DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 3/6/2025 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected because the term “adaptor” is not consistent with the term “adapter” cited throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation “the adapter engagement formations”, “the same formations” and “the first and second configurations”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 27-28, 30-31, 34, 40 and 43-44 of this instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12 and 19 of U.S. Patent No.12,503,279. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application Claims
US Patent No. 12,503,279
27. A drinks container comprising: a container body having a side wall terminating in a rim and defining an interior, the container body comprising a stop formation on the side wall, and an adapter rotatably mounted on the container body, wherein the adapter is interchangeable between a first upright configuration where the drinks container forms a primary drinking outlet spaced from the rim, and a second inverted configuration where the drinks container provides a secondary drinking outlet adjacent to the rim, wherein the adapter is rotated up to a predetermined rotational position relative to the container body in the second inverted configuration in which it abuts the stop formation on the side wall, and the container body and the adapter are configured to form a first liquid flow channel therebetween in said predetermined rotational position connecting the interior of the container body to the secondary outlet.
28. the adapter has a single stationary position in the second inverted configuration in which the secondary outlet is continuously open thereby enabling a user to drink from the rim at any time.
1. A drinks container comprising: a container body having a base and a side wall terminating in a rim and defining an open top; and an adapter mounted on the container body and extending across the top, which is interchangeable between a first upright configuration where it forms a substantially central primary outlet which can be opened by a user to drink from the primary outlet, and a second inverted configuration in which the adapter forms a secondary outlet adjacent to the side wall of the container body through which liquid can flow to the rim of the container body from where it can be drunk, wherein the adapter is interchanged between the first and second configurations by removing it from the container body, inverting it, and mounting it back on the container body.
8. the complementary engagement formations on the container body and the adapter are rotatable into a liquid passage position where they define a flow passage though said complementary engagement formations for enabling liquid to flow from the secondary outlet to the rim of the container.
30. the container body comprises a container engagement formation, and the adapter comprises a complementary adapter engagement formation that engages the container engagement formation, to mount the adapter on the container body and guide rotation of the adapter relative to the container body.
4. the adapter is mounted on the container body by complementary engagement formations on each of the adapter and the side wall of the container body, and the complementary engagement formations are configured to enable the adapter to be displaced away from the shoulder to form the secondary outlet between the shoulder and the adapter.
31. the container engagement formation is configured to form said stop formation, and the adapter engagement formation is configured to interact with said stop formation on the container engagement formation and stop further rotation of said adapter in said predetermined rotational position.
12. the check formations comprise tabs on the side wall of the container body and an outer circumferential surface of the adapter respectively, that interfere with rotation of the adapter on the container body and thereby signal to a user when the complementary engagement formations have reached the liquid passage position.
34. the container body and the adapter form a second fluid flow channel therebetween, and the second fluid flow channel connects the interior to the rim.
8. the complementary engagement formations on the container body and the adapter are rotatable into a liquid passage position where they define a flow passage though said complementary engagement formations for enabling liquid to flow from the secondary outlet to the rim of the container.
40. the container and adapter engagement formations are configured such that the same formations operate to mount the adapter on the container body in both the first and second configurations.
5. the complementary engagement formations are configured such that the same engagement formations are used to mount the adapter on the container body in both the upright and inverted configurations.
43. the rim of the container body extends at an acute angle to a longitudinal axis of the container body and forms a pinnacle on the rim extending proud of the rest of the rim, and the pinnacle is axially aligned with the secondary outlet and the first liquid flow channel.
14. the rim of the container is sloped so that it extends at an acute angle to a longitudinal axis of the container body forming a pinnacle that projects axially proud of a remainder of the rim, and the sipping point indicator is formed by the pinnacle.
44. the container body comprises a first container element and a second container element that is removably mounted on the first container element, and a securing arrangement for releasably holding the second container element in position on the first container element.
19. the container body comprises a first container element and a second container element that is circumferentially mounted over the first container element, and the second container element is removable from the first container element to form a separate second drinks container for holding a drink.
It is clear that all the elements of claims 27-28, 30-31, 34, 40 and 43-44 of this instant application are to be found in claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12 and 19 of the patent. The difference between claims of the application and the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims of the application is anticipated by claims of the patent as cited in the above, the claims of the application are not patentably distinct from claims of the patent.
Following the rationale of in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-35, 37 and 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wall (AU 2021107447 A4).
Regarding claim 27, Wall discloses a drinks container (10, fig.1-22) comprising: a container body (12) having a side wall terminating in a rim (18) and defining an interior, the container body comprising a stop formation (72) on the side wall, and an adapter (20) rotatably mounted on the container body, wherein the adapter is interchangeable between a first upright configuration where the drinks container forms a primary drinking outlet (opening around 54, 59) spaced from the rim (see fig.7), and a second inverted configuration where the drinks container provides a secondary drinking outlet (76) adjacent to the rim (see fig.11), wherein the adapter is rotated up to a predetermined rotational position relative to the container body in the second inverted configuration in which it abuts the stop formation on the side wall (via 74 on 72), and the container body and the adapter are configured to form a first liquid flow channel therebetween in said predetermined rotational position connecting the interior of the container body to the secondary outlet (see page 12, ll.28-33).
