DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application. Claims 3, 5, 7, 9-10, and 14-15 were amended by preliminary amendment.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner would welcome an interview to clarify any of the various rejections seen below in order to expedite prosecution of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 11, the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it merely claims the use of structures, which does not constitute the claiming of the structures as a system or apparatus, nor does it properly constitute a method, lacking explicit steps. See MPEP § 2173.05(q) for guidance. Also see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Regarding claim 14, a computer program product is “software per se” which is not an allowed category of patent eligible subject matter. See MPEP § 2106.03(I). A computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable data medium might well be eligible, however, if the claim further disclosed an eligible method. While claim 14’s parent claim 12 is indeed a patent eligible method, claim 14 lacks a computer-readable non-transitory data storage medium.
Regarding claim 15, for a computer-readable data medium to be patent eligible subject matter, it must be limited as being non-transitory. See In re Nuijten (500 F.3d 1346).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Per MPEP § 2173.05(q), claim 11 is a “use” claim that does not recite steps. Instead of method steps, the claim recites structures that are merely configured to perform actions. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungbluth, et al., US 2020/0307910 (hereinafter Jungbluth) in view of Eckman, et al., US 2018/0300435. Note Jungbluth is a publication of the same assignee as the instant application acceptable under the rules of 35 U.S.C. 102(b) because the publication date was more than a year before the earliest priority date of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1,
Jungbluth discloses:
An automatic storage system (picking device 1: fig. 1) having at least one storage and/or retrieval point (removal point 7: fig. 1) for storage items, having at least one detector (position determination means 35: fig. 1), and having a conveying device (storage lift 3: fig. 1) for transporting the storage items at least to the at least one storage and/or retrieval point,As Jungbluth’s “picking device” 1 is automated and comprises storage lift 3 it constitutes an automatic storage system. Moreover, Jungbluth’s system appears broadly similar to applicant’s exemplary storage system of its disclosure which also comprises a storage lift.
wherein the detector is designed to - detect a position of the conveying device in the storage system and to output a position signal that is representative of the detected position of the conveying device,Jungbluth discloses the operation of the position determination means in [0047].
However, Jungbluth does not explicitly disclose:
and - output a time stamp, with the position signal that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device. While it could be argued that as time remaining until articles are delivered is calculated based on the time of position determination evidently the position determination means outputs a timestamp as claimed. However, Jungbluth does not disclose the timestamp explicitly and so we cite another reference for this teaching.
Eckman, an application in the field of automated warehouse design and simulation teaches:
and - output a time stamp, with the position signal that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device. Eckman teaches the issuance of a timestamp for all significant warehouse events including the detection of the position of the transport device in the form of detecting the arrival of a pallet at a checkpoint in [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Jungbluth to output a time stamp, with the position signal that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device, as taught by Eckman, because Jungbluth’s calculation of time remaining for delivery once the device is detected can only occur on the basis of learning the time of detection of the device, and because the simplest way for an external control device such as Jungbluth’s computer to perform this calculation is using a timestamp generated by the detector. Eckman’s method makes this simple method explicit and its detection and timestamping steps could be directly adopted by Jungbluth.
Regarding claim 2,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the detector is further designed to detect the position of the moving conveying device in the storage system. Jungbluth discloses the device is moving in [0047]. A storage lift moves during its operation.
Regarding claim 3,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the automatic storage system is designed to calculate, as a function of the position signal and the time stamp, a position of the conveying device and/or of a storage item that has been transported by the conveying device at the point in time that is represented in the time stamp, at a different time than the point in time (t0) that is represented in the time stamp. Jungbluth discloses calculating the remaining time to delivery at the retrieval point in [0047]. Of course, the subsequent time the article will be delivered is different from the time t0 at which the measurement was made.
Regarding claim 4,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 3 and also:
wherein the automatic storage system includes a timer module for generating a time signal and/or a timer input for supplying a time signal, and is designed to calculate the position at the other point in time as a function of the time signal. The automatic storage system of Jungbluth could only have determined the time by means of a) a comprised timer module (i.e. a clock), or b) an external time signal indicating the current time as an input to the system. Jungbluth discloses the claimed positional calculation at other points in time based on the calculated speed in [0047], and this limitation is also a consequence of the limitations of parent claim 3.
Regarding claim 5,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein movement data are provided by the automatic storage system, and the automatic storage system is designed to calculate, based on the movement data, a position in the conveying device at a different time than the point in time that is represented in the time stamp. Jungbluth discloses this calculation in [0047] based on the speed of the conveying device, which constitutes the claimed movement data.
Regarding claim 6,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the movement data include at least speed data and/or acceleration data. Jungbluth discloses movement data comprising speed in [0047].
Regarding claim 7,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 2 and also:
wherein the automatic storage system is further designed to calculate a remaining time until arrival of the conveying device and/or of the storage item that is transported by the conveying device at the point in time represented in the time stamp, at a predetermined location in the automatic storage system, and/or a remaining time signal that is representative of the remaining time. Jungbluth discloses the claimed remaining time calculation in [0047].
Regarding claim 9,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the detector in the automatic storage system is situated at a location along a transport path for storage items. Jungbluth’s position determination means 35 is seen in fig. 1 to be situated at a location along the claimed transport path. Moreover, since this means is disclosed in [0047] to detect articles in motion to the storage device retrieval point, it must necessarily be situated along such a transport path.
