DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyoshi, US 20170261722.
Claim 1: Miyoshi discloses a lens barrel comprising:
a moving unit (Fig. 1: optical unit 14) having a first protrusion (followers 14b. ¶ 31.);
a driving unit configured to move the moving unit straight in an optical axis direction (Linear actuator 14 moves the optical unit 14 in the optical axis direction. ¶¶ 31 and 35.);
a first barrel having a first cam groove, which engages with the first protrusion, and a second cam groove (Cam cylinder 21 is a first barrel having first and second cam grooves. ¶¶ 27-28 and Fig. 1. As depicted in Fig. 1, the first cam grooves engage with followers 14b); and
a first lens holding frame that has a second protrusion (Optical unit 11 is a lens holding frame and has followers 11b. ¶ 28 and Fig. 1), which engages with the second cam groove, and holds a first lens (The followers engage with cam cylinder 21. See id.),
wherein the first barrel rotates as the moving unit moves in the optical axis direction (¶ 35), and
wherein the rotation of the first barrel moves the first holding frame in the optical axis direction (Rotation of the cam cylinder 21 moves the holding frame 11 in the direction of the optical axis. ¶ 28.).
Claim 6: Miyoshi discloses that the first barrel further has a third cam groove, and wherein the lens barrel includes a second lens holding frame that has a fourth protrusion, which engages with the third cam groove, and holds a second lens, and wherein the second lens holding frame moves in the optical axis direction by rotation of the first barrel (Second optical unit 12 holds lens group 12a and has followers 12b that engage the third cam groove. ¶ 29.).
Claim 7: Miyoshi discloses a second barrel provided further outward than or further inward than the first barrel (Cylinder 22 is a second barrel that is further outward than the first barrel. ¶ 27 and Fig. 1.).
Claim 8: Miyoshi discloses a third lens holding frame that holds a third lens, wherein the third lens holding frame moves along the optical axis direction integrally with the moving unit (Fourth optical unit 14 corresponds to the claimed third lens holding frame. ¶ 31.).
Claim 10: Miyoshi discloses an imaging device comprising the lens barrel according to any one of claims 1 (Fig. 1 and ¶ 26.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyoshi in view of Takeda, JP 2001-264613.
Claim 2: Miyoshi does not disclose, but Takeda discloses: a moving unit that includes a third protrusion, and wherein the lens barrel includes a guide portion having a straight groove that engages with the third protrusion (Fig. 1 and ¶¶ 12-14).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyoshi with Takeda, the rationale being to provide improved dynamics when moving elements within the lens.
Claim 3: Miyoshi-Takeda discloses that the moving unit includes the third protrusion in plural (Takeda Fig. 1.).
Claim 4: Miyoshi-Takeda discloses that the third protrusion is rotatable about a center of the third protrusion (Takeda ¶ 17.).
Claim 5: Miyoshi fails to disclose, but Takeda would have suggested modifying Miyoshi to make the first protrusion rotatable about a center of the first protrusion (Takeda ¶ 17.). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyoshi with Takeda, the rationale being to provide a smoother zoom operation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyoshi
Claim 9: Miyoshi discloses that the drive unit includes a motor (¶ 34). Miyoshi does not disclose that the motor has an output shaft, and a lead screw, wherein the output shaft and the lead screw are connected by a coupling unit, and wherein the coupling unit has an alignment mechanism that adjusts a position of a shaft center of the output shaft and a position of a shaft center of the lead screw. Official notice is taken that this type of mechanism was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, it was well known to use a motor and lead screw to effect OA-axis translation of lens units, and to use an alignment mechanism such as a bolt (see Spec. ¶ 41) to adjust the relative positions between a motor drive shaft and a lead screw. Therefore it would have been obvious to the POSITA to modify Miyoshi to include this, the rationale being to provide quiet and efficient lens movement, and to ensure proper alignment between the motor and the screw.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J HANCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992