DETAILED ACTION
Support for the amendments is within the instant application specification.
Applicants’ amendment to the claims filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. This listing of claims replaces all prior listings of claims in the application.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 32-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 9-14, 17-19, 21-23, 25-31, 36, 38-41, 44, 46-51, 53-83, 85-106 are cancelled.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of this national stage entry of PCT/US2023/073620 filed on 9/7/2023, which claims domestic priority to U.S. provisional application 63/404,231, filed on 9/7/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 3/6/2025 are acknowledged and accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: abbreviation of XN. Based on the claim language, one would not ascertain with the abbreviation XN mean. It is suggested that Applicant amend the claim to recite ‘lamda phage N protein (XN).’ Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘wherein the immunotherapy comprises viral particles comprising nucleic acids encoding for the immunotherapy.’ It is recommended that Applicant amend the claim to recite ‘wherein the immunotherapy comprises viral particles comprising nucleic acids encoding
Specification
The use of the term Thermo Fisher Scientific and Sigma in para 0032 of the specification, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Written Description
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 32-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2163.II.A.2.(a).i) states, “Whether the specification shows that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention is not a single, simple determination, but rather is a factual determination reached by considering a number of factors. Factors to be considered in determining whether there is sufficient evidence of possession include the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
For claims drawn to a genus, MPEP § 2163 states the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claim 1 (claims 3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 33-35, 37, 42-43, 45 dependent thereof) is drawn to a method for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof or a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof, wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy. The structure and function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claim 2 (claim 7 dependent thereof) is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the ADAR or fragment comprises a hyperactive ADAR or a hyperactive ADAR fragment. The structure of a hyperactive fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claims 6 (claims 15, 45 dependent thereof) is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises administration of an antisense RNA or a DNA encoding an antisense RNA. The structure and function of antisense RNA comprises a large number of sequences as the gene of which the antisense is directed to encompasses a large number of sequences.
Claim 20 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the immunotherapy comprises an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant. Applicant is claiming an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant. Based on the claim language, it is unclear the differences between an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant and a nucleic acid encoding said immunotherapies as Applicant has not specified any such differences in the claim language.
Claim 32 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the ADAR or fragment comprises the amino acid sequence of one of SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 or an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11. The structure a function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases. Furthermore, the structure and function of an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 that is capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation are a large number of sequences.
Claim 37 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises administering a viral particle comprising a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric polypeptide comprising a XN and an ADAR or fragment thereof. The structure and function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claim 52 is drawn to a population of viral particles comprising: (i) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for a polypeptide comprising a ADAR or fragment thereof; and (ii) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for an antisense RNA. The structure and function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
In this case, the specification discloses the following representative (hyperactive) fragments of ADAR as encompassed by the claims (i.e. ADAR comprising the amino acid sequence of one of SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences that comprises an ADAR fragment. The breadth of the claims encompass any ADAR fragment with at least 2 contiguous bases.
Furthermore, the specification discloses the following representative ADAR with 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 as encompassed by the claims (i.e. an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences with at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 that are capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation as the breadth of the claims encompass any ADAR through genetic modification of genes encoding proteins or post-translational modifications, etc. via any modification technique such as deletion, mutation, etc. for treating cancer in a subject.
In addition, the specification discloses the following representative antisense RNA or a DNA encoding an antisense RNA as encompassed by the claims (i.e. the antisense RNA comprises at least one hairpin and wherein the at least one hairpin comprises a nucleotide sequence of GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:9)). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences that comprise ‘antisense RNA’ as the breadth of the claims encompass any antisense RNA through genetic modification of genes encoding proteins or post-translational modifications, etc. via any modification technique such as deletion, mutation, etc. for targeting cells in a subject.
An adequate written description of a chemical invention also requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, and not merely a wish or plan for obtaining the chemical invention claimed. See, e.g., Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Here, the disclosure fails to teach the number of bases within the ADAR fragment and ADAR that is capable to accepting up to 30% variability within SEQ ID NOs: 1, 3-8, 10, 11.
Accordingly, one of skill in the art would not accept the disclosure of an ADAR (hyperactive) fragment comprising SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 as being representative of all ADAR fragments and ADAR capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation as encompassed by the claims. Additionally, one of skill in the art would not accept the disclosure of the antisense RNA comprises at least one hairpin and wherein the at least one hairpin comprises a nucleotide sequence of GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:9).