Regarding claim 10,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the detector
is provided at a conveying device that is movably provided in the automatic storage system, or at a storage item that is transported by the conveying device, or
is provided at a retaining element that is immovably provided in the automatic storage system, on the transport path of the storage items, orJungbluth teaches this placement in fig. 1. Any immovable part of the automatic storage system can be considered a retaining element.
has a two-part design, with a detector element situated at the movable conveying device and/or at the movable storage item that is transported by the conveying device, and a trigger element situated at the immovable retaining element.
Regarding claim 11,
Jungbluth discloses:
Use of a detector (position determination means 35: fig. 1) in an automatic storage system (picking device 1: fig. 1) for determining the position of a conveying device (storage lift 3: fig. 1) and/or of a storage item that is transported by the conveying device,
wherein the detector is designed to determine a position of the conveying device and/or of the storage item that is transported by the conveying device and output a position signal that represents the position of the conveying device and/or of the storage item that is transported by the conveying device, Jungbluth discloses the operation of the position determination means in [0047].
However, Jungbluth does not explicitly disclose:
and output a time stamp with the position signal, which is representative of a time (t0) of generation of the position signal. While it could be argued that as time remaining until articles are delivered is calculated based on the time of position determination evidently the position determination means outputs a timestamp as claimed. However, Jungbluth does not disclose the timestamp explicitly and so we cite another reference for this teaching.
Eckman, an application in the field of automated warehouse design and simulation teaches:
and output a time stamp with the position signal, which is representative of a time (t0) of generation of the position signal. Eckman teaches the issuance of a timestamp for all significant warehouse events including the detection of the position of the transport device in the form of detecting the arrival of a pallet at a checkpoint in [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Jungbluth to output a time stamp with the position signal, which is representative of a time (t0) of generation of the position signal, as taught by Eckman, because Jungbluth’s calculation of time remaining for delivery once the device is detected can only occur on the basis of learning the time of detection of the device, and because the simplest way for an external control device such as Jungbluth’s computer to perform this calculation is using a timestamp generated by the detector. Eckman’s method makes this simple method explicit and its detection and timestamping steps could be directly adopted by Jungbluth.
Regarding claim 12,
Jungbluth discloses:
A method for detecting the position of a conveying device (storage lift 3: fig. 1) for transporting storage items in an automatic storage system (picking device 1: fig. 1), comprising the method steps:
detecting a position of the conveying device in the storage system; Jungbluth teaches this detection in [0047].
However, Jungbluth does not explicitly disclose all aspects of:
generating a time stamp that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device, and
providing the position signal together with the time stamp. Jungbluth teaches all claimed steps but the timestamps in [0047]. While it could be argued that as time remaining until articles are delivered is calculated based on the time of position determination evidently the position determination means outputs a timestamp as claimed. However, Jungbluth does not disclose the timestamp explicitly and so we cite another reference for this teaching.
Eckman, an application in the field of automated warehouse design and simulation teaches the missing aspects of:
generating a time stamp that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device and
providing the position signal together with the time stamp. Eckman teaches the issuance of a timestamp for all significant warehouse events including the detection of the position of the transport device in the form of detecting the arrival of a pallet at a checkpoint in [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of Jungbluth for generating a time stamp that is representative of the time (t0) of detection of the position of the conveying device and providing the position signal together with the time stamp, as taught by Eckman, because Jungbluth’s calculation of time remaining for delivery once the device is detected can only occur on the basis of learning the time of detection of the device, and because the simplest way for an external control device such as Jungbluth’s computer to perform this calculation is using a timestamp generated by the detector. Eckman’s method makes this simple method explicit and its detection and timestamping steps could be directly adopted by Jungbluth.
Regarding claim 13,
Jungbluth discloses the limitations of claim 12 and also:
wherein the position of the conveying device is detected while the conveying device is moving. Jungbluth discloses the device is moving in [0047].
Regarding claim 14,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 12 and also:
further comprising providing a computer program product that includes commands which, when the computer program product is executed by a computer, prompt the computer to carry out the method according to claim 12. Jungbluth discloses a control device in the form of a computer in [0020] and [0038]. A general-purpose computer can only operate by means of a computer program as claimed.
Regarding claim 15,
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 14 and also:
further comprising providing a computer-readable data medium on which the computer program product according to claim 14 is stored.Jungbluth discloses a control device in the form of a computer in [0020] and [0038]. A general-purpose computer can only operate by means of a computer program stored on a computer-readable data medium as claimed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungbluth in view of Eckman and further in view of Bagalá, et al., US 2021/0075644 (hereinafter Bagalá).
Jungbluth in view of Eckman teaches the limitations of claim 1 but not:
wherein the detector includes at least one IO-Link sensor.Jungbluth does not disclose this type of sensor.
Bagalá, an invention in the field of IO-Link devices, teaches:
wherein the detector includes at least one IO-Link sensor.Bagalá teaches the use of an IO-Link sensor throughout its disclosure, introducing the device in [0002].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Jungbluth, wherein the detector includes at least one IO-Link sensor, as taught by Bagalá, because as Bagalá explains in [0014], IO-Link devices have become popular in recent years, offering interoperability with common control systems. As Bagalá observes in [0021], these sensors are widely commercially available.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report cited as an X-document JP H07102817, which might have been cited in rejection in the instant office action. US 2022/0337450 is one of many references that teach IO-Link sensors. US 2022/0212879 and US 2022/0289502 both teach timestamping detection or sensor information in conveying systems.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
LAURENCE RAPHAEL BROTHERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3655A
/L.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3655