DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The specification and drawings do not disclose the fluid passage communicating between the outer housing and the axial lubricating gap.
Claim 25 is rejected, as it depends on Claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 - 8, 10, 11, 14 and 22 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montgomery et al. (U.S. Patent # 6450546).
Regarding Claim 1, Montgomery discloses a rotary interface (fig 8) comprising:
an inner housing (16, fig 3 same as fig 8);
at least one outer housing (12, fig 3 same as fig 8) rotatably supported on the inner housing (16) so that the outer housing is free to rotate about a center axis relative to the inner housing at a rotary interface between the inner housing and the outer housing (Col 15 Lines 41 – 44 : 12 rotates around 16, fig 8);
an annular fluid exchange chamber (chamber formed with 22D, 24D, 26D) formed at the rotary interface between the outer housing and the inner housing (between 12 and 16);
an inner fluid port (20D) in the inner housing (16) communicating with the fluid exchange chamber (fig 8);
an outer fluid port (22D) in the outer housing (12) communicating with the fluid exchange chamber (fig 8);
the rotary interface comprising an annular rotary gap between an inner-facing surface of the outer housing and an outer-facing surface of the inner housing (interface between the inner and outer housings);
the rotary gap extending in an axial direction from the fluid exchange chamber (gap in the axial direction);
an annular seal carrier (17D) disposed in the rotary gap between the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing (fig 8);
the seal carrier comprising an outer-facing carrier surface opposed to the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and an inner-facing carrier surface opposed to the outer-facing surface of the inner housing (17D with outer and inner surfaces);
at least an annular first outer seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) disposed in an outer carrier gap between the outer-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the inner-facing surface of the outer housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below); and
at least an annular first inner seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) disposed in an inner carrier gap between the inner-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the seal carrier having a maximum radial width from the outer carrier gap to the inner carrier gap (radial width of 17D);
the rotary gap comprising an annular throat gap portion having a maximum radial width between the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing (radial width of the throat gap as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the throat gap portion of the rotary gap disposed between the fluid exchange chamber and the seal carrier ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below); and
the maximum radial width of the throat gap portion of the rotary gap being less than the maximum radial width of the seal carrier ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below).
Regarding Claim 2, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising a filter (92D) disposed in the rotary gap between the fluid exchange chamber and the seal carrier (fig 8) and configured to protect the first inner and outer seals from fluid contaminates (92D is a seal configured to protect the first inner and outer seals from fluid contaminates).
Regarding Claim 5, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising an annular second outer seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) disposed in the outer carrier gap between the outer-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the inner-facing surface of the outer housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below), and an annular second inner seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) disposed in the inner carrier gap between the inner-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the outer- facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below).
Regarding Claim 6, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein the outer-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier comprises an outer pressure sensitive surface area, the inner-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier comprises an inner pressure sensitive surface area, and the outer and inner pressure sensitive surface areas are pressure balanced (outer-facing carrier surface and inner-facing carrier surface of the seal carrier are pressure sensitive surface areas).
Regarding Claim 7, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising:
an annular outer fluid chamber ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) formed in the outer carrier gap radially between the outer- facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and axially between the first outer seal and the second outer seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
an annular inner fluid chamber ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) formed in the inner carrier gap radially between the inner- facing carrier surface of the seal carrier and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing and axially between the first inner seal and the second inner seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
a pressurized balancing fluid in the outer fluid chamber (fluid in the outer fluid chamber as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
a pressurized balancing fluid in the inner fluid chamber ( fluid in the inner fluid chamber as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below); and
wherein the outer and inner fluid chambers are pressure balanced ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below).
Regarding Claim 8, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising a fluid passage in the carrier between the outer fluid chamber and the inner fluid chamber and wherein the pressurized balancing fluid in the outer fluid chamber communicates with the pressurized balancing fluid in the inner fluid chamber (outer and inner fluid chambers communicate through 24D).
Regarding Claim 10, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein the first outer seal comprises an annular primary seal (108, fig 4B same as fig 8) and an annular back-up ring (105, fig 4B same as fig 8) disposed in an outer annular gland of a gland body of the seal carrier (outer gland of 17D, fig 8).
Regarding Claim 11, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein the back-up ring is formed from the gland body of the seal carrier and wherein the back-up ring comprises a ring material composition, the gland body of the seal carrier comprises a body material composition, and the ring material composition is the same as the body material composition (same material of 105 and 17D).
Regarding Claim 14, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein the seal carrier is rotationally coupled to the outer housing such that the seal carrier rotates about the center axis relative to the inner housing with rotation of the outer housing about the center axis relative to the inner housing (Col 15 Lines 41 – 44 : 12 rotates around 16, fig 8).
Regarding Claim 22, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising:
the rotary gap comprising an upper gap extending in a first axial direction from the fluid exchange chamber ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below) and a lower gap extending in a second axial direction from the fluid exchange chamber ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the seal carrier disposed in the upper gap of the rotary gap between the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the upper gap comprising the throat gap portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
an annular second seal carrier disposed in the lower gap of the rotary gap between the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the second seal carrier comprising a second outer-facing carrier surface opposed to the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and a second inner-facing carrier surface opposed to the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
at least an annular second outer seal disposed in a second outer carrier gap between the second outer-facing carrier surface of the second seal carrier and the inner-facing surface of the outer housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
at least an annular second inner seal disposed in a second inner carrier gap between the second inner-facing carrier surface of the second seal carrier and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the second seal carrier having a maximum radial width from the second outer carrier gap to the second inner carrier gap ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the lower gap of the rotary gap comprising an annular second throat gap portion having a maximum radial width between the inner-facing surface of the outer housing and the outer-facing surface of the inner housing ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below);
the second throat gap portion of the lower gap disposed between the fluid exchange chamber and the second seal carrier ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below); and
the maximum radial width of the second throat gap portion of the rotary gap being less than the maximum radial width of the second seal carrier ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below).