As such, the specification, taken with the pre-existing knowledge in the art of ADAR, fails to satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 32-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for ADAR comprising the amino acid sequence of one of SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 as encompassed by the claims. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The test of enablement is not whether any experimentation is necessary, but whether, if experimentation is necessary, it is undue.” In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498, 504, 190 USPQ 214, 219 (CCPA 1976). Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized in In re Wands (858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)) as follows: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. See MPEP § 2164.01(a). The Factors considered to be most relevant to the instant rejection are addressed in detail below.
(A)The breadth of the claims:
Claim 1 (claims 3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 33-35, 37, 42-43, 45 dependent thereof) is drawn to a method for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof or a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof, wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy. The structure and function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claim 2 (claim 7 dependent thereof) is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the ADAR or fragment comprises a hyperactive ADAR or a hyperactive ADAR fragment. The structure of a hyperactive fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claims 6 (claims 15, 45 dependent thereof) is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises administration of an antisense RNA or a DNA encoding an antisense RNA. The structure and function of antisense RNA comprises a large number of sequences as the gene of which the antisense is directed to encompasses a large number of sequences.
Claim 20 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the immunotherapy comprises an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant. Applicant is claiming an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant. Based on the claim language, it is unclear the differences between an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant and a nucleic acid encoding said immunotherapies as Applicant has not specified any such differences in the claim language.
Claim 32 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the ADAR or fragment comprises the amino acid sequence of one of SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 or an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11. The structure a function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases. Furthermore, the structure and function of an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 that is capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation are a large number of sequences.
Claim 37 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises administering a viral particle comprising a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric polypeptide comprising a XN and an ADAR or fragment thereof. The structure a function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
Claim 52 is drawn to a population of viral particles comprising: (i) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for a polypeptide comprising a ADAR or fragment thereof; and (ii) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for an antisense RNA. The structure and function of an ADAR fragment comprises a large number of sequences as a fragment can contain as little as two contiguous bases.
B) The nature of the invention; C)The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; and (E) The level of predictability in the art: As noted above, the scope of the claimed ADAR fragment and ADAR capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation are a large number of sequences.
In this regard, it is noted that the reference of Prather et al. (Curr. Opin. Biotechnol., 2008; Examiner cited) discloses numerous challenges associated with constructing de novo metabolic pathways, including selection of the appropriate enzymes in a multi-step pathway, compatibility of the enzymes with the expression host and with each other, and the requirement to engineer one or more of the enzymes to achieve the desired activity on a given substrate [see p. 472, columns 1-2]. Prather et al. specifically teaches that “while synthetic biology provides a complementary framework for de novo pathway design, it is unclear how well some of the core principles, for example, Abstraction, can be implemented [see p. 472, column 2, top]. See also the reference of Kizer et al. (Appl. Environ. Microbiol., 2008; examiner cited), which teaches that producing complex chemicals using synthetic metabolic pathways in microbial hosts is often complicated by deleterious interactions between pathway intermediates and the host cell metabolism [see p. 3229, abstract], noting that “… embedding a novel biochemical pathway in the metabolic network of a host cell can disrupt the subtle regulatory mechanisms that the cell has evolved over the millennia" [see p. 3229, column 1] and “[w]hile it can be relatively simple to determine that an engineered synthetic biochemical pathway is not functioning in the heterologous host, it is often a far more challenging task to determine exactly what is causing the problem” [p. 3237, column 2].
It is well-known in the prior art that the amino acid sequence of a polypeptide determines the polypeptide’s functional properties. The positions within a protein's sequence where modifications can be made with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a polypeptide having the desired activity/utility are limited in any protein and the result of such modifications is highly unpredictable. In addition, one skilled in the art would expect any tolerance to modification for a given protein to diminish with each further and additional modification, e.g., multiple substitutions. The reference of Singh et al. (Current Protein and Peptide Science, 2017; examiner cited) reviews various protein engineering methods and discloses that despite the availability of an ever-growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility, and conformational changes [see p. 7, column 1, top]. The reference of Zhang et al. (Structure, 2018; examiner cited) discloses that a mutation of a residue that was predicted to be benign caused significant structural changes and unexpected effects on the function of a polypeptide [p. 1475, column 1].
