DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 9 remain pending in the application. The previous objections to the title and abstract are withdrawn in light of the Applicant's amendment to the title and abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2015/0369248 to Noguchi in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2012/0007455 to Tanaka.
Referring to claim 1, Noguchi teaches a pump comprising:
a motor (3, 30); an impeller (2) configured to be rotated by the motor (3, 30) to cause fluid (water) to flow, wherein the motor (3, 30) comprises a rotor (3) configured to rotate about an axis (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0015] and [0016]); the rotor (3) comprises:
a magnet (9); and a magnet cover (13) which covers at least a part of the magnet (9) and has a hollow-rod shape extending along an extension direction of the axis (axis O in Fig. 2) (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0021]-[0027]), the magnet cover (13) comprises:
an outer peripheral surface along the extension direction; an end surface extending from one end of the outer peripheral surface in a direction intersecting the extension direction; and a plurality of insertion portions (15a) formed so as to open at the end surface, and the plurality of insertion portions (15a) are annularly arranged around the axis (Figures 1-5, Fig. 2 annotated below; paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0021]-[0027]), and
the magnet (9) is formed in a hollow-rod shape along the extension direction and is arranged concentrically with the magnet cover (13), and a center of each of the plurality of insertion portions (15a) is arranged outside a midpoint between an inner edge and an outer edge of the magnet (9) in a plan view viewed from the extension direction (they are not aligned therefore the insertion portion midpoint is outside the midpoint of the magnet; the Examiner also notes that the claim does not recite radially outside) (Figures 1-5, Fig. 2 annotated above; paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0021]-[0027]).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Second Portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End Surface)][AltContent: textbox (Outer Peripheral Surface)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotation of Noguchi Figure 2.
Noguchi does not teach a pin for the insertion portions. Tanaka discloses a pump wherein:
a plurality of insertion portions (20a) are configured in such a way that a pin (28a-c) serving as a weight (the pin has weight and therefore serves as weight) is allowed to be inserted into each of the plurality of insertion portions (20a), and (in the alternative) a center of each of the plurality of insertion portions (20a) is arranged outside a midpoint between an inner edge and an outer edge of a magnet (14) in a plan view viewed from the extension direction (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Noguchi with through holes for the insertion portions and pins therein as taught by Tanaka in order to allow for the insertion of rivets, wherein said rivets further secure the components of the rotor together (paragraph [0045]).
Referring to claim 2, Noguchi and Tanaka teach a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above and Noguchi further teaches a pump wherein:
the magnet cover (13) comprises a first portion and a second portion each of which has a hollow-rod shape along the extension direction, a thickness of the first portion in a direction orthogonal to the extension direction is thicker than a thickness of the second portion (the first portion is thicker than the second portion in all places), and the first portion includes the end surface (Figures 1-5, Fig. 2 annotated above, wherein the first and second portions are each shown within different styles of dotted lines; paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0021]-[0027]).
Referring to claim 3, Noguchi and Tanaka teach a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 2, as detailed above and Noguchi further teaches a pump wherein:
the thickness of the second portion in the direction orthogonal to the extension direction (orthogonal to O) is 50% or less of the thickness of the first portion (Figures 1-5, Fig. 2 annotated above, wherein the first and second portions are each shown within different styles of dotted lines; paragraphs [0015], [0016] and [0021]-[0027]).
Referring to claim 4, Noguchi and Tanaka teach a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 2, as detailed above, but does not teach a recess. Tanaka discloses a pump wherein:
a first portion (16a) comprises a recess (20b) formed between two adjacent insertion portions (20a) of a plurality of insertion portions (20a) (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Noguchi with the recesses taught by Tanaka in order to allow for the insertion of positioning pins (paragraph [0045]).
Referring to claim 6, Noguchi and Tanaka teach a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Noguchi does not teach the insertion portions being through holes. Tanaka discloses a pump wherein:
a plurality of insertion portions (20a) are through holes (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Noguchi with the through holes for insertion portions taught by Tanaka in order to allow for the insertion of rivets (paragraph [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 9 is allowable. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a pump comprising the limitations of claims 1, 2, 4 and 5, or claim 9, but more specifically wherein a distance between an outer edge of each of the two adjacent insertion portions in a circumferential direction and an outer edge of the recess is 300% or less of the thickness of the second portion in the direction orthogonal to the extension direction. The Examiner notes that the Applicant has explained the criticality of this recitation in paragraph [0089] of the specification as filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Yuza does not teach the claimed hole and pin. Remarks 2. However, Yuza is not relied up in either the current rejection above or the prior rejection. As detailed above, Noguchi and Tanaka teach a pump comprising all the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746