CTNF 19/109,625 CTNF 84815 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 1. Claim s 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2025/0286679) in view of Sun611’ (US 2024/0291611) . 2. As per claim 1, Sun teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a network node, a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration that maps multiple SRS ports across multiple symbols using a time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) codebook (Sun, ¶0086 “… UE receive an SRS configuration … TD-OCC); transmitting a SRS from each SRS port using the multiple symbols (Sun, ¶0088 0089 “… SRS… transmits …); While Sun doesn’t explicitly mention, Sun611’ teaches receiving feedback from the network node based on the SRS from each SRS port (Sun611’, ¶0124 “… receives … from BS …”); and configuring to transmit from one or more ports based on the feedback (Sun611’, “… in response … UE transmits based on the new … received by the UE …”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Sun and Sun611’ as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the benefit of efficient and/or improved transmission of SRS symbols. 3. Claims 8 and 14 are similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above. 4. As per claim 2, Sun in view of Sun611’ teaches the method of claim 1, wherein corresponding SRS ports in different symbols have one or both of a same comb offset and a same cyclic shift (Sun, Table 6.4.1.4 “… SRS … ports … offset ... cyclic shift …”). 5. Claims 10 and 16 are similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reason discussed above. 6. As per claim 4, Sun in view of Sun611’ teaches the method of claim 1, wherein corresponding SRS ports in different symbols have a different comb offset, a different cyclic shift, or both a different comb offset and a different cyclic shift (Sun, Table 6.4.1.4 “… SRS … ports … offset ... cyclic shift …”). 7. Claims 11 and 17 are similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above. 8. As per claim 7, Sun in view of Sun611’ teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising frequency hopping while transmitting the SRS, wherein a number of repeated symbols in SRS intra-frequency hopping must be divisible by a length of a TD-OCC (Sun, ¶0131). 9. Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 7 for obviousness reason discussed above . 07-21-aia AIA 10. Claim s 2, 5-6, 9, 12-13, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2025/0286679) in view of Sun611’ (US 2024/0291611), and further in view of Elshafie (US 2024/0171351) . 11. Sun in view of Sun611’ teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1). While Sun in view of Sun611’ doesn’t explicitly mention, Elshafie teaches wherein the TD-OCC codebook is created from an identity matrix (Elshafie, ¶0105-0107 “… TD-OCC … [1,1] …”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Sun, Sun611’ and Elshafie as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the benefit of efficient and/or improved transmission of SRS symbols. 12. Claims 9 and 15 are similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reason discussed above. 13. As per claim 5, Sun in view of Sun611’ and Elshafie teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the TD-OCC codebook is created from Hadamard matrix (Elshafie, ¶0142 “… TD-OCC … Hadamard matrix…”). 14. Claims 12 and 18 are similarly analyzed as claim 5 for obviousness reason discussed above. 15. As per claim 6, Sun in view of Sun611’ and Elshafie teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the TD-OCC codebook is created from discrete Fourier transform (DFT) matrix (Elshafie, ¶0142 “… TD-OCC … DFT matrix…”). 16. Claims 13 and 19 are similarly analyzed as claim 6 for obviousness reason discussed above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZEWDU A KASSA whose telephone number is (571)270-5253. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Payne can be reached at 5712723024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ZEWDU A. KASSA Examiner Art Unit 2637 /ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 Application/Control Number: 19/109,625 Page 2 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 19/109,625 Page 3 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 19/109,625 Page 4 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 19/109,625 Page 5 Art Unit: 2635