It is well-known in the art that even a single amino acid alteration can alter the folding of a polypeptide. See, e.g., MPEP 2144.08.II.A.4.(c), which states, “[i]n the area of biotechnology, an exemplified species may differ from a claimed species by a conservative substitution (“the replacement in a protein of one amino acid by another, chemically similar, amino acid... [which] is generally expected to lead to either no change or only a small change in the properties of the protein.” Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 97 (John Wiley & Sons, 2d ed. 1989)). The effect of a conservative substitution on protein function depends on the nature of the substitution and its location in the chain. Although at some locations a conservative substitution may be benign, in some proteins only one amino acid is allowed at a given position. For example, the gain or loss of even one methyl group can destabilize the structure if close packing is required in the interior of domains. James Darnell et al., Molecular Cell Biology 51 (2d ed. 1990).”
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and (G) The existence of working examples: the specification discloses the following representative (hyperactive) fragments of ADAR as encompassed by the claims (i.e. ADAR comprising the amino acid sequence of one of SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences that comprises an ADAR fragment. The breadth of the claims encompass any ADAR fragment with at least 2 contiguous bases.
Furthermore, the specification discloses the following representative ADAR with 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 as encompassed by the claims (i.e. an amino acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences with at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1, 3-8, 10, or 11 that are capable of accepting up to 30% sequence variation as the breadth of the claims encompass any ADAR for treating cancer in a subject.
In addition, the specification discloses the following representative antisense RNA or a DNA encoding an antisense RNA as encompassed by the claims (i.e. the antisense RNA comprises at least one hairpin and wherein the at least one hairpin comprises a nucleotide sequence of GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:9)). Other than the above disclosed species, there is no prior-art or disclosed teaching as to the large number of sequences that comprise ‘antisense RNA’ as the breadth of the claims encompass any antisense RNA for targeting cells in a subject.
In view of the overly broad scope of the claims, the lack of guidance and working examples provided in the specification, the high level of unpredictability, and the state of the prior art, undue experimentation would be necessary for a skilled artisan to make and use the entire scope of the claimed invention. Applicants have not provided sufficient guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention in a manner reasonably correlated with the scope of the claims. The scope of the claims must bear a reasonable correlation with the scope of enablement (In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 19 24 (CCPA 1970)). Without sufficient guidance, determination of having the desired biological characteristics is unpredictable and the experimentation left to those skilled in the art is unnecessarily, and improperly, extensive and undue. See In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988).
Claims 2, 6-8, 15-16, 37, 43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and claim 7, the phrase ‘hyperactive ADAR or a hyperactive ADAR fragment’ is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hyperactive" is a term of degree, and there is no indication what percentage is being compared. Accordingly, the metes and bounds upon which patent protection is sought cannot be ascertained from the claims. It is unclear the limitations of the recitation ‘hyperactive’ as Applicant has not included any comparison claim limitations. See Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. §112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162 (Feb. 9, 2011), page 7165.
Claims 6, 8, 15, 43, and 52 recite the term “antisense RNA.” Based on the claim language, it is unclear what is the target of the antisense. Without knowing for which gene the antisense is directed to, one of skill in the art would not know which antisense RNA to use. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim 7 is rejected due to the following informalities: the recitation of ‘
Claims 16 is rejected due to the following informalities: the recitation ‘claims 12-15claim 6.’ It is suggested that Applicant amend the claim to recite ‘
Regarding claim 37, the phrase, ‘wherein the method comprises administering a viral particle comprising a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric polypeptide comprising a XN and an ADAR or fragment thereof’ renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. It is unclear if the claim encompasses the claimed nucleotide and polypeptide of claim 1. It is suggested that Applicant amend the claim to ‘the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises administering a viral particle comprising a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric polypeptide comprising a XN and an ADAR or fragment thereof.’
The term “about” in claim 43 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the specification, the specification in paragraph 0033 defines it is used according to its plain and ordinary meaning in the area of cell and molecular biology to indicate that a value includes the standard deviation of error for the device or method being employed to determine the value, however, Applicant did not specific any limitations. Therefore, Examiner is interpreting it as exemplary and non-limiting.
