DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species A fig.1-16 and species B fig.17-24. The species are independent or distinct because mutually exclusive structure. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: There is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct species due to their mutually exclusive characteristics. The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Kenneth Ohriner on 03/13/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of fig.1-16, claims 1-16 and 19-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to Examiner what Applicant is referring to as “an elastic support layer” and “a plurality of elastic modules”. Is the claimed “an elastic support layer” and “a plurality of elastic modules” of claim 9 different from the claimed “an elastic support layer” and “a plurality of elastic modules” of claim 1. Claims will be examined under the assumption that the claimed limitation “an elastic support layer” and “a plurality of elastic modules” of claims 1 & 9 refer to the same structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3,145,020 hereinafter referred to as Calla. Calla discloses:
As per claim 1 a supporting base pad 12 fig.5 configured for assembling into an elastic pad 11 fig.4, wherein the supporting base pad comprises an elastic pad body 12 having an upper surface 33 fig.5 and a lower surface 28 fig.5 that are oppositely disposed in a thickness direction thereof, wherein the upper surface is configured to abut against an elastic support layer 13 fig.5 formed by splicing a plurality of elastic modules 39 fig.5 of the elastic pad, wherein the upper surface is formed with a first engagement structure 34, 35 fig.5, configured to engage with a second engagement structure (see fig.5 the coil which engages surfaces 34, 35) formed on the lower surface of the elastic support layer in order to restrain a movement of the elastic support layer in a transverse direction of the pad body.
As per claim 2 wherein four corners of the upper surface are provided with the first engagement structure respectively (see fig.3 discloses the spring retaining members are evenly distributed as reflected in the partial view in fig.6).
As per claim 3 wherein at a middle portion of the pad body in a width direction, a plurality of the first engagement structures are arranged spaced apart from one another along a lengthwise direction of the pad body (see fig. 3 discloses the spring retaining members are evenly distributed as reflected in the partial view in fig.5 & 6).
As per claim 4 wherein the first engagement structure is a protrusion 35 configured to engage in a corresponding internal cavity of the elastic module (see fig.3 & 5).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3,623,171 hereinafter referred to as Arkin. Arkin discloses:
As per claim 1 a supporting base pad 18, 42 fig.2 configured for assembling into an elastic pad 16, 30, 40, 44 fig.2, wherein the supporting base pad comprises an elastic pad body 18, 42 fig.2 having an upper surface (see fig.2) and a lower surface (see fig.6) that are oppositely disposed in a thickness direction thereof, wherein the upper surface is configured to abut against an elastic support layer 22 fig.3, 24 fig.5 formed by splicing a plurality of elastic modules 22 of the elastic pad, wherein the upper surface is formed with a first engagement structure 18b, 20, fig.2, configured to engage with a second engagement structure (see fig.3 the coil which engages surfaces 20B & 20C) formed on the lower surface of the elastic support layer in order to restrain a movement of the elastic support layer in a transverse direction of the pad body.
As per claim 2 wherein four corners of the upper surface are provided with the first engagement structure respectively (see fig.2 & 4, fig.4 discloses the spring retaining members are evenly distributed as reflected in the partial view in fig.2).
As per claim 3 wherein at a middle portion of the pad body in a width direction, a plurality of the first engagement structures are arranged spaced apart from one another along a lengthwise direction of the pad body (see fig.2 & 4, fig.4 discloses the spring retaining members are evenly distributed as reflected in the partial view in fig.2).
As per claim 9 an elastic support layer 22, 24 comprising a plurality of elastic modules 22, wherein the elastic support layer is placed on the upper surface of the supporting base pad such that a second engagement structure (see fig.3) formed on a lower surface of the elastic support layer can be engaged with the first engagement structure 20 fig.2 & 3 formed on the upper surface, thereby restraining a movement of the elastic support layer in the transverse direction of the pad body; a pad layer 30, 44 fig.2 laid on the elastic support layer; wherein the pad layer and the supporting base pad (1) are connected together by an edge fastening structure 28, 46 fig.2.
As per claim 14 wherein the elastic pad further comprises a balance pad 16, 40 that is laid on the plurality of elastic modules and engages an upper portion of the plurality of elastic modules to restrain movement of the elastic modules in a transverse direction of the balance pad, and the pad layer is laid on the balance pad (see fig.2).
As per claim 19 wherein the elastic pad serves as an elastic mattress.
