DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on 02/17/2026.
a. Claims 1-18 are elected.
b. Claims 19-24 are non-elected.
Overall, Claims 1-18 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application EP22194456.4, filed on 09/07/2022. The priority is acknowledged.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1–18 in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, such IDS is being considered by Examiner.
Examiner Note
Claims 4-5, and 10 recites the term “and/or.” This term will be interpreted as “or” throughout examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. The claimed matter is directed to a judicial exception, i.e. an abstract idea, not integrated into a practical application, and without significantly more.
Per Step 1 of the multi-step eligibility analysis, claims 1-12 are directed to a computer implemented method, and claims 13-18 are directed to a system.
Thus, on its face, each independent claim and the associated dependent claims are directed to a statutory category of invention.
Per Step 2A.1. Claim 1, (which is representative of Claim 13) is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claim is directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitations of the independent claim 1 (which is representative of Claim 13) recite an abstract idea, shown in bold, while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional element according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
[A] A computer implemented method for facilitating a secure transfer of cryptocurrency between two Blockchain platforms, the method comprising:
[B] monitoring, by a processor of a computerized channel relay server, a first Blockchain platform for a chain-one-to-channel data transaction, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction comprising: a defined target address of a first smart contract on the first Blockchain platform, a defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and a first digital signature, wherein a first address of an owner entity is either derivable from the first digital signature, or derivable from transaction instructions included in the chain-one-to- channel data transaction;
[C] verifying, by the processor, whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been confirmed on the first Blockchain platform; and
[D] transmitting, by the processor, transaction confirmation information to a second smart contract on a second Blockchain platform, in case of affirmative confirmation of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction.
Claim 1 (which is representative of claim 13) recites: facilitating secure cryptocurrency transaction ([A]); monitoring the monitoring ([B]); verifying the data transaction has been confirmed ([C]); and transmitting transaction confirmation information ([D]), which, based on the claim language and in view of the application disclosure, represents a process aimed at enabling a system for processing cryptocurrency transaction.
This overall combination, covers agreements in the form of sales activities because the claim language recites verifying the data transaction (i.e., address, signature, address). Applicant’s specification page 4, lines 15-16 recites “a method and apparatus for transferring digital assets between two Blockchain platforms”. One of ordinary skill in the art can conclude, the system is used for performing transaction (i.e., transfer of asset) between 2 platforms in a blockchain environment. Such limitation covers Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that claim 1 (which is representative of claim 13) recites an abstract idea that corresponds to a judicial exception.
Per Step 2A.2. The identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the independent claims only amount to instructions to apply the judicial exception to a computer, or are a general link to a technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f); MPEP 2106.05(h)). For example, the added elements “Blockchain,” “processor,” “computerized channel relay server.” “chain-one-to-channel,” “smart,” and “digital” recite computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” The additional elements do not preclude from carrying out the identified abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. Therefore, those additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application.
The additional elements in the independent claims, shown not bolded above, recite: Blockchain ([A]-[D]), processor ([B]-[D]), computerized channel relay server ([B]), chain-one-to-channel ([B]-[D]), smart ([B]), digital ([B]). When considered individually, they amount to nothing more than reception, transmission and/or general computation (i.e., not specific enough computation) of claim elements that serves merely to implement the abstract idea using computing components for performing computer functions (corresponding to the words “apply it” or an equivalent), or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea.
Therefore, the additional steps of claim 1 (which is representative of claim 13) do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application and the claims remain a judicial exception.
Per Step 2B. Claim 1 (which is representative of claim 13) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when the independent claim is reevaluated as a whole, as an ordered combination under the considerations of Step 2B, the outcome is the same like under Step 2A.2.
Therefore, when considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, the additional elements in the claim amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Moreover, as noted above, there is nothing the computing and additional elements (limitations [A]-[D]), that is significant or meaningful to the underlying abstract idea because the identified abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction could have been reasonably performed when provided with the relevant data and/or information. Therefore, it is concluded that independent claims 1, 13 are deemed ineligible.
