DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 22 and 34 are objected to because “the contactless sensing device” should recite “the at least one contactless sensing device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (i.e., “device”, “mechanism”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“contactless sensing device configured to …” in claims 1, 28, and all claims depending therefrom.
“adjustable positioning mechanism configured to …” in claims 2, 30, and all claims depending therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 3, 6 - 8, 16, 19 - 20, 22 - 23, 28 - 31, 33 - 36, 39, and 42 - 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “contactless sensing device configured to …” in claims 1 and 28 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is unclear whether the ‘contactless sensing device’ is intended to refer to a sensor/radar, a processor that analyzes the output from the sensor/radar, or both. At least claims 1 and 22 require that the ‘contactless sensing device’ comprises circuitry of some sort because these claims recite limitations directed to detecting vital signs, and determining a movement index, respectively. However, at least claims 2, 3, 6, and 23 and fig. 25 suggest that the term refers to a sensor/radar, but not to a processor. It is noted that claim 23 specifically recites a processor that appears to be distinct from the ‘contactless sensing device’. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1 - 3, 6 - 8, 16, 19 - 20, 22 - 23, 28 - 31, 33 - 36, 39, and 42 - 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claims 1 and 28 read on a human because they recite an active state of “a patient position within the patient support apparatus”.
Claim 22 reads on a human because it recites an active state of “the patient supported by the patient platform”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3, 6 - 7, 16, 19 - 20, 22, 28 - 31, 33 - 35, 39, and 42 - 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fitzgibbons et al. (US 2021/0251519).
Regarding claims 1 and 28, Fitzgibbons shows a system for monitoring at least one vital sign of a patient, the system comprising:
a patient support apparatus (patient support system 100, [0182] and fig. 1) comprising:
a patient platform comprising: a plurality of body panels (fig. 1) including a backrest (mattress support deck 38, [0192] and fig. 1) for supporting at least a patient's torso (fig. 1);
a frame, the patient platform being mounted to the frame (frame 116, [0190] and fig. 1); and
at least one contactless sensing device (radar sensor 106, 108, 110, [0183] - [0184] and fig. 1, in combination with bed circuitry 112, [0201] and fig. 3) configured to be positioned in proximity to the patient support apparatus to detect at least one vital sign (patient's heartrate, breathing patterns, position, [0182]) within a respective predetermined field of detection, the at least one contactless sensing device being configured to:
transmit electromagnetic signals towards a portion of the body of the patient ([0183] - [0184] and fig. 1);
receive reflected electromagnetic signals ([0183] - [0184]); and
detect, based on the transmitted and received reflected electromagnetic signals, at least one vital sign of the patient within the predetermined field of detection, irrespective of: the patient's anthropomorphic measurements, a patient position within the patient support apparatus, a configuration of the patient support apparatus, and a location of the patient support apparatus (patient's heartrate, breathing patterns, position, [0182]).
Regarding claims 2 - 3, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is mounted to a respective adjustable positioning mechanism configured to adjust the at least one contactless sensing device to include the patient within the field of detection by positioning the at least one contactless sensing device along at least one translation axis (radar sensors 106, 108, 110 are movable along respective arms, [0194]).
Regarding claim 6, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is mounted to an underside of the backrest of the patient support apparatus (see indirect mounting of radar sensors 106, 108, 110 to underside of mattress support deck 38 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is a single contactless sensing device comprising a sensor oriented at a respective angle towards a head end of the patient support apparatus (see radar sensors 106, 108, 110 in fig. 1), the respective angle being based on a field of view of the sensor to enlarge the field of detection (implicit).
Regarding claims 16 and 39, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is configured to use radiofrequency (RF) ranges comprising millimeter waves (millimeter waves, [0184]).
Regarding claims 19 - 20 and 42 - 43, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one vital sign of the patient comprises at least one of: a heart rate and a respiratory rate and the at least one contactless sensing device is configured to detect movements of the patient based on the transmitted and received reflected electromagnetic signals (patient's heartrate, breathing patterns, position, [0182]; [0206]).
Regarding claim 22, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the contactless sensing device is configured to determine a movement index indicative of a level of motion of the patient supported by the patient platform (“alarm may be triggered if chest expansion …”, [0206]. The variable characterizing the movement is the “movement index”).
Regarding claims 29 - 31, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the contactless sensing device is configured to coupled to the patient support apparatus by being mounted on a respective component of the patient support apparatus (see radar sensor 106, 108, 110 mounted to a component in fig 1), wherein the at least one contactless sensing device is mounted to a respective adjustable positioning mechanism configured to adjust the at least one contactless sensing device to include a portion of a body of the patient within the field of detection, the respective adjustable positioning mechanism being coupled to the respective component of the patient support apparatus and configured to position the at least one contactless sensing device along at least one
translation axis (radar sensors 106, 108, 110 are movable along respective arms, [0194]).
Regarding claim 33, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is coupled to an underside of the backrest (see indirect coupling of radar sensors 106, 108, 110 to mattress support deck 38 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is positioned and oriented towards the patient's lower back (see orientation of radar sensors 106, 108, 110 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 35, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Fitzgibbons further shows the at least one contactless sensing device is a single contactless sensing device comprising a sensor oriented at a respective angle towards a head end of the patient support apparatus (see radar sensors 106, 108, 110 in fig. 1), the respective angle being based on a field of view of the sensor to enlarge the field of detection (implicit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons in view of Soreefan et al. (US 2020/0155040, of record)
Regarding claims 8 and 36, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Fitzgibbons fails to show the respective angle corresponds to 90 degrees minus the field of view of the sensor in degrees.
Soreefan discloses monitoring subject positioning, movement, and vital signs. Soreefan teaches an orientation angle that includes a plurality of respective angles, including a respective angle that corresponds to 90 degrees minus the field of view of the sensor in degrees (“monitoring device 110 … movable with respect to the ceiling 120… articulating arm that extends or retracts … movable along one or more tracks mounted … rotatably mounted … ball and socket configuration”, [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Fitzgibbons to have the orientation angle include a plurality of respective angles, including a respective angle that corresponds to 90 degrees minus the field of view of the sensor in degrees the respective angle corresponds to 90 degrees minus the field of view of the sensor in degrees, as taught by Soreefan, in order to adjust the orientation angle as desired. The choice of how to position a sensing device relative to a patient is a routine matter to those of ordinary skill in the art that is conventionally used to optimize sensing signals.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons in view of Receveur et al. (EP 3839973, of record)
Regarding claim 23, Fitzgibbons discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Fitzgibbons fails to show receiving a set of movement indexes for a given period of time; classifying, using a trained machine learning model, each respective movement index of the set of movement indexes during the given period of time as being one of: a respective minor movement and a respective major movement; and determining, based on a number of respective minor movements and a number of respective major movements, a mobility level of the patient during the period of time.
Receveur discloses automated mobility assessment. Receveur teaches receiving a set of movement indexes for a given period of time; classifying, using a trained machine learning model, each respective movement index of the set of movement indexes during the given period of time as being one of: a respective minor movement and a respective major movement; and determining, based on a number of respective minor movements and a number of respective major movements, a mobility level of the patient during the period of time (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Fitzgibbons to include receiving a set of movement indexes for a given period of time; classifying, using a trained machine learning model, each respective movement index of the set of movement indexes during the given period of time as being one of: a respective minor movement and a respective major movement; and determining, based on a number of respective minor movements and a number of respective major movements, a mobility level of the patient during the period of time, as taught by Receveur, in order to determine fall risk, as suggested by Receveur (abstract).
Conclusion
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798