DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not found on a separate page. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites both “body side rocker” (for example in paragraph 18), as well as “body-side rocker” (for example in paragraphs 13 and 15). Please be consistent with terminology.
Paragraph 12 describes the sectional plane 5-5, and states it is shown in fig. 3, but this sectional plane is actually found in fig. 4. Paragraph 12 also describes the sectional plane from fig. 8 as being 8-8, when it is really 6-6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the issues pointed out in the annotated figs. 8-9 below. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following non-limiting informalities:
The term “pivot-type” and “pivot type” appear consistently throughout the claims. Please be consistent in how this is spelled. This term is also ambiguous as to whether a pivot is actually required, and is interpreted throughout the claims as simply requiring the door motion assemblies to allow “pivoting”.
Claims 2-10, and 12-20 are each dependent claims. Each claim, when reciting dependency, capitalize the word “Claim”. These should each be amended to recite “claim” in a lowercase form.
Claim 2 recites “said front door pivot-type door motion assembly”, and “said rear door pivot-type door motion assembly”. Even though claim 1 introduces “at least one” of the front or the rear pivot-type door motion assemblies, it is clear from the disclosure that there are not multiple front and multiple rear pivot-type door motion assemblies required in claim 1.
Claims 3-4 and 9 recite “said body” on line 1, which is clearly referring to the body of the casting housing and not the vehicle body.
Claim 3 recites “a side wall extending between adjacent said first and second end walls” on line 3. This should recite “a side wall extending adjacent between said first and second end walls”, as the location of the word “adjacent” seems to be a typo.
Claim 3 recites “in generally perpendicular relationship” in line 4, which should recite “in a generally perpendicular relationship”.
Claims 7 and 17 recite “in spaced relationship” on both lines 2 and 3. These should each recite “in a spaced relationship”.
Claims 10 and 20 recite “in abutting”, “and sealed relationship”, and “in the closed position”. These should respectively recite “in an abutting”, “and a sealed relationship”, and “in a closed position” for proper antecedence. They also recite “the front and/or rear door”, which lack antecedent basis in the claims. They should recite “a front and/or a rear door”.
Claim 12 recites “said front door pivot-type door motion assembly”, and “said rear door pivot-type door motion assembly”. Even though claim 11 introduces “at least one” of the front or the rear pivot-type door motion assemblies, it is clear from the disclosure that there are not multiple front and multiple rear pivot-type door motion assemblies required in claim 11.
Claim 13 recites “a side wall extending from adjacent said first and second end walls” on line 3. This should recite “a side wall extending adjacent from said first and second end walls”, as the location of the word “adjacent” seems to be a typo.
Claim 13 recites “in generally perpendicular relationship” in lines 4-5, which should recite “in a generally perpendicular relationship”.
Claim 13 recites “said side wall extending in abutting and overlaying relationship” on line 7, but should recite “said side wall extending in an abutting and an overlaying relationship” for proper antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required. Applicant is required to find and correct all similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An (US 2022/0032757).
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a casting housing (400, it is noted that this does not explicitly require the component itself to be cast, the housing is able to house a cast object, thus it is considered a casting housing) for attachment to a vehicle body (described in paragraph 59, element 400 is attached to element 100 or 300 of the vehicle body, it is noted that this is described in regards to the first embodiment, while the examiner is using the second embodiment as shown in fig. 9 in the rejection. The difference between the embodiments is the explicit “swing hinge” on element 200 that is found on the second embodiment; thus paragraph 59 is still considered relevant for the second embodiment) having an enlarged passenger opening (where the doors go, the doors plug the enlarged vehicle opening when fully assembled with the doors closed), the casting housing comprising:
a body (body of element 400) extending from a first housing end (left end from fig. 9) to a second housing end (right end from fig. 9) to define a compartment (space inside the channel of element 400 as shown in fig. 9, the compartment is interpreted as required structure) extending therebetween; and
at least one of (this is interpreted as only requiring one of a front and a rear door pivot-type door motion assembly, but it does not exclude there from being one of each) a front door pivot-type (see the claim objection above, this is not interpreted as requiring there to be a pivot, but rather requiring the door motion assemblies to allow “pivoting”, see paragraph 91 where the swing hinge is described) door motion assembly disposed within said compartment adjacent said first housing end (element 200 on the left in fig. 1, it is noted that although fig. 1 is in reference to the first embodiment, the only difference between the embodiments is the explicit “swing hinge” that is found on element 200; thus fig. 1 is still considered relevant for the second embodiment) or a rear door pivot-type (see paragraph 91 where the swing hinge is described) door motion assembly disposed within said compartment adjacent said second housing end (element 200 on the right in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, An teaches that both (this is interpreted as now requiring both a front and a rear door pivot-type door motion assembly) said front door pivot-type door motion assembly is disposed within said compartment adjacent said first housing end and said rear door pivot-type door motion assembly is disposed within said compartment adjacent said second housing end (both are found to be disposed with the compartment, see figs. 1 and 9).