Dependent Claims: Claims 2-12, 14-18 are analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, these claims fails to recite patent eligible subject matter for following reasons:
Claim 2, which is representative of claim 14, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] monitoring, by a plurality of channel relay computers of the channel relay server, the first Blockchain platform for the chain-one-to-channel data transaction;
[B] establishing, by the plurality of channel relay computers, a consensus as to whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been confirmed; and
[C] transmitting, by at least one of the channel relay computers, the transaction confirmation information to the second smart contract, in case of affirmative confirmation in the form of an affirmative consensus.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 3, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] updating, using the processor, in a memory of the channel relay server, a current total balance indicative of a number of tokens associated with the owner entity, using a previously stored total balance and the defined number of tokens.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 3, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] monitoring, using the processor, the first Blockchain platform for a channel-to- chain-one data transaction comprising: the defined target address of the first smart contract, and a third digital signature, wherein the first address of the owner entity is either derivable from the third digital signature, or derivable from the transaction instructions of the channel-to-chain-one data transaction, wherein a second address on the second Blockchain platform is derivable from the execution of the channel-to-chain-one data transaction;
[B] identifying, using the processor, one or more of:
[C] data transactions on the first Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since a last confirmed recall of a previous channel-to-chain-one data transaction, related to both of: the first address and the first smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions [or] unconfirmed data transactions, each of the data transactions relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and having a timestamp; or
[D] a pre-calculated transaction summary of the data transactions;
[E] identifying, using the processor, one or more of:
[F] data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since the last confirmed recall of the previous channel-to-chain- one data transaction, related to both of: the second address and the second smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions [or] unconfirmed data transactions, each data transaction relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and a timestamp; or
[G] a pre-calculated transaction summary of the aforementioned data transactions;
[H] determining a current total balance of the owner entity using the identified data transactions, or the pre-calculated transaction summaries on the first Blockchain platform, and the identified data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, or the pre-calculated transaction summaries on the second Blockchain platform;
[F] transmitting, using the processor, recall rejection information to the first smart contract if the current total balance is negative.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 5, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the channel-to-chain-one data transaction further comprises a defined amount of cryptocurrency tokens to be returned to the first address of the owner entity [or] an amount of cryptocurrency tokens defining a remaining total balance of the defined type of cryptocurrency token should the recall be confirmed.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 6, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the computerized channel relay server implements, using the processor, a node of the first Blockchain platform, and wherein monitoring the first Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain- one-to-channel data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the first Blockchain platform or in a block of the first Blockchain platform.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 7, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the computerized channel relay server comprises a plurality of channel relay computers, and a subset of the channel relay computers are designated as witnesses, wherein the method further comprises:
[B] submitting, using the processor of a particular one of the channel relay computers designated as a witness, a witness data transaction to the second Blockchain, causing the transmitting of the transaction confirmation information, the witness data transaction including a digital signature of the witness and at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because
Claim 8, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] monitoring, by the processors of the channel relay computers, the second Blockchain platform for a chain-two-confirmation data transaction matching the chain- one-to-channel data transaction, and
[B] establishing, in the channel relay computers, a consensus amongst the channel relay computers as to whether the transaction confirmation information is to be transmitted for the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, dependent on the correct execution of the chain- two-confirmation data transaction on the second Blockchain platform.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 9, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the computerized channel relay server implements a node of the second Blockchain platform, and wherein monitoring, using the processor, the second Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain-two-confirmation data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the second Blockchain platform or in a block of the second Blockchain platform.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 10, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein transmitting the transaction confirmation information to the second smart contract on the second Blockchain platform comprises:
[B] determining, using the processor, whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been included in checkpoint information of the first Blockchain platform [or] of the first smart contract, the checkpoint information related to one or preferably two checkpoints provided by the first Blockchain platform [or] provided by the first smart contract, respectively; and
[C] generating, using the processor, a chain-two-confirmation data transaction on the second Blockchain platform, causing the transmitting of the transaction confirmation information, the chain-two-confirmation data transaction comprising at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 11, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] identifying, on one or more of: the first Blockchain platform or the second Blockchain platform, checkpoint information related to one or more checkpoints of the first Blockchain platform or of the second Blockchain platform, the checkpoint information comprising commitment data of the first smart contract, the commitment data comprising a state of the first smart contract corresponding to a timestamp included in the checkpoint information;
[B] confirming, using the processor, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction using the checkpoint information; and
[C] generating, using the processor the transaction confirmation information, in case of affirmative confirmation of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 12, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein determining whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and the
chain-two-confirmation data transaction match comprises comparing, using the processor:
[B] a first identifier included in the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and a second identifier included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction; or,
[C] in case the chain-two-confirmation data transaction includes part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction, a first digest computed from a particular part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction, and a second digest computed from the particular part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 15, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] generate a chain-one-to-channel data transaction on a first Blockchain platform, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction comprising: a defined target address of a first smart contract, a defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and a first digital signature, wherein a first address of the owner entity is derivable either from the first digital signature or from transaction instructions of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 16, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the processor of the client computer is configured to generate a chain-two-to-channel data transaction on the second Blockchain platform, the chain-two-to-channel data transaction comprising: the defined target address of the second smart contract, a defined number of tokens of the particular cryptocurrency, and a second digital signature providing an authorization of the owner entity.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 17, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] receive the chain-one-to-channel data transaction from the first address associated with the owner entity comprising the defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and
[B] generate and store, using data contained in the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, the pair of the first address and the second address of the owner entity on the first Blockchain.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 18, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] receive the chain-two-confirmation data transaction comprising at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information; and
[B] generate and store, using the defined number of tokens of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, a current balance of cryptocurrency tokens associated with the owner entity on the second Blockchain.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
When the dependent claims are considered as a whole, as an ordered combination, the claim elements noted above appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense, i.e., a computer receives information from another computer, processes that information and then sends a response based on processing results. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified in the independent claims as an abstract idea. The fact that the computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer subject matter eligibility. Overall, the further elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance are not changing the nature of the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is concluded that the dependent claims of the instant application do not amount to significantly
more. (See MPEP 2106.05).
