DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is a response to a preliminary amendment filed on 03/07/2025, wherein claims 1-15 are amended, and claims 16-20 are newly added. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 11 and 18 recite “a visited cell list of user equipment (UE) and duration of UE stay in each visited cell during the QoE measurement is performed” which is grammatically incorrect.
Claims 3, 11 and 18 recite “a radio condition at timing that the values of the one or more QoE metrics are received from upper layer” which is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 18 does not define the acronym UE.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “receiving first information at least indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) metrics to a node”. It is unclear whether the UE is receiving the first information from a node or receiving first information that is directed to another node; therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite. For examination purposes, in alignment with independent claim 9, this limitation will be interpreted as reciting “receiving first information at least indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) metrics from a RAN node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2024/0205875), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a wireless communication apparatus (Wang, [0044]: first node implemented as a base station), comprising:
at least one memory (Wang, [0640]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to (Wang, [0637], [0640]):
transmit first information at least indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) metrics to a node (Wang, [0540]: first node sends request (first information) to second node (node); [0270]: the request (first information) identifies requested QoE parameters or evaluation values (QoE metrics) for either prediction or reporting), wherein the first information is a QoE history information request (Wang, [0229], [0271]: the eight message (first information) requests recorded values for a certain period of time or a certain time point (QoE history information request)) or QoE prediction configuration information (Wang, [0229], [0238]: the eight message (first information) specifies the requested QoE prediction interval (QoE prediction configuration information)); and
receive second information at least indicating the one or more QoE metrics and values of the one or more QoE metrics (Wang, [0550]: second node returns the QoE information or prediction results (second information) to the first node; [0279], [0297]: the tenth message (second information) identifies the reported QoE parameters (QoE metrics) and their actual or predicted evaluation values (values)), wherein the second information is a QoE history information report in response to the QoE history information request (Wang, [0297]: returning tenth message (second information) including collected QoE information (QoE history information report) according to the eight message (QoE history information request); [0301]: the reported content includes average values recorded for a certain period of time or at a certain time point (QoE history information report)) or a QoE prediction information report in response to the QoE prediction configuration information (Wang, [0272]: returning tenth message (second information) including predicted QoE information (QoE prediction information report) according to the eight message (QoE prediction configuration information)).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the QoE history information request further indicates at least one of (Wang, [0229]: the eighth message (QoE history information request) includes: ):
an indicator which indicates whether the QoE history information needs to be reported (Wang, [0258]: a request type (indicator) used to indicate that it is a QoE reporting (QoE history information) request);
a service type which indicates a type of the QoE history information to be collected;
an area scope which indicates at least one object for which the QoE history information is required (Wang, [0256]: the requested counting range through an identity or identity list (area scope); the identity may be a Physical-layer Cell identity (at least one object));
a trigger condition which indicates criteria of triggering QoE history information reporting (Wang, [0247]-[0248]: reporting trigger conditions; conditions include a change in the QoE situation); and
time information which indicates latest time that the QoE history information is expected to be received.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the QoE prediction configuration information further indicates at least one of (Wang, [0229]: the eight message (QoE prediction configuration information) includes: ):
an indicator which indicates whether QoE prediction information needs to be reported (Wang, [0235]: a field to indicate whether QoE prediction is requested);
time information which indicates latest time that QoE prediction information is expected to be received (Wang, [0259]);
an analytics period which indicates a time interval in the future that QoE prediction information will be located (Wang, [0238]);
a trigger condition which indicates criteria of triggering QoE prediction information reporting (Wang, [0247]);
a radio condition which indicates an environment under which QoE prediction information will be applied (Wang, [256]); and
a preferred level of accuracy which indicates a preferred accuracy level of QoE prediction information.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the QoE prediction information report further comprises at least one of (Wang, [0275]: the tenth message (QoE prediction information report) includes: ):
an indicator which indicates whether QoE information report is predicted (Wang, [0286]: a prediction identity (indicator used to indicate whether the reported QoE information is prediction content or not);
a radio condition which indicates an environment under which QoE prediction information will be applied (Wang, [0300]: a Physical-layer Cell identity (radio condition) to indicate the cell within the reported prediction range);
a time stamp of analytics generation which indicates when QoE prediction information was generated (Wang, [0290]);
a validity period which indicates a time period for which QoE predication information is valid (Wang, [0289]); and
a confidence level which indicates probability assertion in QoE prediction.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the wireless communication apparatus is a radio access network (RAN) node, the node is a user equipment (UE) (Wang, [0044], [0041]), and the RAN node is configured to receive a QoE prediction capability report from the UE (Wang, [0545]: second node (UE) transmits a response to the first node (RAN node) indicating whether the second node can perform QoE prediction (QoE prediction capability report)).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses a user equipment (UE) (Wang, [0044]: second node implemented as a UE), comprising:
at least one memory (Wang, [0640]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Wang, [0639], [0640]):
receive first information at least indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) metrics from a radio access network (RAN) node (Wang, [0540], [0044]: second node receives request (first information) from first node (RAN node); [0270]: the request (first information) identifies requested QoE parameters or evaluation values (QoE metrics) for either prediction or reporting), wherein the first information is a QoE history information request (Wang, [0229], [0271]: the eight message (first information) requests recorded values for a certain period of time or a certain time point (QoE history information request)) or QoE prediction configuration information (Wang, [0229], [0238]: the eight message (first information) specifies the requested QoE prediction interval (QoE prediction configuration information)); and
transmit second information at least indicating the one or more QoE metrics and values of the one or more QoE metrics (Wang, [0550]: second node returns the QoE information or prediction results (second information) to the first node; [0279], [0297]: the tenth message (second information) identifies the reported QoE parameters (QoE metrics) and their actual or predicted evaluation values (values)), wherein the second information is a QoE history information report in response to the QoE history information request (Wang, [0297]: returning tenth message (second information) including collected QoE information (QoE history information report) according to the eight message (QoE history information request); [0301]: the reported content includes average values recorded for a certain period of time or at a certain time point (QoE history information report)) or a QoE prediction information report in response to the QoE prediction configuration information (Wang, [0272]: returning tenth message (second information) including predicted QoE information (QoE prediction information report) according to the eight message (QoE prediction configuration information)).
