CTNF 19/109,224 CTNF 84760 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanahan et al. (US 2020/0024536) in view of Garth (US 4,038,043) In regards to claim 1, Shanahan teaches fuel cleaning mixture for gasoline engines (title). Shanahan also recites method of reducing fuel injector deposits including injecting gasoline fuel into the engine comprising a major amount of gasoline and a minor amount of a fuel injector cleaning mixture (i.e., detergents) having compounds of formula I and formula II [0006]. The structure of formula I provides a quaternary ammonium compound of the claim. Shanahan teaches method of injecting the fuel composition into a gasoline engine and combusting the fuel composition [0006]. The composition comprises the cleaning agent of formula I at from 1.5 to 100 ppmw, the cleaning agent of formula II at from 3 to 800 ppmw, and can further comprise deposit control additive at 45 to 1000 ppmw, selected from Mannich detergent etc. [0007, 0035]. Shanahan does not particularly recite the Mannich detergent mixture of the claim. Garth teaches a combination of monoamine and polyamine Mannich condensation products as deposit control and detergent additives for gasoline fuel similar to Shanahan(title). In the examples, the monoamine Mannich product and the polyamine Mannich product were blended at amounts of from 25 to 80% and from 20 to 75% for the monoamine and the polyamine respectively (Table 5; claim 1). It would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed to have used the combination of monoamine and polyamine Mannich detergents at the ratios recited by Garth in the composition of Shahanan, as Garth teaches that they provide superior detergency and deposit control when used together thane when used alone, and also since Shanahan allows for the use of Mannich detergents in the composition. In regards to claims 2, 3, Shanahan and Garth teach the composition having the claimed additives and amounts. In regards to claims 4 – 6, Shanahan and Garth teach the composition. Shanahan teaches the Mannich detergents are prepared from amine, phenol and alkyl hydroxyaromatic compound such as polybutylene, i.e., 700 to 1300 dalton polyisobutylene phenol or cresol [0035, 0040]. In regards to claim 7, Shanahan and Garth teach the composition having the structure of formula I which meets the limitation of Formula II as claimed [0006, 0015 and 0016]. In regards to claims 8 – 10. Shanahan and Garth teach the composition having the claimed ingredients. Shanahan teaches the composition which can comprises additives such as antioxidants, metal deactivators, corrosion inhibitors, antistatic agents etc. [0007]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAIWO OLADAPO whose telephone number is (571)270-3723. The examiner can normally be reached 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Prem Singh can be reached at 571-272-6381. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 Application/Control Number: 19/109,224 Page 2 Art Unit: 1771 Application/Control Number: 19/109,224 Page 3 Art Unit: 1771 Application/Control Number: 19/109,224 Page 4 Art Unit: 1771