DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8 teaches 1-30% of benefit agents, while line 9 teaches 1 to 20% of benefit agents. The scope of the amount of benefit agents being claimed is not clear.
In claim 1, line 11, it indicates that the water-soluble carrier is selected from carbohydrate, an inorganic alkali metal salt and mixtures, while lines 3-5 teach a broader number of carriers, the scope of the limits of the carrier is thus not clear.
In claim 1, line 16, it is not clear if “an anionic surfactant” is the same as “an anionic surfactant” in line 6. If they are the same, no more than 12% includes numbers down to zero, which would appear to contradict the 5-12% previously claimed.
Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunder (US 2011/0097369).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 9, Sunder teaches a laundry detergent in particulate form (abstract, 0002) which comprises a carrier which is water soluble such as alkali metal salts or carbohydrates comprising sugars within the scope of the present invention (see 0011 and 0012). The carrier can be present in an amount of 50-95 weight % of the particles (0016), overlapping with the 20-95% of the current claim. It has been held that such overlapping ranges render the claim range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 I). The particles of Sunder can contain a perfume, which is a benefit agent, at a level of 0.1 to 30%, the same range as being claimed (0065). Sunder does not teach that alkyl benzene sulfonates must be present.
Sunder teaches that anionic surfactants, such as alkyl sulfates and soap may be used in the particles (0102), but does not specifically teach the amount of surfactant being 5 to 12%. Sunder teaches that the anionic surfactant may be use at a preferable level of 5 to 22%, thus overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed 5 to 12%. Given the teaching of Sunder, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the alkyl sulfates or soaps at a level of 5to 12% with a reasonable expectation of forming an effective laundry detergent.
Regarding claim 2, Sunder teaches that the perfume can be mixed in with the water-soluble carrier (0095).
Regarding claim 3, Sunder teaches that the water soluble carrier can be selected from the listed sugars (0012).
Regarding claim 4, Sunder teaches anionic sulfates within the claims scope (102).
Regarding claim 5, Sunder teaches that the alkyl sulfates are preferably in the form of their potassium or Sodium salts (0102)
Regarding claim 8, Sunder teaches that the benefit agent can be a combination of free and microencapsulated perfumes (0042).
Regarding claim 10, Sunder teaches that clays and cellulose may be used in the laundry particles 0070, 0072 and 0077).
Regarding claim 11, Sunder teaches a particle dimension of 0.2 to 7 mm (0084).
Regarding claim 13, Sunder teaches the use in a washing machine (0008).
Regarding claim 14, the perfume taught by Sunder are fragrances.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunder (US 2011/0097369) as applied to claim 1 in view of Osler (US 2015/0225680).
Regarding claim 12, Sunder does not teach the Extruding and cutting of the claim. However, Osler teaches the extruding and cutting to form detergent particles (60, 61, 67 and 68). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the extruding and cutting of Osler in the invention of Sunder as a known means of forming detergent particles with a reasonable expectation of success, Osler also teaches coating with sodium carbonate which is an anticaking agent (0061) One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the particles are dried before packaging and use.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No.19/109,402. Claim 1 of 19/109,402 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention except for the specified anionic surfactant, however this is taught by claim 8 of 19/109,402 thus rendering claim 1 obvious. Regarding the other claims 3, 4, 6, 8 and 10-14, the claims of 19/019,402 teach all the limitations regarding, the carrier, the sugars, the perfume, the washing machine and the extruding and cutting method.
With regard to claim 9, the claims of 19/109,402 do not specify the perfume at a level of 1 to 15%, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would vary to amount of perfume in order to achieve a desired smell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745