In sum, Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “related to one or preferably two checkpoints”. Claim 10 recites subjective term that needs an objective criteria, and fails to recite how the checkpoint information decides to contain two checkpoints. Additionally, the applicant’s specification filed on 03/06/2025 is silence as to what conditions are required for two checkpoints. Thus, claim 10 is indefinite.
The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 20210398116 A1), in view of Valdi (US 20210019737 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 13. Fang discloses:
A computer implemented method for facilitating a secure transfer of cryptocurrency between two Blockchain platform, the method comprising: [see at least Fig. 4, (0005) users make transactions in multiple different blockchain networks.]
transmitting, by the processor, transaction confirmation information to a second smart contract on a second Blockchain platform, in case of affirmative confirmation of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction. [see at least (0134) At 333, Alice transmits the secret hash H to Bob. At 334, Bob uses the received secret hash H to create a second HTLC in the BTC blockchain network 320 corresponding to the first HTLC created by Alice, for example, by invoking the second HTLC smart contract deployed in the BTC blockchain network 320. Bob can initiate a transaction TX2 according to the second HTLC.)]
Fang discloses transaction between multiple platform, however, Fang does not disclose:
monitoring, by a processor of a computerized channel relay server, a first Blockchain platform for a chain-one-to-channel data transaction, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction comprising:
a defined target address of a first smart contract on the first Blockchain platform, a defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and a first digital signature, wherein a first address of an owner entity is either derivable from the first digital signature, or derivable from transaction instructions included in the chain-one-to- channel data transaction;
verifying, by the processor, whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been confirmed on the first Blockchain platform; and
Valdi discloses:
monitoring, by a processor of a computerized channel relay server, a first Blockchain platform for a chain-one-to-channel data transaction, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction comprising: [see at least (0030) a first party “sending” an amount of digital stable tokens to a second party may include the first party generating a blockchain transaction describing the transfer of the amount of digital stable tokens. The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
a defined target address of a first smart contract on the first Blockchain platform, a defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and a first digital signature, wherein a first address of an owner entity is either derivable from the first digital signature, or derivable from transaction instructions included in the chain-one-to- channel data transaction; [see at least (0031) The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to that the address is derivable from the transaction data. Additionally, the claim recites “wherein a first address of an owner entity is either derivable from the first digital signature, or derivable from transaction instructions included” in alternative form. While the claim recites possible ways to derive the address; the Valdi reference discloses wallet address is in the transaction data. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
verifying, by the processor, whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been confirmed on the first Blockchain platform; and [see at least (0031) The transaction may be received and validated by the blockchain network that tracks the digital stable token]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang to include the features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Fang as well as Valdi would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Fang/Valdi.
Regarding Claims 2, 14. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claims 1, 13: Fang further discloses:
transmitting, by at least one of the channel relay computers, the transaction confirmation information to the second smart contract, in case of affirmative confirmation in the form of an affirmative consensus. [see at least (0134) At 333, Alice transmits the secret hash H to Bob. At 334, Bob uses the received secret hash H to create a second HTLC in the BTC blockchain network 320 corresponding to the first HTLC created by Alice, for example, by invoking the second HTLC smart contract deployed in the BTC blockchain network 320. Bob can initiate a transaction TX2 according to the second HTLC.]
