DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 3/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a product that does not have a physical or tangible form. The claimed product is a computer program per se (also referred to as “software per se”) as the entire claim only includes “a computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control operation of an imaging system to perform…”. The program is only configured to be executed to control and imaging system, and this only requires that the computer program product must be capable of being performed. Therefore, any computer program configured to perform the processing steps of the claim and could be potentially encompass the scope of the claim, and the claim falls under the transitory form of signal transmission. Thus, the product claim directed to a software program does not contain at least one structural limitation, has no physical or tangible form, and does not fall within any statutory category. Examiner suggests positive recitation of structure including a “non-transitory” form of computer readable storage medium to overcome the current rejection. See also MPEP 2106.03 (I). For these reasons, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 16-18, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohkouchi (U.S. Pub. No. 20180262702) hereinafter Ohkouchi.
Regarding claim 1, Ohkouchi teaches:
An imaging system (abstract) comprising:
a light source configured to provide wavelength-swept emission of light ([0031], oscillator 10 provides wavelength-swept emission light in combination with a coherent light);
a sample delivery channel coupled to the light source and arranged to be coupled to an object to be imaged to direct light from the light source towards said object (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], lens path channel of 27-3 forms a sample delivery channel coupled to a light source and configured to image direct light from the object (subject 6) for imaging. Oscillator 10 provides coherent light oscillation for delivery to the subject of interest; [0036]; [0041]);
a reference channel coupled to the light source for receiving light therefrom (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], lens path channel of 27-2 to reference light reflector 21 forms the reference channel coupled to the light source of oscillator 10; [0036]-[0037]);
a sample receiving channel arranged to be coupled to the object to be imaged for receiving sample light from the object (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], lens path channel of 27-3 forms a sample receiving channel coupled to an object (subject 6) for imaging through reception of sample light from the object; [0036]; [0041]);
a detector coupled to the sample receiving channel for receiving sample light, and coupled to the reference channel for receiving reference light, wherein the detector is arranged to combine the received sample light with the reference light to provide a combined light signal comprising one or more components at a beat frequency between sample light and reference light (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], separator 20 and photoelectric converter 30 form a detector that is operable coupled to the receiving channel and reference channel to acquire the combined light signal at an acquired frequency separation ([0030]) that forms a beat frequency between the acquired signals; [0037]-[0046]; [0047]-[0048]; see also [0049]-[0056]); and
a lock-in amplifier ([0049], frequency separation by lock-in; [0052]-[0053]; [0079], “The image sensor 100 according to the present embodiment comprises the image processor 40 that locks in and detects a signal component having an interference frequency in an interference light component corresponding to a predetermined depth from a signal output from the photoelectric converter 30. This prevents leakage errors, which would occur when frequency separation is performed by FFT or other schemes, and performs a high-Q filtering by a narrow-band low-pass filter based on the principle of lock-in amplifiers.”; [0080]) arranged to:
(i) receive a detection signal based on the combined light signal and formed of one or more components at different frequencies ([0030], “frequency separation of signals resulting from the photoelectric conversion by the photoelectric converter 30 may be performed by a processing device”; [0049], frequency separation by lock-in; [0052]-[0053]; [0079]-[0080]),
(ii) receive a selection signal at a selection frequency ([0043], “image processor 40 serves as a discrimination unit under the control of the control processor 41. The frequency separation of the output signal is achieved by processing on the output signal equivalent to multiplication of the output signal by a reference signal having a frequency corresponding to a predetermined depth.” This forms a teaching to a received reference signal from the control processor for selection at a selection frequency; see also [0044]-[0056]), and
(iii) to provide one or more output signals indicative of a component of the detection signal at the selection frequency ([0053], “an output value of an amplitude sampled at the frequency of the reference signal in the lock-in corresponds to an output value at a deep part of the subject 6 corresponding to the frequency in a pixel part.”; see also [0044]-[0056]);
wherein the imaging system is arranged to control the selection signal to be at each of a plurality of different selection frequencies during a first time period ([0051], figure 4 shows an extraction of two different frequencies across a time period; see also [0043]-[0056]); and
wherein the imaging system is configured to provide imaging of the object based on the output signals from the lock-in amplifier ([0057], display of image toa user based upon the image processing).