Regarding claim 11, An teaches a vehicle body (part of the vehicle body is shown in fig. 1, see paragraph 11 where is also describes there being a vehicle body, it is noted that this is described in regards to the first embodiment, while the examiner is using the second embodiment as shown in fig. 9 in the rejection. The difference between the embodiments is the explicit “swing hinge” on element 200 that is found on the second embodiment; thus paragraph 11 and fig. 1 are still relevant for the second embodiment) having an enlarged passenger opening (where the doors go, the doors plug the enlarged vehicle opening when fully assembled with the doors closed), the vehicle body comprising: a lower body side rocker structure (element 100 is considered the lower body side rocker structure, as lower body side rocker structures are commonly defined as structure running along a bottom of a vehicle beneath doors, see paragraph 52, which is also considered relevant to the second embodiment) extending from a front wheel well opening to a rear wheel well opening (passenger vehicles are inherently found to contain a front and a rear wheel well opening, the side rocker extends from where the front opening would be to where the rear opening would be);
a casting housing (400, it is noted that this does not explicitly require the component itself to be cast, the housing is able to house a cast object, thus it is considered a casting housing) formed separately (element 400 is a separate component from element 100 and is thus considered formed separately, this is a product by process limitation where determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP 2113.) from said lower body side rocker structure (100) and extending from a first housing end (left end in fig. 9) to a second housing end (right end in fig. 9) to define a compartment (space inside the channel of element 400 as shown in fig. 9, the compartment is considered required structure);
at least one of (this is interpreted as only requiring one of a front and a rear door pivot-type door motion assembly, but it does not exclude there from being one of each) a front door pivot-type (see the claim objection above, this is not interpreted as requiring there to be a pivot, but rather requiring the door motion assemblies to allow “pivoting”, see paragraph 91 where the swing hinge is described) door motion assembly disposed within said compartment of said casting housing adjacent said first housing end (element 200 on the left in fig. 1) or a rear door pivot-type (see paragraph 91 where the swing hinge is described) door motion assembly disposed within said compartment of said casting housing adjacent said second housing end (element 200 on the right in fig. 1); and said casting housing (400) secured to the vehicle body along said lower body side rocker structure (fig. 2, paragraph 59, considered relevant to the second embodiment).
Regarding claim 12, An teaches that both (this is interpreted as now requiring both a front and a rear door pivot-type door motion assembly) said front door pivot-type door motion assembly is disposed within said compartment adjacent said first housing end and said rear door pivot-type door motion assembly is disposed within said compartment adjacent said second housing end (both are found to be disposed with the compartment, see figs. 1 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (US 2022/0032757) in view of Kunkel (US 2019/0077470).
Regarding claim 3, An teaches that said body includes, a side wall (see annotated fig. 9 below) extending between the first and second housing ends, and a bottom wall (see annotated fig. 9 below) extending between said first and second housing ends in a generally perpendicular relationship to said side wall (the bottom wall is considered to extend in a generally perpendicular relationship to the side wall, as can be shown in the annotated fig. below) to collectively define said compartment. An does not teach the body including a first end wall disposed adjacent said first housing end, nor a second end wall disposed adjacent said second housing end.
Kunkel teaches (fig. 8) a vehicle member with a body (element 40) that includes a first end wall disposed adjacent a first end (see annotated fig. 8 below), and a second end wall disposed adjacent a second end (see annotated fig. 8 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with teachings of Kunkel, so that the body includes a first end wall disposed adjacent said first housing end, and a second end wall disposed adjacent said second housing end. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of the end walls providing additional strength and rigidity to the body, allowing the device to handle additional forces without buckling or deforming.
