Application Status
Claims 16-30 are pending and have been examined in this application
This communication is the first action on the merits
Claims 16-30 are rejected herein
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on *** and reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites “configured to make it possible to output the data.” It is unclear whether “make it possible” is meant to be a structural or functional limitation when combined with “configured to.” This can be amended to remove “to make it possible.”
Claims 24, 28, and 29 are similarly indefinite for the same reason and may be amended in the same way as claim 16.
Claims 17-23, 25-27, and 30 are similarly rejected for their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16,17, 20, 22-24, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corghi (European Pat. No. EP 3686552 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Corghi teaches a holding apparatus for mounting and holding a calibration panel on a stand, the holding apparatus comprising: a mechanical connecting device configured to mechanically connect the holding apparatus(4) to the stand(3) (stand 3 is connected to holding apparatus 4 which holds and mounts the calibration panel);a holder(the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 is a holder for calibration panel 42) which allows the calibration panel (42) to be mounted on the holding apparatus; a sensor device configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand to be determined (36 and 38); and(i) a transmitting device configured to transmit the data which allow a current position of the holding apparatus to be determined(see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured), and/or (ii) an output device configured to make it possible to output the data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined, wherein the output device includes a display device (see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen).
Regarding claim 17, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the sensor device includes at least one optical sensor(see paragraph 0090, the height distance meter is an optical distance sensor).
Regarding claim 20, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the holding apparatus further comprises a data processing device(10) which is configured to process the data supplied by the sensor device in order to determine the current position of the holding apparatus(10 is able to process the data supplied by 36 and 38 to determine the current position of the holding apparatus).
Regarding claim 22, the holding apparatus according to claim 16, further comprising an input device which allows data and/or commands to be input into the holding apparatus (computer 102 is configured to receive input see Abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 16, wherein: the sensor device includes a first sensor and a second sensor (see paragraphs 165-168 disclosing two sensors); the first sensor is configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined along a first direction; the second sensor is configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined along a second direction which is not oriented in parallel with the first direction; the second direction is oriented orthogonally to the first direction(the two sensors are orthogonal to one another, see paragraph 167 where the two sensors are mounted to make a 90 degree angle with one another, both sensors are used to detect the orientation of the support structure 3 which allows the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined).
Regarding claim 24, Corghi teaches a calibration device for calibrating an image capture device of a driver assistance system, the calibration device comprising: a stand(3); and at least one holding apparatus which can be mounted movably on the stand(holding apparatus 4 attaches to the stand and holds the calibration panel),each of the at least one holding apparatus including: a mechanical connecting device configured to mechanically connect the holding apparatus to the stand(4 is held to 3 by carriage 43 which is a mechanical coupling device), a holder which allows the calibration panel to be mounted on the holding apparatus(a holder is used to attach 42 to 4), a sensor device configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand to be determined(36 and 38), and (i) a transmitting device configured to transmit the data which allow a current position of the holding apparatus to be determined (see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured),, and/or (ii) an output device configured to make it possible to output the data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined, wherein the output device includes a display device(see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen). ; wherein the calibration device includes a support which is mounted on the stand in a height-adjustable manner, and wherein the at least one holding apparatus can be mounted movably on the height-adjustable support(carriage 43 is slidable in the vertical direction, the holding apparatus 4 can be moved in carriage 43 see paragraph 157).
Regarding claim 28, Corghi teaches a method for determining a position of a calibration panel on a calibration device, the calibration device including: a stand (3), and at least one holding apparatus which can be mounted movably on the stand(holding apparatus 4), each of the at least one holding apparatus including: a mechanical connecting device configured to mechanically connect the holding apparatus to the stand(carriage 43 connects 3 to 4), a holder which allows the calibration panel to be mounted on the holding apparatus the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 is a holder for calibration panel 42),a sensor device configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand to be determined(36 and 38), and(i) a transmitting device configured to transmit the data which allow a current position of the holding apparatus to be determined (see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured), and/or (ii) an output device configured to make it possible to output the data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined, wherein the output device includes a display device(see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen), wherein the calibration device includes a support which is mounted on the stand in a height-adjustable manner(carriage 43 is slidable in the vertical direction, the holding apparatus 4 can be moved vertically in carriage 43 see paragraph 157), and wherein the at least one holding apparatus can be mounted movably on the height-adjustable support, the method comprising the following steps: arranging the calibration panel on or in the holder of the holding apparatus (panel 42 may be placed on 4) and determining the position of the holding apparatus on the calibration device using the sensor device (36 and 38 can measure and determine the position of the holding apparatus); and (i) transmitting data which represent the determined position of the holding apparatus on the calibration device using the transmitting device determined (see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured)and/or (ii) outputting or displaying the data using the output device( see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen).
