DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/109,621 filed on 03/07/2025. Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1 and 10-12 are independent claims.
Priority
The certified copy has been filed with application no CN202211105655.6, filed on 09/08/2022 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim phrase “the first intermediate shaft is connected with at least one transmission gear which selectively meshes with one of the third gear, fourth gear, the fifth gear or the sixth gear” in lines 17-19 and “and each of plurality of second transmission gears connected with the second transmission shaft selectively meshes with one of the third gear, fourth gear, the fifth gear or the sixth gear” in lines 23-26 render the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the at least one transmission gear or the plurality of second transmission gears selectively meshes with one of the third gear, fourth gear, the fifth gear or the sixth gear. For example, the first transmission gear G10 as shown in fig. 6 is always meshing with the sixth gear G6. Similar feature has been observed in fig. 5 too. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20230009105 A1)(hereinafter “Kwon”) in view of GE et al. (US20200062105A1)(hereinafter “GE”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a multi-position variable speed transmission system for a hybrid electric vehicle (figs. 1-10, para 34, fig. 1 is applied unless mentioned), comprising
an engine (ENG, fig. 1),
a first motor (MG1),
a second motor (MG2),
an input shaft (IN1) and
an output shaft ( e.g. OUT para 34, has no character numeral, the shaft contains output gear OG as shown in fig. 1), wherein the input shaft (IN1) is connected to the engine (ENG);
the multi- position variable speed transmission system further comprises a first intermediate shaft (IN2), a second intermediate shaft (IN3), a first synchronizer (SC3), a second synchronizer (SC2) and a third synchronizer (SC1);
the first intermediate shaft (IN2) is connected to the first motor (MG1), and the second intermediate shaft (IN3) is connected to the second motor (MG2);
the first synchronizer (SC3) is connected to the input shaft (IN1), a first gear (G10) and a second gear (G11) are sleeved on the input shaft (IN1), and the input shaft (IN1) is connected or disconnected with the first gear (G10) or the second gear (G11) respectively through the first synchronizer (SC3);
both the second synchronizer (SC2) and the third synchronizer (SC1) are connected to the output shaft (OUT), a third gear (G3), a fourth gear (G4), a fifth gear (G5) and a sixth gear (G6), wherein the third gear and the fourth gear are sleeved on the output shaft, the output shaft (OUT) is connected or disconnected with the third gear (G3) or the fourth gear (G4) respectively through the second synchronizer (SC1),
the first intermediate shaft (IN2) is connected with at least one first transmission gear (e.g. G1, G2) which selectively meshes with one of the third gear (G3), the fourth gear (G4) sleeved on the output shaft (OUT),
the second intermediate shaft (IN3) is connected with a plurality of second transmission gears (e.g. G7, G8), and each of the plurality of second transmission gears (G7, G8) connected with the second intermediate shaft (IN3) meshes with one of the fifth gear (G5) or the sixth gear (G6),
However, Kwon fails to disclose the fifth gear and the sixth gear are sleeved on the output shaft, the output shaft is connected or disconnected with the fifth gear or the sixth gear respectively through the third synchronizer; and at least one of: the first gear or the second gear respectively meshes with one of the third gear, the fourth gear, the fifth gear or the sixth gear sleeved on the output shaft.
GE teaches a similar kind of transmission system for a hybrid vehicle comprising a multi-position variable speed transmission as shown in fig. 1 wherein a first intermediate shaft (6), a second intermediate shaft (31), a first synchronizer (12), a second synchronizer (23) and a third synchronizer (20);
and the second intermediate shaft (31) is connected to the motor (33);
the first synchronizer (12) is connected to an input shaft (14), a first gear (11) and a second gear (13) are sleeved on the input shaft (14), and the input shaft (14) is connected or disconnected with the first gear (11) or the second gear (13) respectively through the first synchronizer (12);
both the second synchronizer (23) and the third synchronizer (20) are connected to an output shaft (25), a third gear (22), a fourth gear (24), a fifth gear (19) and a sixth gear (21) are sleeved on the output shaft (25), the output shaft (23) is connected or disconnected with the third gear (22) or the fourth gear (23) respectively through the second synchronizer (23),
the first intermediate shaft (6) is connected with at least one first transmission gear (e.g. 9, 10) which selectively meshes with one of the fifth gear (19), the sixth gear (21) sleeved on the output shaft (25),
the second intermediate shaft (31) is connected with a plurality of second transmission gears (e.g. 29, 30), and each of the plurality of second transmission gears (29, 30) connected with the second intermediate shaft (31) meshes with the third gear (22),
at least one of: the first gear (11) or the second gear (12) respectively meshes with one of the third gear (22) sleeved on the output shaft (25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon by substituting the transmission with the transmission as taught by GE in order to achieve a transmission including a gear box that can be effectively downsized, and thus the space occupied by the hybrid power driving system including the gear box can be reduced, the cost thereof can also be reduced, and also the cooperating efficiency between the internal combustion engine and the electric motor can be improved. (see para 7 of GE)
Regarding claim 8, Kwon/GE discloses the multi-position variable speed transmission system for a hybrid electric vehicle as modified according to claim 1, Kwon further discloses wherein the first synchronizer, the second synchronizer and the third synchronizer are clutches. (see para 47)
Regarding claim 9, Kwon/GE discloses the multi-position variable speed transmission system for a hybrid electric vehicle as modified according to claim 1, Kwon further discloses wherein the multi-position variable speed transmission system has any one or more of the following operating modes:
electric vehicle mode (e.g. EV, fig. 2) in which at least one of the first motor or the second motor are involved in driving the output shaft;
series hybrid mode (e.g. HEV, fig. 2) in which the engine is involved in driving the output shaft, or the engine and the first motor are involved in driving the output shaft, and the second motor is involved in power generation;
and parallel hybrid mode in which the engine is involved in driving the output shaft, the second motor is involved in synchronization during gear shifting, and the first motor is involved in driving the output shaft during the gear shifting. (see fig. 2 of Kwon)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-12 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious both the first synchronizer and the second synchronizer are connected to the input shaft, a first gear, a second gear, a third gear and a fourth gear are sleeved on the input shaft, the input shaft is connected or disconnected with the first gear or the second gear respectively through the first synchronizer, and the input shaft is connected or disconnected with the third gear or the fourth gear respectively through the second synchronizer; the third synchronizer is connected to the output shaft, a fifth gear and a sixth gear are sleeved on the output shaft, the output shaft is connected or disconnected with the fifth gear or the sixth gear respectively through the third synchronizer; the first intermediate shaft is connected with two first transmission gears which are a seventh gear and an eighth gear respectively, the seventh gear meshes with the third gear, and the eighth gear meshes with the fourth gear; the second intermediate shaft is connected with two second transmission gears which are a ninth gear and a tenth gear respectively, the ninth gear meshes with the first gear, and the tenth gear meshes with the second gear; and the first gear meshes with the fifth gear, and the second gear meshes with the sixth gear, in combination with the other elements required by the claim.
