Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025 and 08/17/2026 have been considered and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “frame unit”, “robot detection unit”, and an “emergency avoidance unit” in claim 1, “frame unit” and “emergency avoidance unit” in claim 2, “emergency avoidance unit” and “avoidance operation control unit” in claim 3. Support for the “frame unit” can be found within the specification on Page 4 Lines 9-12. The “robot detection unit” cannot be found other than being connected to another “unit” in Fig. 3 as element 750, therefore the “robot detection unit” will be interpreted as software within the robot controller. The “avoidance operation control unit” cannot be found other than being connected to another “unit” in Fig. 3 as element 770, therefore the “robot detection unit” will be interpreted as software within the robot controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the jig frame" in line 4 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kllibarda et al (US 2021/0122062; hereinafter Kllibarda) in view of Shin et al. (US 2025/0332720; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kllibarda discloses a vehicle glass mounting device comprising: a frame unit to be coupled to an end of an arm of a robot for installing a glass for a vehicle (Kllibarda, Para. [0056], Fig. 2A and 2B, Kllibarda discloses a frame unit coupled to the end of a robotic arm for moving and installing glass panels for vehicles, see at least Para. [0036]);
a plurality of suction holders provided on the frame unit, the plurality of suction holders configured to vacuum-suction and hold the glass (Kllibarda, Para. [0072], Kllibarda discloses a plurality of suction holders provided to vacuum hold the glass panels with the vacuum suction device configured with a single suction cup or a plurality of suction cups, see at least Para. [0062]).
Kllibarda fails to explicitly disclose a robot detection unit configured to detect whether a malfunction has occurred in the robot and an emergency avoidance unit configured to move the glass, which is suctioned by the suction holders, outside a collision range with a body of the vehicle to prevent a collision when the malfunction occurs in the robot.
However Shin, in the same field of endeavor of robotic control, discloses a robot detection unit configured to detect whether a malfunction has occurred in the robot (Shin, Para. [0116], Shin discloses the robot is configured to detect an excess torque (i.e. malfunction) has been applied to the robot); and
an emergency avoidance unit configured to move the glass, which is suctioned by the suction holders, outside a collision range with a body of the vehicle to prevent a collision when the malfunction occurs in the robot (Shin, Para. [0116], [0138], Shin discloses the robot is configured to stop all movement when a collision has been detected (i.e. torque exceeded threshold amount)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kllibarda so as to include a collision or malfunction detection unit and perform operations to avoid the collision with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to prevent an accident caused by collision or entrapment, Shin Para. [0116].
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Kllibarda and Shin discloses the glass mounting device of claim 1.
Kllibarda further discloses the frame unit includes a mounting frame fixedly coupled to the end of the arm of the robot and a jig frame spaced apart from the mounting frame and configured to be capable of retracting toward the mounting frame (Kllibarda, Para. [0056-0058], Kllibarda discloses the robotic device includes an end effector coupled to a frame unit, which further is configured to include a further engagement surface for retracting the vacuum coupled frame and glass panel);
the plurality of suction holders are installed on the jig frame (Kllibarda, Para. [0072], Kllibarda discloses a plurality of suction holders provided to vacuum hold the glass panels with the vacuum suction device configured with a single suction cup or a plurality of suction cups, see at least Para. [0062]).
Kllibarda fails to explicitly disclose the emergency avoidance unit is configured to move the jig frame a predetermined distance toward the mounting frame when the malfunction occurs in the robot.
Shin discloses the emergency avoidance unit is configured to move the jig frame a predetermined distance toward the mounting frame when the malfunction occurs in the robot (Shin, Para. [0116], [0138], Shin discloses the robot is configured to stop all movement when a collision has been detected (i.e. torque exceeded threshold amount), with the predetermined distance moved being zero)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kllibarda so as to include perform operations to avoid the collision with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to prevent an accident caused by collision or entrapment, Shin Para. [0116].
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Kllibarda and Shin discloses the glass mounting device of claim 1.
Kllibarda fails to explicitly disclose an avoidance operation control unit configured to control an operation of the avoidance driving cylinder to move the jig frame a predetermined distance toward the mounting frame when the robot detection unit detects the malfunction.
Shin discloses an avoidance driving cylinder fixedly installed on the mounting frame and movably supporting the jig frame (Shin, Para. [0099-0101], Shin discloses a driving cylinder is used for position changes by applying an external load on the driving cylinder); and
an avoidance operation control unit configured to control an operation of the avoidance driving cylinder to move the jig frame a predetermined distance toward the mounting frame when the robot detection unit detects the malfunction (Shin, Para. [0116], [0138], Shin discloses the robot is configured to stop all movement when a collision has been detected (i.e. torque exceeded threshold amount), with the predetermined distance moved being zero)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kllibarda so as to include perform operations to avoid the collision through a driving cylinder with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to prevent an accident caused by collision or entrapment, Shin Para. [0116].
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Kllibarda and Shin discloses the glass mounting device of claim 1.
Kllibarda further discloses a glass mounting system comprising: the robot; the glass mounting device of claim 1 (Kllibarda, Para. [0056], Fig. 2A and 2B, Kllibarda discloses a frame unit coupled to the end of a robotic arm for moving and installing glass panels for vehicles, see at least Para. [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US 2022/0402338) – discloses an automotive glass setting apparatus for accurately installing glass panels on a plurality of vehicle types.
Amsden et al (US 2013/0136565) – discloses a system for picking and placing glass articles from a first location to a second location.
Kim et al. (US 2025/0187685) – discloses a system for assembly a door onto a vehicle by controlling the door through the vacuum suctioning the glass panel portion of the door during installation.
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656