After this modification, the side wall extends between said first and second end walls, and the bottom wall extends in a generally perpendicular relationship to the first and second end walls.
Regarding claim 4, modified An teaches that said body includes a first flange (see annotated fig. 9 above) extending between said first end wall and said side wall (this flange extends the width of the body, thus it can be said to extend between the first end wall and the side wall, since at least a part of the flange extends in an area that is between the first end wall and a part of the side wall) to define a first pocket (area found behind the first flange on the top of the body in fig. 400 can be said to be a ‘pocket’, since it is considered a small isolated area, see the definition from thefreedictionary.com below) of said compartment adjacent said first housing end (at least a part of this pocket can be found adjacent the first housing end) and a second flange (see annotated fig. 9 above) extending between said second end wall and said side wall (this flange extends the width of the body, thus it can be said to extend between the second end wall and the side wall, since at least a part of the flange extends in an area that is between the second end wall and a part of the side wall) to define a second pocket (area found behind the second flange on the bottom of the body in fig. 400) of said compartment adjacent said second housing end (at least a part of this pocket can be found adjacent the first housing end).
Regarding claim 13, An teaches that said casting housing includes a side wall (see annotated fig. 9) extending between the first and second housing ends, and a bottom wall (see annotated fig. 9) extending between said first and second housing ends in a generally perpendicular relationship to said side wall (the bottom wall is considered to extend in a generally perpendicular relationship to the side wall as can be seem in the annotated fig. above) to collectively define said compartment, and said side wall (see annotated fig. 9) extending in an abutting (fig. 2 shows the side wall in what is considered an abutting relationship with element 100, as the elements abut one another, this figure is relevant to the second embodiment) and an overlaying relationship (fig. 2 shows the side wall covering element 100 from at least the left side of the fig. This is considered an overlaying relationship between the components, because “overlay” can be defined as “something that is laid over or covers something else”, see thefreedictionary.com) with said lower body side rocker structure (element 100 is considered the lower body side rocker structure, as these elements are commonly defined as structure running along a bottom of a vehicle beneath doors, see paragraph 52 which is considered relevant to the second embodiment).
An does not teach the casting housing including a first end wall disposed adjacent said first housing end, nor a second end wall disposed adjacent said second housing end.
Kunkel teaches (fig. 8) a vehicle member with a body (element 40) that includes a first end wall disposed adjacent a first end (see annotated fig. 8 below), and a second end wall disposed adjacent a second end (see annotated fig. 8 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with teachings of Kunkel, so that the casting housing includes a first end wall disposed adjacent said first housing end, and a second end wall disposed adjacent said second housing end. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of the end walls providing additional strength and rigidity to the housing, allowing the device to handle additional forces without buckling or deforming.
After this modification, the side wall extends from adjacent said first and second end walls, and the bottom wall extends in a generally perpendicular relationship to the first and second end walls.
Regarding claim 14, modified An teaches that said casting housing includes a first flange (see annotated fig. 9 above) extending between said first end wall and said side wall (this flange extends the width of the body, thus it can be said to extend between the first end wall and the side wall, since at least a part of the flange extends in an area that is between the first end wall and a part of the side wall) to define a first pocket (area found behind the first flange on the top of the body in fig. 400 can be said to be a ‘pocket’, since it is considered a small isolated area, see the definition from thefreedictionary.com above) of said compartment adjacent said first housing end (at least a part of this pocket can be found adjacent the first housing end) and a second flange (see annotated fig. 9 above) extending between said second end wall and said side wall (this flange extends the width of the body, thus it can be said to extend between the second end wall and the side wall, since at least a part of the flange extends in an area that is between the second end wall and a part of the side wall) to define a second pocket (area found behind the second flange on the bottom of the body in fig. 400) of said compartment adjacent said second housing end (at least a part of this pocket can be found adjacent the first housing end).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although An is found to teach front and rear pivot actuators, none of the prior art is found to teach front or rear pivot actuators that are disposed within the required pockets defined by the required flanges. None of the prior art teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW R. SHEPHERD/Examiner, Art Unit 3634