Regarding claim 5, Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ohkouchi further teaches:
further comprising a controller configured to control the selection signal applied to the lock-in amplifier ([0043], “image processor 40 serves as a discrimination unit under the control of the control processor 41. The frequency separation of the output signal is achieved by processing on the output signal equivalent to multiplication of the output signal by a reference signal having a frequency corresponding to a predetermined depth.” This forms a teaching to a received reference signal from the control processor for selection at a selection frequency; see also [0044]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ohkouchi further teaches:
wherein the detection signal and the selection signal are analogue signals ([0056], voltage signals form analog signals; [0076], voltage signals form analog signals; see also [0047]; [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 16. Ohkouchi further teaches:
wherein the detection signal and the selection signal are voltage signals ([0056], voltage signals form analog signals; [0076], voltage signals form analog signals; see also [0047]; [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 16. Ohkouchi further teaches:
further comprising one or more photo detectors arranged to provide the detection signal to the lock-in amplifier, wherein said photo detectors are arranged to convert the combined light signal into an electrical signal to provide the detection signal ([0041]-[0043], photoelectric converter; [0064], photoelectric converter; [0075], photoelectric converter forms a photodetector utilized in the detection signal and provides the combined light signal for electrical output for further processing and image generation; [0079]-[0081], photoelectric converter).
Regarding claim 24, Ohkouchi teaches:
An imaging method (abstract) comprising:
providing wavelength-swept emission of light from a light source ([0031], oscillator 10 provides wavelength-swept emission light in combination with a coherent light);
directing light from the light source: (i) towards an object to be imaged (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], lens path channel of 27-3 forms a sample delivery channel coupled to a light source and configured to image direct light from the object (subject 6) for imaging. Oscillator 10 provides coherent light oscillation for delivery to the subject of interest; [0036]; [0041]), and (ii) to a reference channel (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], lens path channel of 27-2 to reference light reflector 21 forms the reference channel coupled to the light source of oscillator 10; [0036]-[0037]);
receiving, at a detector, reference light from the reference channel and sample light from the object to be imaged, wherein the received sample light comprises light delivered towards the object from the light source (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], separator 20 and photoelectric converter 30 form a detector that is operable coupled to the receiving channel and reference channel to acquire the combined light signal at an acquired frequency separation ([0030]) that forms a beat frequency between the acquired signals; [0037]-[0046]; [0047]-[0048]; see also [0049]-[0056]);
optically combining sample light with reference light to provide a combined light signal comprising one or more components at a beat frequency between sample light and reference light (figure 1; [0029]-[0030], separator 20 and photoelectric converter 30 form a detector that is operable coupled to the receiving channel and reference channel to acquire the combined light signal at an acquired frequency separation ([0030]) that forms a beat frequency between the acquired signals; [0037]-[0046]; [0047]-[0048]; see also [0049]-[0056]);
providing, to a lock-in amplifier ([0049], frequency separation by lock-in; [0052]-[0053]; [0079], “The image sensor 100 according to the present embodiment comprises the image processor 40 that locks in and detects a signal component having an interference frequency in an interference light component corresponding to a predetermined depth from a signal output from the photoelectric converter 30. This prevents leakage errors, which would occur when frequency separation is performed by FFT or other schemes, and performs a high-Q filtering by a narrow-band low-pass filter based on the principle of lock-in amplifiers.”; [0080]): (a) a detection signal based on the combined light signal and formed of one or more components at different frequencies ([0030], “frequency separation of signals resulting from the photoelectric conversion by the photoelectric converter 30 may be performed by a processing device”; [0049], frequency separation by lock-in; [0052]-[0053]; [0079]-[0080]), and (b) a selection signal at a selection frequency ([0043], “image processor 40 serves as a discrimination unit under the control of the control processor 41. The frequency separation of the output signal is achieved by processing on the output signal equivalent to multiplication of the output signal by a reference signal having a frequency corresponding to a predetermined depth.” This forms a teaching to a received reference signal from the control processor for selection at a selection frequency; see also [0044]-[0056]), and wherein the lock-in amplifier is configured to provide one or more output signals indicative of the component of the detection signal at the selection frequency ([0053], “an output value of an amplitude sampled at the frequency of the reference signal in the lock-in corresponds to an output value at a deep part of the subject 6 corresponding to the frequency in a pixel part.”; see also [0044]-[0056]);
controlling the selection signal to be at each of a plurality of different selection frequencies during a first time period ([0051], figure 4 shows an extraction of two different frequencies across a time period; see also [0043]-[0056]);
providing imaging of the object based on the output signals from the lock-in amplifier ([0057], display of image toa user based upon the image processing).
Regarding claim 25, Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 24. Ohkouchi further teaches:
A computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control operation of an imaging system to perform the method of claim 24 (see citations of rejection of claim 24 above; [0029]-[0030], image processor and control processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moghaddam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20120271176) hereinafter Moghaddam.