As per claim 20 A furniture comprising the elastic pad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkin in view of Calla.
Re-Claim 4
Arkin disclose the claimed apparatus however does not disclose wherein the first engagement structure is a protrusion configured to engage in a corresponding internal cavity of the elastic module.
Calla teaches wherein the first engagement structure is a protrusion 35 configured to engage in a corresponding internal cavity of the elastic module (see fig.3 & 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Arkin and the elastic pad of Calla having a protrusion and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an elastic pad having a first engagement structure being a protrusion for engaging the elastic module. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of positioning the elastic module on the upper surface of the elastic pad as taught in Calla [column 2 lines 34-40].
Re-Claim 5
Arkin as modified by Calla above discloses,
wherein the protrusion is integrally formed with the pad body (see fig.5 Calla) and the supporting base pad further comprises a wrapping layer 30, 44 fig.2 Arkin configured to at least wrap the upper surface and side surface of the pad body and the protrusion.
Claim(s) 5, 7-11, 14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calla in view of US Patent 4,868,941 hereinafter referred to as Tai.
Re-Claim 5
Calla disclose the claimed apparatus and wherein the protrusion is integrally formed with the pad body however does not discloses the supporting base pad further comprises a wrapping layer (15) configured to at least wrap the upper surface and side surface of the pad body and the protrusion.
Tai teaches a wrapping layer 2 fig.1 configured to at least wrap the upper surface and side surface of the pad body and the protrusion 21 fig.7.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Calla and the wrapping layer of Tai and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at an elastic pad wrapped by a wrapping layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing elements of the elastic pad together as taught in Tai [column 2 lines 25-34].
Re-Claim 7
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a base pad connection structure 24 fig.3 Tai disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof and configured to connect with a pad layer 1 fig.3 Tai of the elastic pad by an edge fastening structure 4, 14 fig.3 Tai, thereby forming the elastic pad with fully opened sides.
Re-Claim 8
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the base pad connection structure is configured to have connecting snaps that are configured to releasably engage with fastening bands of the edge fastening structure; and/or have hooks 24 Tai that are configured to releasably hook fastening cords 4 Tai of the edge fastening structure.
Re-Claim 9
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
an elastic support layer 13 Calla comprising a plurality of elastic modules 39 Calla, wherein the elastic support layer is placed on the upper surface of the supporting base pad such that a second engagement structure (see fig.3 & 5) formed on a lower surface of the elastic support layer can be engaged with the first engagement structure 35 Calla formed on the upper surface, thereby restraining a movement of the elastic support layer in the transverse direction of the pad body; a pad layer 1 fig.5 Tai laid on the elastic support layer; wherein the pad layer and the supporting base pad are connected together by an edge fastening structure 4, 14 Tai.
Re-Claim 10
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the elastic pad is formed into an elastic pad with fully opened sides by means of the edge fastening structure (see fig.3 Tai).
Re-Claim 11
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the edge fastening structure comprises a plurality of releasably connectable fastening cords or fastening bands 4 Tai.
Re-Claim 14
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the elastic pad further comprises a balance pad 11 fig.4 Calla that is laid on the plurality of elastic modules and engages an upper portion of the plurality of elastic modules to restrain movement of the elastic modules in a transverse direction of the balance pad, and the pad layer is laid on the balance pad (see fig.6).
Re-Claim 19
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the elastic pad serves as an elastic mattress (see fig.1 Calla and abstract of Tai).
Re-Claim 20
Calla as modified by Tai above discloses,
a furniture comprising the elastic pad (see fig.1 Calla and abstract of Tai).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkin in view of Tai.
Re-Claim 5
Calla disclose the claimed apparatus and wherein the protrusion is integrally formed with the pad body however does not discloses the supporting base pad further comprises a wrapping layer (15) configured to at least wrap the upper surface and side surface of the pad body and the protrusion.
Tai teaches a wrapping layer 2 fig.1 configured to at least wrap the upper surface and side surface of the pad body and the protrusion 21 fig.7.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Calla and the wrapping layer of Tai and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad wrapped by a wrapping layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing elements of the elastic pad together as taught in Tai [column 2 lines 25-34].
Re-Claim 7
Arkin disclose the claimed apparatus however does not discloses wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a base pad connection structure disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof and configured to connect with a pad layer of the elastic pad by an edge fastening structure, thereby forming the elastic pad with fully opened sides.