For example, prior art of record GE et al. (US20200062105A1) discloses a similar kind of transmission system for a hybrid vehicle comprising a multi-position variable speed transmission as shown in fig. 1 that meets most of the limitations of claim 1, however GE does not appear to disclose both the first synchronizer and the second synchronizer are connected to the input shaft, a first gear, a second gear, a third gear and a fourth gear are sleeved on the input shaft, the input shaft is connected or disconnected with the first gear or the second gear respectively through the first synchronizer, and the input shaft is connected or disconnected with the third gear or the fourth gear respectively through the second synchronizer; the third synchronizer is connected to the output shaft, a fifth gear and a sixth gear are sleeved on the output shaft, the output shaft is connected or disconnected with the fifth gear or the sixth gear respectively through the third synchronizer; the first intermediate shaft is connected with two first transmission gears which are a seventh gear and an eighth gear respectively, the seventh gear meshes with the third gear, and the eighth gear meshes with the fourth gear; the second intermediate shaft is connected with two second transmission gears which are a ninth gear and a tenth gear respectively, the ninth gear meshes with the first gear, and the tenth gear meshes with the second gear; and the first gear meshes with the fifth gear, and the second gear meshes with the sixth gear. There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify GE to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the sixth gear meshes with the eighth gear, in combination with the other elements required by the claim.
For example, prior art of record GE et al. (US20200062105A1) discloses a similar kind of transmission system for a hybrid vehicle comprising a multi-position variable speed transmission as shown in fig. 4 that meets most of the limitations of claim 11, however GE does not appear to disclose the sixth gear meshes with the eighth gear. There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify GE to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the third synchronizer is connected to the first intermediate shaft and corresponds to one end of the input shaft and the first intermediate shaft is further connected or disconnected with the input shaft through the third synchronizer; and the fifth gear meshes with the sixth gear, in combination with the other elements required by the claim.
For example, prior art of record GE et al. (US20200062105A1) discloses a similar kind of transmission system for a hybrid vehicle comprising a multi-position variable speed transmission as shown in fig. 1 that meets most of the limitations of claim 1, however GE does not appear to disclose the third synchronizer is connected to the first intermediate shaft and corresponds to one end of the input shaft and the first intermediate shaft is further connected or disconnected with the input shaft through the third synchronizer; and the fifth gear meshes with the sixth gear. There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify GE to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 2-7 and 13-18 are objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this office action.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ore et al. (US 11607948 B1) discloses a power train 102 may include the engine 104, and one or more continuously variable power (CVP) assemblies 220, 230. The powertrain 102 also includes a variable power shift transmission 112 that operates to transfer power between the engine 104, the CVP assemblies 220, 230, and one or more output shafts (e.g., output shaft 176). Each CVP assembly 220, 230 may include at least one continuously variable machine (CVM), such as an electrical machine or a hydraulic machine. The transmission 112 includes a plurality of components, such as shafts, gears, gear sets, clutches, brakes, and/or other components, that interconnect to enable the transfer of power amongst the engine 104, the first CVM 222, and/or the second CVM 232 to appropriately power the output shaft 176 and/or one or more other output members.
Kaltenbach et al. (US 20230030456 A1) teaches a transmission (2) of a motor vehicle includes a first sub-transmission (5) having a first input shaft (7) and a countershaft (11) coupled to the first input shaft (7) via a constant ratio. The transmission further includes a second sub-transmission (6) having a second input shaft (8) and being a planetary transmission having a sun gear (24), a ring gear (22), and a carrier (23). The transmission also includes an output shaft (9) and an engaging device (S3). A first ratio for the second prime mover (4) is formed in a first engagement position (E) of the engaging device (S3), a second ratio for the second prime mover (4) is formed in a second engagement position (F) of the engaging device (S3), and at least one third ratio for the second prime mover (4) is formed in a third engagement position (N) of the engaging device (S3).
TOYOTA et al. (US 20180147931 A1) discloses a hybrid vehicle including an engine, two motors and three synchronizers as shown in fig. 1.
Conclusion
/F.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655