Regarding claim 2, primary reference Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the lock-in amplifier comprises a dual phase lock-in amplifier
However, the analogous art of Moghaddam of a low coherence interferometry probe system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the lock-in amplifier comprises a dual phase lock-in amplifier ([0109], dual phase lock-in amplifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi to incorporate the dual phase lock-in amplifier as taught by Moghaddam because it provides higher quality signal extraction from the acquired signals of interest and provides standard low-bandwidth operation, ensuring sufficient signal quality and resolution (Moghaddam, [0109]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi, in view of Moghaddam as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hielscher et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20100292569) hereinafter Hielscher.
Regarding claim 3, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Moghaddam teach all of the limitations of claim 2. Primary reference Ohkouchi further teaches:
wherein the lock-in amplifier comprises:
a first input port arranged to receive the detection signal ([0030], “frequency separation of signals resulting from the photoelectric conversion by the photoelectric converter 30 may be performed by a processing device”; Detection signal reception would occur at a first input port; [0049], frequency separation by lock-in; [0052]-[0053]; [0079]-[0080]);
a second input port arranged to receive the selection signal ([0043], “image processor 40 serves as a discrimination unit under the control of the control processor 41. The frequency separation of the output signal is achieved by processing on the output signal equivalent to multiplication of the output signal by a reference signal having a frequency corresponding to a predetermined depth.” This forms a teaching to a received reference signal from the control processor for selection at a selection frequency. Selection signal input would be provided at a second input port; see also [0044]-[0056]);
Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
a first output port arranged to provide an output indicative of an in-phase component of the detection signal; and
a second output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a quadrature component of the detection signal
However, the analogous art of Hielscher of a tissue imaging system using optical tomography (abstract) teaches:
a first output port arranged to provide an output indicative of an in-phase component of the detection signal; and a second output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a quadrature component of the detection signal ([0184]; [0199], in phase and quadrature phase signals provided for the lock-in detection for output ports arranged to provide the signal outputs indicative of the components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Moghaddam to incorporate the in-phase and quadrature detection outputs as taught by Hielscher because by mixing the original signal with both the in-phase and quadrature components of the reference, the final output is independent of phase difference and is only contingent on the amplitude of the inputs (Hielscher, [0184]). This provides higher quality signal processing and output.
Regarding claim 4, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Moghaddam teach all of the limitations of claim 2. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the lock-in amplifier further comprises at least one of:
a third output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a magnitude of the detection signal; and
a fourth output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a phase associated with the detection signal
However, the analogous art of Hielscher of a tissue imaging system using optical tomography (abstract) teaches:
wherein the lock-in amplifier further comprises at least one of:
a third output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a magnitude of the detection signal ([0184], magnitude of the DC signal is provided which forms a third output port arranged for output of the detection signal magnitude; [0185], magnitude response of the filter); and
a fourth output port arranged to provide an output indicative of a phase associated with the detection signal ([0184], phase of the detection signal characterization forms a fourth output port arranged to provide the output signal of phase; [0185]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Moghaddam to incorporate the magnitude and phase detection outputs as taught by Hielscher because by mixing the original signal with both the in-phase and quadrature components of the reference, the final output is independent of phase difference and is only contingent on the amplitude of the inputs (Hielscher, [0184]). This provides higher quality signal processing and output.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Huber et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20060187537) hereinafter Huber.
Regarding claim 6, primary reference Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection signal to sweep through a plurality of selection frequencies during the first time period
However, the analogous art of Huber of a frequency varying wave generator (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection signal to sweep through a plurality of selection frequencies during the first time period ([0052], frequency sweep through a plurality of frequencies which forms the selection signal in the combined prior art invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi to incorporate the sweep through a plurality of selection frequencies as taught by Huber because it enables improved power delivery and enhanced utilization of available spectra during an imaging procedure (Huber, [0005]; [0052]).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Huber teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to control at least a portion of the frequency sweep of the selection signals to be non-linear
However, the analogous art of Huber of a frequency varying wave generator (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control at least a portion of the frequency sweep of the selection signals to be non-linear ([0052], frequency sweep through a plurality of frequencies which forms the selection signal in the combined prior art invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Huber to incorporate the sweep through a plurality of selection frequencies including a nonlinear frequency sweep as taught by Huber because it enables improved power delivery and enhanced utilization of available spectra during an imaging procedure (Huber, [0005]; [0052]).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Huber teach all of the limitations of claim 7. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection frequency sweep to sweep through a first frequency range at a greater speed than for a second frequency range