Tai teaches Tai teaches a supporting base pad further comprises a base pad connection structure 24 fig.3 disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof and configured to connect with a pad layer 1 fig.3 of the elastic pad by an edge fastening structure 4, 14 fig.3, thereby forming the elastic pad with fully opened sides.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the covering of the elastic pad of Arkin and the covering of Tai having connection structures and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having a covering with connection structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of securing elements of the elastic pad together as taught in Tai [column 2 lines 25-34].
Re-Claim 8
Arkin as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the base pad connection structure is configured to have connecting snaps that are configured to releasably engage with fastening bands of the edge fastening structure; and/or have hooks 24 Tai that are configured to releasably hook fastening cords 4 Tai of the edge fastening structure.
Re-Claim 10
Arkin as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the elastic pad is formed into an elastic pad with fully opened sides by means of the edge fastening structure (see fig.3 Tai).
Re-Claim 11
Arkin as modified by Tai above discloses,
wherein the edge fastening structure comprises a plurality of releasably connectable fastening cords or fastening bands 4 Tai.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calla in view of US Patent Publication US2021/0120957A1 hereinafter referred to as Amiri.
Re-Claim 6
Calla disclose the claimed apparatus however does not discloses wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a handle disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof.
Amiri teaches a supporting base pad 4 fig.22 wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a handle (see claim 20 and fig.17 & 22) disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Calla and the base pad having a handle of Amiri and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having a base pad with a handle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of aiding in carrying the base pad as taught in Amiri [claim 20 & fig.17].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkin in view of Amiri.
Re-Claim 6
Arkin disclose the claimed apparatus however does not discloses wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a handle disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof.
Amiri teaches a supporting base pad 4 fig.22 wherein the supporting base pad further comprises a handle (see claim 20 and fig.17 & 22) disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Arkin and the base pad having a handle of Amiri and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having a base pad with a handle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of aiding in carrying the base pad as taught in Amiri [claim 20 & fig.17].
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calla in view of Tai further in view of US Patent Publication US2018/0199728A1 hereinafter referred to as Leng.
Re-Claim 12
Calla as modified by Tai disclose the claimed apparatus however does not discloses wherein the elastic pad comprises a plurality of elastic module units each including a fixed base plate (25) and a plurality of elastic modules (6) disposed on the fixed base plate (25), wherein the plurality of fixed base plates (25) are configured to be detachably spliced together in the transverse direction of the elastic pad so that the plurality of elastic module units (24) are assembled into the elastic support layer (7).
Leng teaches an elastic pad (see fig.20a) comprises a plurality of elastic module units (fig.20c) each including a fixed base plate 100 fig.20b and a plurality of elastic modules 5 fig.20a, 21a disposed on the fixed base plate, wherein the plurality of fixed base plates are configured to be detachably spliced together in the transverse direction of the elastic pad so that the plurality of elastic module units are assembled into the elastic support layer (see fig.20b & 20c).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Calla as modified by Tai and the elastic pad comprising module units of Leng and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having elastic module units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of allowing the modules to the detachably connected to one another for cleaning or replacement as taught in Leng [0168, 0197].
Re-Claim 13
Calla as modified by Tai and Leng above discloses,
wherein when the first engagement structure is a protrusion 35 Calla, the fixed base plate if formed with a position-limiting opening (see fig. 4B & 19 Leng) correspondingly communicated with an inner cavity of each of the elastic modules (see fig.5 & 6 Calla), wherein the protrusion can protrude through the positioning limiting opening and engage into the inner cavity of the elastic module (this would be the resulting function of the claimed combination).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkin in view of Leng.
Re-Claim 12
Arkin disclose the claimed apparatus however does not discloses wherein the elastic pad comprises a plurality of elastic module units each including a fixed base plate and a plurality of elastic modules disposed on the fixed base plate, wherein the plurality of fixed base plates are configured to be detachably spliced together in the transverse direction of the elastic pad so that the plurality of elastic module units are assembled into the elastic support layer.
Leng teaches an elastic pad (see fig.20a) comprises a plurality of elastic module units (fig.20c) each including a fixed base plate 100 fig.20b and a plurality of elastic modules 5 fig.20a, 21a disposed on the fixed base plate, wherein the plurality of fixed base plates are configured to be detachably spliced together in the transverse direction of the elastic pad so that the plurality of elastic module units are assembled into the elastic support layer (see fig.20b & 20c).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Arkin and the elastic pad comprising module units of Leng and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having elastic module units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of allowing the modules to the detachably connected to one another for cleaning or replacement as taught in Leng [0168, 0197].
