Detailed action
1. Status of Claims:
Claims 1-18 are pending in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0396437 issued to Albero et al. (Albero) in view of US 2022/0027902 issued to Vandenberg et al. (Vandenberg).
As per claim 1, Albero teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: minting a master non-fungible token (NFT) on a blockchain network (Albero: claim 1, ¶ 0057 - receive, from a first user input device, request for a first non-fungible token (NFT) from a first user, wherein the first NFT is associated with a first digital resource, wherein the first user is an owner of the first NFT; NFT is created or “minted” while a user (e.g., NFT owner) may identify, using a user input device 140, resources 202 that the user wishes to mint as an NFT. Typically, NFTs are minted from digital objects that represent both tangible and intangible objects); segmenting the master NFT into a plurality of segments (Albero: Claim 1 - segment, using a resource segmentation engine, the first digital resource into a first set of resource portions;), each segment of the plurality of segments corresponding to at least one asset of a plurality of assets on the blockchain network (Albero: ¶ 0063 - Bounding segments may be used to divide the digital resource into multiple portions. Each bounding segment may be configured to circumscribe the digital resource within a predetermined boundary prescribed by that bounding segment);
Albero however does not explicitly teach issuing assets of the plurality of assets to a plurality of users based on the plurality of users conducting eligible transactions; validating a request from a user of the plurality of users based on determining that the user has possession of a set of assets of the plurality of assets corresponding to the plurality of segments; and in response to validating the request, transferring the master NFT to the user via the blockchain network.
Vandenberg however explicitly teaches issuing assets of the plurality of assets to a plurality of users based on the plurality of users conducting eligible transactions (Vandenberg: ¶ 0058 – a user U1 may interact with one or more of a custodian 102 while the custodian 102 may be an entity that operates one or more physical facilities in which assets may be deposited and securely stored; and an administrator 104 may be an entity that facilitates the systems and processes described herein, e.g., by coordinating transactions between users, custodians, NFT generators, smart contracts, and other relevant entities); validating a request from a user of the plurality of users based on determining that the user has possession of a set of assets of the plurality of assets corresponding to the plurality of segments; and in response to validating the request, transferring the master NFT to the user via the blockchain network (Vandenberg: ¶ 0079 – teaches a user U1 owns a wallet W1 in which all tokens T1 corresponding to an NFT and asset. In step s502, the user may transmit the plurality of tokens T1 to smart contract 108. The smart contract may determine to which NFT the tokens T1 are associated and, upon verification, transfer in step s504 the associated NFT to user U1 (e.g., by assigning ownership of the NFT to wallet W1); ¶ 0080 – also teaches the user U1 may transmit the NFT to the custodian 102. In response, the custodian 102 may verify the NFT and determine whether and to which physical asset the NFT corresponds. In response to receiving a valid NFT corresponding to a physical asset, the custodian 102 may release the physical asset to the user U1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Albero in view of Vandenberg to teach issuing assets of the plurality of assets to a plurality of users based on the plurality of users conducting eligible transactions; validating a request from a user of the plurality of users based on determining that the user has possession of a set of assets of the plurality of assets corresponding to the plurality of segments; and in response to validating the request, transferring the master NFT to the user via the blockchain network. One would be motivated to do so when a user owns a wallet in which all tokens correspond to an NFT and asset; the user may transmit the plurality of tokens to smart contract. The smart contract may determine to which NFT the tokens are associated and, upon verification, transfer the associated NFT to the user (e.g., by assigning ownership of the NFT to wallet (Vandenberg: ¶ 0079).
As per claim 2, the modified teaching of Albero teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: minting a plurality of individual NFTs on the blockchain network, each individual NFT representing a segment of the plurality of segments (Albero: ¶ 0063 - Bounding segments may be used to divide the digital resource into multiple portions. Each bounding segment may be configured to circumscribe the digital resource within a predetermined boundary prescribed by that bounding segment).
As per claim 3, the modified teaching of Albero teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein issuing assets to the plurality of users comprises transferring ownership of individual NFTs to users via smart contracts on the blockchain network (Vandenberg: ¶ 0097 - the user may redeem the collection of NFTs to take possession of the corresponding collection physical assets, and the smart contract may store and update data as to the number of tokens outstanding and the ownership of the tokens).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Albero in view of Vandenberg to teach wherein issuing assets to the plurality of users comprises transferring ownership of individual NFTs to users via smart contracts on the blockchain network. One would be motivated to do so as the user may redeem the collection of NFTs to take possession of the corresponding collection physical assets, and the smart contract may store and update data as to the number of tokens outstanding and the ownership of the tokens (Vandenberg: ¶ 0097).