Valdi further discloses:
monitoring, by a plurality of channel relay computers of the channel relay server,
the first Blockchain platform for the chain-one-to-channel data transaction; [see at least (0030) a first party “sending” an amount of digital stable tokens to a second party may include the first party generating a blockchain transaction describing the transfer of the amount of digital stable tokens. The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
establishing, by the plurality of channel relay computers, a consensus as to whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been confirmed; and [see at least (0023) The node or client device may send the transaction to one or more nodes, and the one or more nodes may validate the transaction. Validating the transaction may include the node verifying the digital signature(s) of the transaction … (0031) The transaction may be received and validated by the blockchain network that tracks the digital stable token]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer the transaction data needs to be validated before the consumer can perform the transaction. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the additional features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 3. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claims 1, 13: Fang further discloses:
updating, using the processor, in a memory of the channel relay server, a current total balance indicative of a number of tokens associated with the owner entity, using a previously stored total balance and the defined number of tokens. [see at least (0115) allow assets (e.g., currencies, cryptocurrencies, and/or tokens) on two independent blockchain networks to conduct atomic cross-chain transactions without relying on third-party trust endorsements. The term “atomic” means that the transaction will either succeed or fail without a third state.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer that if the users that are transferring assets (i.e., tokens); if they do not have correct number of assets, then one of skill in the art can conclude the transaction will. Furthermore, one of skill in the art can also conclude, the number of asset (i.e., the token balance) need to be updated to perform transaction accurately. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
Regarding Claim 6. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Fang further discloses:
wherein the computerized channel relay server implements, using the processor, a node of the first Blockchain platform, and wherein monitoring the first Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain- one-to-channel data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the first Blockchain platform or in a block of the first Blockchain platform. [see at least (0101) participant systems 202, 204, 206 that correspond to Participant A, Participant B, and Participant C, respectively. Each participant (e.g., user, enterprise) participates in a blockchain network 212 provided as a peer-to-peer network including multiple nodes 214, at least some of which immutably record information in a blockchain 216]
Note: The above combination of Fang, Valdi does not expressly disclose wherein monitoring the first Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain- one-to-channel data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the first Blockchain platform or in a block of the first Blockchain platform. However this limitation represents non-functional descriptive material and does not affect how the claimed method functions (i.e., the descriptive material does not have any claim function in the claimed method; see MPEP 2106.01). A “wherein” clause does not function to actively limit the claim language. Therefore, the claim element is considered, but given no patentable weight. (MPEP 2111.05). The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Regarding Claim 9. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Fang further discloses:
wherein the computerized channel relay server implements a node of the second Blockchain platform, and wherein monitoring, using the processor, the second Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain-two-confirmation data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the second Blockchain platform or in a block of the second Blockchain platform. [see at least (0101) participant systems 202, 204, 206 that correspond to Participant A, Participant B, and Participant C, respectively. Each participant (e.g., user, enterprise) participates in a blockchain network 212 provided as a peer-to-peer network including multiple nodes 214, at least some of which immutably record information in a blockchain 216]
Note: The above combination of Fang, Valdi does not expressly disclose and wherein monitoring, using the processor, the second Blockchain platform comprises identifying, using the processor, the chain-two-confirmation data transaction in one or more of the following: in a transaction pool related to the second Blockchain platform or in a block of the second Blockchain platform. However this limitation represents non-functional descriptive material and does not affect how the claimed method functions (i.e., the descriptive material does not have any claim function in the claimed method; see MPEP 2106.01). A “wherein” clause does not function to actively limit the claim language. Therefore, the claim element is considered, but given no patentable weight. (MPEP 2111.05). The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Regarding Claim 10. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Fang further discloses:
wherein transmitting the transaction confirmation information to the second smart contract on the second Blockchain platform comprises: determining, using the processor, whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction has been included in checkpoint information of the first Blockchain platform [or] of the first smart contract, the checkpoint information related to one or preferably two checkpoints provided by the first Blockchain platform [or] provided by the first smart contract, respectively; and [see at least (00940) Each block in the chain is linked to a previous block immediately before it in the chain by including a hash of the previous block (i.e., checkpoint). Each block also includes a local timestamp (e.g., provided by a computing device that generates the block or a computing system that manages the blockchain), its own hash, and one or more transactions. For example, the block can include a block header and a block body. The block header can include the local timestamp, its own hash, and a hash of the previous block. The block body can include payload information such as the one or more transactions (or transaction data).]
generating, using the processor, a chain-two-confirmation data transaction on the second Blockchain platform, causing the transmitting of the transaction confirmation information, the chain-two-confirmation data transaction comprising at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information. [see at least (0134) At 333, Alice transmits the secret hash H to Bob. At 334, Bob uses the received secret hash H to create a second HTLC in the BTC blockchain network 320 corresponding to the first HTLC created by Alice, for example, by invoking the second HTLC smart contract deployed in the BTC blockchain network 320. Bob can initiate a transaction TX2 according to the second HTLC.)]
Regarding Claim 11. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Fang further discloses:
identifying, on one or more of: the first Blockchain platform or the second Blockchain platform, checkpoint information related to one or more checkpoints of the first Blockchain platform or of the second Blockchain platform, the checkpoint information comprising commitment data of the first smart contract, the commitment data comprising a state of the first smart contract corresponding to a timestamp included in the checkpoint information; [see at least (0094) Each block also includes a local timestamp (e.g., provided by a computing device that generates the block or a computing system that manages the blockchain), its own hash, and one or more transactions. For example, the block can include a block header and a block body. The block header can include the local timestamp, its own hash, and a hash of the previous block. The block body can include payload information such as the one or more transactions (or transaction data)]
confirming, using the processor, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction using the checkpoint information; and [see at least (0094) This process continues up the tree to the root of the entire tree, which stores a hash that is representative of all data in the tree. A hash purporting to be of a transaction stored in the tree can be quickly verified by determining whether it is consistent with the structure of the tree.]
generating, using the processor the transaction confirmation information, in case of affirmative confirmation of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction. [see at least (0134) At 333, Alice transmits the secret hash H to Bob. At 334, Bob uses the received secret hash H to create a second HTLC in the BTC blockchain network 320 corresponding to the first HTLC created by Alice, for example, by invoking the second HTLC smart contract deployed in the BTC blockchain network 320. Bob can initiate a transaction TX2 according to the second HTLC.)]