Claim(s) 15 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calla in view of Tai further in view of US Patent 3,851,347 hereinafter referred to as Ashley.
Re-Claim 15
Calla as modified by Tai disclose the claimed apparatus wherein the balance pad comprises a pad main body 11 Calla, wherein a lower surface 21 fig.4 Calla of the pad main body facing the elastic support layer is formed with a plurality of receiving holes 22 fig.4 Calla arranged at an interval, and a portion of each of the plurality of elastic modules is received (see fig.6 Calla) and positioned in a corresponding one of the plurality of receiving holes such that the balance pad is retained on the plurality of elastic modules.
However does not discloses an upper surface of the pad main body facing away from the elastic support layer is formed with a plurality of buffering holes arranged at an interval, which are configured to form a buffering layer portion on an upper portion of the pad main body; wherein in a thickness direction of the balance pad, each of the buffering holes and a corresponding one of the receiving hole are separated by a partition portion of the pad main body.
Ashley teaches a balance pad 10 fig.1 comprises a pad main body 10, wherein a lower surface 14 fig.3 of the pad main body is formed with a plurality of receiving holes 18 fig.3 arranged at an interval, an upper surface 12 fig.3 of the pad main body facing away from the lower surface is formed with a plurality of buffering holes 16 fig.3 arranged at an interval, which are configured to form a buffering layer portion on an upper portion of the pad main body; wherein in a thickness direction of the balance pad, each of the buffering holes and a corresponding one of the receiving hole are separated by a partition portion (fig.3) of the pad main body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Calla as modified by Tai and balance pad having upper buffering holes of Ashley and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having a balance pad with receiving holes for accommodating the elastic modules and buffering holes for improving the comfort of the occupant(s). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of reducing pressure to the body and reducing the buildup of body heat resulting in improved comfort and sleep as taught in Ashley [column 2 lines 37-54].
Re-Claim 16
Calla as modified by Tai and Ashley above discloses,
wherein each of the receiving holes and a corresponding one of the buffering holes (see fig. 3 Ashley) are arranged coaxially.
Claim(s) 15 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkin in view of Ashley.
Re-Claim 15
Arkin disclose the claimed apparatus wherein the balance pad comprises a pad main body 16, 40 wherein a lower surface (see fig.2) of the pad main body facing the elastic support layer is formed with a plurality of receiving holes 16a fig.2 arranged at an interval, and a portion of each of the plurality of elastic modules is received (see fig.2) and positioned in a corresponding one of the plurality of receiving holes such that the balance pad is retained on the plurality of elastic modules.
However does not discloses an upper surface of the pad main body facing away from the elastic support layer is formed with a plurality of buffering holes arranged at an interval, which are configured to form a buffering layer portion on an upper portion of the pad main body; wherein in a thickness direction of the balance pad, each of the buffering holes and a corresponding one of the receiving hole are separated by a partition portion of the pad main body.
Ashley teaches a balance pad 10 fig.1 comprises a pad main body 10, wherein a lower surface 14 fig.3 of the pad main body is formed with a plurality of receiving holes 18 fig.3 arranged at an interval, an upper surface 12 fig.3 of the pad main body facing away from the lower surface is formed with a plurality of buffering holes 16 fig.3 arranged at an interval, which are configured to form a buffering layer portion on an upper portion of the pad main body; wherein in a thickness direction of the balance pad, each of the buffering holes and a corresponding one of the receiving hole are separated by a partition portion (fig.3) of the pad main body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined elastic pad of Arkin and balance pad having upper buffering holes of Ashley and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at elastic pad having a balance pad with receiving holes for accommodating the elastic modules and buffering holes for improving the comfort of the occupant(s). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of reducing pressure to the body and reducing the buildup of body heat resulting in improved comfort and sleep as taught in Ashley [column 2 lines 37-54].
Re-Claim 16
Arkin as modified by Ashley above discloses,
wherein each of the receiving holes and a corresponding one of the buffering holes (see fig. 3 Ashley) are arranged coaxially.
Conclusion
/IFEOLU A ADEBOYEJO/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679