Claim 45 is rejected as the recitation ‘the antisense RNA comprises a antisense RNA’ is not further limiting as an antisense RNA would necessarily comprise an antisense RNA. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Regarding claim 84 the phrase ‘increasing the efficacy of an immunotherapy in a subject; will receive an immunotherapy.” The term "increasing" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "increasing" is a term of degree, and there is no indication what percentage is being compared. Accordingly, the metes and bounds upon which patent protection is sought cannot be ascertained from the claims. It is suggested that Applicant provide a time limitation of when the subject will receive an immunotherapy. See Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. §112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162 (Feb. 9, 2011), page 7165.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 16, 20, 24, 32-35, 43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (WO2019104094A2, Date of Publication: 31 May 2019, Examiner cited) {herein Zheng} in view of Bhate et al (2019, Molecular Cell, Examiner cited) {herein Bhate} and Jiang et al (2016, Oncoimmunology, Examiner cited) {herein Jiang}.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 16, 20, 24, 32-35, 43, 45 are drawn to a method for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof or a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof, wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy.
Claim 52 is drawn to a population of viral particles comprising: (i) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for a polypeptide comprising a ADAR or fragment thereof; and (ii) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for an antisense RNA.
Claim 84 is drawn to a method for treating cancer or for increasing the efficacy of an immunotherapy in a subject comprising administering the viral particle of claim 52 to the subject, wherein the subject is one that has or will receive an immunotherapy.
With respect to claims 1-2, 6-8, 16, 32, 34-35, 43, 52, 84, Zheng teaches a method wherein ADAR (SEQ ID NO: 54) and variants of the CRISPR-Cas9 system are used in a composition for the treatment of cancer in human subjects (para 0003, 0004, 0012, 0072). Said ADAR is 100% identical to the instant application SEQ ID No: 3 (appendix A). The ADAR can comprise a fusion protein (para 0117). The composition may be delivered directly into the host cells (para 0164) of which is the Examiner’s position to be the same as intratumoral injection as recited in the instant application claim 34. Furthermore, said ADAR can encode variants thereof comprised of deletions (para 0066) of which is the Examiner’s position to be the same as ADAR fragments. Said ADAR fragments are hyperactive variants (0204). Examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the most appropriate genome editing index depending on the particular application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Zheng further teaches any of the well-known procedures for introducing foreign nucleotide sequences into host cells may be used such as viral vectors (para 0161). Said vectors have binding affinity or antigenicity to recombinant protein. (para 0070).
With respect to claim 45, Zheng teaches the target cells can be tumor cells (para0116). It is the Examiner’s position that said target cells would inherently have oncogenes as the oncogenes drive uncontrolled growth, rapid division, and evasion of programmed cell death.
However, Zheng does not teach wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy (claim 1). Zheng does not teach wherein the immunotherapy comprises an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant (claim 20). Zheng does not teach wherein the pro-inflammatory molecule comprises IL-2, IL-12, IL-15, or combinations thereof (claim 24). Zheng does not teach wherein the cancer comprises melanoma or breast cancer (claim 33). Zheng does not teach wherein he subject is one that has or will receive an immunotherapy (claim 84).
With respect to claims 1, 20, 33, 84 Bhate teaches a method wherein the loss of ADAR1 renders tumor cells sensitive to immunotherapy and overcomes resistance to checkpoint blockades (page 866, column 2, para 2). Said immunotherapy includes Interferons (IFNs) (page 866, column 2, para 2). Bhate further teaches ADAR1 is a top candidate to boost cancer immunotherapy in a loss-of-function CRISPR screen of melanoma tumors (page 866, column 2, para 2).
However, Bhate does not teach wherein the pro-inflammatory molecule comprises IL-2, IL-12, IL-15, or combinations thereof (claim 24).