Regarding Claim 12. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Fang further discloses:
wherein determining whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and the chain-two-confirmation data transaction match comprises comparing, using the processor: a first identifier included in the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and a second identifier included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction; or, in case the chain-two-confirmation data transaction includes part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction, a first digest computed from a particular part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction, and a second digest computed from the particular part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction. [see at least (0140) Once the condition of the first HTLC is satisfied (e.g., the hash lock is unlocked by the secret), the first HTLC is executed and Bob receives the transferred value in TX1, e.g., 30 ETHs, stored in the first HTLC at step 338.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer that satisfying the condition reads on matching transaction data. The Fang reference discloses Bob would require to have the same secret phrase to as specified by Alice in at step 333 in order for Bob to have access to the ETH (see Fang [0134]-[0140]). And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation. Furthermore, the claim recites “wherein determining whether the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and the chain-two-confirmation data transaction match comprises comparing, using the processor: a first identifier included in the chain-one-to-channel data transaction and a second identifier included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction; or, in case the chain-two-confirmation data transaction includes part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction, a first digest computed from a particular part of the chain- one-to-channel data transaction included in the chain-two-confirmation data transaction, and a second digest computed from the particular part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction” in alternative form. While the claim recites possible way to match the data transaction; the Fang reference discloses matching the secret phrase to complete the transaction. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
Regarding Claim 15. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 13: Fang further discloses:
generate a chain-one-to-channel data transaction on a first Blockchain platform, the chain-one-to-channel data transaction comprising: a defined target address of a first smart contract, a defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and a first digital signature, wherein a first address of the owner entity is derivable either from the first digital signature or from transaction instructions of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction. [see at least (0031) a first party “sending” an amount of digital stable tokens to a second party may include the first party generating a blockchain transaction describing the transfer of the amount of digital stable tokens. The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to that the address is derivable from the transaction data. Additionally, the claim recites “wherein a first address of the owner entity is derivable either from the first digital signature or from transaction instructions of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction” in alternative form. While the claim recites possible ways to derive the address; the Valdi reference discloses wallet address is in the transaction data. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the additional features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 16. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 15: Fang further discloses:
… second Blockchain platform … [see at least Fig. 4, (0005) users make transactions in multiple different blockchain networks.]
Valdi further discloses:
wherein the processor of the client computer is configured to generate a chain-two-to-channel data transaction on the … Blockchain platform, the chain-two-to-channel data transaction comprising: the defined target address of the … smart contract, a defined number of tokens of the particular cryptocurrency, and a second digital signature providing an authorization of the owner entity. [see at least (0031) a first party “sending” an amount of digital stable tokens to a second party may include the first party generating a blockchain transaction describing the transfer of the amount of digital stable tokens. The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to that the address is derivable from the transaction data. Additionally, the claim recites “wherein a first address of the owner entity is derivable either from the first digital signature or from transaction instructions of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction” in alternative form. While the claim recites possible ways to derive the address; the Valdi reference discloses wallet address is in the transaction data. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the additional features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 17. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 15: Valdi further discloses:
receive the chain-one-to-channel data transaction from the first address associated with the owner entity comprising the defined number of tokens of a particular cryptocurrency, and [see at least (0045) The method 300 may include receiving 302, from a trust entity computing system, deposit data … The method 300 may include transferring 304, via a first smart contract of a blockchain network, a first amount of a digital stable token to a first cryptocurrency wallet.]
generate and store, using data contained in the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, the pair of the first address and the second address of the owner entity on the first Blockchain.
the first cryptocurrency wallet may include a cryptocurrency wallet of the first user. The method 300 may include receiving 306, at the blockchain network, a first blockchain transaction. The first blockchain transaction may include a first cryptocurrency wallet address, a second cryptocurrency wallet address (which may be the address of a second user's cryptocurrency wallet), and a second amount of the digital stable token.
