DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jehle et al. (US 6,155,236) and in view of Wood et al. (US 5,348,229).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jehle et al. teaches an injection valve (9) for liquid fuels or gaseous fuels for installation in a cylindrical receptacle (3) of a cylinder head (1), wherein the injection valve has a body component (10) with an outer circumferential recess (11).
Jehle et al. is silent to the injection valve, together with the cylindrical receptacle of the cylinder head forms an inlet path configured as an annular space for a fuel. Jehle et al. however, teaches the nozzle injection is for fuel and is injected into the combustion chamber which forms a fuel path and space.
Wood et al. teaches a well known and art established fuel injector inserted into a receptacle comprising an inlet path configured as an annular space for a fuel (via 12 and 16, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the inlet and annular space of Wood et al. in order to deliver fuel to a combustion chamber for combustion.
Regarding Claim 2:
Jehle et al. is silent to the inlet path is continued upstream and downstream of the recess as an internal inlet channel.
However, Wood et al. teaches the inlet path is continued upstream and downstream of the recess as an internal inlet channel (16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the inlet and annular space of Wood et al. in order to deliver fuel to a combustion chamber for combustion.
Regarding Claim 3:
Jehle et al. is silent to the inlet path is divided, at least in sections, into at least two substantially parallel-guided paths.
However, Wood et al. teaches the inlet path is divided, at least in sections, into at least two substantially parallel-guided paths (Fig 1, along 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the inlet and annular space of Wood et al. in order to deliver fuel to a combustion chamber for combustion.
Regarding Claim 4:
Jehle et al. is silent to the injection valve has at least one external sealing ring.
However, Wood et al. teaches an o-ring as a sealing ring (Col 2 line 52 – 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the o-ring of Wood et al. in the injection valve of Jehle et al. in order to seal the valve into the cylinder head.
Regarding Claim 5:
Jehle et al. teaches the fuel is a liquid fuel (see abstract).
Regarding Claim 6:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 7:
Jehle et al. teaches the cylindrical receptacle is formed by a water sleeve (2, 7) integrated into the cylinder head, which separates the inlet path configured as an annular space from a cooling water channel (4) formed in the cylinder head.
Regarding Claim 8:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 9:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10:
Jehle et al. teaches the method to form the cylindrical receptacle and to seal a cooling water channel (4) formed in the cylinder head (1), a water sleeve (2, 7) is inserted into the cylinder head (1) before installing the injection valve (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 11:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 12:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13:
See rejection of Claims 2 and 3 above.
Regarding Claim 14:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 15:
The limitations of the claim is considered an intended use and therefore not given patentable weight. However, both Jehle et al. and Wood et al. teach the use of all types of fuel.
Regarding Claim 16:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 5 of the Remarks, the Applicant argues that neither Jehle or Wood teaches “an inlet path formed when a body component of an injection nozzle is inserted into a cylindrical receptacle of a cylinder head.” The Examiner disagrees and maintains the rejection. Based on the broad but reasonable interpretation of the claim language, there is no positive recitation of where “an inlet path” is formed. Figure 2 of the Applicant also shows inlet path 2 formed at the top of the injection valve 1 after being inserted into cylinder head 6. Jehle is used to teach a general fuel injection valve having a receptacle for insertion into a cylinder head. Wood is then used to teach the inlet path 12 of which an internal fuel passage 16 forms circumferentially around it. This meets the definition of what is particularly claimed by the Applicant.
In response to applicant's argument that the bodily incorporation between Wood and Jehle, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747