DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, lines 5 and 6 the “reverse twist” and “forward twist” recitations are not clear since reverse and forward are not set forth in relation to any axis of the workpiece or press. The claim 8, lines 6 and 7 language “in a case where press forming is performed in one step without giving an estimated angle to a mold” is not clear since the claim 8 method is set forth as a two-step method where an angle is estimated, it is not clear if the “in a case” is a comparison that is made by computer simulation or if a calculation is done but no one step method case it claimed. The scope of the “in a case…” language is not determinable from the claim 8 method steps since a one-step method is not set forth.
Regarding claim 9, it is not clear what the term “larger” is referring to since no one-step estimated angle is set forth, it is not clear that the “press forming is performed in one step” is part of the claimed method since claim 8 is claimed as a two-step process comprising a forming step and a restrike step. The scope of the “in a case…” language is not determinable from the claim 9 method steps since a one-step method is not set forth. It is not clear from claim 9 what a twist angle in the one-step process is and what a threshold would be since the angle and threshold values are not claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kibben et al. (2024/0335870). Kibben discloses a method of manufacturing a press-formed part (3) curved in top view ([0020], lines 19-23) and including at least a top portion (2.1) and a side wall portion (2.2) continuous from the top portion comprising a forming step of performing press forming ([0048], lines 8-12) by using a forming mold (10) having a first estimated angle ([0013], lines 8-11), which leaves twist (torsion/twisting deformation; [0012], lines 1-2) caused by springback ([0012], line 3) in a direction opposite to twist generated by springback in a case where press forming is performed in one step without giving an estimated angle to a mold ([0052], lines 15-19 and 26-30); and a restrike step ([0050], lines 4-8) of press-forming a formed part (2) formed in the forming step by using a restrike mold (20) having a second estimated angle (tdiff; [0044], lines 9-12 and [0051], lines 1-3) which is a different angle ([0025], lines 20-22) than the first estimated angle.
Regarding claim 9, it is not clear from the claim what a twist angle in the one step process is and what a threshold would be since the angle and threshold values are not claimed but Kibben discloses that the first estimated angle (10°; [0021], lines 20-22) is larger than a one-step estimated angle (3°-8°; [0014], lines 8-9).
Regarding claim 10, Kibben discloses simulation to predict that springback ([0026], lines 5-12) direction of twist (opposite direction, [0026], lines 11-12) and the one-step estimated angle are determined by preliminarily performing press-forming analysis and springback analysis of the press-formed part so that the springback corresponds to the required setpoint geometry of the sheet metal component ([0049], lines 4-10).
Regarding claim 11, Kibben discloses actual press forming ([0048], lines 8-13).
Regarding claims 12-15, KIbben discloses that the first estimated angle (0.5°-10°; [0021], lines 20-22) for the tooling (10; Fig. 1) is defined as an inclination of a top portion forming surface portion (2.1) in a width direction (right to left; Fig. 1) at a top end of the forming mold (10.1; Fig. 1), the forming mold (10) extending in the longitudinal direction (into the page; Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 16-23, Kibben discloses that an absolute value of the second estimated angle (angle in tooling 20) in the restrike step is smaller than an absolute value of the first estimated angle (0.5°-10°; [0021], lines 20-22) for the tooling (10; Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725