Regarding claim 29, Corghi teaches a method for positioning a calibration panel on a calibration device, the calibration device including: a stand (3), and at least one holding apparatus(4) which can be mounted movably on the stand(4 may be mounted on 3 with carriage 43), each of the at least one holding apparatus including: a mechanical connecting device configured to mechanically connect the holding apparatus to the stand(carriage 43 connects 3 to 4), a holder which allows the calibration panel to be mounted on the holding apparatus the vehicle calibration assistance structure 4 is a holder for calibration panel 42, a sensor device configured to provide data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand to be determined(36 and 38), and(i) a transmitting device configured to transmit the data which allow a current position of the holding apparatus to be determined(see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured), and/or (ii) an output device configured to make it possible to output the data which allow the current position of the holding apparatus to be determined, wherein the output device includes a display device(see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen),wherein the calibration device includes a support which is mounted on the stand in a height-adjustable manner (carriage 43 is slidable in the vertical direction, the holding apparatus 4 can be moved vertically in carriage 43 see paragraph 157), and wherein the at least one holding apparatus can be mounted movably on the height-adjustable support, the method comprising the following steps: determining the position of the holding apparatus on the calibration device by: arranging the calibration panel on or in the holder of the holding apparatus(panel 42 may be placed on 4) and determining the position of the holding apparatus on the calibration device using the sensor device(36 and 38 can measure and determine the position of the holding apparatus), and (i) transmitting data which represent the determined position of the holding apparatus on the calibration device using the transmitting device(see paragraph 0091, the distance meter may be wirelessly connected to transmit a signal representing the height measured), and/or (ii) outputting or displaying the data using the output device( see paragraph 0079, includes an output unit which displays derived data, including position, with a screen); and changing the position of the holding apparatus until the determined position of the holding apparatus corresponds to a specified position, including: (i) changing the position of the holding apparatus by motor(see paragraph 0048, the vehicle calibration assistance structure may be moved by means of an actuator) or (ii) changing the position of the holding apparatus manually(see paragraph 0049, the vehicle calibration assistance structure may be moved manually).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corghi (European Pat. No. EP 3686552 A1) in view of Hinderling (U.S. Pat. No. US 20200166340 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 17. Corghi does not teach wherein the holding apparatus has at least one optical sensor which is configured to detect an optical pattern formed on a floor in order to be able to determine a position of the optical pattern on the floor.
Hinderling teaches wherein the holding apparatus has at least one optical sensor which is configured to detect an optical pattern formed on a floor in order to be able to determine a position of the optical pattern on the floor. (see paragraph 0026 where a measuring camera unit and inclination sensor which defines an optical sensor determines the location of the module in relation to the ground mark and/or a visual pattern)
Corghi and Hinderling are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an optical sensor capable of detecting an optical pattern formed on a floor in order to be able to determine a position of the optical pattern on the floor. The motivation would have been to calibrate the device to a fixed reference point such as an optical pattern on the floor.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corghi (European Pat. No. EP 3686552 A1) in view of Bartkowiak(U.S. Pat. No. US 11448740 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 17. Corghi does not teach wherein: the holding apparatus has at least one angle sensor which allows a roll angle and/or pitch angle of the support to be determined; the at least one angle sensor is equipped with an angle sensor display device which can be read by an optical sensor of the holding apparatus.
Bartkowiak teaches a sensor calibration device wherein: the holding apparatus has at least one angle sensor(alignment sensor 705) which allows a roll angle and/or pitch angle of the support to be determined; the at least one angle sensor is equipped with an angle sensor display device which can be read by an optical sensor of the holding apparatus(the angle sensor display may be shown visually, see column 8 lines 4-5, and may be read by an optical sensor, see column 7 lines 65-67).
Corghi and Bartkowiak are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an angle alignment sensor with a display device that can be read by an optical sensor of the holding apparatus. The motivation would have been to make measurements of the position or relative angle of the sensor calibration device when functionally assembled (see lines 61-64 of Barthkowiak).
Claim(s) 21, 25- 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corghi (European Pat. No. EP 3686552 A1) in view of Jefferies (U.S. Pat. No. US 20220234596 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Corghi teaches the holding apparatus according to claim 16. Corghi does not teach wherein: the holding apparatus further comprises an identification device which makes it possible to identify a calibration panel arranged in the holder of the holding apparatus; the identification device includes an RFID reader which is configured to read identification data from an RFID element.
Jefferies teaches a target alignment system wherein: the holding apparatus further comprises an identification device (67) which makes it possible to identify a calibration panel arranged in the holder of the holding apparatus (59); the identification device includes an RFID reader which is configured to read identification data from an RFID element (computing device 67 can read RFID tag 59).