Regarding claim 28, Wall discloses the adapter has a single stationary position in the second inverted configuration in which the secondary outlet is continuously open thereby enabling a user to drink from the rim at any time (see fig.10-12).
Regarding claim 29, Wall discloses the adapter is fully rotated onto the container body to an end point in said predetermined rotational position and no additional manual movement of the adapter is required to open the secondary outlet (see the end of rotation of 20 in fig.11).
Regarding claim 30, Wall discloses the container body comprises a container engagement formation, and the adapter comprises a complementary adapter engagement formation that engages the container engagement formation, to mount the adapter on the container body and guide rotation of the adapter relative to the container body (via threads on 72 and 74).
Regarding claim 31, Wall discloses the container engagement formation is configured to form said stop formation, and the adapter engagement formation is configured to interact with said stop formation on the container engagement formation and stop further rotation of said adapter in said predetermined rotational position (via the engagement at the end of the threads in stopping the rotation).
Regarding claim 32, Wall discloses the container engagement formation has a first container formation gap formed therein (between threads 72), and the first container formation gap is aligned with the first liquid flow channel when the adapter is in the second inverted configuration (threads 74 alignment).
Regarding claim 33, Wall discloses the adapter engagement formation has a first adapter formation gap formed therein, and the first adapter formation gap is aligned with the first liquid flow channel when the adapter is in the second inverted configuration (see fig.10-11, path to 76).
Regarding claim 34, Wall discloses the container body and the adapter form a second fluid flow channel therebetween, and the second fluid flow channel connects the interior to the rim (passage 27 to 76, see fig.10-11).
Regarding claim 35, Wall discloses the second fluid flow channel is spaced from the first liquid flow channel around the circumference of the adapter (see fig.11).
Regarding claim 37, Wall discloses one of the container engagement formation and the adapter engagement formation, comprises a male formation, and the other of the container engagement formation and the adapter engagement formation, comprises a female formation that receives the male formation therein, and the male formation is translationally displaced along the female formation by rotation of the adapter relative to the container body (via threads on 20 and 12).
Regarding claim 40, Wall discloses the container and adapter engagement formations are configured such that the same formations operate to mount the adapter on the container body in both the first and second configurations (see fig.8 and 11)
Regarding claim 41, Wall discloses the container body comprises a shoulder (40) that projects radially inward from an inner surface of the side wall, and at least part of the adapter seals against the shoulder in each of the first upright and second inverted configurations (via 42).
Regarding claim 42, Wall discloses the adapter comprises a first shoulder sealing formation for sealing the adapter against the shoulder on the side wall in the first upright configuration (58 on 42), and a second shoulder sealing formation for sealing a part of the adapter against the shoulder on the side wall in the second inverted configuration (see fig.11, 42 and 58).
Regarding claim 43, Wall discloses the rim of the container body extends at an acute angle to a longitudinal axis of the container body and forms a pinnacle on the rim extending proud of the rest of the rim, and the pinnacle is axially aligned with the secondary outlet and the first liquid flow channel (see 18 and 76 in fig.11).
Regarding claim 44, Wall discloses the container body comprises a first container element and a second container element that is removably mounted on the first container element, and a securing arrangement for releasably holding the second container element in position on the first container element (29 and 28, see fig.7)
Regarding claim 45, Wall discloses in the first upright configuration, the drinking container does not provide a liquid flow channel between the adapter and the container body (20 closed by 60).
Regarding claim 46, Wall discloses the container body and the adapter form a second fluid flow channel therebetween, and the second fluid flow channel connects the interior to the rim (liquid from 12 to 20 and 76, see fig.7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36 and 38-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
State of the Prior Arts
Regarding claim 1, the prior arts to Wall (AU 2021107447 A4), Salles (US 10,842,302), Dibdin (US 2005,0115977), Viggiano (US 2009/0101617), Shepard (US 10,512,347), Arai (EP 2716567 B1) and Shepard (US 8,573,431) as cited in PTO-892, either individually or in combination are disclosing/teaching significant pertinent structures or features to the applicant’s claimed invention with regard to a drinks container having a container body with a side wall terminating in a rim and defining an interior, the container body having a stop formation on the side wall, and an adapter rotatably mounted on the container body and is interchangeable between a first upright configuration where the drinks container forms a primary drinking outlet spaced from the rim, and a second inverted configuration where the drinks container provides a secondary drinking outlet adjacent to the rim, the adapter is rotated up to a predetermined rotational position relative to the container body in the second inverted configuration in which it abuts the stop formation on the side wall, and the container body and the adapter are configured to form a first liquid flow channel therebetween in said predetermined rotational position connecting the interior of the container body to the secondary outlet. It appears that claim 1 does not provide any inventive concept over the cited prior arts.
Conclusion
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754