With respect to claim 24, Jiang teaches Interleukin-2 (IL-2) is one of the key cytokines with pleiotropic effects on the immune system (abstract). It has been approved for the treatment of metastatic renal cell carcinoma and metastatic melanoma (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Zheng et al of a method wherein ADAR (SEQ ID NO: 54) and variants of the CRISPR-Cas9 system are used in a composition for the treatment of cancer in human subjects (para 0003, 0004, 0012, 0072) or combine the teachings of Bhate et al because Bhate teaches a method wherein the loss of ADAR1 renders tumor cells sensitive to immunotherapy and overcomes resistance to checkpoint blockades (page 866, column 2, para 2). While Jiang teaches interleukin-2 (IL-2) is one of the key cytokines with pleiotropic effects on immune system (abstract) and has been approved for the treatment of metastatic renal cell carcinoma and metastatic melanoma (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Zheng et al. by itself or combine the teachings of Bhate and Jiang because Jiang provides the motivation for Zheng to add IL-2 as an immunotherapy molecule to the composition comprising ADAR and CRISPR-Cas9 for the treatment of cancer as Jiang teaches Interleukin-2 (IL-2) is one of the key cytokines with pleiotropic effects on the immune system and has been approved for the treatment of metastatic renal cell carcinoma and metastatic melanoma (abstract), therefore one would expect it to heighten the immune response thereby said composition becoming a more effective treatment for cancer. Bhate provides Zheng the motivated to combine the treatment with ADAR with immunotherapy such as interferons (IFNs) since Bhate teaches loss of ADAR1 renders tumor cells sensitive to immunotherapy and overcomes resistance to checkpoint blockades (page 866, column 2, para 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that combining a composition comprised of ADAR with an immunotherapy would result in a treatment for cancer as Bhate teaches a global reshaping of immune cell profile occurs in the ADAR1-null tumors along with increased levels of IFNs generated by (page 866, column 2, para 2). Furthermore, deleting ADAR1 restores sensitivity to immunotherapy even in B2m null tumor cells, which cannot be recognized by CD8+ T cells and are immunotherapy resistant (page 866, column 2, para 2). Therefore the addition of IL-2 taught by Jiang would heighten the immune response against cancer cells.
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed method for treating cancer because Zheng provides the basic method and its uses. The reference of Bhate provides a method wherein the loss of ADAR1 renders tumor cells sensitive to immunotherapy and overcomes resistance to checkpoint blockades (page 866, column 2, para 2). Whereas Jiang teaches Interleukin-2 (IL-2) is one of the key cytokines with pleiotropic effects on the immune system (abstract). Therefore there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 32, 34-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (WO2019104094A2, Date of Publication: 31 May 2019, Examiner cited) {herein Zheng} in view of Borrajo et al (WO2021034717A1, Date of Publication: 25 February 2021, Examiner cited) {Borrajo} and Mali et al (US20230053353A1, Date of Filing: Jan. 8, 2021, Examiner cited) {herein Mali}.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-16, 20, 32, 34-35, 37, 42-43, 45 are drawn to a method for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof or a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide comprising an adenosine deaminase RNA-specific binding protein (ADAR) or fragment thereof, wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy.
Claim 52 is drawn to a population of viral particles comprising: (i) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for a polypeptide comprising a ADAR or fragment thereof; and (ii) viral particles comprising a nucleic acid encoding for an antisense RNA.
Claim 84 is drawn to a method for treating cancer or for increasing the efficacy of an immunotherapy in a subject comprising administering the viral particle of claim 52 to the subject, wherein the subject is one that has or will receive an immunotherapy.
With respect to claims 1-2, 6-8, 16, 32, 34-35, 52, 84, Zheng teaches a method wherein ADAR (SEQ ID NO: 54) and variants of the CRISPR-Cas9 system are used in a composition for the treatment of cancer in human subjects (para 0003, 0004, 0012, 0072). Said ADAR is 100% identical to the instant application SEQ ID No: 3 (appendix A). The ADAR can comprise a fusion protein (para 0117). The composition may be delivered directly into the host cells (para 0164) of which is the Examiner’s position to be the same as intratumoral injection as recited in the instant application claim 34. Furthermore, said ADAR can encode variants thereof comprised of deletions (para 0066) of which is the Examiner’s position to be the same as ADAR fragments. Said ADAR fragments are hyperactive variants (0204). Examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the most appropriate genome editing index depending on the particular application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Zheng further teaches any of the well-known procedures for introducing foreign nucleotide sequences into host cells may be used such as viral vectors (para 0161). Said vectors have binding affinity or antigenicity to recombinant protein. (para 0070).
With respect to claim 43, although the reference of Zheng does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 43 of ‘wherein the ratio of viral particles encoding the ADAR polypeptide or fragment to viral particles encoding the antisense RNA is about 1:7,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the ratio of viral particles encoding the ADAR polypeptide or fragment to viral particles encoding the antisense RNA depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the ratio of viral particles encoding the ADAR polypeptide or fragment to viral particles encoding the antisense RNA for the application they intend on using the viral particles. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
With respect to claim 45, Zheng teaches the target cells can be tumor cells (para0116). It is the Examiner’s position that said target cells would inherently have oncogenes as the oncogenes drive uncontrolled growth, rapid division, and evasion of programmed cell death.