Corghi and Jefferies are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a RFID reader in to read identification data on the calibration panel. The motivation would have been to ensure that the correct calibration target is used for the given vehicle and sensor at issue (see paragraph 0040 of Jefferies).
Regarding claim 25, Corghi teaches the calibration device according to claim 24. Corghi does not teach wherein: at least one optically readable scale is formed on the stand; and the at least one holding apparatus has at least one optical sensor which is configured to determine the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand by reading the at least one optically readable scale.
Jefferies teaches wherein: at least one optically readable scale is formed on the stand; and the at least one holding apparatus has at least one optical sensor which is configured to determine the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand by reading the at least one optically readable scale. (See paragraph 0054, The desired and actual vertical heights may be displayed on display screen 65, where the actual height may be obtained via the height sensor 82 discussed above, and/or based on the known dimensions of stand 24 and the controlled movement of actuator 54. 82 is an optical sensor that determines the actual height by reading the data which is output on the optically readable scale 65)
Corghi and Jefferies are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an optical sensor configured to determine the current position of the holding apparatus on the stand by reading the at least one optically readable scale. The motivation would have been to correct the vertical height to which the target mount is to be positioned (see paragraph 0054 of Jefferies).
Regarding claim 26, Corghi as modified teaches the calibration device according to claim 25, wherein: the stand has a first optically readable scale and a second optically readable scale; the at least one holding apparatus has a first optical sensor which is configured to determine the current position of the holding apparatus along a first direction by reading the first optically readable scale (See paragraph 0054, The desired and actual vertical heights may be displayed on display screen 65, where the actual height may be obtained via the height sensor 82 discussed above, and/or based on the known dimensions of stand 24 and the controlled movement of actuator 54. 82 is an optical sensor that determines the actual height by reading the data which is output on the optically readable scale 65) ;the at least one holding apparatus has a second optical sensor which is configured to determine the current position of the holding apparatus along a second direction by reading the second optically readable scale (See MPEP duplication of parts 2144.04, it is shown in Corghi that multiple sensors can be used and they may be oriented orthogonal to one another, see paragraph 167 Corghi); and the second direction is not oriented in parallel with the first direction, wherein the second direction is oriented orthogonally to the first direction.
Regarding claim 27, Corghi teaches the calibration device according to claim 24, further comprising: at least one calibration panel which can be arranged on or in the holder of the holding apparatus (42 may be placed on 4). Corghi does not teach wherein: the calibration panel has an RFID element which contains information about the calibration panel and/or about a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device; and/or the calibration panel has an optical code which can be read by an optical sensor of the holding apparatus, wherein the optical code contains information about the calibration panel and/or about a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device.
Jefferies teaches a target alignment system the calibration panel has an RFID element(59) which contains information about the calibration panel and/or about a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device(RFID tag contains information about the calibration target see paragraph 0040); and/or the calibration panel has an optical code which can be read by an optical sensor of the holding apparatus (computing device 67 is an optical sensor that can read RFID tag 59), wherein the optical code contains information about the calibration panel and/or about a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device(RFID tag is an optical code that contains information about the calibration target see paragraph 0040).
Corghi and Jefferies are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a RFID reader in to read identification data on the calibration panel. The motivation would have been to ensure that the correct calibration target is used for the given vehicle and sensor at issue (see paragraph 0040 of Jefferies).
Regarding claim 30, Corghi teaches the method according to claim 29. Corghi does not teach wherein the method further comprises: identifying the calibration panel including:(i) reading data from an RFID element mounted on the calibration panel, which data identify the calibration panel and/or a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device; and/or (ii) using an optical sensor to detect an optical code mounted on the calibration panel, wherein the optical code contains information which uniquely identifies the calibration panel and/or a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device.
Jefferies teaches identifying the calibration panel including:(i) reading data from an RFID element mounted on the calibration panel(computing device 67 can read RFID tag 59), which data identify the calibration panel and/or a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device(RFID tag contains information about the calibration target see paragraph 0040) ; and/or (ii) using an optical sensor to detect an optical code mounted on the calibration panel(computing device 67 is an optical sensor that can read RFID tag 59), wherein the optical code contains information which uniquely identifies the calibration panel and/or a specified position of the calibration panel on the calibration device(RFID tag contains information about the calibration target see paragraph 0040).
Corghi and Jefferies are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. calibrating sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the step of reading a RFID tag to read data on the calibration panel. The motivation would have been to ensure that the correct calibration target is used for the given vehicle and sensor at issue (see paragraph 0040 of Jefferies).
Conclusion
/W.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619