However, the analogous art of Huber of a frequency varying wave generator (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection frequency sweep to sweep through a first frequency range at a greater speed than for a second frequency range ([0052], frequency sweep includes a sweep speed or rate across a time period with changing function of time frequency sweep, which forms a change in speed leading to a greater speed for a particular first frequency range when compared to a second).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Huber to incorporate the sweep through a plurality of selection frequencies including a varying speed as taught by Huber because it enables improved power delivery and enhanced utilization of available spectra during an imaging procedure (Huber, [0005]; [0052]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220065994) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 9, primary reference Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection signal applied to the lock-in amplifier so that, during at least a portion of the first time period, the selection signal is a linearly-chirped sinusoidal signal
However, the analogous art of Li of a light detection and ranging system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control the selection signal applied to the lock-in amplifier so that, during at least a portion of the first time period, the selection signal is a linearly-chirped sinusoidal signal ([0031], swept linearly sinusoidal RF signals frequency chirped modulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi to incorporate the linearly-chirped sinusoidal signal as taught by Li because by sweeping the radio frequency (RF) frequency and the corresponding phase linearly, two optical signals with linear frequency chirped modulation are generated (Li, [0031]). This enables in-phase and quadrature signal mixing during operation (Li, [0016]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20130271772) hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 10, primary reference Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the system to switch between a higher resolution mode and a lower resolution mode
However, the analogous art of Johnson of a optical coherence tomography system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the system to switch between a higher resolution mode and a lower resolution mode ([0075]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi to incorporate the high and low resolution modes as taught by Johnson because it provides for optional variation of sweep rate, scan depth, and spatial resolution based upon user preferences of output signal parameters (Johnson, [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Johnson teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to apply a slower frequency sweep for the selection signal when operating in the higher resolution mode than when operating in the quicker mode
However, the analogous art of Johnson of a optical coherence tomography system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to apply a slower frequency sweep for the selection signal when operating in the higher resolution mode than when operating in the quicker mode ([0075]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Johnson to incorporate the high and low resolution modes with varying sweep speeds as taught by Johnson because it provides for optional variation of sweep rate, scan depth, and spatial resolution based upon user preferences of output signal parameters (Johnson, [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Johnson teach all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the controller is configured to provide a higher sweep rate for sweeping through the selection frequencies when operating in the lower resolution mode
However, the analogous art of Johnson of a optical coherence tomography system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to provide a higher sweep rate for sweeping through the selection frequencies when operating in the lower resolution mode ([0075]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Johnson to incorporate the high and low resolution modes with varying sweep speeds as taught by Johnson because it provides for optional variation of sweep rate, scan depth, and spatial resolution based upon user preferences of output signal parameters (Johnson, [0075]-[0076]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkouchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raskar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20140340569) hereinafter Raskar.
Regarding claim 13, primary reference Ohkouchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein the system comprises two or more lock-in amplifiers
However, the analogous art of Raskar of a multi-frequency time of flight camera for optical sensing at different frequencies (abstract) teaches:
wherein the system comprises two or more lock-in amplifiers ([0086]-[0087], lock-in sensors at each respective frequency forms two or more lock-in amplifiers; [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi to incorporate the plurality of lock-in amplifiers as taught by Raskar because it reduces the multipath interference that occurs in depth measurement of optical sensors and provides for higher quality image generation (Raskar, [0004]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Raskar teach all of the limitations of claim 13. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein each of the lock-in amplifiers is arranged to operate in a different portion of a frequency spectrum
However, the analogous art of Raskar of a multi-frequency time of flight camera for optical sensing at different frequencies (abstract) teaches:
wherein each of the lock-in amplifiers is arranged to operate in a different portion of a frequency spectrum ([0086]-[0087], lock-in sensors at each respective frequency forms two or more lock-in amplifiers; [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Raskar to incorporate the plurality of lock-in amplifiers at each frequency as taught by Raskar because it reduces the multipath interference that occurs in depth measurement of optical sensors and provides for higher quality image generation (Raskar, [0004]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 15, the combined references of Ohkouchi and Raskar teach all of the limitations of claim 14. Primary reference Ohkouchi further fails to teach:
wherein each of the lock-in amplifiers is arranged to sweep its selection signals through a different portion of the frequency spectrum, and wherein the system is configured to image the object based on results from each of the lock-in amplifiers
However, the analogous art of Raskar of a multi-frequency time of flight camera for optical sensing at different frequencies (abstract) teaches:
wherein each of the lock-in amplifiers is arranged to sweep its selection signals through a different portion of the frequency spectrum, and wherein the system is configured to image the object based on results from each of the lock-in amplifiers ([0086]-[0087], lock-in sensors at each respective frequency forms two or more lock-in amplifiers; [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source and detector imaging system with lock-in amplifier of Ohkouchi and Raskar to incorporate the plurality of lock-in amplifiers at each frequency as taught by Raskar because it reduces the multipath interference that occurs in depth measurement of optical sensors and provides for higher quality image generation (Raskar, [0004]-[0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mohseni et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200333245) teaches to a interferometric parallel detection system and method for light processing of received signals.
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798