Regarding claims 10, 12 and 13, the limitations have been addressed in the rejections of claims 2, 4 and 5, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a QoE prediction capability report to the RAN node (Wang, [0545]: second node (UE) transmits a response to the first node (RAN node) indicating whether the second node can perform QoE prediction (QoE prediction capability report)).
Regarding claim 15, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 9, and furthermore Wang discloses a processor for wireless communication (Wang, [0639]), comprising: at least one controller (Wang, [0639]: the processor performs the second node method; [the “at least one controller” is the control functionality/logic of the processor) coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (Wang, [0640]).
Regarding claims 17, 19 and 20, the limitations have been addressed in the rejections of claims 2, 4 and 5, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jeong (US 2023/0370878).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the QoE history information comprises one or more entries of QoE measurement results (Wang, [0301]: reporting recorded time point values or period averages (measurement results/entries)), and each entry includes the one or more QoE metrics and the values of the one or more QoE metrics within a configured valid area for a service type (Wang, [0256]: includes the requested range through cell and service identities; [0297]: reports QoE parameters and evaluation parameters).
Wang does not explicitly disclose at least one of the following parameters besides: start time and end time of QoE measurement indicated by application layer; a visited cell list of user equipment (UE) and duration of UE stay in each visited cell during the QoE measurement is performed; a radio condition at timing that the values of the one or more QoE metrics are received from upper layer; and a time stamp that the values of the one or more QoE metrics are received from upper layer.
However, Jeong discloses wherein the QoE history information comprises one or more entries of QoE measurement results (Jeong, [0114]: transmitting stored application layer QoE measurement results (QoE history information); [0209]: the measurement results include multiple MeasurementReportAppLayer-r17-IEs (entries)), and each entry includes at least one of the following parameters besides the one or more QoE metrics and the values of the one or more QoE metrics within a configured valid area for a service type (Jeong, [0077]: applying area scope and service type conditions to QoE measurements; Table 28 & [0223]: disclose a separate time indicator for each report entry along with measurement values such as initial playout delay):
start time and end time of QoE measurement indicated by application layer;
a visited cell list of user equipment (UE) and duration of UE stay in each visited cell during the QoE measurement is performed;
a radio condition at timing that the values of the one or more QoE metrics are received from upper layer; and
a time stamp that the values of the one or more QoE metrics are received from upper layer (Jeong, [0223]: separate timestamp for each report entry; [0229]: that time is set to when the UE AS layer receives the QoE measurement from the app layer (upper layer)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang and Jeong before him or her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a system for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Wang, to include per entry timestamp with the QoE measurement results returned as taught by Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the requesting first node to determine the age and temporal order of those results, thereby reducing the risk of making decisions on stale or incorrectly ordered QoE information.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the wireless communication apparatus is a radio access network (RAN) node (Wang, [0044], [0542]), and the first information is received (Wang, [0540]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose from another RAN node, a core network (CN) node or an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) system.
However, Jeong discloses wherein the wireless communication apparatus is a radio access network (RAN) node (Jeong, [0077]: base station; Fig. 4: base station as NG-RAN), and the first information is received from another RAN node, a core network (CN) node or an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) system (Jeong, [0071]: OAM transmits QoE measurement configuration information (first information) to base station (RAN node) via a CN (core network); [0077]: OAM directly transmits the QoE measurement configuration information (first information) directly to the base station (RAN node); the base station then transmits it to UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang and Jeong before him or her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a first node that sends QoE prediction configuration information (first information) to a second node as taught by Wang, to utilize OAM/management-based configuration distribution as taught by Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the QoE information obtained by the first node for handover decisions aligns with network management goals/targets.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the wireless communication apparatus is a radio access network (RAN) node (Wang, [0044], [0542]), and the RAN node is configured to further generate information based on the second information (Wang, [0550], [0553]: second node returns QoE information to the first node (RAN node); first node (RAN node) determines a handover strategy based on the QoE information (second information)).
This embodiment does not explicitly disclose QoE prediction information.
In another embodiment, Wang discloses configured to further generate QoE prediction information based on the second information (Wang, [0604]: a model takes QoE information (second information) as input and produces predicted QoE values (QoE prediction information) as output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang and Jeong before him or her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a first node receiving QoE information from a second node as taught by Wang, to apply a QoE prediction model to the received QoE information as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the first node to use locally generated QoE predictions for handover decisions, thereby supporting predictive network decisions even when the second node provides measurement information rather than predictions.
Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2020/0358670) discloses a consumer NF sending an analytics request identifying “Service Experience” and a target period, with past period requesting statistics and future periods requesting predictions (Lee, [0126], [0190]). The NWDAF returns service experience analytics to the consumer NF including average MOS values (Lee, [0197]-[0198]).
Conclusion
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
/LESA M KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458