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the additional features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 18. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 15: Fang further discloses:
receive the chain-two-confirmation data transaction comprising at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information; and [see at least (0022) the hidden information of the cross-chain transaction includes: the first party having the first sender address and the third sender address, the second party having the second sender address and the fourth sender address, the exchange being the exchange between the first transferred value and the second transferred value, and the exchange ratio being the ratio between the first transferred value and the second transferred value.]
generate and store, using the defined number of tokens of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, a current balance of cryptocurrency tokens associated with the owner entity on the second Blockchain [see at least (0134) Bob can set the received secret hash H as the hash lock of the second HTLC, set another expiration time t2 as the time lock, and store a corresponding number of BTCs, e.g., 3 BTCs, in the corresponding account address of the second HTLC smart contract in the BTC blockchain network 320]
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang, in view of Valdi, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Khalil (US 2019139037 A1), in further view of Kikinis (US 20200394626 A1).
Regarding Claim 4. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: Valdi further discloses:
monitoring, using the processor, the first Blockchain platform for a channel-to- chain-one data transaction comprising: the defined target address of the first smart contract, and a … digital signature, wherein the first address of the owner entity is either derivable from the …digital signature, or derivable from the transaction instructions of the channel-to-chain-one data transaction, wherein a second address on the second Blockchain platform is derivable from the execution of the channel-to-chain-one data transaction; [see at least (0030) a first party “sending” an amount of digital stable tokens to a second party may include the first party generating a blockchain transaction describing the transfer of the amount of digital stable tokens. The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data.]
transmitting, using the processor, recall rejection information to the first smart contract if the current total balance is negative. [see at least (0031) The transaction may include data such as the amount of digital stable tokens being sent, a source cryptocurrency wallet address, a destination cryptocurrency wallet address, a digital signature authenticating that the first party generated the transaction, or other data. The transaction may be received and validated by the blockchain network that tracks the digital stable token]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the additional features of Valdi. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with data processing technique of Valdi to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Valdi teaches processing transaction data. Because both Fang as well as Valdi are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the data processing as taught by Valdi to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination of Fang in view of Valdi discloses transaction between multiple platform, however, the above combination does not disclose:
…third digital signature…
Identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the first Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since a last confirmed recall of a previous channel-to-chain-one data transaction, related to both of: the first address and the first smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each of the data transactions relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and having a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the data transactions;
identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since the last confirmed recall of the previous channel-to-chain- one data transaction, related to both of: the second address and the second smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each data transaction relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the aforementioned data transactions;
Nonetheless, Khalil discloses:
…third digital signature… [see at least (0057) Entity-B 301 then sends the IOU 312 to the online server S H 303. The online server S H 303 then cryptographically signs (i.e., third digital signature) the IOU 312 and forwards the IOU 312 to Entity-A 302]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the features of Khalil. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with the intermediatory system of Khalil to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Khalil teaches an intermediatory entity that signs the transaction. Because both Fang, Valdi as well as Khalil are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the third signature as taught by Khalil to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Fang, Valdi as well as Khalil would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Fang, Valdi/Khalil.
The combination of Fang in view of Valdi, in further view of Khalil discloses transaction between multiple platform, however, the above combination does not disclose:
identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the first Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since a last confirmed recall of a previous channel-to-chain-one data transaction, related to both of: the first address and the first smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each of the data transactions relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and having a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the data transactions;
identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since the last confirmed recall of the previous channel-to-chain- one data transaction, related to both of: the second address and the second smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each data transaction relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the aforementioned data transactions;
determining a current total balance of the owner entity using the identified data transactions, or the pre-calculated transaction summaries on the first Blockchain platform, and the identified data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, or the pre- calculated transaction summaries on the second Blockchain platform;
However, Kikinis discloses:
identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the first Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since a last confirmed recall of a previous channel-to-chain-one data transaction, related to both of: the first address and the first smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each of the data transactions relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and having a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the data transactions; [see Fig. 27 (0154) it is possible to keep account of a client's account ID internal to the organization that works with the client, their wallet identification and contents, their “canonical” or “current” balance, and their pending balance which may include transactions that have been initiated but not finalized yet. (reads on: summary of the user’s transaction data)]
identifying, using the processor, one or more of: data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, including at least all data transactions since the last confirmed recall of the previous channel-to-chain- one data transaction, related to both of: the second address and the second smart contract, the data transactions comprising confirmed data transactions and/or unconfirmed data transactions, each data transaction relating to a cryptocurrency token transfer and a timestamp; or a pre-calculated transaction summary of the aforementioned data transactions; [see at least Fig, 29 (0162) A blockchain datastore 3040 maintains cryptographic storage of all transactions and user data as required by a peer finding service 3020, and may receive requests to read or write from peer devices 3010, 3030, or from the peer finding server 3020, for the purpose of keeping a record of each user's personal transactions and data on the service, and for the peer-finder to locate possible matching users to facilitate the service (reads on: the second user’s transaction information)]
determining a current total balance of the owner entity using the identified data transactions, or the pre-calculated transaction summaries on the first Blockchain platform, and the identified data transactions on the second Blockchain platform, or the pre- calculated transaction summaries on the second Blockchain platform; [see Fig. 27 (0154) it is possible to keep account of a client's account ID internal to the organization that works with the client, their wallet identification and contents, their “canonical” or “current” balance, and their pending balance which may include transactions that have been initiated but not finalized yet. (reads on: summary of the user’s transaction data)]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi, Khalil to include the features of Kikinis. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi, Khalil with summary of user’s transaction data as taught by Kikinis to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi, Khalil discloses performing transaction through different network. Kikinis teaches summary of user’s transaction data. Because both Fang, Valdi, Khalil as well as Kikinis are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the user’s transaction data as taught by Kikinis to accurately perform transaction. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Fang, Valdi, Khalil as well as Kikinis would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Fang, Valdi, Khalil/Kikinis.
