DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 19/109,308, for a SUPPORT DEVICE OF A CABLE CARRYING SYSTEM, filed on 3/6/2025. Claims 19-34 are pending.
Priority
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because In Fig. 1, RN 8 appears to be floating, RN 4 is not pointing to the base plate and RN 4c is not pointing to a recessed area. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the extension of the support shaft and opposing leg extensions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. For example, claim 24 states “at least one thread is introduced into.” This term is unclear and confusing because it is not known how the threads ae “introduced into.”
Claim 19 recites the limitations "the longitudinal extension" and “the longitudinal direction” therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 20-34 are rejected for the same reasons as dependent on claim 19.
Claim 22 recites the limitations "the respective" and “the other” therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, the phrase "comb-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 26 recites the limitations "the engaged snap in structures " and “the direction of weight force” therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Further, it is unclear what is meant by the term “weight force.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim 31 contains the terms “such a distance” and “some areas,” however, it is unclear what constitutes the metes and bounds of “some areas” and “such a distance.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the opposing leg extensions” therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 contains the term wherein “the at least one thread of the top part is arranged correspondingly thereto.” It is unclear what member the thread is arranged corresponding to. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 21, 24-30 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chrien (U.S. Pub. 2014/0360114).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Chrien teaches a multi-part support device of a cable carrying system, comprising: a bottom part, which is substantially U-shaped, comprising a base plate mountable to a floor, and two opposite side walls molded onto the base plate and forming a support shaft, and a top part, which is designed as a crossbeam, mounted on one end of the support shaft with fastening means (99), as an assembly base for one or more further parts of the cable carrying system, wherein the fastening means are formed by a screw connection and/or snap-in connection, and wherein the longitudinal extension of the base plate follows the longitudinal direction of the top part.
[AltContent: textbox (thread)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (leg)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (back)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top part)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Assembly base)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Leg extensions)][AltContent: textbox (leg)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (extension)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Stabilizing keg)][AltContent: textbox (Side wall)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base plate)]
[AltContent: textbox (thread)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Side wall)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom part)]
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein, along an extension of the support shaft, a stabilizing leg is formed on at least one side of each side wall projecting therefrom.
Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein at least one thread is introduced into the support shaft for mounting a pipe clamp or other installation material (indirectly because the device is for mounting pipe clamps).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein for fastening the top part to the bottom part, the support shaft forms a receptacle into which the top part is inserted, and the receptacle has at least one snap-in structure (see alternative connection in Fig. 20) which positively engages in a corresponding snap-in structure in the top part to form a positive locking connection.
Regarding claim 26, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 25, wherein the positive locking connection formed by the engaged snap-in structures acts in the direction of weight force.
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein the top part is secured to the bottom part via at least one securing element (99) penetrating the side walls (hole) as a screw connection.
Regarding claim 28, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein the bottom part and/or the top part is a stamped and bent part made from a sheet metal blank [0011].
Regarding claim 29, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein the bottom part and/or the top part is made of pre-coated or corrosion-resistant material [0087].
Regarding claim 30, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein the top part has a C-shaped cross-sectional profile comprising a back and two legs formed thereon, and the legs have opposing leg extensions.
Regarding claim 33, as best understood, Chrien teaches the device of claim 19, wherein at least one thread is introduced in the top part for mounting a cable carrier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 22, 23, 31, 32 and 34 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 8363998, 6598270, 6561602, 6541705, 6520345 (Cable management or equipment management devices)
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 October 16, 2026