However, Zheng does not teach wherein the composition is administered in combination with an immunotherapy (claim 1). Feng does not teach wherein the polypeptide further comprises a lambda phage N protein (N) (claim 3). Feng does not teach wherein the antisense RNA comprises at least one hairpin and wherein the at least one hairpin comprises a nucleotide sequence of GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:9) (claim 15). The method of claim 1, wherein the immunotherapy comprises an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI), an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, an adjuvant, or nucleic acids encoding for an immune checkpoint inhibitor, an immune agonist antibody, pro-inflammatory molecules, or an adjuvant (claim 20). The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises administering a viral particle comprising a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric polypeptide comprising a XN and an ADAR or fragment thereof (claim 37). The method of claim 20, wherein the immunotherapy comprises viral particles comprising nucleic acids encoding for the immunotherapy (claim 42). A method for treating cancer or for increasing the efficacy of an immunotherapy in a subject comprising administering the viral particle of claim 52 to the subject, wherein the subject is one that has or will receive an immunotherapy (claim 84).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 15, 20, 37, 42, 84, Borrajo teaches a method of an antisense hairpin comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 (page 25, lines 31-33). Said SEQ ID NO: 14 taught by Borrajo is 100% identical to the instant application SEQ ID NO: 9 (appendix B).
Boorajo further teaches an RNA-binding domain that comprises a viral protein, wherein the viral protein is a lambda N-protein (XN) (Boorajo claims 93, 95). It is the Examiner’s position that said XN is an immunotherapy as it is well-known in the art that a lambda phage displaying a target protein is used as an active cancer immunotherapy and vaccine platform which acts as a nanoscale antigen-display platform and delivery vehicle that presents a specific tumor or disease-related protein (such as HAAH) to the immune system to trigger an active anti-cancer or therapeutic immune response. It is also well-known in the art that lambda phage N protein acts as a natural, self-adjuvating delivery platform and adjuvant that stimulates the host immune system without needing external chemical adjuvants.
Mali teaches the recited hairpin (instant application SEQ ID NO: 9), GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:21), is commonly utilized in the art as it binds to an RNA binding domain to a greater extent than a tRNA comprising an unmodified variable loop (para 0007, 0010).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Zheng et al of a method wherein ADAR (SEQ ID NO: 54) and variants of the CRISPR-Cas9 system are used in a composition for the treatment of cancer in human subjects (para 0003, 0004, 0012, 0072) or combine the teachings of Borrajo of a method wherein an antisense hairpin comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 (page 25, lines 31-33) and an RNA-binding domain that comprises a viral protein, wherein the viral protein is a lambda N-protein (XN) (Boorajo claims 93, 95).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Zheng et al by itself or combine the teachings of Borrajo and Mali because Mail provides the motivation for Zheng in view of Boorajo to utilize the recited hairpin of the instant application claim 15 (instant application SEQ ID NO: 9) because Mali teaches the recited hairpin (instant application SEQ ID NO: 9), GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:21), is commonly utilized in the art as it binds to an RNA binding domain to a greater extent than a tRNA comprising an unmodified variable loop (para 0007, 0010). As such Zheng in view of Borrajo would be motivated to utilize said hairpin in conjunction with XN and the CRISPR-Cas9 system as doing so would reduce the likelihood of off-targeting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that combining the method of treating cancer using the CRISPR-Cas9 and immunotherapy XN with the hairpin taught by Boorajo would result in a more effective composition for treating cancer as one would expect it to result in a more effective targeting system, thereby better silencing of the ADAR gene in subjects being treated for cancer.
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed method for treating cancer because Zheng provides the basic method and its uses. The reference of Borrajo teaches a method wherein an antisense hairpin comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 (page 25, lines 31-33). While the reference of Mali teaches the recited hairpin (instant application SEQ ID NO: 9), GGCCCTGAAAAAGGGCC (SEQ ID NO:21), is commonly utilized as it binds to an RNA binding domain to a greater extent than a tRNA comprising an unmodified variable loop (para 0007, 0010). Therefore there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 32-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 9-14, 17-19, 21-23, 25-31, 36, 38-41, 44, 46-51, 53-83, 85-106 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-16, 20, 24, 32-35, 37, 42-43, 45, 52, 84 are rejected.