Regarding Claim 5. Fang, Valdi, Khalil, Kikinis discloses the claim limitations of Claim 4: Fang further discloses:
wherein the channel-to-chain-one data transaction further comprises a defined amount of cryptocurrency tokens to be returned to the first address of the owner entity [or] an amount of cryptocurrency tokens defining a remaining total balance of the defined type of cryptocurrency token should the recall be confirmed. [see at least (0142) If Alice cannot execute the second HTLC within the expiration time tx2, Bob can get the transferred value in TX2 refunded. If Bob cannot execute the first HTLC within the expiration time tx1, Alice can get the transferred value in TX1 refunded. (i.e., the amount that if refund the transaction is not successful)]
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang, in view of Valdi, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Khalil (US 2019139037 A1).
Regarding Claim 7. Fang, Valdi discloses the claim limitations of Claim 1: The combination of Fang in view of Valdi discloses transaction between multiple platform, however, the above combination does not disclose:
wherein the computerized channel relay server comprises a plurality of channel relay computers, and a subset of the channel relay computers are designated as witnesses, wherein the method further comprises: submitting, using the processor of a particular one of the channel relay computers designated as a witness, a witness data transaction to the second Blockchain, causing the transmitting of the transaction confirmation information, the witness data. transaction including a digital signature of the witness and at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information.
Nonetheless, Khalil discloses:
wherein the computerized channel relay server comprises a plurality of channel relay computers, and a subset of the channel relay computers are designated as witnesses, wherein the method further comprises: submitting, using the processor of a particular one of the channel relay computers designated as a witness, a witness data transaction to the second Blockchain, causing the transmitting of the transaction confirmation information, the witness data. transaction including a digital signature of the witness and at least part of the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, or an identifier thereof, and authorization information. [see at least (0057) Entity-B 301 then sends the IOU 312 to the online server S H 303. The online server S H 303 then cryptographically signs (i.e., witness and witness’s digital signature) the IOU 312 and forwards the IOU 312 to Entity-A 302]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Fang, Valdi to include the features of Khalil. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform transaction using the system of Fang, Valdi with the intermediatory system of Khalil to perform transaction across different platform. Fang, Valdi discloses performing transaction through different network. Khalil teaches an intermediatory entity that signs the transaction. Because both Fang, Valdi as well as Khalil are implemented through field of performing cryptocurrencies transaction and both references addresses a system for performing transaction in multiple different blockchain networks using the third signature as taught by Khalil to securely perform transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 8. Fang, Valdi, Khalil discloses the claim limitations of Claim 7: Fang further discloses:
monitoring, by the processors of the channel relay computers, the second Blockchain platform for a chain-two-confirmation data transaction matching the chain- one-to-channel data transaction, and [see at least (0140) Once the condition of the first HTLC is satisfied (e.g., the hash lock is unlocked by the secret), the first HTLC is executed and Bob receives the transferred value in TX1, e.g., 30 ETHs, stored in the first HTLC at step 338.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer that satisfying the condition reads on matching transaction data. The Fang reference discloses Bob would require to have the same secret phrase to as specified by Alice in at step 333 in order for Bob to have access to the ETH (see Fang [0134]-[0140]). And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
establishing, in the channel relay computers, a consensus amongst the channel relay computers as to whether the transaction confirmation information is to be transmitted for the chain-one-to-channel data transaction, dependent on the correct execution of the chain- two-confirmation data transaction on the second Blockchain platform. [see at least (0140) Once the condition of the first HTLC is satisfied (e.g., the hash lock is unlocked by the secret), the first HTLC is executed and Bob receives the transferred value in TX1, e.g., 30 ETHs, stored in the first HTLC at step 338.]
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which, however, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200076571 A1 Natarajan; Senthilnathan et al. CHECKPOINTING FOR INCREASING EFFICIENCY OF A BLOCKCHAIN - An example operation may include one or more of in one or more peer nodes of a plurality of peer nodes of a blockchain network that stores a blockchain and a state database, periodically generating a state database checkpoint, obtaining a consensus on the state database checkpoint from one or more of the one or more peer nodes, and storing the consensus state database checkpoint.
