faces towards the bearing assembly (back surface of 4 faces 29) and a back surface of the second radial impeller faces away from the bearing assembly (back surface of 5 faces away from 29), and the third channel has an annular portion constituting the axial fluid transfer connection with the second radial impeller (third channel discussed above has an annular portion which constitutes the axial fluid transfer connection with 5 at the inlet to 5), and a frame portion surrounding and mechanically supporting the bearing assembly (frame portion 12/13) constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion of the third channel (downstream portion of frame portion 12/13 constitutes an inner wall of the annular portion discussed above), and an inner diameter of the annular portion of the third channel that surrounds the bearing assembly is an inner diameter of a vane area of the second radial impeller (inner diameter of annular portion of the third channel that surrounds 29 is an inner diameter of a vane area of 5 at the downstream-most end of 12/13).
Yamashita teaches the apparatus is connected to an internal combustion engine (para. [0001]).
Yamashita fails to expressly teach the apparatus is a gas turbine system comprising a combustion chamber configured to receive fuel and the compressed air, to burn the fuel, and to supply combustion gases to the turbine stage.
Ethier teaches a gas turbine system which uses an automobile turbocharger as the core turbomachine in combination with a gas turbine engine combustor (para. [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita’s apparatus to be connected to a gas turbine engine combustor, as taught by Ethier, in order to provide a modular gas turbine engine using a common placement of subsystems that are connected together by pipes at standard interfaces (Ethier; para. [0130]). The proposed modification of Yamashita with Ethier results in the combustion chamber being configured to receive fuel and the compressed air, to burn the fuel, and to supply combustion gases to the turbine stage.
Regarding Dependent Claim 12, Yamashita in view of Ethier teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 10, and Yamashita further teaches the compressor stage of the electrical turbomachine comprises an intercooler (intercooler 31 with water jacket 32; para. [0052]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Ethier, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Donnelly 20140306460.
Regarding Dependent Claim 11, Yamashita in view of Ethier teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 10, but Yamashita in view of Ethier fails to expressly teach the gas turbine system comprises a recuperator configured to receive the combustion gases from the turbine stage, to receive the compressed air from the compressor stage, to transfer heat from the combustion gases to the compressed air, and to supply the heated compressed air to the combustion chamber.
Donnelly teaches a direct drive generator for a gas turbine engine (see Title) with a recuperator (see Table at para. [0069] which lists a recuperator 58 in an inventive embodiment, also see paras. [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita in view of Ethier’s apparatus to include a recuperator configured to receive the combustion gases from the turbine stage, to receive the compressed air from the compressor stage, to transfer heat from the combustion gases to the compressed air, and to supply the heated compressed air to the combustion chamber, as taught by Donnelly, in order to increase process efficiency (Donnelly; para. [0039]).
Conclusion
/SCOTT J WALTHOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741