No claims are in condition for allowance.
/ERICA NICOLE JONES-FOSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/MANJUNATH N RAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1656
Appendix A
Instant Application SEQ ID NO: 3 vs Zheng et al SEQ ID NO: 54 (STIC search result #8 .rag)
Query Match 99.9%; Score 3633; Length 701;
Best Local Similarity 99.9%;
Matches 700; Conservative 1; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MDIEDEENMSSSSTDVKENRNLDNVSPKDGSTPGPGEGSQLSNGGGGGPGRKRPLEEGSN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MDIEDEENMSSSSTDVKENRNLDNVSPKDGSTPGPGEGSQLSNGGGGGPGRKRPLEEGSN 60
Qy 61 GHSKYRLKKRRKTPGPVLPKNALMQLNEIKPGLQYTLLSQTGPVHAPLFVMSVEVNGQVF 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GHSKYRLKKRRKTPGPVLPKNALMQLNEIKPGLQYTLLSQTGPVHAPLFVMSVEVNGQVF 120
Qy 121 EGSGPTKKKAKLHAAEKALRSFVQFPNASEAHLAMGRTLSVNTDFTSDQADFPDTLFNGF 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 EGSGPTKKKAKLHAAEKALRSFVQFPNASEAHLAMGRTLSVNTDFTSDQADFPDTLFNGF 180
Qy 181 ETPDKAEPPFYVGSNGDDSFSSSGDLSLSASPVPASLAQPPLPVLPPFPPPSGKNPVMIL 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ETPDKAEPPFYVGSNGDDSFSSSGDLSLSASPVPASLAQPPLPVLPPFPPPSGKNPVMIL 240
Qy 241 NELRPGLKYDFLSESGESHAKSFVMSVVVDGQFFEGSGRNKKLAKARAAQSALAAIFNLH 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 NELRPGLKYDFLSESGESHAKSFVMSVVVDGQFFEGSGRNKKLAKARAAQSALAAIFNLH 300
Qy 301 LDQTPSRQPIPSEGLQLHLPQVLADAVSRLVLGKFGDLTDNFSSPHARRKVLAGVVMTTG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LDQTPSRQPIPSEGLQLHLPQVLADAVSRLVLGKFGDLTDNFSSPHARRKVLAGVVMTTG 360
Qy 361 TDVKDAKVISVSTGTKCINGEYMSDRGLALNDCHAEIISRRSLLRFLYTQLELYLNNKDD 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 TDVKDAKVISVSTGTKCINGEYMSDRGLALNDCHAEIISRRSLLRFLYTQLELYLNNKDD 420
Qy 421 QKRSIFQKSERGGFRLKENVQFHLYISTSPCGDARIFSPHEPILEEPADRHPNRKARGQL 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 QKRSIFQKSERGGFRLKENVQFHLYISTSPCGDARIFSPHEPILEEPADRHPNRKARGQL 480
Qy 481 RTKIESGEGTIPVRSNASIQTWDGVLQGERLLTMSCSDKIARWNVVGIQGSLLSIFVEPI 540
|||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 RTKIESGQGTIPVRSNASIQTWDGVLQGERLLTMSCSDKIARWNVVGIQGSLLSIFVEPI 540
Qy 541 YFSSIILGSLYHGDHLSRAMYQRISNIEDLPPLYTLNKPLLSGISNAEARQPGKAPNFSV 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 YFSSIILGSLYHGDHLSRAMYQRISNIEDLPPLYTLNKPLLSGISNAEARQPGKAPNFSV 600
Qy 601 NWTVGDSAIEVINATTGKDELGRASRLCKHALYCRWMRVHGKVPSHLLRSKITKPNVYHE 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 NWTVGDSAIEVINATTGKDELGRASRLCKHALYCRWMRVHGKVPSHLLRSKITKPNVYHE 660
Qy 661 SKLAAKEYQAAKARLFTAFIKAGLGAWVEKPTEQDQFSLTP 701
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 SKLAAKEYQAAKARLFTAFIKAGLGAWVEKPTEQDQFSLTP 701
Appendix B
Instant application SEQ ID NO: 9 vs Borrajo et al SEQ ID NO: 14 (Result No. 1, .rai)