US 20190019144 A1 Gillen; Robert J. COUNTERPARTY PHYSICAL PROXIMITY VERIFICATION FOR DIGITAL ASSET TRANSFERS - Embodiments are provided for verifying physical proximity of counterparties in digital asset transfers. A sender device receives a recipient hash and a recipient address are received, where recipient hash is generated by the recipient device based on each of the associated recipient address and a first set of location parameters. The sender device obtains a second set of location parameters that corresponds to a detected physical location thereof. The sender device employs the obtained second set of location parameters to decipher the recipient hash, and generates a request to transfer a digital token from a sender address associated with the sender device to the recipient address based on a determination that the deciphered recipient hash corresponds to the received recipient address.
US 20210256070 A1 Tran; Bao et al. NON-FUNGIBLE TOKEN (NFT) - A device to securely access a digital asset with an asset blockchain address on a blockchain, including a processor in the mobile body and associated with a processor blockchain address, and a sensor coupled to the body to authenticate a user, wherein selected user events are placed on the blockchain, wherein the processor sends an access request to the digital asset upon authentication based on the blockchain address and events on the blockchain, wherein the digital asset contractual details, access right, and ownership rights are stored on a decentralized ledger, and wherein the processor uses the ledger to record or manage property right for the digital asset.
US 20230334930 A1 QIU; Weiwei et al. CONSENSUS METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR BLOCKCHAIN, SERVER AND STORAGE MEDIUM - Provided are a consensus method and apparatus for a blockchain, a server and a storage medium. A checkpoint round is designed without waiting for transaction execution results of all nodes in each consensus round so as to reduce the impact of transaction execution on consensus and improve consensus stability. A newly created block comprises an execution result and status of a preorder block of the blockchain. Only the consistency of the newly created block is verified to avoid wasting memory resources and computing resources. The checkpoint round can be customized to improve the scalability of consensus algorithms.
US 20220058610 A1 Bedford; Charles Christian SYSTEM, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR PROCESSING A TRANSACTION - A method for use in a computing device, comprising: receiving, from a remote device, a request to record an asset transfer in a first blockchain system; authenticating the request by using an authentication mechanism that is independent of the first blockchain system and obtaining an authentication record indicating that the request has been authenticated successfully; and recording the asset transfer in the first blockchain system, the asset transfer being recorded by storing the authentication record and a record of the asset transfer in a first ledger of the first blockchain system, wherein recording the asset transfer includes associating an instance of the record of the asset transfer that is stored in the first ledger of the first blockchain system with an instance of the authentication record that is stored in the first ledger of the first blockchain system.
US 20150142637 A1 MCGEACHY; Mark et al. SWITCHING LAYER FOR TRADING ON GLOBAL MARKETS - Techniques for managing and routing market orders across a global trading system. Each trading node can be associated with one or more markets and each node can be configured to provide market access to each market associated with a node in the system. Each trading node can be connected, via a network, to a global switching layer. The global switching layer can route requests, such as orders and the like, from an end user associated with one of the plurality of nodes to a corresponding exchange or market. The global switching layer can be configured to dynamically provide, to each end user, a user interface element corresponding to each trading node.
US 20190311351 A1 Zhang; Wenbin et al. CROSS-ASSET TRADING WITHIN BLOCKCHAIN NETWORKS - Implementations are directed to cross-asset trading in blockchain networks, and include a first node providing transaction information based on a first value, a second value, and an exchange rate of a second node, receiving, from the second node, a first evidence set, a first range proof, and a digital signature of the second node, and submitting the transaction for verification based on the first range proof, a second range proof, the first evidence set, a second evidence set, a digital signature of the first node, and the digital signature of the second node, the transaction being executed to decrease a balance of the first node by the first value, increase a first balance of the second node by the first value, decrease a second balance of the second node by the second value, and increase a balance of the third node by the second value.
US 20230334470 A1 Beller; Andrew E. et al. BLOCKCHAIN INTEROPERABILITY SYSTEM FOR NATIVE ASSET CREATION - A delegate interoperability network for may include a plurality of delegates instantiated on a plurality of different blockchains. The delegate network may enable blockchain interoperability by receiving, at a first delegate instantiated on a first blockchain, a request to initiate, on a second blockchain, a blockchain action on behalf of a user. The method further includes generating, by the first delegate, a unique delegate network address associated with the user and the first blockchain. The method further includes determining, by the first delegate, whether the second blockchain has sufficient gas token liquidity to complete the blockchain action. The method further includes based at least in part on determining that the second blockchain has sufficient gas token liquidity, sending, to a second delegate instantiated on the second blockchain, a first message to initiate the blockchain action. The method further includes receiving, from the second delegate, a second message, wherein the second message comprises at least an association between the unique delegate network address and the second blockchain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698