DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Remarks
Regarding the amendment filed 9/28/2026:
The amendments to claims 2 and 14 are acknowledged and accepted.
The addition of new claim 18 is acknowledged and accepted.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the first adhesive layer provided on the second portion and the second adhesive provided on the first portion are attached to a same plane of the adherend in a vicinity of an end portion of the first portion”. Suggested language is “when folded at the base point portion, the first adhesive layer provided on the second portion and the second adhesive provided on the first portion are attached to a same plane of the adherend in a vicinity of an end portion of the first portion”.
Claim 18 recites “the heat-resistant substrate is folded at the base point portion, the first portion is bonded to an adherend by the second adhesive layer, and the tip of the second portion is bonded to a tip of the first portion by the first adhesive layer”. Suggested language is “the heat-resistant substrate is folded at the base point portion, and when folded at the base point portion, the first portion is bonded to an adherend by the second adhesive layer, and the tip of the second portion is bonded to a tip of the first portion by the first adhesive layer”.
Claim 18 contains an acronym, however, does not provide the full name. If the applicant is to claim the acronym, the full name should be referenced at least once within the claims in parentheses (e.g. integrated circuit (IC))
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (DE 10136502) in view of Fujiki et al. (US 2004/0262404).
With respect to claim 18, Bohn discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) label comprising:
a substrate that is formed in a band shape, has a first portion (7) and a second portion (3, 4, 5) divided by a base point portion (11) intersecting a longitudinal direction and extending in a width direction ([0035], Figs. 1-5);
an antenna and an integrated circuit (IC) chip connected to the antenna, the antenna and the IC chip provided in the second portion ([0005], [0034]);
a first adhesive layer (adhesive 6 of section 5) provided on a tip of the second portion ([0035], Fig. 2); and
a second adhesive layer (adhesive 6 of section 7) provided on the first portion ([0035], [0036]), wherein:
wherein a length of the second portion (3, 4, 5) in the longitudinal direction is formed to be larger than a length of the first portion (7) in the longitudinal direction (Fig. 2),
the first adhesive layer is disposed on a first surface of the substrate and the second adhesive layer is disposed on a second surface of the substrate which is opposite to the first surface (adhesive 6 of section 5 is disposed on a first surface of the substrate (surface of the substrate of section portion 5) on an end portion side of the second portion (5) opposite to the base point portion (11), and the adhesive layer 6 of section 7 is disposed on at least a part of the a second surface (surface of the substrate of section 7) opposite, with respect to the base point portion 11, to the first surface (the surface of the substrate of section 5) (Figs. 1 and 2),
the substrate is folded at the base point portion (Figs. 1, 4 and 5)
the first portion is bonded to an adherend (13) by the second adhesive layer (adhesive 6 of section 7) ([0036]), and
when folded at the base point portion, the tip of the second portion is bonded to a tip of the first portion by the first adhesive layer (adhesive 6 of section 5) ([0035], Figs. 1, 4 and 5).
Bohn fails to expressly disclose the substrate being a heat-resistant substrate that has heat resistance.
Bohn teaches the substrate being made of plastic and label is used for luggage tags ([0006], [0035]). It is well known in the art for RFID luggage tags to have substrate material made of polypropylene or polyethylene terephthalate, as taught by Fujiki et al. ([0039]). Fujiki et al. additionally teaches it is well known in the art for an adhesive to for the luggage tag to be made an acrylic adhesive ([0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate to be made of polypropylene or polyethylene terephthalate in order to provide a substrate that has a large tearing strength. Since the applicant has listed these same materials as being heat-resistant in para. [0039] of the applicant’s specification, the modified substrate of Bohn would necessarily have a same property of being heat-resistant. See MPEP 2112.01(II) – if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Claims 1-12 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the claim objection set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 1, prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, either singly or in combination, the first adhesive layer provided on the second portion and the second adhesive layer provided on the first portion are attached to a same plane of the adherend in a vicinity of an end portion of the first portion, in addition to the other limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 14, prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, either singly or in combination, attaching the first adhesive layer provided on the second portion and the second adhesive layer provided on the first portion to a same plane of the adherend in a vicinity of an end portion of the first portion, in addition to the other limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 15, prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, either singly or in combination, a third adhesive layer disposed on the first surface of the heat-resistant substrate from the base point portion toward an inner side of the second portion, in addition to the other limitations of the claim.
Claims not specifically addressed are/would be allowable due to their dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18 have been considered but is moot because the new ground of rejection in view of the newly presented claim.
Telephone/Fax Information
/SUEZU ELLIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876