Regarding Claim 23, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein the seal carrier has a minimum radial width from the outer carrier gap to the inner carrier gap and the maximum radial width of the throat gap portion of the rotary gap is less than the minimum radial width of the seal carrier ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 8 below)
Regarding Claim 24, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein:
the outer housing comprises an annular retaining plate (301D) operatively configured to retain the seal carrier axially relative to the outer housing (301D configured to retain the seal carrier axially relative to the outer housing);
the retaining plate has an annular retaining surface facing an opposed annular bearing surface of the carrier (fig 8) and an axial lubricating gap between the retaining surface of the retaining plate and the bearing surface of the carrier (gap between 301D and 300D); and
the outer housing having a fluid passage (fluid passage through 28D, 2D, 26D) communicating with the axial lubricating gap (fig 8) and operatively configured to provide pressurized fluid to the axial lubricating gap (fig 8).
Regarding Claim 25, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, comprising a rotary bearing between the seal carrier and the inner housing (300D and 301D between seal carrier 17D and inner housing 16D) and the rotary bearing in fluid communication with the axial lubricating gap (fig 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery in view of Chambers et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20180334862).
Regarding Claim 15, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface.
Montgomery does not disclose
wherein the seal carrier comprises a plurality of outwardly-facing teeth in meshed engagement with a corresponding plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing such that the seal carrier rotates with rotation of the outer housing relative to the inner housing.
However, Chambers teaches
wherein the seal carrier (52, fig 2) comprises a plurality of outwardly-facing teeth (78, fig 5 same as fig 2) in meshed engagement with a corresponding plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing (grooves of 58, fig 5) such that the seal carrier rotates with rotation of the outer housing relative to the inner housing (.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the seal carrier and the outer housing of Montgomery with the teeth of the seal carrier and the grooves of the outer housing as in Chambers with a reasonable expectation of success so that the seal carrier and the outer housing are in mutual engagement.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Montgomery and Chambers discloses the rotary interface, wherein the seal carrier comprises an anti-backlash interface (Chambers 82, fig 5) between each of the plurality of outwardly-facing teeth of the seal carrier and the corresponding plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing (Chambers fig 5).
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Montgomery and Chambers discloses the rotary interface, wherein the anti-backlash interface comprises a wear pad (Chambers wear pad with 82, fig 5) between each of the plurality of outwardly-facing teeth of the seal carrier and the corresponding plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing (Chambers fig 5).
Regarding Claim 29, the combination of Montgomery and Chambers discloses the rotary interface, wherein each of the plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing comprises a rotational bearing surface (Montgomery bearing surface) facing an opposed wear surface of each of the corresponding plurality of outwardly-facing teeth of the seal carrier (Chambers 78) and wherein each of the rotational bearing surfaces of the plurality of inwardly-facing grooves of the outer housing is orientated on a respective imaginary plane extending radially from the center axis (Montgomery fig 8 and Chambers fig 5).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Montgomery and Chambers discloses the rotary interface, wherein the opposed wear surface of each of the corresponding plurality of outwardly-facing teeth of the seal carrier is orientated on a respective imaginary plane extending radially from the center axis (Montgomery fig 8 and Chambers fig 5).
Claims 18, 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery in view of Falconer (U.S. PG Pub # 20050046181).
Regarding Claim 18, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface, wherein:
the outer housing comprises an annular support plate (400D) operatively configured to retain the seal carrier axially relative to the outer housing (support plate 400D configured to retain the seal carrier axially relative to the outer housing).
Montgomery does not disclose
the annular support plate comprises a plurality of separate segments removably attached to a body portion the outer housing;
whereby the arcuate segments may be detached from the body portion of the outer housing to provide access to the seal carrier.
However, Falconer teaches the annular support plate comprises a plurality of separate segments (46, fig 1) removably attached to a body portion the outer housing (28, fig 1);
whereby the arcuate segments may be detached from the body portion of the outer housing to provide access to the seal carrier (46 are detachable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support plate of Montgomery with the plurality of segments and a drain passage between the segments as in Falconer with a reasonable expectation of success so that the fluid path is established between the shaft and the support plate (Falconer Para 0010).
Regarding Claim 19, Montgomery discloses the rotary interface.
Montgomery does not disclose
wherein the seal carrier comprises an annular flange portion operatively retained axially between the body portion of the outer housing and the annular support plate of the outer housing.
However, Falconer teaches
wherein the seal carrier comprises an annular flange portion operatively retained axially between the body portion of the outer housing and the annular support plate of the outer housing (flange portion 38 between 28 and 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the seal carrier of Montgomery with the flange portion as in Falconer with a reasonable expectation of success so that the seal carrier is secured and retained between the outer housing and the support plate.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Montgomery and Falconer discloses the rotary interface, comprising a radially extending drainage passage (82, fig 1D same as fig 1) between a first segment and a second segment of said plurality of separate segments of said annular support plate (82 between 46, fig 1D same as fig 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675