DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims: claims 1-17 are pending below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 was filed and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an obtaining module configured to” in claim 9, “a determining module configured to” in claim 9, “a calculating module configured to” in claim 9, “a registration module configured to” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because reciting “a machine-readable storage medium” where a review of the specification of the instant invention detail paragraph 0179 does not exclude signal which is view as on-statutory subject matter. Please amend to “non-transitory computer readable medium” to overcome rejection or direct to support paragraph to overcome rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurtz et al (US 2017/0219336).
Claim 1, similarly claims 9 and 10:
Kurtz et al (US 2017/0219336) anticipated the following subject matter:
A point cloud registration method based on plane fitting comprising steps of:
obtaining a source point cloud and a to-be-registered point cloud (0069 detail reference coordinate system (source point) with to point clouds; figure 5 parts 504, 510, 514 and 0093-0096 detail first point cloud 104a and second point cloud 104b and reference 514);
determining two source planes in the source point cloud and two to-be-registered planes in the to-be-registered point cloud, wherein the two source planes are not parallel to each other, and the two to-be-registered planes are not parallel to each other (figure 5 and 0093-0096 detail two point clouds in 504 and 510, with two references un 516, where 0079, 0083, 0087 detail the adjustment of X-axis, Y-axis and Z coordinate values to be parallel, such means these point clouds are not parallel);
calculating a rotation matrix based on the two source planes and the two to-be-registered planes, and obtaining a translation vector based on the source point cloud and the to-be- registered point cloud (figures 6-7 and 0074 detail registering and translating to be align to common reference system illustrated in figure 7); and
rotating and translating the to-be-registered point cloud according to the rotation matrix and the translation vector, to realize a registration between the to-be-registered point cloud and the source point cloud (figure 6-7 and 0074; figure 5 and 093-0097 detail aligned to reference coordinate (registering)).
Regarding claim 9, Kurtz et al addresses apparatus in figure 1 and 0007.
Regarding claim 10, address non-transitory computer media in paragraph 0006.
Claim 5, similar claim 14:
The point cloud registration method based on plane fitting according to claim 1, wherein the source plane comprises a first source plane and a second source plane, and the to-be- registered plane comprises a first to-be-registered plane and a second to-be-registered plane,
wherein the step of calculating the rotation matrix based on the two source planes and the two to-be-registered planes comprises (figure 5):
calculating the rotation matrix under a first registration mode when the first to-be- registered plane corresponds to the first source plane, and the second to-be-registered plane corresponds to the second source plane (figure 5 part 514 and paragraph 0069-0074, specifically 0071 with each, first and second point clouds, registered to reference/source);
calculating the rotation matrix under a second registration mode when the second to-be- registered plane corresponds to the first source plane, and the first to-be-registered plane corresponds to the second source plane (above teaches rotation and translation, where figure 4 and 0081-0084 where cross registration between first and second); and
determining a final rotation matrix from rotation matrices under the first registration mode and the second registration mode (figure 4 part 540 and 0085 detail where the entire clouds are orienting/aligned/adjusted/registered (entire is final)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtz et al (US 2017/0219336) in view of Uhlenbrock et al (US 2019/0392595).
Claim 8, similarly 17:
Kurtz et al teaches all the subject matter above but not the following which is taught by Uhlenbrock et al (US 2019/0392595) teaches:
The point cloud registration method based on plane fitting according to claim5, wherein the step of rotating and translating the to-be-registered point cloud according to the rotation matrix and the translation vector comprises: in a case of the first registration mode, obtaining normal vectors of the first to-be- registered plane and the first source plane, respectively; calculating an axis of rotation and an angle of rotation according to the normal vector of the first to-be-registered plane and the normal vector of the first source plane; and rotating and translating the first to-be-registered plane and the second to-be-registered plane according to the axis of rotation, the angle of rotation, and the translation vector (0026 detail rotation and translation to align point count to register to reference; 0046 further detail consideration of normal vector to particular implementation for best fit plane for the points. The planes/axis and changes are the angle regarding for all the adjustments, rotation and translation, for different planes of each point cloud to register.).
Kurtz et al and Uhlenbrock et al are both in the field of image analysis, especially registering point cloud with rotation and translation such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Kurtz et al by Uhlenbrock et al regarding using of normal vector where such particular implementation for best fit plane for the points as disclosed by Uhlenbrock et al in 0046.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, and dependent claims 3-4, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At the time of examination, the closest analogous art Medioni et al (US 2013/0286012) teaches in the field of registering point clouds with rotation and translation in 0064 with brief mention of parallel consideration in 0094 as well as largest eigenvectors. This is not view as the claim invention and concept.
Claim 6, and dependent claim 7, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At the time of examination, the closest analogous art Mannion et al (US 2015/0261184) teaches in the field of registering point clouds with rotation and translation in 0059-0062 with mention of error consideration in 0064, but do not detail the segmented way of different types of errors disclosed by the instant invention. This is not view as the claim invention and concept.
Claim 11, and dependent claims 12-13, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At the time of examination, the closest analogous art Medioni et al (US 2013/0286012) teaches in the field of registering point clouds with rotation and translation in 0064 with brief mention of parallel consideration in 0094 as well as largest eigenvectors. This is not view as the claim invention and concept.
Claim 15, and dependent claim 16, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At the time of examination, the closest analogous art Mannion et al (US 2015/0261184) teaches in the field of registering point clouds with rotation and translation in 0059-0062 with mention of error consideration in 0064, but do not detail the segmented way of different types of errors disclosed by the instant invention. This is not view as the claim invention and concept.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jia et al (US 2023/0052072) teaches Point Cloud Registration Method, Apparatus, Device And Storage Medium - acquiring target point cloud data; dividing the target point cloud data into a plurality of point cloud sets; determining a coincidence degree between every two point cloud sets and determining a fixed point cloud set and a registration point cloud set from two point cloud sets with a coincidence degree between the two point cloud sets being greater than a preset threshold; determining a target registration matrix between the fixed point cloud set and the registration point cloud set; and performing registration of the fixed point cloud set with the registration point cloud set according to the target registration matrix (abstract).
/TSUNG YIN TSAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656