As per claim 7, the claim resembles claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 8, the claim resembles claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 9, the claim resembles claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the claim resembles claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale while Albero also teaches a computer program product comprising at least one non- transitory computer-readable medium including program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Albero: ¶ 0042 - the processor 102 can process instructions, such as instructions of an application that may perform the functions disclosed herein. These instructions may be stored in memory 104 (e.g., non-transitory storage device) or on the storage device).
As per claim 14, the claim resembles claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the claim resembles claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale.
4. Claims 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0396437 issued to Albero et al. (Albero) in view of US 2022/0027902 issued to Vandenberg et al. (Vandenberg) and further in view of US 2023/0011621 issued to Jakobsson et al. (Jakobsson).
As per claim 4, the modified teaching of Albero teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2 however does not explicitly teach wherein issuing assets to the plurality of users comprises transferring the individual NFTs to the users via the blockchain network.
Jakobsson however explicitly teaches wherein issuing assets to the plurality of users comprises transferring the individual NFTs to the users via the blockchain network (Jakobsson: ¶ 0301 - the artists may mint NFTs from the developed content, and posts the NFT on accessible platforms, such as a distributed blockchain network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified teaching of Albero in view of Jakobsson to teach wherein issuing assets to the plurality of users comprises transferring the individual NFTs to the users via the blockchain network. One would be motivated to do so as the artists may mint NFTs from the developed content, and posts the NFT on accessible platforms, such as a distributed blockchain network (Jakobsson: ¶ 0301).
As per claim 10, the claim resembles claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the claim resembles claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale.
5. Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0396437 issued to Albero et al. (Albero) in view of US 2022/0027902 issued to Vandenberg et al. (Vandenberg) and further in view of US 2022/0076256 issued to Anderson.
As per claim 5, the modified teaching of Albero teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach wherein the master NFT comprises an image asset, and wherein each segment of the plurality of segments corresponds to a different portion of the image asset.
Anderson however explicitly teaches wherein the master NFT comprises an image asset, and wherein each segment of the plurality of segments corresponds to a different portion of the image asset (Anderson: ¶ 0027 - the digitized master asset may correspond to a digital image of the artwork 300. Accordingly, the fractional segmentation module 220 may create the multiple fractional segments by splitting the digital image of the artwork 300 into multiple visual portions 305 as defined by the creator 112 or as predefined).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified teaching of Albero in view of Anderson to teach wherein the master NFT comprises an image asset, and wherein each segment of the plurality of segments corresponds to a different portion of the image asset. One would be motivated to do so as the digitized master asset may correspond to a digital image of the artwork. Accordingly, the fractional segmentation module may create multiple fractional segments by splitting the digital image of the artwork into multiple visual portions as defined by the creator or as predefined (Anderson: ¶ 0027).
As per claim 6, the modified teaching of Albero teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein segmenting the master NFT into the plurality of segments comprises segmenting an image corresponding to the master NFT into the plurality of segments, each segment representing a portion of the image, and wherein at least one segment of the plurality of segments corresponds to two or more assets of the plurality of assets (Anderson: ¶ 0027 - the fractional segmentation module may create the multiple fractional segments by splitting the digital image of the artwork into multiple visual portions as defined by the creator or as predefined; Since the digital image is splitting into segments and each segment overlaps bounding boxes, each segment will be part of two or more assets. In Fig. 3, it is seen that each segment 305 overlaps with bounding boxes and will have two or more assets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified teaching of Albero in view of Anderson to teach wherein segmenting the master NFT into the plurality of segments comprises segmenting an image corresponding to the master NFT into the plurality of segments, each segment representing a portion of the image, and wherein at least one segment of the plurality of segments corresponds to two or more assets of the plurality of assets. One would be motivated to do so as the fractional segmentation module may create multiple fractional segments by splitting the digital image of the artwork into multiple visual portions as defined by the creator or as predefined; Since the digital image is splitting into segments and each segment overlaps bounding boxes, each segment will be part of two or more assets. In Fig. 3, it is seen that each segment 305 overlaps with bounding boxes and will have two or more assets (Anderson: ¶ 0027, Fig. 3).
As per claim 11, the claim resembles claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 12, the claim resembles claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the claim resembles claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the claim resembles claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SM A RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434